DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-6, 8, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1/20 recite terms like “approximately 0.6mm/1.2mm/1.15N” which render the claim indefinite. The term approximately is not defined in the specifications and as such it is unclear as to what “approximately [a number]” would actually be. How close does a value have to be for “approximately”, would that be a range of %1, %5, %10, or more? For the purposes of examination, the examiner, as best understood ,will interpret the limitations to be “0.6mm/1.2mm/1.15N”.
Claims 2-6, 8, and 12 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (KR 101165558 B1) in view of Lybrand et al. (US 10868377 B2).
Regarding Claim 1 as best understood, Kang et al. discloses a spring member forming an electrical contact, the spring member comprising (Connector 100 is a spring member that serves to electrically connect an antenna and a PCB as seen in figures 1-6 of Kang et al.):
a first arm comprising (Connector 100 comprises a first arm in the form of horizontally extending portion 30; Paragraph 32-45 and 57-67 as well as figure 3-6 of Kang et al.):
a flared tip located at a distal end of the first arm, the first arm configured to contact an antenna applying a compressive force to the first arm (Contact portion 40 comprises an inclined portion 41 and thus serves as a flared tip at the end of the first arm that has a force applied upon it by a connecting part 150 of an antenna; Paragraph 32-45 and 57-67 as well as figure 3-6 of Kang et al); and
an embossment located at a distal end of the flared tip; the embossment configured as part of the contact of the flared tip to the antenna in response to the compression force (Contact portion can include an embossed portion, labeled 46/42a, on the end of the flared tip which is part of the contact to the antenna; Paragraph 32-45 and 57-67 as well as figure 3-6 of Kang et al );
wherein the first arm extends on a first plane (First arm in the form of horizontally extending portion 30 extends in a first plane, Paragraph 32-45 and 57-67 as well as figure 3-6 of Kang et al);
a second arm,
wherein the second arm extends on a second plane offset from the first plane (Fixed portion 10 serves as a second arm which extends on a second plane offset form the first plane; Paragraph 32-45 and 57-67 as well as figure 3-6 of Kang et al);
a central portion comprising:
a flexible transition portion integrally connecting the first arm to the second arm, the central portion configured to flexibly transition between a first state and a second state responsive to a compressive force applied to the first arm towards a direction of the second arm, the central portion acting in cooperation with the embossment to place the antenna in connection with a programmable circuit board (PCB) (Elastic portion 20 serves as a central portion and integrally connects the first and second arms 30 and 10 such that when the force of an antenna connecting portion 150 contacts the embossment 46/42a on the first arm and pushes it towards the second arm, a PCB 200 is placed in electrical connection with the antenna; Paragraph 32-45 and 57-67 as well as figure 3-6 of Kang et al); and
wherein the spring member defines a substantially U-shaped short signal path between the first arm and the second arm, the substantially U-shaped short signal path being formed integrally by the first arm, the second arm, and the central portion, (Connector 100 comprises a substantially U-shaped signal path between the first arm and the second arm wherein said path is formed by the first arm, second arm, and the central portion which are integrally formed as seen in figures 3-6 of Kang et al.).
Kang et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein a length between a first end and a second end of the spring member is less than 2 mm, wherein a height between the first arm and the second arm with no load applied to the first arm is approximately 1.2 mm, and wherein the deflection distance between the first state and the second state is approximately 0.6 mm responsive to the compressive force being approximately 1.15 N.
Although, Lybrand et al. fails to explicitly disclose the length is less than 2mm, and height is approximately 1.2mm, and a deflection distance is approximately .6mm in response to a force being approximately 1.15N. Lybrand et al. does discloses a length between the first end and a second end of a spring member (124/312 shows the length of the spring contact from one end to another end and is nominally 3mm; Paragraph 27 and Figure 3A of Lybrand), wherein a height between the first arm and second arm with no load applied to the first arm (126/314 shows the height between the arms which is nominally 1.7mm; Paragraph 27 and figure 3A of Lybrand et al.), and a deflection distance between the first and second state that is responsive to the compressive force (Deflection between two states of the spring member is between 0-.4mm and has a linear relationship with the force applied being from 0-1.2N as seen in figure 13 and paragraph 39 of Lybrand et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang et al. to have a length between a first end and a second end of the spring member is less than 2 mm and wherein a height between the first arm and the second arm with no load applied to the first arm is approximately 1.2 mm as taught by Lybrand et al. since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) and to have a deflection distance that is approximately .6mm responsive to the compressive force being approximately 1.15N as taught by Lybrand et al. since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). The motivation stems from varying the dimensions of the spring such that is suits the needs of the application in which it is installed (Paragraph 27 of Lybrand) and from wanting to improving the deflection range to enhance functionality and adaptability.
