DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hiasa (US 2022/0045369 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Hiasa discloses a secondary battery (title) with electrolytic solutions including aqueous solvent ([0059]) and metal ions, including potassium ion ([0017]), which reads on aqueous potassium ion secondary battery as claimed in claim 2. Hiasa teaches the positive electrode material may be LiNi0.33Co0.33Mn0.33O2, inter alia ([0053]), which anticipates the formula for the claimed positive electrode active material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiasa as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Suyama (US 2019/0386346 A1).
Regarding claims 3-5, Hiasa teaches an aqueous potassium ion secondary battery with an aqueous electrolyte, as discussed above. Hiasa also teaches the pH of the positive electrode electrolytic solution is preferably from 3 to 8 ([0069]), which does overlap the claimed range.
Hiasa does not teach the electrolyte solution contains potassium pyrophosphate at a concentration of 2.0 mol/kg or greater or 5.0 mol/kg or greater.
However, Suyama discloses an aqueous potassium-ion battery (title) and teaches dissolving potassium pyrophosphate at a concentration of no less than 2 mol and no more than 7 mol per kg of water ([0034]), which reads on the claimed ranges. Suyama also teaches a preferable range for the pH of the aqueous electrolyte solution is 7-12, which overlaps the claimed range.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use the aqueous electrolyte solution with the dissolved potassium pyrophosphate, as taught by Suyama, in the battery of Hiasa so that electrolysis of the aqueous electrolyte solution is suppressed (Suyama, [0018]).
Conclusion
DANIEL H. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/DANIEL H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746