DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-15, and 17-23 are pending. Claims 3, 10, and 16 are canceled. Claims 1-2, 4, 6-9, 11-15, and 17-20 are amended. Claim 5 is original. Claims 21-23 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments on page 16 of the remarks that primary reference GONZALES does not disclose the recitation “controlling the booster according to the target request voltage to enable the external charger to charge the vehicle according to the target request voltage”, it is submitted that GONZALES is not relied upon to teach the booster, as secondary reference RUAN is relied upon to teach the booster. As explained in the rejection, GONZALES discloses setting the output voltage of the external charger, which includes a converter (¶ 0039), in order to charge the vehicle (¶ 0041). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a booster as disclosed in RUAN, for the converter of GONZALES. It is therefore maintained that GONZALES as modified by RUAN teaches said recitation.
In response to arguments on pages on pages 16-18 of the remarks that GONZALES does not disclose the recitations “determining a first target voltage difference between a target voltage to be determined and the current voltage; and determining the target voltage of the charging port according to the first target voltage difference”, it is first noted that the “target voltage to be determined” renders the claim indefinite, and it is not clear how the “target voltage of the charging port” is determined. It is submitted that GONZALES discloses said recitations in paragraph 0039-0040 and Figure 3B, in that the disclosed “voltage matching” takes into account the voltage difference between the “current voltage” of the battery (14/40, Figure 2) and the “target voltage” of the charging port (18, Figure 2). The rejection does not rely upon the “predetermined voltage Vset” as the target voltage of the charging port or the current voltage of the battery as argued by Applicant.
Also, the rejection does not rely upon GONZALES to show determining the first target voltage difference “according to the boosting efficiency”, as secondary reference LIM is relied upon to teach the boosting efficiency. Regarding the recitation of determining the first target voltage difference according to the boosting efficiency, the claims and the specification do not specifically disclose how the difference is determined according to the boosting efficiency, allowing for a broad interpretation. For example, GONZALES discloses determining the first target voltage difference, and including the boosting efficiency to control the output, as disclosed in LIM, in the method of GONZALES, teaches determining the first target voltage difference “according to the boosting efficiency”, since the “first target voltage difference” would be dependent on the boosting efficiency.
Applicant argues on pages 17-18 and 20 that paragraph 0048 of GONZALES discloses using the voltage difference for fault diagnostics, and not for determining the target voltage. It is submitted that the disclosure of fault diagnostics in paragraph 0048 is not relied upon to teach the “first target voltage difference”.
In response to arguments on pages 18-19 that secondary reference RUAN does not teach the recitation “determining a second target voltage difference between the target voltage to be determined and the maximum rechargeable voltage”, it is first noted that the “target voltage to be determined” renders the claim indefinite, and it is not clear how the “target voltage of the charging port” is determined. It is submitted that the cited paragraphs of RUAN (¶ 0007, 0026, 0075) discloses said recitations in that the output voltage of the booster (101, 1014, Fig. 1 of RUAN), which in combination with the teachings of GONZALES, corresponds to the target voltage, takes into account the “maximum rechargeable voltage” of the external charger (200, Figure 1 of RUAN). This feature is also clearly shown in paragraph 0062 of RUAN. The rejection does not rely upon the disclosure of the “preset fluctuation voltage” in RUAN (as argued by Applicant) to teach said recitation.
In response to applicant's arguments on page 19 of the remarks against the references individually (“RUAN also does not disclose the technical features of amended claim 1: "determining the target voltage of the charging port according to the first target voltage difference and the second target voltage difference."), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). It is respectfully submitted that the combination of GONZALES as modified by RUAN teaches the recitations "determining the target voltage of the charging port according to the first target voltage difference and the second target voltage difference" as described in the rejection.
In response to arguments on pages 20-21 that secondary reference RUAN does not disclose “introducing an undetermined target voltage as an intermediate variable and establishing restrictive relationships of voltage differences between such unknown variable and other known voltages”, it is again submitted that the “target voltage to be determined” renders the claim indefinite, and it is not clear how the “target voltage of the charging port” is determined. Based on Applicant’s comments, it is not clear how to determine the recited target voltage differences based on an undetermined and unknown variable, i.e., the “target voltage to be determined”. Applicant’s comments appear to provide support for the position that the recitations of determining the target voltage differences based on “a target voltage to be determined” is indefinite.
In response to applicant’s argument on pages 20-21 that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include determining the second target voltage difference of RUAN in the method/system of GONZALES in order to maximize charging efficiency as stated in the rejection.
In response to arguments on pages 21-23 that secondary reference LIM does not disclose a booster, it is respectfully submitted that paragraphs 0005-0007 of LIM discloses commercial AC power of 220V is converted to supply DC voltage of up to 450V, and therefore the charger/converter of LIM is effectively a booster. Applicant has not specifically commented on or argued against the disclosure of paragraphs 0005-0007 relied upon to teach the claimed booster.
In response to arguments on page 22 of the remarks against secondary reference LIM, LIM is not relied upon to teach the “first target voltage difference”, as primary reference GONZALES is relied upon to teach said recitation. The claims and the specification do not specifically disclose how the difference is determined according to the boosting efficiency, allowing for a broad interpretation. For example, GONZALES discloses determining the first target voltage difference, and including the boosting efficiency to control the output, as disclosed in LIM, in the method of GONZALES, teaches determining the first target voltage difference “according to the boosting efficiency”, since the “first target voltage difference” would be dependent on the boosting efficiency. Applicant argues that LIM calculates a fixed voltage value, but does not cite any support from LIM for this assertion, and it is submitted that the output of the charger/converter of LIM is not a “fixed voltage value” as argued by Applicant, but rather the output is for charging a vehicle battery that has a fluctuating voltage as known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand how to utilize the boosting efficiency of LIM in the determination of the target voltage of GONZALES, in order to provide a suitable output voltage as stated in the rejection.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 6/22/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-15, and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding independent claim 1, the amended recitations “determining the target voltage of the charging port of the vehicle according to the current voltage, the maximum rechargeable voltage, and the electrical characteristic of the booster of the external charger comprises: determining boosting efficiency of the booster; determining a first target voltage difference between a target voltage to be determined and the current voltage according to the boosting efficiency; determining a second target voltage difference between the target voltage to be determined and the maximum rechargeable voltage; and determining the target voltage of the charging port according to the first target voltage difference and the second target voltage difference” fail to comply with the written description requirement. In particular, the first and second target voltage differences are disclosed as determined based on “the target voltage”, not “a target voltage to be determined” as recited in the amendment (see paragraphs 0055-0059 and 0096-0100 of the specification as originally filed). Therefore, the amended recitations constitute new matter.
