DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patel (US 10,996,405 B2).
Regarding claim 16, 1-3, Patel teaches An optical system, comprising: a photonic die (reference numeral 140 in Figure 3) comprising waveguides (e.g. “waveguide” as in column 2 lines 35-48); an alignment part (reference numeral 405, 415, 420, 210, or 205 in Figure 4 or Figure 5) that is bonded to a surface of the photonic die using an adhesive (e.g. “epoxy” as in column 7 lines 10-19 and throughout); and a FAU (reference numeral 310, 410 in Figure 4) mated with the alignment part (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 3), wherein the mating between the FAU and the alignment part aligns optical fibers in the FAU to the waveguides in the photonic die (e.g. “aligned” as in column 6 lines 40-55), and wherein the FAU (reference numeral 310, 410 in Figure 4) is removeable from the photonic die (reference numeral 140 in Figure 3) and the alignment part (reference numeral 405, 415, 420, 210, or 205 in Figure 4 or Figure 5).
Regarding claim 17, Patel teaches The optical system of claim 16, further comprising: a different alignment part (reference numeral 415 in Figure 4) bonded to the surface of the photonic die using the adhesive (e.g. “epoxy” as in column 7 lines 10-19 and throughout), wherein the FAU mates with both the alignment part and the different alignment part (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 3) to align the optical fibers in the FAU to the waveguides in the photonic die (e.g. “aligned” as in column 6 lines 40-55).
Regarding claim 18, Patel teaches The optical system of claim 17, wherein the alignment part and the different alignment part each comprise at least one of a respective pin (reference numeral 415 in Figure 4) or a respective aperture (reference numeral 420 in Figure 4) that mates with apertures or pins in the FAU.
Regarding claim 19, 4-7, Patel teaches The optical system of claim 16, wherein the alignment part (reference numeral 405, 415, 420, 210, or 205 in Figure 4 or Figure 5) is a unitary part that comprises at least two alignment features (reference numeral 210, 205, 415, 420 in Figure 4 or Figure 5) that mate with at least two alignment features in the FAU.
Regarding claim 20, 8, Patel teaches The optical system of claim 16, wherein cured epoxy is not used to attach the FAU to the alignment part or the photonic die so that the FAU is removable from the FAU (e.g. “other adhesive” as in column 4 lines 1-15).
Regarding claim 9, Patel teaches The method of claim 8, wherein the different FAU is attached to the photonic die using a removable gel adhesive (e.g. “epoxy” as in column 7 lines 10-19 and throughout).
Regarding claim 10, Patel teaches The method of claim 8, but fails to specifically teach that the different FAU comprises an anti-reflective (AR) coating disposed at ends of the fibers (e.g. “index matching or non-index matching epoxy” as in column 12 lines 10-24), wherein the photonic die comprises a seal ring disposed around a periphery of the fibers (e.g. “epoxy that is disposed between the termination ends of the optical fibers 155 and the optical interface in the photonic chip” as in column 12 lines 10-24).
Regarding claim 11, Patel teaches The method of claim 8, further comprising: attaching the different FAU to the photonic die using a clamp (e.g. “die bonder” as in column 3 lines 53-67).
Regarding claim 12, Patel teaches The method of claim 7, wherein the different FAU is non-removeable from the photonic die and the alignment part (e.g. “bond” formed after “epoxy” “curing” as in column 4 lines 4-14).
Regarding claim 13, Patel teaches The method of claim 7, wherein the different FAU is chamfered at an endface that faces the photonic die (reference numeral 415 in Figure 4 and Figure 8).
Regarding claim 14, Patel teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the alignment part is attached to a top surface (reference numeral 210 in Figure 5) of the photonic die.
Regarding claim 15, Patel teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the alignment part is attached to an edge of the photonic die (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 6 and Figure 7) .
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/29/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As noted in Examiner’s amended rejection, Patel meets the newly added limitations of claim 16. Specifically, Examiner contends Patel’s FAU, e.g. layers 310, 410 in Figure 4, are removable from the photonic die in that the entirety of element 150, of which Patels FAU is a part, is couplable and removable from the photonic die. Similarly, Patel’s FAU, e.g. layers 310, 410 in Figure 4, are also removable from Patel’s alignment part, e.g. at least reference numeral 405 in Figure 4 or Figure 5, in that Patel’s FAU is comprised of layers above and below Patel’s alignment part. As independent, distinct, and separated layers prior to sandwiching Patel’s alignment part (405), examiner contends said layers are removable from Patel’s alignment part.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AGUSTIN BELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635