DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The indicated allowability of claims 7 and 15 are withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Bagheri et al (US Patent 12,256,387 B2). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-14, 17-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bagheri et al (US Patent 12,256,387 B2).
Regarding to claims 1 and 9, Bagheri discloses an apparatus 100 (fig. 1) comprising: at least one processor 124 (col. 9 line 23); and a memory 106 storing processor-executable instructions that (col. 9 line 24), when executed, cause the processor to: receive a signaling of a configuration of physical downlink control channel PDCCH monitoring by the apparatus (fig. 22 col. 26 lines 60-64); receive a first downlink control information DCI in a first PDCCH, the first DCI comprising at least one field indicating presence information of a second DCI in a second PDCCH (col. 26 line 65-col. 27 line 1), wherein receiving, by the apparatus, the first DCI in the first PDCCH comprises monitoring at least one PDCCH candidate within a set of PDCCH candidates (col. 11 lines 49-55) to find a PDCCH candidate scrambled with an identifier associated with the apparatus (col. 20 lines 36-39), and wherein the identifier associated with the apparatus is a user equipment UE identifier or a group identifier (col. 13 line 61-col. 14 line 4); and decode the second DCI in the second PDCCH( col. 27 lines 5-6).
Regarding to claims 2 and 10, Bagheri discloses the signaling of a configuration of PDCCH monitoring comprises one or more of semi-static signaling, dynamic signaling, medium access control MAC control entity CE, radio resource control RRC signaling, or layer 1 L1 signaling (col. 19 lines 17-20; higher layer signaling).
Regarding to claims 3 and 11, Bagheri discloses the signaling of a configuration of PDCCH monitoring comprises parameters of at least one or more of control resource set CORESET, PDCCH candidates (col. 11 lines 14-17), search space SS (col. 11 lines 14-17), PDCCH candidate indexing, PDCCH candidate time-frequency resources, or PDCCH search ordering.
Regarding to claims 4 and 12, Bagheri discloses the first PDCCH and the second PDCCH are among a set of PDCCH candidates or search spaces (col. 11 lines 14-17), wherein at least one PDCCH candidate or SS of the set of PDCCH candidates or search spaces is used for carrying at least one of the first DCI and the second DCI (col. 13 lines 39-42).
Regarding to claims 5 and 13, Bagheri discloses the presence information of the second DCI in the second PDCCH comprises at least one of the following: an index or a value indicating a subset of resource from resource blocks in a CORESET; an index or a value indicating a number among configured CORESET; an index or value indicating a relative position of the second PDCCH candidate relative to the first PDCCH; an index or value indicating an absolute position of the second PDCCH as among a set of possible PDCCH candidates; an index or a value indicating an index number among a set of PDCCH candidates; an index or a value indicating a time-frequency resource area (col. 5 lines 47-50); an index or a value indicating partial or all CORESET resources; an index or a value indicating there is no second DCI; a bitmap including one bit for each PDCCH candidate.
Regarding to claims 6 and 14, Bagheri discloses the at least one field that is a modification of at least one existing field (col. 12 lines 45-47); or the at least one field is at least one new field; or the at least one field is a combination of at least one field that is a modification of at least one existing field and one or more new fields.
Regarding to claim 17, Bagheri discloses a network device 300 (fig. 3) comprising: at least one processor 302 (col. 10 lines 64-67); and a memory 305 storing processor-executable instructions that (col. 10 lines 34-36), when executed, cause the processor to: transmit a signaling of a configuration of physical downlink control channel PDCCH monitoring (fig. 22 col. 26 lines 60-64); transmit a first downlink control information DCI in a first PDCCH (col. 26 line 65-col. 27 line 1), wherein transmitting the first DCI in the first PDCCH comprises transmitting the first PDCCH candidate within a set of PDCCH candidates (col. 11 lines 49-55), the PDCCH candidate scrambled with an identifier associated with the apparatus (col. 20 lines 36-39), and wherein the identifier associated with the apparatus is a user equipment UE identifier or a group identifier (col. 13 line 61-col. 14 line 4); wherein the first DCI comprises at least one field indicating presence information of a second DCI in a second PDCCH (col. 26 line 65-col. 27 line 1).
Regarding to claim 18, Bagheri discloses the signaling of a configuration of PDCCH monitoring comprises one or more of semi-static signaling, dynamic signaling, medium access control MAC control entity CE, radio resource control RRC signaling, or layer 1 L1 signaling (col. 19 lines 17-20; higher layer signaling).
Regarding to claim 19, Bagheri discloses the signaling of a configuration of PDCCH monitoring comprises parameters of at least one or more of control resource set CORESET, PDCCH candidates (col. 11 lines 14-17), search space SS (col. 11 lines 14-17), PDCCH candidate indexing, PDCCH candidate time-frequency resources, PDCCH search ordering.
Regarding to claim 20, Bagheri discloses the presence information of the second DCI in the second PDCCH comprises at least one of the following: an index or a value indicating a subset of resource from resource blocks in a CORESET; an index or a value indicating a number among configured CORESET resources; an index or value indicating a relative position of the second PDCCH candidate relative to the first PDCCH; an index or value indicating an absolute position of the second PDCCH as among a set of possible PDCCH candidates; an index or a value indicating an index number among a set of PDCCH candidates; an index or a value indicating a time-frequency resource area (col. 5 lines 47-50); an index or a value indicating partial or all CORESET resources; an index or a value indicating there is no second DCI; a bitmap including one bit for each PDCCH candidate.
Regarding to claim 22, Bagheri discloses the at least one field that is a modification of at least one existing field (col. 12 lines 45-47); or the at least one field is at least one new field; or the at least one field is a combination of at least one field that is a modification of at least one existing field and one or more new fields.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 16, and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DUC T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467