Independent claims 8 and 14 contain amended limitations similar to those of claim 1, and are therefore rejected for the reasons set forth above.
Claims 2, 4-7, 9, 11-13, 15, and 17-23 are dependent from claims 1, 8, or 14, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons as independent claims 1, 8, and 14.
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-15, and 17-23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claims 1, 8, and 14, it is not clear how the “target voltage of the charging port” is determined based on “a target voltage to be determined”. Specifically, it is not clear how to determine the first and second target voltage differences based on “a target voltage to be determined”, since the target value is “to be determined” and is therefore undetermined/unknown. In addition, in claim 14, it is not clear how the target voltage is determined based on the second target voltage difference, as the second target voltage difference is determined based on the target voltage. Therefore, claims 1, 8, and 14 are rendered indefinite. For examination purposes, the claims are interpreted such that the target voltage of the charging port is based on the current voltage of the power battery and the maximum rechargeable voltage of the external charger.
Claims 2, 4-7, 9, 11-13, 15, and 17-23 are dependent from claims 1, 8, or 14, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons as independent claims 1, 8, and 14.
Regarding claim 21, the recited formula for the “target demand current” is indefinite, since the target demand current “Iveh”, which is understood as the output of the booster, should simply be equal to the sum of the demand current of the battery and the demand current of the accessories. It is not clear how or why the demand current for the vehicle is dependent on booster efficiency as recited in the formula.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 11, 14, 17, and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GONZALES (US Pub. No. 2017/0028857; cited in previous office action) in view of RUAN (CN114583792; cited on IDS with date 11/7/2023; cited in previous office action; English Machine translation was included with previous office action) and LIM (US Pub. No. 2020/0180458; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 1, GONZALES discloses a charging method (abstract, ¶ 0012), comprising:
obtaining a current voltage of a power battery (12, Fig. 1; 40, Fig. 2) of a vehicle (12, Fig. 2; ¶ 0035: a battery pack voltage; ¶ 0039: BECM 44 may be configured to receive battery pack voltage Vpack from a sensor (not shown) connected to the battery cells 40; ¶ 0043: battery pack voltage Vpack);
determining a target voltage of a charging port (18, Fig. 2) of the vehicle according to the current voltage (¶ 0039: the target voltage is “approximately equal to the voltage level of the battery pack 14”), and an electrical characteristic of a [converter] (a converter is implied in order to convert grid power to an output having an electrical characteristic of “DC fast charging”) of [an] external charger (¶ 0012: vehicle 12, may comprise at least one traction battery or battery pack 14 configured to receive electric charge via a charging session at a charging station (not shown) connected to a power grid (not shown); ¶ 0014: EVSE 16 may be designed to provide single- or three-phase AC or DC power to the vehicle 12. Differences in the charge connector and charging protocol may exist between an AC-, a DC-, and an AC/DC-capable EVSE. The EVSE 16 may further be capable of providing different levels of AC and DC voltage including, but not limited to, Level 1 120 volt (V) AC charging, Level 2 240V AC charging, Level 1 200-450V and 80 amperes (A) DC charging, Level 2 200-450V and up to 200 A DC charging, Level 3 200-450V and up to 400 A DC charging, and so on; ¶ 0023: the DCGM 36 may send to the BCCM 38 via a control pilot signal terminal a signal indicative of a specific charging session type being requested by the EVSE 16. In one example, the BCCM 38 may be configured to interpret a particular duty cycle of the PWM signal, e.g., 10%, as being indicative of a request to initiate a DC fast charging session);
determining a target request voltage (¶ 0039: Vset) of the vehicle according to the target voltage of the charging port (¶ 0039: a control strategy 76 for performing voltage matching is shown. The control strategy may begin at block 78 where the BECM 44 receives a signal indicative of a request to initiate a DC fast charging session. At block 80 the BECM 44 requests the EVSE 16 to set output voltage to a predetermined voltage Vset. In one example, the BECM 44 may request the EVSE 16 to set the output voltage level approximately equal to the voltage level of the battery pack 14, hereinafter battery pack voltage Vpack, e.g., 400V; ¶ 0040: BECM 44 determines at block 82 whether an absolute value of a difference between port voltage Vport and a predetermined voltage Vset is less than a predetermined value. In one example, the BECM 44 may be configured to determine port voltage Vport by measuring voltage between the positive node 75 and the negative node 77); and
controlling the [converter] according to the target request voltage to enable the external charger to charge the vehicle according to the target request voltage (¶ 0041: At blocks 86 and 88 the BECM 44 sends a request to the BEC 42 to close the DC fast charge contactor 60 and the negative main contactor 52, respectively, in response to determining at block 82 that the absolute value of the difference between port voltage Vport and a predetermined voltage Vset is less than a predetermined value. While blocks 86 and 88 show that the negative main contactor 52 is closed after the DC fast charge contactor 60, the sequence in which the DC fast charge contactor 60 and the negative main contactor 52 are closed may vary based on a given diagnostic strategy adopted by the BECM 44. The BECM 44 at block 90 performs DC fast charging),
wherein determining the target voltage of the charging port of the vehicle according to the current voltage, the maximum rechargeable voltage and then electrical characteristic of the booster of the external charger comprises:
determining a first target voltage difference between a target voltage to be determined (not defined or described, see 112(b) rejection) and the current voltage; and determining the target voltage of the charging port according to the first target voltage difference (¶ 0039-0040: see above; determining the “first target voltage difference” is implied in order to properly set a new target voltage based on the current voltage of the battery).
