DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 18-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/5/2025.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “A catalyst article for treating exhaust gas from compressed natural gas (CNG) engine comprising: a substrate comprising an inlet end, an outlet end”. The phrase “for treating exhaust gas from compressed natural gas (CNG) engine” is considered intended use. MPEP 2111.02.II states “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.”. In this case the limitations of the claimed invention are fully set forth in the body of the claim and the intended use of treating exhaust gas from compressed natural gas (CNG) engine does not suggest structural limitations. Furthermore since Claim 1 is directed to a composition (the catalyst article) the inlet and outlet ends also represent a method of using the catalyst article. In other words any disclosure which meets the limitations of Claim 1 other than that the exhaust gas is flowed in the opposite direction during the intended use is understood to be within the scope of Claim 1. The phrase “comprising an inlet end, an outlet end” does reasonable suggest the structure of a pipe or fitting for flowing a fluid over the catalyst at each end, however.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2022176354 A1 Noguchi et al. Claim 1 requires “A catalyst article for treating exhaust gas from compressed natural gas (CNG) engine comprising: a substrate comprising an inlet end, an outlet end with an axial length L”. Noguchi et al. discloses “In the exhaust path, typically, a catalyst body 5 and a filter body 6 are provided. For example, the catalyst body 5 is an example of the exhaust gas purification catalyst in the present technology.” [0029]. Furthermore regarding the intended use of purifying exhaust gas from compressed natural gas (CNG) engine Noguchi et al. discloses “In a preferable aspect of the exhaust gas purification catalyst of the present technology, the catalyst is used to purify an exhaust gas discharged from the internal combustion engine that uses natural gas as a fuel.” [0014].
Claim 1 further requires “a first catalytic region beginning at the inlet end and extending for less than the axial length L, wherein the first catalytic region comprises a first platinum component; a second catalytic region beginning at the outlet end and extending for less than the axial length L, wherein the second catalytic region comprises a second palladium component”. Figure 5 1-1 and 1-2 (reproduced below) show 2 catalyst regions with Pt and Pd. Since fluids can flow through the catalyst article in either direction, both are considered to have a first region comprising Pt and a second region comprising Pd.
Claim 1 further requires “and a third catalytic region, wherein the third catalytic region comprises a third rhodium component.”. Figure 5 1-1 and 1-2 (reproduced above) show a third region that comprises Rh.
Claim 2 requires “the first catalytic region extends for 10 to 90 percent of the axial length L.”. Noguchi et al. discloses “In a preferable aspect of the exhaust gas purification catalyst of the present technology, the platinum layer is provided in a region of 30% or more and 80% or less from the second end part when the range from the first end part to the second end part of the substrate is 100%.” [0011].
Claim 3 requires “the second catalytic region extends for 10 to 90 percent of the axial length L.”. Noguchi et al. discloses “In a preferable aspect of the exhaust gas purification catalyst of the present technology, the palladium layer is provided in a region of 80% or less when a range from the first end part to the second end part of the substrate is 100%.” [0009], which reads on the claimed range.
Claim 4 requires “the second catalytic region overlaps with the first catalytic region for 1 to 80 percent of the axial length L.”. Considering that Noguchi et al. discloses that both the first and second catalyst region may take up to 80% of the total length (see Claim 2 and 3) it is understood that they disclose an overlap of between 0-60%, which reads on the claimed range.
Claim 5 requires “the total length of the second catalytic region and the first catalytic region equals to the axial length L.”. This configuration can be seen in at least Figure 5 1-1 and 1-2 (above).
Claim 6 requires “the total length of the second catalytic region and the first catalytic region is less than the axial length L.”. Noguchi et al. disclose a minimum length for the first region of 30% (see Claim 2) and a minimum length of >0% for the second region (see Claim 3). This is understood to implicitly disclose that the regions may have a gap between them.
Claim 7 requires “the third catalytic region extends for 100 percent of the axial length L.”. Noguchi et al. discloses “In a preferable aspect of the exhaust gas purification catalyst of the present technology, the rhodium layer is provided in a region of 60% or more and 100% or less from the first end part when the range from the first end part to the second end part of the substrate is 100%.” [0010].
Claim 8 requires “the third catalytic region extends for less than 100 percent of the axial length L.”. Noguchi et al. discloses “In a preferable aspect of the exhaust gas purification catalyst of the present technology, the rhodium layer is provided in a region of 60% or more and 100% or less from the first end part when the range from the first end part to the second end part of the substrate is 100%.” [0010].