Regarding Claim 3, Kang et al. does further disclose, wherein the second arm is configured to be fixedly connected to an electrical terminal by a fastener (Fixed plate 10 can be electrically connected to the PCB through soldering and PCB can also provide a fastening protrusion to go through hole 11; Paragraph 32-45 as well as figure 3-6 of Kang et al.).
Regarding Claim 4, Kang et al. does disclose wherein the second arm is fixedly connected to the electrical terminal by solder (Fixed plate 10 can be electrically connected to the PCB through soldering and PCB; Paragraph 32-45 as well as figure 3-6 of Kang et al.).
Kang et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second arm comprises: a solder pad
However, Lybrand et al. does disclose the second arm comprises: a solder pad (Portion 310 is connected to the PCB using solder pads 106 or 406; portion 310; Paragraph 24 and 29 with Figure 1 and 4 of Lybrand et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang et al. to have the second arm comprise a solder pad as taught by Lybrand et al. to help connect the PCB to the spring member when soldering (Paragraph 24 of Lybrand et al.)
Regarding Claim 5, Kang et al. fails to explicitly disclose a divider, wherein the divider extends across a width of the spring member and defines a solder pad at the second arm, and the divider is configured to prevent solder applied to the solder pad from collecting at the central portion and affecting a tensioning performance of the spring member.
However, Lybrand et al. does disclose a divider, wherein the divider extends across a width of the spring member and defines a solder pad at the second arm, and the divider is configured to prevent solder applied to the solder pad from collecting at the central portion and affecting a tensioning performance of the spring member (Bulge portion 308 serves as a divider across the width of the spring contact and defines a connection portion 310 with a part of which may be used for a solder and bulge also prevents solder from wicking into the bend portions; Paragraph 25-28 and figure 1-3A of Lybrand et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang et al. to have a divider, wherein the divider extends across a width of the spring member and defines a solder pad at the second arm, and the divider is configured to prevent solder applied to the solder pad from collecting at the central portion and affecting a tensioning performance of the spring member as taught by Lybrand et al. to limit the amount of solder to the bend portion and impacting the spring member (Paragraph 26 of Lybrand et al.).
Regarding Claim 6, Kang et al. further discloses wherein an angular relationship between the first arm and the second arm decreases responsive to the compressive force applied to the first arm (The angler relationship between the first arm 30 and second arm 10 decreases as an compressive force is applied to the first arm through the contact portion 40; Paragraph 32-45 as well as figure 3-6 of Kang et al.).
Regarding Claim 8, Kang et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the length between the first end and the second end of the spring member comprises a distance of 1.95 mm.
Although, Lybrand et al. fail to explicitly disclose a length that comprises a distance of 1.95 mm. Lybrand does disclose a length between the first end and the second end of the spring member (124/312 shows the length of the spring contact from one end to another end and is nominally 3mm; Paragraph 27 and Figure 3A of Lybrand et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang et al. with the teachings of Lybrand et al. to have the length between the first end and the second end of the spring member comprises a distance of 1.95 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from varying the dimensions of the spring such that is suits the needs of the application in which it is installed (Paragraph 27 of Lybrand et al.).
Regarding Claim 12, Kang et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the deflection distance is based on a yield stress of approximately 1110 mPa being applied to the central portion.
Although Lybrand et al. fails to explicitly disclose a yield stress of approximately 1110 mPa being applied to the central portion. Lybrand et al. does disclose the deflection distance is based on a yield stress applied to the central portion (Von Mises Stress plot shows the stress, which can range from 0 to 2732mPA, applied on the different parts of the bend portion 306 and caused by the deflection force which correlates to the deflection distance and has a central portion to which stress is applied ; Paragraph 38 and figure 12 of Lybrand et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang et al. with the teachings of Lybrand et al. to have the deflection distance be based on a yield stress of approximately 1110 mPa being applied to the central portion since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). The motivation would stem from the fact that the force applied to the spring determines the amount of deflection needed (Paragraph 38 of Lybrand et al.) and so different forces can give different deflections.
Claim(s) 2 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (KR 101165558 B1) and Lybrand et al. (US 10868377 B2) in view of Samardzija et al. (US 20220140484 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Kang et al. and Lybrand et al fails to explicitly disclose wherein the spring member forms an antenna signal loop between the antenna and the PCB responsive to the electrical contact being positioned therebetween.
However, Samardzija et al. does disclose wherein the spring member forms an antenna signal loop between the antenna and the PCB responsive to the electrical contact being positioned therebetween (Electrical contact 134, which is a spring clip with a flared tip, is used to connect the antenna feed leg 116 to the PCB 130 such that an electrical current can be supplied from the PCB to the antenna through the feed leg forming a signal loop between the antenna and the PCB when the leg applies pressure to the spring clip; Paragraph 59 and figure 8 of Samardzija et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang et al. and Lybrand et al. to include the spring member forms an antenna signal loop between the antenna and the PCB responsive to the electrical contact being positioned therebetween as taught by Samardzija et al. to facilitate an electrical connection using the spring member. (Paragraph 59 of Samardzija et al.).
