Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed 15 June
2023 and 02 April 2025. The Examiner has considered the reference cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see the attached USPTO Form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishiguchi (JP 2014005418 A), in view of, Hiroichi (JPH 06100891 A).
With regard to claim 1, Nishiguchi teaches a thermal transfer medium comprising a 2-6C fluorination unsaturated hydrocarbon as a main component (Abstract). The fluorination unsaturated hydrocarbon include hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs) (para 0035), hydrofluoroolefins (HFOs) (para 0033), and hydrochlorofluoroolefin/hydrochlorofluorocarbon (HCFO) (para 0086). Nishiguchi further teaches the medium comprising at least 50% by mass or more of the fluorinated unsaturated hydrocarbon (para 0032). The heat transfer medium may include up to 10% by mass of additive, such as other fluorinated unsaturated hydrocarbons, fluorinated ethers, hydrofluorocarbons (HFC), alcohols, and saturated hydrocarbons (para 0085).
However, Nishiguchi fails to teach 1,1,2,3-tetrafluorobutane, nor does it teach the claimed concentration.
In the same field of endeavor, Hiroichi teaches a composition comprising at least one compound by formula 1 as an active ingredient (Overview):
wherein R 1 represents CF3CFH −, HCF2CFH −, or HCF2CF 2 −, and R 2 represents CF3CF2 −, CF3CFH−, CF2HCFH−, CF2HCH2 −,CFH2CFH-, CFH2CH2 −, or CH3CFH − (para 0008). This general formula satisfies 1,1,2,3-tetrafluorobutane, wherein R 1 represents HCF 2 CFH − and R 2 represents CH 3 CFH-. Hiroichi teaches that the concentration of these organic solvents within the composition ranges from 0 to 20% by weight (para 0014). Furthermore, Hiroichi teaches that the composition may incorporate various cleaning additives, including surfactants, stabilizers, and hydrochlorofluorocarbons (HCFCs) characterized by low ozone depletion potential (para. 0020). Hiroichi teaches several technical advantages of the composition, such as an optimal boiling point for solvent applications, effective solvency, and water-displacement properties (para. 0027). These attributes render the composition suitable for use as a flux remover or a cleaning agent for diverse substrates—including metals, plastics, and glass—as well as a water-removing agent following aqueous cleaning processes (para. 0010).
With regard to the compound, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to arrive at the claimed invention by incorporating 1,1,2,3-tetrafluorobutane to Nishiguchi’s composition. The person having ordinary skill in the art would expect the modification to optimize the composition’s dilution, water displacement properties, and environmental compliances with a reasonable expectation of success.
With regard to claim 2, Nishiguchi teaches 2,4,4,4-tetrafluoro-1-butene as a fluorinated unsaturated hydrocarbon (para 0082).
As stated above, However, Nishiguchi fails to teach 1,1,2,3-tetrafluorobutane, nor does it teach the claimed concentration. Nishiguchi in combination of Thompson teaches the concentration.
With regard to claim 3-4, Nishiguchi teaches the use of hydrochlorofluoroolefins, such as 1-chloro-2,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (para 0034).
With regard to claims 5-6, Nishiguchi teaches the fluorine-containing unsaturated compound can be used as a versatile thermal transfer medium (para 0109). Nishiguchi further teaches applications include working fluid for an organic Rankine cycle (power generation), and vapor compression refrigeration/heat pump, absorption heat pump, heat pipe, various cleaning agents (cycle, metal, flux), diluting solvent, foaming agent, and aerosol or the like (para 0109). The preferred utilization of working fluid, aerosol, foaming agent, diluting solvent, cleaning agent overlap those claimed.
With regard to claim 7, as stated previously, Nishiguchi teaches the medium as a working fluid for an organic Rankine cycle used in a power generation system or the like (para 0109).
With regard to claims 8-9, as stated previously, Nishiguchi teaches the medium as a cleaning agent for metal, flux, and cycle (para 0109).
With regard to claim 10, as stated previously, Nishiguchi teaches an aerosol and the like (para 0118). Aerosol are propellants of compressed or liquefied gases which satisfies the claimed.
With regard to claim 11, Nishiguchi teaches the gaseous working medium is used to generate electrical energy (para 0118). Nishiguchi further teaches the working medium may be compressed, then sent to a condenser (para 0131). In the condenser, the gaseous medium releases heat (condenses and liquifies) by exchanging it with a cooling fluid, such as air or water. Additionally, as stated above, the medium may be used as an aerosol containing compressed or liquefied gases. This process contains the medium as a compressed and liquefied gas material to satisfy those claimed.
Conclusion
/A.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761