DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Canada on June 15, 2022 It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 2002106779983 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Note: Priority Documents have been filed but the certified copy has not.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-27 are objected to because of the following informalities: These claims have element numbers, for example, “(2)” in the claims. They should not be included in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 11-18 are directed to a multidimensional demonstration device for ferrofluid, claims 19-21, is directed to a demonstration method based on the multidimensional demonstration device for ferrofluid and claims 22-27 are directed to the demonstration method for the multidimensional demonstration for ferrofluid. Claims 19-27, are dependent upon a different statutory class. These claims are drafted in a manner that appears to be aiming to claim two statutory classes in one. Therefore, the Examiner is unclear as to what the Applicant is trying to claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowe et al. (U.S. Patent Number 11,498,270).
Referring to claim 1, Rowe et al. discloses comprising a container (Figs. 2A & 2B), a plurality of magnetic field generators (magnetic field chamber and magnetic array 102), ferrofluid (100), and a transparent medium (Figs. 2A & 2); the container is a closed structure with a hollow interior, and both the ferrofluid and the transparent medium are contained in the container (Figs. 2A & 2B); the container is a curved surface body with at least two planar outer walls, or a polyhedron, M magnetic field generators are installed on each of the at least two planar outer walls of the container (Figs 2 A & 2B), one side wall of a plurality of outer walls of the container without the magnetic field generators installed is set as an observation surface, the observation surface is made of a transparent material, where M is greater than or equal to 1 (Figs. 2A & 2B); during operation, a magnetic field strength of the magnetic field generators is adjusted to control a motion of the ferrofluid in the container, and a user observes a motion trajectory of the ferrofluid through the observation surface (Figs. 2A-4). Rowe et al. does not disclose a curved surface body but Rowe et al. does disclose a square/rectangle surface body as seen in the Figures. Having a curved surface body does not disclose or provide an advantage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have a curved surface body as both bodies’ container the magnetic field.
Referring to claim 12, Rowe et al. discloses wherein the planar outer walls of the container with the magnetic field generators installed border to each other (Figs. 2A & 2B).
Referring to claim 13, Rowe et al. discloses wherein when M is equal to 1, the motion trajectory of the ferrofluid crosses between inner walls corresponding to different outer planar walls of the container, or splits onto the inner walls corresponding to the different planar outer walls of the container (Figs. 2A & 2B); when M is greater than 1, the motion trajectory of the ferrofluid crosses between inner walls corresponding to
different planar outer walls of the container, or splits onto the inner walls corresponding to different planar outer walls of the container, or moves on an inner wall corresponding to the same planar outer wall of the container (1) (Figs. 2A & 2B).
Referring to claim 14, Rowe et al. discloses wherein when M is equal to 1, the motion trajectory of the ferrofluid crosses between inner walls corresponding to different outer planar walls of the container, or splits onto the inner walls corresponding to the different planar outer walls of the container (Figs 2A-4); when M is greater than 1, the motion trajectory of the ferrofluid crosses between inner walls corresponding to different planar outer walls of the container, or splits onto the inner walls corresponding to
different planar outer walls of the container, or moves on an inner wall corresponding to the same planar outer wall of the container (Figs. 2A-4).
Referring to claim 15, Rowe et al. discloses wherein the container is of a rectangular cuboid structure (Figs. 2A & 2B).
Referring to claim 16, Rowe et al. discloses wherein the container is of a rectangular cuboid structure (Figs. 2A & 2B).
Referring to claim 17, Rowe et al. discloses wherein the container is of a rectangular cuboid structure (Figs. 2A & 2B).
Referring to claim 18, Rowe et al. discloses wherein the magnetic field generators (2) are electromagnets (Figs. 2A-4).
Conclusion
/KESHA FRISBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715