GONZALES fails to disclose obtaining a maximum rechargeable voltage of an external charger connected to the vehicle; determining the target voltage of the charging port of the vehicle according to the maximum rechargeable voltage and an electrical characteristic of a booster of the external charger; controlling the booster according to the target request voltage; and determining the target voltage of the charging port of the vehicle according to the current voltage, the maximum rechargeable voltage and the electrical characteristic of the booster of the external charger comprises: determining a second target voltage difference between the target voltage to be determined and the maximum rechargeable voltage; and determining the target voltage of the charging port according to the second target voltage difference.
RUAN discloses obtaining a maximum rechargeable voltage of an external charger (200, Fig. 1) connected to the vehicle (¶ 0007: system receives the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile sent by the battery management system and obtains the battery pack voltage value. The maximum output voltage value of the charging pile is sent to the battery management system by the charging gun when the charging gun is detected to be inserted. Based on the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile and the battery pack voltage value, the system determines the target voltage value of the buck side voltage of the boost unit. The system adjusts the buck side voltage of the boost unit to the target voltage value, and when the buck side voltage of the boost unit reaches the target voltage value, the system inputs the buck side voltage of the boost unit into the charging pile so that the charging pile outputs charging current after determining that the buck side voltage of the boost unit meets the preset requirements; ¶ 0053: battery management system 102 is used to obtain the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile and send the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile to the boost unit 101); determining the target voltage of the charging port of the vehicle according to the maximum rechargeable voltage and an electrical characteristic of a booster (101, Fig. 1) of the external charger (¶ 0022: numerical determination module is used to determine the target voltage value of the buck side voltage of the boost unit based on the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile and the battery pack voltage value; ¶ 0026: first transmitting module is used to send the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile to the boost unit, so that the boost unit can determine the target voltage value of the buck side voltage of the boost unit according to the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile and the obtained battery pack voltage value, adjust the buck side voltage of the boost unit to the target voltage value, and send the buck side voltage of the boost unit to the charging pile when the voltage of the buck side of the boost unit reaches the target voltage value, so that the charging pile outputs charging current after determining that the buck side voltage of the boost unit meets the preset requirements; ¶ 0033: obtain the current battery pack voltage and the maximum output voltage of the charging pile, determine the voltage value that maximizes the charging efficiency required by the charging pile, and send this appropriate voltage value to the charging pile so that the charging pile outputs the corresponding current, thereby improving the charging efficiency of the electric vehicle battery; ¶ 0061: the buck side of the boost unit can be the side of the boost unit closer to the charging pile. The target voltage value can be less than the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile, or less than the battery pack voltage value, so that the target voltage value can achieve the highest possible charging power for the battery pack after the boost unit boosts the voltage; ¶ 0133: the preset maximum allowable current can be the smallest of the maximum output current that the charging pile can achieve, the maximum current that the boost unit can withstand; ¶ 0175: the numerical determination module 502 is specifically used to query the range of values of the buck side voltage of the boost unit corresponding to the battery pack voltage value from the preset bench calibration data, and determine the first voltage value based on the difference between the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile and the preset fluctuation voltage value, and determine the second voltage value based on the product of the battery pack voltage value and the preset coefficient); controlling the booster according to the target request voltage (¶ 0057-0063); and determining a second target voltage difference between the target voltage to be determined (not defined or described, see 112(b) rejection) and the maximum rechargeable voltage; determining the target voltage of the charging port according to the second target voltage difference (¶ 0007, 0026, 0175: see above; determining the “second target voltage difference” is implied in order to properly set a new target voltage based on the maximum rechargeable voltage of the external charger). Including the second target voltage difference in the method of GONZALES teaches determining the target voltage of the charging port according to the first target voltage difference and the second target voltage difference.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the maximum rechargeable voltage of the external charger and the booster in order to maximize the charging efficiency (RUAN, ¶ 0033) while providing a desired output voltage.
GONZALES as modified by RUAN fails to disclose determining the target voltage of the charging port of the vehicle according to the current voltage, the maximum rechargeable voltage and the electrical characteristic of the booster of the external charger, comprises: determining boosting efficiency of the booster; and determining the first target voltage difference between the target voltage to be determined and the current voltage according to the boosting efficiency.
LIM discloses determining boosting efficiency of the booster (¶ 0005-0007: operates to boost voltage; ¶ 0052-0059: determines efficiency). One of ordinary skill would understand that including the determination of the boosting efficiency to control output, as disclosed in LIM, in the method of GONZALES as modified by RUAN, would provide determining the first target voltage difference between the target voltage to be determined and the current voltage according to the boosting efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include determining boosting efficiency of the booster in order to provide a suitable output voltage to normally charge the battery (LIM, ¶ 0108).
Regarding claim 4, GONZALES as modified by RUAN and LIM teaches determining the target request voltage of the vehicle according to the target voltage of the charging port comprises: determining the target request voltage according to the target voltage of the charging port (GONZALES, ¶ 0039-0040) and the maximum rechargeable voltage (RUAN, ¶ 0022, 0026, 0033, 0061, 0175), wherein the target request voltage is greater than the target voltage of the charging port, and the target request voltage is less than the maximum rechargeable voltage (LIM, ¶ 0052-0059).