Claim 9 requires “the first catalytic region further comprises a first OSC material, a first alkali or alkaline earth metal component, a first inorganic oxide, and/or a first rare earth component”. Noguchi et al. discloses “The catalyst layer 20 can include a carrier supporting these catalysts in addition to precious metal catalysts contained in each of the Pd layer 21, the Pt layer 22, and the Rh layer 23. Regarding such carriers, carriers (typically, powders) known to be usable for this type of application in the related art can be appropriately used. For example, preferable examples of carriers include metal oxides such as alumina (Al2O3), rare earth metal oxides, alkaline metal oxides, alkaline earth metal oxides, ceria (CeO2), zirconia (ZrO2), silica (SiO2), magnesia (MgO), and titania (TiO-2), and solid solutions thereof” [0049]. It is understood that the catalytic region comprises both the catalyst itself and the support because they would be in the same physical location along the axial length, L.
Claim 10 requires “the second catalytic region further comprises a second platinum component, a second OSC material, a second alkali or alkaline earth metal component, a second inorganic oxide, and/or a second rare earth component.”. Noguchi et al. discloses “The catalyst layer 20 can include a carrier supporting these catalysts in addition to precious metal catalysts contained in each of the Pd layer 21, the Pt layer 22, and the Rh layer 23. Regarding such carriers, carriers (typically, powders) known to be usable for this type of application in the related art can be appropriately used. For example, preferable examples of carriers include metal oxides such as alumina (Al2O3), rare earth metal oxides, alkaline metal oxides, alkaline earth metal oxides, ceria (CeO2), zirconia (ZrO2), silica (SiO2), magnesia (MgO), and titania (TiO-2), and solid solutions thereof” [0049]. It is understood that the catalytic region comprises both the catalyst itself and the support because they would be in the same physical location along the axial length, L.
Claim 11 requires “the third catalytic region further comprises a third platinum group metal (PGM) component, a third OSC material, a third alkali or alkaline earth metal component, and/or a third inorganic oxide.”. Noguchi et al. discloses “The catalyst layer 20 can include a carrier supporting these catalysts in addition to precious metal catalysts contained in each of the Pd layer 21, the Pt layer 22, and the Rh layer 23. Regarding such carriers, carriers (typically, powders) known to be usable for this type of application in the related art can be appropriately used. For example, preferable examples of carriers include metal oxides such as alumina (Al2O3), rare earth metal oxides, alkaline metal oxides, alkaline earth metal oxides, ceria (CeO2), zirconia (ZrO2), silica (SiO2), magnesia (MgO), and titania (TiO-2), and solid solutions thereof” [0049]. It is understood that the catalytic region comprises both the catalyst itself and the support because they would be in the same physical location along the axial length, L.
Claim 12 requires “the third PGM component is Pd, Pt, or a combination thereof.”. Noguchi et al. discloses “The Rh layer 23 contains rhodium (Rh) as a precious metal catalyst and an alloy mainly composed of Rh. These catalyst layers 20 may contain other metal catalysts in addition to the above precious metal catalysts. Examples of such metal catalysts include platinum group catalysts such as Rh, Pd, Pt, ruthenium (Ru), osmium (Os), iridium (Ir), and alloys thereof,” [0035].
Claim 13 requires “the first Pt component in the first catalytic region is at least 50% of the overall Pt loading in the catalyst article.”. Noguchi et al. discloses “However, the amount of Pd, Pt, and Rh in the metal catalysts contained in the Pd layer 21, the Pt layer 22, and the Rh layer 23 is 80 mass % or more, preferably 90 mass % or more, more preferably 95 mass % or more, and particularly preferably substantially 100 mass %, respectively. Naturally, inclusion of other metal catalysts that are inevitably incorporated is acceptable.” [0035]. Considering that Pt is an optional, but not required, component of the other catalyst layers (see Claim 12 above) it is understood that at least one embodiment of Noguchi et al. teaches the first Pt component in the first catalytic region is at least 80% of the overall Pt loading in the catalyst article.
Claim 14 requires “the substrate is a flow-through monolith.”. Noguchi et al. discloses “The exhaust gas purification catalyst includes a substrate divided into cells through which an exhaust gas flows and a catalyst layer that is provided on a surface of the substrate.” [0007].
Claim 15 requires “the first catalytic region is supported/deposited directly on the substrate.”. This conformation is shown in Figure 5, 1-1 and 1-2 (above).
Claim 16 requires “the second catalytic region is supported/deposited directly on the substrate.” This conformation is shown in Figure 5, 1-1 and 1-2 (above).
Claim 17 requires “the third catalytic region is supported/deposited directly on the substrate.” This conformation is shown in Figure 5 1-6 (reproduced below).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOSHUA MAXWELL SPEER whose telephone number is (703)756-5471. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9am-5pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Anthony Zimmer can be reached at 571-270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA MAXWELL SPEER/
Examiner
Art Unit 1736
/DANIEL BERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736