Regarding Claim 20 as best understood, Kang et al. further discloses a system (Connector, antenna, and PCB form a system as seen in figures 1-6 of Kang et al.) comprising:
an antenna (Antenna 140 with antenna connecting piece 150; Paragraph 57-67 and figure 6 of Kang et al.);
an electrical circuit board (PCB 200; Paragraph 32-45 and 57-67 as well as figure 3-6 of Kang et al.); and
an electrically conductive spring member located between the antenna and the electrical circuit board, the spring member comprising (Connector 100 serves as a spring member and is located between an antenna and a PCB; Paragraph 32-45 and 57-67 as well as figure 3-6 of Kang et al.):
a first arm comprising (Connector 100 comprises a first arm in the form of horizontally extending portion 30; Paragraph 32-45 and 57-67 as well as figure 3-6 of Kang et al.):
a flared tip located at a distal end of the first arm, the first arm configured to contact an antenna applying a compressive force to the first arm (Contact portion 40 comprises an inclined portion 41 and thus serves as a flared tip at the end of the first arm that has a force applied upon it by a connecting part 150 of an antenna; Paragraph 32-45 and 57-67 as well as figure 3-6 of Kang et al); and
an embossment located at a distal end of the flared tip; the embossment configured as part of the contact of the flared tip to the antenna in response to the compression force (Contact portion can include an embossed portion, labeled 46/42a, on the end of the flared tip which is part of the contact to the antenna; Paragraph 32-45 and 57-67 as well as figure 3-6 of Kang et al );
wherein the first arm extends on a first plane (First arm in the form of horizontally extending portion 30 extends in a first plane, Paragraph 32-45 and 57-67 as well as figure 3-6 of Kang et al);
a second arm,
wherein the second arm extends on a second plane offset from the first plane (Fixed portion 10 serves as a second arm which extends on a second plane offset form the first plane; Paragraph 32-45 and 57-67 as well as figure 3-6 of Kang et al);
a central portion comprising:
a flexible transition portion integrally connecting the first arm to the second arm, the central portion configured to flexibly transition between a first state and a second state responsive to a compressive force applied to the first arm towards a direction of the second arm, the central portion acting in cooperation with the embossment to place the antenna in connection with a programmable circuit board (PCB) (Elastic portion 20 serves as a central portion and integrally connects the first and second arms 30 and 10 such that when the force of an antenna connecting portion 150 contacts the embossment 46/42a on the first arm and pushes it towards the second arm, a PCB 200 is placed in electrical connection with the antenna; Paragraph 32-45 and 57-67 as well as figure 3-6 of Kang et al); and
wherein the spring member defines a substantially U-shaped short signal path between the first arm and the second arm (Connector 100 comprises a substantially U-shaped signal path between the first arm and the second arm as seen in figures 3-6 of Kang et al.).
wherein the second arm is configured to be fixedly connected to the electrical circuit board using solder(Fixed plate 10 can be electrically connected to the PCB through soldering and PCB; Paragraph 32-45 as well as figure 3-6 of Kang et al.),
wherein a deflection distance between the first state and the second state is proportional to the compressive force applied thereto such that an angular relationship between the first arm and the second arm decreases responsive to the compressive force applied to the first arm (The angler relationship between the first arm 30 and second arm 10 decreases as an compressive force is applied to the first arm through the contact portion 40 wherein a deflection distance between a first state with no force and a second state with forcer would be proportional to the force applied; Paragraph 32-45 as well as figure 3-6 of Kang et al.), and wherein the spring member is devoid of lateral support wings extending vertically from the second arm that cover lateral spaces adjacent to the first arm (First arm 30 can comprise a support portion 60, extending from support portion 50, that serve as support wings wherein support portion 50 is only connected to the first arm such that support wings extend only from the first arm and the second arm 10 does not comprise support wings that extend vertically form it; Paragraph 32-45 and 57-67 as well as figure 3-6 of Kang et al.).
Kang et al. fails to explicitly disclose a solder pad, a divider, wherein the divider extends across a width of the spring member and defines the solder pad from the central portion; wherein the spring member defines a U-shaped short signal path between the antenna and the electrical circuit board; and the deflection distance being approximately 0.6 mm in response to the compressive force of approximately 1.15 N and wherein a length between a first end and a second end of the spring member is less than 2 mm.