Regarding claim 8, GONZALES discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, storing computer program instructions thereon, wherein the computer program instructions, when executed by a processor (¶ 0051: processes, methods, or algorithms disclosed herein may be deliverable to or implemented by a processing device, controller, or computer, which may include any existing programmable electronic control unit or dedicated electronic control unit. Similarly, the processes, methods, or algorithms may be stored as data and instructions executable by a controller or computer in many forms including, but not limited to, information permanently stored on non-writable storage media such as ROM devices and information alterably stored on writeable storage media such as floppy disks, magnetic tapes, CDs, RAM devices, and other magnetic and optical media. The processes, methods, or algorithms may also be implemented in a software executable object), cause the processor to perform a method comprising:
obtaining a current voltage of a power battery (12, Fig. 1; 40, Fig. 2) of a vehicle (12, Fig. 2; ¶ 0035: a battery pack voltage; ¶ 0039: BECM 44 may be configured to receive battery pack voltage Vpack from a sensor (not shown) connected to the battery cells 40; ¶ 0043: battery pack voltage Vpack);
determining a target voltage of a charging port (18, Fig. 2) of the vehicle according to the current voltage (¶ 0039: the target voltage is “approximately equal to the voltage level of the battery pack 14”), and an electrical characteristic of a [converter] (a converter is implied in order to convert grid power to an output having an electrical characteristic of “DC fast charging”) of [an] external charger (¶ 0012: vehicle 12, may comprise at least one traction battery or battery pack 14 configured to receive electric charge via a charging session at a charging station (not shown) connected to a power grid (not shown); ¶ 0014: EVSE 16 may be designed to provide single- or three-phase AC or DC power to the vehicle 12. Differences in the charge connector and charging protocol may exist between an AC-, a DC-, and an AC/DC-capable EVSE. The EVSE 16 may further be capable of providing different levels of AC and DC voltage including, but not limited to, Level 1 120 volt (V) AC charging, Level 2 240V AC charging, Level 1 200-450V and 80 amperes (A) DC charging, Level 2 200-450V and up to 200 A DC charging, Level 3 200-450V and up to 400 A DC charging, and so on; ¶ 0023: the DCGM 36 may send to the BCCM 38 via a control pilot signal terminal a signal indicative of a specific charging session type being requested by the EVSE 16. In one example, the BCCM 38 may be configured to interpret a particular duty cycle of the PWM signal, e.g., 10%, as being indicative of a request to initiate a DC fast charging session);
determining a target request voltage (¶ 0039: Vset) of the vehicle according to the target voltage of the charging port (¶ 0039: a control strategy 76 for performing voltage matching is shown. The control strategy may begin at block 78 where the BECM 44 receives a signal indicative of a request to initiate a DC fast charging session. At block 80 the BECM 44 requests the EVSE 16 to set output voltage to a predetermined voltage Vset. In one example, the BECM 44 may request the EVSE 16 to set the output voltage level approximately equal to the voltage level of the battery pack 14, hereinafter battery pack voltage Vpack, e.g., 400V; ¶ 0040: BECM 44 determines at block 82 whether an absolute value of a difference between port voltage Vport and a predetermined voltage Vset is less than a predetermined value. In one example, the BECM 44 may be configured to determine port voltage Vport by measuring voltage between the positive node 75 and the negative node 77); and
controlling the [converter] according to the target request voltage to enable the external charger to charge the vehicle according to the target request voltage (¶ 0041: At blocks 86 and 88 the BECM 44 sends a request to the BEC 42 to close the DC fast charge contactor 60 and the negative main contactor 52, respectively, in response to determining at block 82 that the absolute value of the difference between port voltage Vport and a predetermined voltage Vset is less than a predetermined value. While blocks 86 and 88 show that the negative main contactor 52 is closed after the DC fast charge contactor 60, the sequence in which the DC fast charge contactor 60 and the negative main contactor 52 are closed may vary based on a given diagnostic strategy adopted by the BECM 44. The BECM 44 at block 90 performs DC fast charging),
wherein the method further comprises:
determining a first target voltage difference between a target voltage to be determined (not defined or described, see 112(b) rejection) and the current voltage; and determining the target voltage of the charging port according to the first target voltage difference (¶ 0039-0040: see above; determining the “first target voltage difference” is implied in order to properly set a new target voltage based on the current voltage of the battery).
GONZALES fails to disclose obtaining a maximum rechargeable voltage of an external charger connected to the vehicle; determining the target voltage of the charging port of the vehicle according to the maximum rechargeable voltage and an electrical characteristic of a booster of the external charger; controlling the booster according to the target request voltage; and the method further comprises determining a second target voltage difference between the target voltage to be determined and the maximum rechargeable voltage; and determining the target voltage of the charging port according to the second target voltage difference.
RUAN discloses obtaining a maximum rechargeable voltage of an external charger (200, Fig. 1) connected to the vehicle (¶ 0007: system receives the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile sent by the battery management system and obtains the battery pack voltage value. The maximum output voltage value of the charging pile is sent to the battery management system by the charging gun when the charging gun is detected to be inserted. Based on the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile and the battery pack voltage value, the system determines the target voltage value of the buck side voltage of the boost unit. The system adjusts the buck side voltage of the boost unit to the target voltage value, and when the buck side voltage of the boost unit reaches the target voltage value, the system inputs the buck side voltage of the boost unit into the charging pile so that the charging pile outputs charging current after determining that the buck side voltage of the boost unit meets the preset requirements; ¶ 0053: battery management system 102 is used to obtain the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile and send the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile to the boost unit 101); determining the target voltage of the charging port of the vehicle according to the maximum rechargeable voltage and an electrical characteristic of a Booster (101, Fig. 1) of the external charger (¶ 0022: numerical determination module is used to determine the target voltage value of the buck side voltage of the boost unit based on the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile and the battery pack voltage value; ¶ 0026: first transmitting module is used to send the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile to the boost unit, so that the boost unit can determine the target voltage value of the buck side voltage of the boost unit according to the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile and the obtained battery pack voltage value, adjust the buck side voltage of the boost unit to the target voltage value, and send the buck side voltage of the boost unit to the charging pile when the voltage of the buck side of the boost unit reaches the target voltage value, so that the charging pile outputs charging current after determining that the buck side voltage of the boost unit meets the preset requirements; ¶ 0033: obtain the current battery pack voltage and the maximum output voltage of the charging pile, determine the voltage value that maximizes the charging efficiency required by the charging pile, and send this appropriate voltage value to the charging pile so that the charging pile outputs the corresponding current, thereby improving the charging efficiency of the electric vehicle battery; ¶ 0061: the buck side of the boost unit can be the side of the boost unit closer to the charging pile. The target voltage value can be less than the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile, or less than the battery pack voltage value, so that the target voltage value can achieve the highest possible charging power for the battery pack after the boost unit boosts the voltage; ¶ 0133: the preset maximum allowable current can be the smallest of the maximum output current that the charging pile can achieve, the maximum current that the boost unit can withstand; ¶ 0175: the numerical determination module 502 is specifically used to query the range of values of the buck side voltage of the boost unit corresponding to the battery pack voltage value from the preset bench calibration data, and determine the first voltage value based on the difference between the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile and the preset fluctuation voltage value, and determine the second voltage value based on the product of the battery pack voltage value and the preset coefficient); controlling the booster according to the target request voltage (¶ 0057-0063); and the method further comprises determining a second target voltage difference between the target voltage to be determined (not defined or described, see 112(b) rejection) and the maximum rechargeable voltage; and determining the target voltage of the charging port according to the second target voltage difference (¶ 0007, 0026, 0175: see above; determining the “second target voltage difference” is implied in order to properly set a new target voltage based on the maximum rechargeable voltage of the external charger). Including the second target voltage difference in the method of GONZALES teaches determining the target voltage of the charging port according to the first target voltage difference and the second target voltage difference.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the maximum rechargeable voltage of the external charger and the booster in order to maximize the charging efficiency (RUAN, ¶ 0033) while providing a desired output voltage.
