DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims recites “rotary drives.” It should be changed to “rotationally drives.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 recites “a workpiece holder that holds the workpiece; and.” Since the same claim language was recited in claim 2 from which claim 7 depends, it needs to be removed.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a signal acquirer and determiner in claim 1.
The signal acquirer and determiner are interpreted as CPU according to the paragraph [0021].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura (JP20022337042) of which attached corresponding English translation is cited.
Regarding Claim 1, Yoshimura teaches a cutting machining apparatus comprising:
a head (Fig. 1, 1 & 2) including a spindle drive (Although Yoshimura is silent, it is old and well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a numerically controlled machine to have a spindle drive to rotate the spindle according to [0013], paragraph 3. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a spindle drive in the numerically controlled machine of Yoshimura in order to rotate the spindle.) that rotary drives a rotary spindle (Fig. 1, 2) with a tool (Fig. 1, 3) secured to a tip of the rotary spindle;
a first proximity sensor (Fig. 1, 4);
a signal acquirer (Fig. 1, 7) (Although Yoshimura teaches a data processing unit, it is well known in the art that to interchangeably employ either a data processing unit or a central processing unit (CPU) depending on the level of data processing required for the job. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use replace the data processing unit of Yoshimura with a central process unit in order to run a data process requiring a higher computing power.) obtaining detection signal information indicating an intensity of a detection signal ([0013], paragraph 7: distance d) that is output from the first proximity sensor (Fig. 1, 4) ([0013], paragraph 7: the distance d from the displacement sensor 4 and the data is taken into the data processing unit 7) when the rotary spindle is rotated ([0013], paragraph 6: the main shaft 1 is rotated.) in a state in which the head is moved so that the first proximity sensor faces a lateral side of the tool (Fig. 1 shows the sensor (5) facing the lateral side of the tool (3)) ([0013], paragraph 5: the blade 3 is brought to a position) before and after cutting machining of a workpiece using the tool ([0013], paragraph 9: sampling data 3ax regarding the blade 3 having no blade defect was taken before cutting machining of a workpiece); and
a determiner (Fig. 1, 7) (Although Yoshimura teaches a data processing unit, it is well known in the art that to interchangeably employ either a data processing unit or a central processing unit (CPU) depending on the level of data processing required for the job. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use replace the data processing unit of Yoshimura with a central process unit in order to run a data process requiring a higher computing power.) determining whether or not the tool is broken based on whether or not there is a difference in signal waveforms (Figs. 4 & 5) corresponding to time transitions (Figs. 4 & 5, x-axis of the graph) in intensities of the detection signals indicated by the detection signal information obtained before and after the cutting machining ([0013], paragraphs 10-15: If there is no difference between 3ax1’, 3ax2’, 3ax3’ and the sampling data 3ax1, 3ax2, 3ax3… On the other hand, when there is a defective portion 3b …).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura (JP20022337042) of which attached corresponding English translation is cited in view of Miyazawa (JPH09239631) of which attached corresponding English translation is cited.
Regarding Claim 2, Yoshimura teaches the cutting machining apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a holding unit (Fig. 8 shows what appears to be a workpiece holding unit under the spindle (105)) including:
a unit body (Fig. 8 shows what appears to be a unit body under the spindle (105)).
Yoshimura does not explicitly teach
a workpiece holder that holds the workpiece; and
a unit body that supports the workpiece holder in a state in which the workpiece holder is exposed outside,
wherein the first proximity sensor is disposed inside the unit body.
Miyazawa teaches a workpiece holder (Fig. 1, 6) that holds the workpiece ([0014], paragraph 3: a work table 6 for holding a workpiece); and
a unit body (Fig. 1, 10) that supports the workpiece holder (Fig. 1, 6) in a state in which the workpiece holder is exposed outside ([0014], paragraph 3: a guide table 10 on which the work table 6),
wherein the first proximity sensor (Fig. 1, 7) is disposed on top of the unit body (Fig. 1, 10) ([0014], paragraph 3: a work table 6 for holding a work to be a workpiece and an on-machine measurement unit 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount the first proximity sensor of Yoshimura somewhere on the unit body including inside the unit body as taught by Miyazawa where the first proximity sensor (4) can easily measure the distance to the blade without requiring a separate structure such as an apparatus wall (6) of Yoshimura to hold the first proximity sensor in order to avoid additional manufacturing cost and storage space necessary for an apparatus wall (6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcome the above claim objections.
Conclusion
/JUN S YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 12/5/2025