Although Lybrand et al. fails to explicitly disclose the deflection distance being approximately 0.6 mm in response to the compressive force of approximately 1.15 N and wherein a length between a first end and a second end of the spring member is less than 2 mm. Lybrand et al. does disclose a solder pad (Portion 310 is connected to the PCB using solder pads 106 or 406; portion 310; Paragraph 24 and 29 with Figure 1 and 4 of Lybrand), a divider, wherein the divider extends across a width of the spring member and defines the solder pad from the central portion (Bulge portion 308 serves as a divider across the width of the spring contact and defines a connection portion 310 with a part of which may be used for a solder and bulge also prevents solder from wicking into the bend portions; Paragraph 25-28 and figure 1-3A of Lybrand); and the deflection distance in response to the compressive force (Deflection between two states of the spring member is between 0-.4mm and has a linear relationship with the force applied being from 0-1.2N as seen in figure 13 and paragraph 39 of Lybrand et al.) and a length between the first end and a second end of the spring member (124/312 shows the length of the spring contact from one end to another end and is nominally 3mm; Paragraph 27 and Figure 3A of Lybrand).
Samardzija et al. further discloses wherein the spring member defines a U-shaped short signal path between the antenna and the electrical circuit board (Electrical contact 134, which is a spring clip with a flared tip, is used to connect the antenna feed leg 116 to the PCB 130 such that an electrical current can be supplied from the PCB to the antenna through the feed leg forming a signal loop, with a u-shaped short signal path between the antenna and the PCB when the leg applies pressure to the spring clip; Paragraph 59 and figure 8 of Samardzija et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang et al. to have a solder pad, a divider, wherein the divider extends across a width of the spring member and defines the solder pad from the central portion;, the deflection distance being approximately 0.6 mm in response to the compressive force of approximately 1.15 N, and a length between a first end and a second end of the spring member is less than 2 mm as taught by Lybrand et al. since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) and a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). The motivation would stem from to help connect the PCB to the spring member when soldering (Paragraph 24 of Lybrand et al.) while limiting the amount of solder to the bend portion and impacting the spring member (Paragraph 26 of Lybrand et al.) as well improve the deflection range to enhance functionality and adaptability, and varying the dimensions of the spring such that is suits the needs of the application in which it is installed (Paragraph 27 of Lybrand). It would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang et al. and Lybrand et al. to have wherein the spring member defines a U-shaped short signal path between the antenna and the electrical circuit board as taught by Samardzija et al. to facilitate an electrical connection using the spring member. (Paragraph 59 of Samardzija et al.).
Additional Comments Regarding the Claim Rejections
Examiner’s note – Regarding claims 1-3, 5, and 20, the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Response to Arguments
“Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1, as amended, is not taught or suggested by the cited art of Kang and Lybrand, whether considered alone or in combination. Amended claim 1 recites a spring member defining a substantially U-shaped short signal path formed integrally by the first arm, the second arm, and the central portion, wherein a length between a first end and a second end of the spring member is less than 2 mm and a height between the first arm and the second arm with no load applied is approximately 1.2 mm, and wherein a deflection distance between the first state and the second state is proportional to the compressive force, the deflection distance being approximately 0.6 mm in response to the compressive force being approximately 1.15 N applied to the first arm.
Applicant respectfully submits that the cited references of Kang and Lybrand fail to disclose this particular combination of features. In particular, the cited art does not teach or suggest a closed, integrally-formed U-shaped signal path having the recited sub-2 mm end-to-end length together with the recited deflection-to-force relationship, in cooperation with an embossment located at the distal end of the flared tip that acts with the central portion to place the antenna in connection with the PCB. Because no reference of record discloses or renders obvious these features in combination, claim 1 is patentable over the cited art, and reconsideration and allowance are respectfully requested”
Applicant's arguments filed on June 8th 2026 in regards to claim 1 and 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the new limitation “the substantially U-shaped short signal path being formed integrally by the first arm, the second arm, and the central portion”, the examiner notes that Kang does teach having an integrally formed spring with a first arm, second arm, and a central portion. In regards to the rest of the argument, while the examiner notes that Kang and Lybrand fail to disclose the specific limitations with the specific values, they do disclose the general limitations of having certain lengths, heights, and deflection/force relationship. However, even though the specific numbers are not disclosed it is noted in the office action that specific case laws have deduced that as long as the general concept is taught, changing the values would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore the examiner has provided motivation as to why one would do so. The applicants arguments fail to provide a reason why case law would not apply and also said amendments do not recite a specific reasoning for said limitations that would be unique to the application and not taught by prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
KR 101045484 B1 (SIN GUK SIK) further discloses a spring member used for electrical connection between an antenna and a PCB.
WO 2015030365 A1 (PARK, JIN WOO) further discloses a spring member used for electrical connection between an antenna and a PCB wherein the spring comprises a flared tip with an embossment.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845