GONZALES as modified by RUAN fails to disclose determining boosting efficiency of the booster; and determining the first target voltage difference between the target voltage to be determined and the current voltage according to the boosting efficiency.
LIM discloses determining boosting efficiency of the booster (¶ 0005-0007: operates to boost voltage; ¶ 0052-0059: determines efficiency). One of ordinary skill would understand that including the determination of the boosting efficiency to control output, as disclosed in LIM, in the method of GONZALES as modified by RUAN, would provide determining the first target voltage difference between the target voltage to be determined and the current voltage according to the boosting efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include determining boosting efficiency of the booster in order to provide a suitable output voltage to normally charge the battery (LIM, ¶ 0108).
Regarding claim 11, GONZALES as modified by RUAN and LIM teaches determining the target request voltage according to the target voltage of the charging port (GONZALES, ¶ 0039-0040) and the maximum rechargeable voltage (RUAN, ¶ 0022, 0026, 0033, 0061, 0175), wherein the target request voltage is greater than the target voltage of the charging port, and the target request voltage is less than the maximum rechargeable voltage (LIM, ¶ 0052-0059).
Regarding claim 14, GONZALES discloses a vehicle (12, Fig. 2), comprising:
a memory, storing a computer program thereon (¶ 0051: processes, methods, or algorithms disclosed herein may be deliverable to or implemented by a processing device, controller, or computer, which may include any existing programmable electronic control unit or dedicated electronic control unit. Similarly, the processes, methods, or algorithms may be stored as data and instructions executable by a controller or computer in many forms including, but not limited to, information permanently stored on non-writable storage media such as ROM devices and information alterably stored on writeable storage media such as floppy disks, magnetic tapes, CDs, RAM devices, and other magnetic and optical media. The processes, methods, or algorithms may also be implemented in a software executable object); and
a processor that is communicatively coupled to the memory (¶ 0051: see above), wherein the processor is configured to:
obtain a current voltage of a power battery (12, Fig. 1; 40, Fig. 2) of the vehicle (12, Fig. 2; ¶ 0035: a battery pack voltage; ¶ 0039: BECM 44 may be configured to receive battery pack voltage Vpack from a sensor (not shown) connected to the battery cells 40; ¶ 0043: battery pack voltage Vpack);
determine a target voltage of a charging port (18, Fig. 2) of the vehicle according to the current voltage (¶ 0039: the target voltage is “approximately equal to the voltage level of the battery pack 14”), and an electrical characteristic of a [converter] (a converter is implied in order to convert grid power to an output having an electrical characteristic of “DC fast charging”) of [an] external charger (¶ 0012: vehicle 12, may comprise at least one traction battery or battery pack 14 configured to receive electric charge via a charging session at a charging station (not shown) connected to a power grid (not shown); ¶ 0014: EVSE 16 may be designed to provide single- or three-phase AC or DC power to the vehicle 12. Differences in the charge connector and charging protocol may exist between an AC-, a DC-, and an AC/DC-capable EVSE. The EVSE 16 may further be capable of providing different levels of AC and DC voltage including, but not limited to, Level 1 120 volt (V) AC charging, Level 2 240V AC charging, Level 1 200-450V and 80 amperes (A) DC charging, Level 2 200-450V and up to 200 A DC charging, Level 3 200-450V and up to 400 A DC charging, and so on; ¶ 0023: the DCGM 36 may send to the BCCM 38 via a control pilot signal terminal a signal indicative of a specific charging session type being requested by the EVSE 16. In one example, the BCCM 38 may be configured to interpret a particular duty cycle of the PWM signal, e.g., 10%, as being indicative of a request to initiate a DC fast charging session);
determine a target request voltage (¶ 0039: Vset) of the vehicle according to the target voltage of the charging port (¶ 0039: a control strategy 76 for performing voltage matching is shown. The control strategy may begin at block 78 where the BECM 44 receives a signal indicative of a request to initiate a DC fast charging session. At block 80 the BECM 44 requests the EVSE 16 to set output voltage to a predetermined voltage Vset. In one example, the BECM 44 may request the EVSE 16 to set the output voltage level approximately equal to the voltage level of the battery pack 14, hereinafter battery pack voltage Vpack, e.g., 400V; ¶ 0040: BECM 44 determines at block 82 whether an absolute value of a difference between port voltage Vport and a predetermined voltage Vset is less than a predetermined value. In one example, the BECM 44 may be configured to determine port voltage Vport by measuring voltage between the positive node 75 and the negative node 77); and
control the [converter] according to the target request voltage to enable the external charger to charge the vehicle according to the target request voltage (¶ 0041: At blocks 86 and 88 the BECM 44 sends a request to the BEC 42 to close the DC fast charge contactor 60 and the negative main contactor 52, respectively, in response to determining at block 82 that the absolute value of the difference between port voltage Vport and a predetermined voltage Vset is less than a predetermined value. While blocks 86 and 88 show that the negative main contactor 52 is closed after the DC fast charge contactor 60, the sequence in which the DC fast charge contactor 60 and the negative main contactor 52 are closed may vary based on a given diagnostic strategy adopted by the BECM 44. The BECM 44 at block 90 performs DC fast charging),
wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine a first target voltage difference between a target voltage to be determined (not defined or described, see 112(b) rejection) and the current voltage; and determine the target voltage of the charging port according to the first target voltage difference (¶ 0039-0040: see above; determining the “first target voltage difference” is implied in order to properly set a new target voltage based on the current voltage of the batter).
