Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendment filed on /30/2025 is acknowledged. Following the amendment, claims 1 and 7 are currently amended. Claims 13-17 are canceled. Claims 1-12 are currently pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 4, filed 11/21/2025, with respect to claims 1-17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 05/21/2025 is withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Applicant’s amendment filed 11/21/2025.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a written description rejection for the introduction of NEW MATTER into the claims.
The specification and the claims as originally filed do not provide support for the method of claims 1 and 7 including the step of “…analyzing phosphorylation of CD6 receptor of the CD6-ALCAM complex in the host cell, thereby showing a reduction of phosphorylation of CD6 receptor of the CD6-ALCAM complex…”. Applicant cites page 13, lines 20-21 of the specification in support of the new limitations.
Page 13, lines 20-21 disclose:
“…Phosphorylation of receptors is controlled by expression of phosphatases. SHP1 and SHP2 are key phosphatases known to be associated with receptor proteins and control their phosphorylation thereby modulating signal transduction. The association and phosphorylation of these proteins with immunoprecipitated CD6 was investigated in itolizumab-mediated inhibition.…”.
The specification originally filed has support for phosphorylation detection using Western blot with two antibodies. However, analyzing phosphorylation is broader than the phosphorylation detection using Western blot disclosed in the specification. Analyzing phosphorylation can be done with other methods such as Elisa, Mass Spectroscopy, and FACS as discussed in Dephoure et al.
Therefore, newly added limitation “analyzing” is considered f NEW MATTER.
Priority
For the purposes of claim priority, amended claims 1 and 7 are given priority filing date of 06/15/2023, the effective filing date of the current application, due to the introduction of NEW MATTER that does not have support in its parent application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 5, filed 11/21/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-17 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rodriguez et al have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Applicant’s amendment of claims 1 and 7.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez et al. (2012, cited on pg. 23 of IDS filed 12/18/2023) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 20190345247 (2019, cited on pg. 3 of IDS filed 12/18/2023).
Rodriguez et al. teach the administration of itolizumab to human subjects (see particularly, page 205, 2.1 Study design and endpoints). Itolizumab is the antibody of SEQ ID NOs:1 and 2. Note that the claims recite only a method of “contacting a host cell” with the antibody of the claims; administration of the antibody of the claims to a patient meets said limitation. The mechanisms of action recited in the claims are inherent properties to the antibody of the claims and add no patentable weight to the claimed method.
The reference differs from the claimed invention only in that it does not teach:
“…analyzing phosphorylation of CD6 receptor of the CD6-ALCAM complex in the host cell, thereby showing a reduction of phosphorylation of CD6 receptor of the CD6-ALCAM complex.”
The ‘247 application teaches that CD6 is hyperphosphorylated during T cell activation (see particularly paragraph [0008].
Given the combined teachings of the references it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing to analyze the phosphorylation of CD6 in the subjects of Rodriguez et al. by simply observing their progress. That is if the subject improves then T cells were not activated and T cell CD6 was obviously not hyperphosphorylated as taught by the ‘247 application. Regarding claim 7, the same logic applies; the analysis is performed by observing the subject.
Double Patenting
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 5-6, filed 11/21/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-17 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over listed patent publications have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Applicant’s amendment of claims 1 and 7.
1. Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-12, 15, 17-20, and 22-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11981743 (’743). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims encompass the administration of the antibody of the claims, e.g., itolizumab, to a subject thereby “contacting a host cell” with the antibody of the claims. Regarding the new “analyzing” limitations, the ‘247 application (cited above) teaches that CD6 is hyperphosphorylated during T cell activation (see particularly paragraph [0008]. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing to analyze the phosphorylation of CD6 in the subjects of ‘743 patent by simply observing their progress. That is if the subject improves then T cells were not activated and T cell CD6 was obviously not hyperphosphorylated as taught by the ‘247 application.
2. Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11028168 for the same reasons listed above.
3. Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 9670285 for the same reasons listed above.
4. Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 10189899 for the same reasons listed above.
5. Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 8524233 for the same reasons listed above.
6. Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 10000573 for the same reasons listed above.
7. Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 9217037 (‘737) in view of Rodriguez et al. (cited above). Patent ‘737 teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising itolizumab that effectively treats a disorder selected from a group consisting of multiple sclerosis, transplant rejection, rheumatoid arthritis, and psoriasis. This composition is also capable of eliciting an anti-inflammatory immune response selected from a group comprising Glutamic acid decarboxylase (GAD) and Heat Shock Protein 60 (HSP60), Myelin Basic Protein (MBP) and Myelin oligodendrocyte glycoprotein (MOG). However, patent ‘737 does not teach the method of “contacting a host cell” as recited in claim 1 of instant application. Rodriguez, as discussed above, addresses this deficiency by teaching the administration of itolizumab to human subjects and thereby meeting limitation of contacting host cell (see particularly, page 205, 2.1 Study design and endpoints). In addition, the ‘247 application teaches that CD6 is hyperphosphorylated during T cell activation (see particularly paragraph [0008]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the itlolizumab composition known from patent ‘737 and combine it with the teachings of Rodriguez to administer said composition to human subjects for the treatment of various disorders and analyze the phosphorylation of CD6 in the subjects of Rodriguez et al. by simply observing their progress. That is if the subject improves then T cells were not activated and T cell CD6 was obviously not hyperphosphorylated as taught by the ‘247 application. Thus, the invention as a whole was clearly prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
8. Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 10669346 in view of Rodriguez et al. (cited above) for the same reasons discussed above.
9. Claim 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12, 15-22 of copending Application No. 17/559,382 (reference application) for the same reasons discussed above. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
10. Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/630,519 (reference application) for the same reasons discussed above. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
11. Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17, and 22-24 of copending Application No. 17/916,910 (reference application) for the same reasons discussed above. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS GEORGE/Examiner, Art Unit 1644
/MISOOK YU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1641