DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2, 4, and 7-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 29, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isozaki et al. (2019/0236032) in view of Vanslette (2020/0090553).
Regarding claim 1, Isozaki discloses a data storage apparatus disposed within a PC case (which constitutes a chassis), wherein a label is attached to the data storage apparatus, and the label has a Physical Security ID (PSID) printed on it. See paragraph 0058. However, Isozaki does not disclose a tamper evident portion that at least partially covers the PSID. Vanslette teaches using scratchable ink to removably cover sensitive information on a substrate. See paragraph 0034. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a scratchable ink over the PSID disclosed by Isozaki, as taught by Vanslette, in order to make it obvious when the information in the PSID has been exposed.
Regarding claim 3, the tamper evident portion disclosed by Vanslette is a scratchable ink. (See paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 5, the device disclosed by Isozaki is a data storage drive. (see paragraph 0058).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Isozaki teaches away from using a PSID. But Isozaki is a base reference, not a teaching reference. In other words, Isozaki is not cited to “teach” anything one way or another. Rather, it is cited as anticipating certain features of the claimed invention. From there, Vanslette is cited as a teaching reference because it suggests modifications to the invention disclosed by Isozaki.
Regarding Isozaki, though, It has been held that a reference is no less anticipatory if, after disclosing the invention, the reference then disparages it. Thus, the question whether a reference “teaches away” from the invention is inapplicable to an anticipation analysis. Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. v. Ben Venue Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2d 1508 (Fed. Cir. 2001).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GARY C HOGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631