GONZALES fails to disclose the processor is configured to obtain a maximum rechargeable voltage of an external charger connected to the vehicle; determine the target voltage of the charging port of the vehicle according to the maximum rechargeable voltage and an electrical characteristic of a booster of the external charger; control the booster according to the target request voltage; and the processor is further configured to: determine a second target voltage difference between the target voltage and the maximum rechargeable voltage; and determine the target voltage of the charging port according to the second target voltage difference.
RUAN discloses the processor is configured to obtain a maximum rechargeable voltage of an external charger (200, Fig. 1) connected to the vehicle (¶ 0007: system receives the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile sent by the battery management system and obtains the battery pack voltage value. The maximum output voltage value of the charging pile is sent to the battery management system by the charging gun when the charging gun is detected to be inserted. Based on the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile and the battery pack voltage value, the system determines the target voltage value of the buck side voltage of the boost unit. The system adjusts the buck side voltage of the boost unit to the target voltage value, and when the buck side voltage of the boost unit reaches the target voltage value, the system inputs the buck side voltage of the boost unit into the charging pile so that the charging pile outputs charging current after determining that the buck side voltage of the boost unit meets the preset requirements; ¶ 0053: battery management system 102 is used to obtain the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile and send the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile to the boost unit 101); determine the target voltage of the charging port of the vehicle according to the maximum rechargeable voltage and an electrical characteristic of a Booster (101, Fig. 1) of the external charger (¶ 0022: numerical determination module is used to determine the target voltage value of the buck side voltage of the boost unit based on the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile and the battery pack voltage value; ¶ 0026: first transmitting module is used to send the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile to the boost unit, so that the boost unit can determine the target voltage value of the buck side voltage of the boost unit according to the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile and the obtained battery pack voltage value, adjust the buck side voltage of the boost unit to the target voltage value, and send the buck side voltage of the boost unit to the charging pile when the voltage of the buck side of the boost unit reaches the target voltage value, so that the charging pile outputs charging current after determining that the buck side voltage of the boost unit meets the preset requirements; ¶ 0033: obtain the current battery pack voltage and the maximum output voltage of the charging pile, determine the voltage value that maximizes the charging efficiency required by the charging pile, and send this appropriate voltage value to the charging pile so that the charging pile outputs the corresponding current, thereby improving the charging efficiency of the electric vehicle battery; ¶ 0061: the buck side of the boost unit can be the side of the boost unit closer to the charging pile. The target voltage value can be less than the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile, or less than the battery pack voltage value, so that the target voltage value can achieve the highest possible charging power for the battery pack after the boost unit boosts the voltage; ¶ 0133: the preset maximum allowable current can be the smallest of the maximum output current that the charging pile can achieve, the maximum current that the boost unit can withstand; ¶ 0175: the numerical determination module 502 is specifically used to query the range of values of the buck side voltage of the boost unit corresponding to the battery pack voltage value from the preset bench calibration data, and determine the first voltage value based on the difference between the maximum output voltage value of the charging pile and the preset fluctuation voltage value, and determine the second voltage value based on the product of the battery pack voltage value and the preset coefficient); control the booster according to the target request voltage (¶ 0057-0063); and the processor is further configured to: determine a second target voltage difference between the target voltage (it is not clear how the target voltage is determined based on the target voltage, see 112(b) rejection above) and the maximum rechargeable voltage; and determine the target voltage of the charging port according to the second target voltage difference (¶ 0007, 0026, 0175: see above; determining the “second target voltage difference” is implied in order to properly set a new target voltage based on the maximum rechargeable voltage of the external charger). Including the second target voltage difference in the vehicle of GONZALES teaches determining the target voltage of the charging port according to the first target voltage difference and the second target voltage difference.
Although RUAN does not disclose the processor is part of the vehicle, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize including the functionality of the processor of RUAN in the processor of the vehicle of GONZALES would not provide new or unexpected results, and would constitute a predictable rearrangement with a reasonable expectation of success.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the maximum rechargeable voltage of the external charger and the booster in order to maximize the charging efficiency (RUAN, ¶ 0033) while providing a desired output voltage.
GONZALES as modified by RUAN fails to disclose the processor is further configured to: determine boosting efficiency of the booster; and determine the first target voltage difference between the target voltage to be determined and the current voltage according to the boosting efficiency.
LIM discloses determining boosting efficiency of the booster (¶ 0005-0007: operates to boost voltage; ¶ 0052-0059: determines efficiency). One of ordinary skill would understand that including the determination of the boosting efficiency to control output, as disclosed in LIM, in the vehicle of GONZALES as modified by RUAN, would provide determining the first target voltage difference between the target voltage to be determined and the current voltage according to the boosting efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include determining boosting efficiency of the booster in order to provide a suitable output voltage to normally charge the battery (LIM, ¶ 0108).
Regarding claim 17, GONZALES as modified by RUAN and LIM teaches the processor is further configured to: determine the target request voltage according to the target voltage of the charging port (GONZALES, ¶ 0039-0040) and the maximum rechargeable voltage (RUAN, ¶ 0022, 0026, 0033, 0061, 0175), wherein the target request voltage is greater than the target voltage of the charging port, and the target request voltage is less than the maximum rechargeable voltage (LIM, ¶ 0052-0059).
Regarding claim 22, GONZALES as modified by RUAN and LIM teaches the target voltage equals a (‘a’ is not defined or described, allowing for a broad interpretation) multiplied by the current voltage (GONZALES, ¶ 0039 discloses the target voltage is “approximately equal to the voltage level of the battery pack 14”, which can be interpreted as the current voltage multiplied by some factor ‘a’), or the first target voltage difference is x V, and values of a and X are determined based on the boosting efficiency (using the boosting efficiency to control output as disclosed in LIM, in the method of GONZALES, teaches the target voltage is “based on” the boosting efficiency within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language).
Regarding claim 23, GONZALES as modified by RUAN and LIM teaches the method as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose the second target voltage difference is in a range from 10 V to 20 V.
RUAN discloses the second target voltage difference as a voltage effective variable (¶ 0061-0062), and since the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the second target voltage difference as recited in order to maximize the charging efficiency (RUAN, ¶ 0033) while providing a desired output voltage.
Claim(s) 2, 7, 9, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GONZALES in view of RUAN and LIM as applied to claims 1, 4, 8, 11, 14, 17, and 22-23 above, and further in view of HARRIS (US Pub. No. 2022/0176840; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 2, GONZALES as modified by RUAN and LIM teaches the method as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose obtaining a target demand current of the vehicle and a maximum rechargeable current of the booster; determining a target request current of the vehicle according to the target demand current and the maximum rechargeable current; and requesting a current from the external charger according to the target request current to enable the external charger to charge the vehicle according to the target request current.
HARRIS discloses obtaining a target demand current of the vehicle and a maximum rechargeable current; determining a target request current of the vehicle according to the target demand current and the maximum rechargeable current; and requesting a current from the external charger according to the target request current to enable the external charger to charge the vehicle according to the target request current (¶ 0036, 0043). Including the maximum rechargeable current of HARRIS in the method of GONZALES as modified by RUAN and LIM would teach the maximum rechargeable current is of the booster.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the target request current in order to provide an EV charging system that is safer to use and maximizes infrastructure usage (HARRIS, ¶ 0002).
Regarding claim 7, GONZALES as modified by RUAN, LIM, and HARRIS teaches determining the target request current of the vehicle according to the target demand current and the maximum rechargeable current comprises: determining the target demand current as the target request current in a case where that the target demand current is less than the maximum rechargeable current; and determining the maximum rechargeable current as the target request current in a case where that the target demand current is greater than the maximum rechargeable current (HARRIS, ¶ 0036, 0043).
Regarding claim 9, GONZALES as modified by RUAN and LIM teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium as applied to claim 8, but fails to disclose obtaining a target demand current of the vehicle and a maximum rechargeable current of the booster; determining a target request current of the vehicle according to the target demand current and the maximum rechargeable current; and requesting a current from the external charger according to the target request current to enable the external charger to charge the vehicle according to the target request current.
HARRIS discloses obtaining a target demand current of the vehicle and a maximum rechargeable current; determining a target request current of the vehicle according to the target demand current and the maximum rechargeable current; and requesting a current from the external charger according to the target request current to enable the external charger to charge the vehicle according to the target request current (¶ 0036, 0043). Including the maximum rechargeable current of HARRIS in the processor executed the method of GONZALES as modified by RUAN and LIM would teach the maximum rechargeable current is of the Booster.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the target request current in order to provide an EV charging system that is safer to use and maximizes infrastructure usage (HARRIS, ¶ 0002).
Regarding claim 15, GONZALES as modified by RUAN and LIM teaches the vehicle as applied to claim 14, but fails to disclose the processor, is further configured to: obtain a target demand current of the vehicle and a maximum rechargeable current of the booster; determine a target request current of the vehicle according to the target demand current and the maximum rechargeable current; and request a current from the external charger according to the target request current to enable the external charger to charge the vehicle according to the target request current.
HARRIS discloses the processor, is further configured to: obtain a target demand current of the vehicle and a maximum rechargeable current; determine a target request current of the vehicle according to the target demand current and the maximum rechargeable current; and request a current from the external charger according to the target request current to enable the external charger to charge the vehicle according to the target request current (¶ 0036, 0043). Including the maximum rechargeable current of HARRIS in the vehicle of GONZALES as modified by RUAN and LIM would teach the maximum rechargeable current is of the booster.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the target request current in order to provide an EV charging system that is safer to use and maximizes infrastructure usage (HARRIS, ¶ 0002).
Regarding claim 20, GONZALES as modified by RUAN, LIM, and HARRIS teaches the processor is further configured to: determine the target demand current as the target request current in a case where the target demand current is less than the maximum rechargeable current; and determine the maximum rechargeable current as the target request current in a case where the target demand current is greater than the maximum rechargeable current (HARRIS, ¶ 0036, 0043).
Claim(s) 5, 12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GONZALES in view of RUAN and LIM as applied to claims 1, 4, 8, 11, 14, 17, and 22-23 above, and further in view of KING (US Pub. No. 2011/0204854; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 5, GONZALES as modified by RUAN and LIM teaches the method as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose obtaining an electric quantity change condition of the power battery; and adjusting the target voltage of the charging port according to the electric quantity change condition, and a preset relationship between a preset electric quantity of the power battery and the target voltage of the charging port.
KING discloses obtaining an electric quantity change condition of the power battery; and adjusting the target voltage of the charging port according to the electric quantity change condition (¶ 0032), and a preset relationship between a preset electric quantity of the power battery and the target voltage of the charging port (¶ 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the electric quantity change condition and preset relationship in order to ensure safety, optimize battery lifespan, and/or maintain system reliability.
Regarding claim 12, GONZALES as modified by RUAN and LIM teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium as applied to claim 8, but fails to disclose the method further comprises: obtaining an electric quantity change condition of the power battery; and adjusting the target voltage of the charging port according to the electric quantity change condition, and a preset relationship between a preset electric quantity of the power battery and the target voltage of the charging port.
KING discloses obtaining an electric quantity change condition of the power battery; and adjusting the target voltage of the charging port according to the electric quantity change condition (¶ 0032), and a preset relationship between a preset electric quantity of the power battery and the target voltage of the charging port (¶ 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the electric quantity change condition and preset relationship in order to ensure safety, optimize battery lifespan, and/or maintain system reliability.
Regarding claim 18, GONZALES as modified by RUAN and LIM teaches the vehicle as applied to claim 14, but fails to disclose the processor is further configured to: obtain an electric quantity change condition of the power battery; and adjust the target voltage of the charging port, according to the electric quantity change condition, and a preset relationship between a preset electric quantity of the power battery and the target voltage of the charging port.
KING discloses the processor is further configured to: obtain an electric quantity change condition of the power battery; and adjust the target voltage of the charging port, according to the electric quantity change condition (¶ 0032), and a preset relationship between a preset electric quantity of the power battery and the target voltage of the charging port (¶ 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the electric quantity change condition and preset relationship in order to ensure safety, optimize battery lifespan, and/or maintain system reliability.
Claim(s) 6, 13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GONZALES in view of RUAN, LIM, and HARRIS as applied to claims 2, 7, 9, 15, and 20 above, and further in view of SATOH (US Pub. No. 2020/0361333; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 6, GONZALES as modified by RUAN, LIM, and HARRIS teaches the method as applied to claim 2, but fails to teach obtaining the target demand current of the vehicle, comprises: obtaining a demand current and a demand voltage of the vehicle, the demand current of the vehicle comprising a demand current of the power battery; determining the boosting efficiency of the booster; and determining the target demand current according to the demand current and the demand voltage of the vehicle and the boosting efficiency.
LIM further discloses obtaining the target demand current of the vehicle, comprises: obtaining a demand current and a demand voltage of the vehicle, the demand current of the vehicle comprising a demand current of the power battery (¶ 0038, 0042: voltage desired for the battery; ¶ 0057: output voltage/current); determining the boosting efficiency of the booster (¶ 0005-0007: operates to boost voltage; ¶ 0052-0059: determines efficiency); and determining the target demand current according to the demand current and the demand voltage of the vehicle and the boosting efficiency (¶ 0062, 0080: modified current is output).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the determining the target demand current according to the demand current and the demand voltage of the vehicle and the boosting efficiency in order to provide a suitable output voltage to normally charge the battery (LIM, ¶ 0108).
GONZALES as modified by RUAN, LIM, and HARRIS fails to disclose the demand current of the vehicle comprising the demand current of the power battery and demand currents of other high-voltage accessories of the vehicle.
SATOH discloses demand current of the vehicle comprising the demand current of the power battery and demand currents of other high voltage accessories of the vehicle (¶ 0047-0054).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the demand current comprising the demand current of the power battery and demand currents of other high voltage accessories in order to execute charging of a battery with high power without generating an overcurrent state to the battery, even when operation of high voltage accessories and charging of the battery are simultaneously executed (SATOH, ¶ 0010).
Regarding claim 13, GONZALES as modified by RUAN, LIM, and HARRIS teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium as applied to claim 9, but fails to teach disclose obtaining a demand current and a demand voltage of the vehicle, the demand current of the vehicle comprising a demand current of the power battery; determining the boosting efficiency of the booster; and determining the target demand current according to the demand current and the demand voltage of the vehicle and the boosting efficiency.
LIM further discloses obtaining the target demand current of the vehicle, comprises: obtaining a demand current and a demand voltage of the vehicle, the demand current of the vehicle comprising a demand current of the power battery (¶ 0038, 0042: voltage desired for the battery; ¶ 0057: output voltage/current); determining the boosting efficiency of the booster (¶ 0005-0007: operates to boost voltage; ¶ 0052-0059: determines efficiency); and determining the target demand current according to the demand current and the demand voltage of the vehicle and the boosting efficiency (¶ 0062, 0080: modified current is output).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include determining the target demand current according to the demand current and the demand voltage of the vehicle and the boosting efficiency in order to provide a suitable output voltage to normally charge the battery (LIM, ¶ 0108).
GONZALES as modified by RUAN, LIM, and HARRIS fails to disclose the demand current of the vehicle comprising the demand current of the power battery and demand currents of other high-voltage accessories of the vehicle.
SATOH discloses demand current of the vehicle comprising the demand current of the power battery and demand currents of other high-voltage accessories of the vehicle (¶ 0047-0054).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the demand current comprising the demand current of the power battery and demand currents of other high voltage accessories in order to execute charging of a battery with high power without generating an overcurrent state to the battery, even when operation of high voltage accessories and charging of the battery are simultaneously executed (SATOH, ¶ 0010).
Regarding claim 19, GONZALES as modified by RUAN, LIM, and HARRIS teaches the vehicle as applied to claim 15, but fails to teach the processor is further configured to: obtain a demand current and a demand voltage of the vehicle, the demand current of the vehicle comprising a demand current of the power battery; determine the boosting efficiency of the booster; and determine the target demand current according to the demand current and the demand voltage of the vehicle and the boosting efficiency.
LIM further discloses the processor is further configured to: obtain a demand current and a demand voltage of the vehicle, the demand current of the vehicle comprising a demand current of the power battery (¶ 0038, 0042: voltage desired for the battery; ¶ 0057: output voltage/current); determine the boosting efficiency of the booster (¶ 0005-0007: operates to boost voltage; ¶ 0052-0059: determines efficiency); and determine the target demand current according to the demand current and the demand voltage of the vehicle and the boosting efficiency (¶ 0062, 0080: modified current is output).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include determining the target demand current according to the demand current and the demand voltage of the vehicle and the boosting efficiency in order to provide a suitable output voltage to normally charge the battery (LIM, ¶ 0108).
GONZALES as modified by RUAN, LIM, and HARRIS fails to disclose the demand current of the vehicle comprising the demand current of the power battery and demand currents of other high-voltage accessories of the vehicle.
SATOH discloses demand current of the vehicle comprising the demand current of the power battery and demand currents of other high-voltage accessories of the vehicle (¶ 0047-0054).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the demand current comprising the demand current of the power battery and demand currents of other high voltage accessories in order to execute charging of a battery with high power without generating an overcurrent state to the battery, even when operation of high voltage accessories and charging of the battery are simultaneously executed (SATOH, ¶ 0010).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GONZALES in view of RUAN, LIM, HARRIS, and SATOH as applied to claims 6, 13, and 19 above, and further in view of GALLOWAY (Pub. No.: US 2012/0308218 A1).
Regarding claim 21, GONZALES as modified by RUAN, LIM, HARRIS, and SATOH teaches the method as applied to claim 6, but fails to disclose the target demand current is determined by using the following formula: Iveh = (Ibat + lacc) x Ucat/ (Utar x n), wherein Iveh represents the target demand current, Ibat represents the demand current of the power battery, lacc represents the demand currents of other high-voltage accessories, Ucat represents the current voltage, Utar represents the target voltage, and n represents the boosting efficiency.
GALLOWAY discloses the target demand current is determined by using the following formula: Iveh = (Ibat + lacc) x Ucat/ (Utar x n), wherein Iveh represents the target demand current, Ibat represents the demand current of the power battery, lacc represents the demand currents of other high-voltage accessories, Ucat represents the current voltage, Utar represents the target voltage, and n represents the boosting efficiency (¶ 0021).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the target demand current formula as recited in order to improve the accuracy of the achievable output current (GALLOWAY, ¶ 0021).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 9/14/2026
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859