Response to Request for Continued Examination (RCE)
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's submission of Request for Continued Examination (RCE), dated on 03/25/2026.This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below:
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's submission of amendment, dated on 03/25/2026. This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 23-27,30-34,36-40and 42-46 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Rofougaran et al. US 2013/0083828A1in view of LIU et al US 20190013923 A1
Claims 1-22 and 29 are Canceled.
Regarding claims 23,30, 36 and 42; Rofougaran et al. US 2013/0083828A1 discloses
-23. An apparatus for wireless communications at a network device, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories[0026] the source wireless device 202 comprises the communication subsystem 100, substantially as described with respect to FIG. 1, wherein fig. 1 and [0015]-[0016] discloses The communication subsystem 100 may comprise the RF receiver 104 a, the RF transmitter 104 b, the receive antenna 106 a, the transmit antenna 106 b, the digital baseband processor 108, the processor 110, the memory 112, and may also comprise additional suitable logic, circuitry, and/or code that may enable receiving, transmitting, and processing of RE signals)and configured to cause the network device to:
30-A method for wireless communications at a network device, comprising:
36. A network device for wireless communications, comprising:
42. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications, the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors [0026] the source wireless device 202 comprises the communication subsystem 100, substantially as described with respect to FIG. 1, wherein fig. 1 and [0015]-[0016] discloses The communication subsystem 100 may comprise the RF receiver 104 a, the RF transmitter 104 b, the receive antenna 106 a, the transmit antenna 106 b, the digital baseband processor 108, the processor 110, the memory 112, and may also comprise additional suitable logic, circuitry, and/or code that may enable receiving, transmitting, and processing of RE signals to:
transmit, to a repeating device at a first carrier frequency, an indication of a configuration of the repeating device (fig.2, [0025]-[0028] discloses The repeater device 204 receives control information via control connection 208 from the source wireless device 202. Where The control connections 208 comprises a wireless and/or wireline link that may be utilized to communicate control messages between the source wireless device 202 and the repeater device 204, wherein links may comprise a Bluetooth connection= lower frequency (i.e., first carrier frequency).,
wherein the configuration indicates that the repeating device is to perform frequency translation of a beamformed signal from a second carrier frequency to a third carrier frequency (fig. 2 and [0028]-[0029] disclose he source device 202 may transmit a signal 210 destined for the target devices 206 1, . . . , 206 N to the repeater device 204, the repeater device 204 may receive the signal 210, having a first frequency= extremely high frequency (EHF) (i.e. a second carrier frequency), from the source device, and the frequency of the received signal 210 may be shifted (i.e., translated) to match the receive frequencies (i.e. third carrier frequency ) of the target devices 206 1, . . . , 206 N and/or mitigate any sort of interference such as avoiding noisy frequencies. Additionally, the repeated signals 212 1, . . ., 212 N may be directed to the destination target devices 206 1, . . . , 206 N. the repeated signals 212 1, . . . , 212 N may each comprise a plurality of signal components transmitted via a corresponding plurality of antenna elements and the phase and/or amplitude of the signal components may be controlled to affect the directionality of each of the transmitted signals 212 1, . . . , 212 N based on information received via the control connections 208), and
transmit, to the repeating device at the second carrier frequency, the beamformed signal based at least in part on the configuration.
[0028]-[0029] discloses the source device 202 transmits a signal 210 destined for the target devices 206 1, . . . , 206 to the repeater device 204, the repeater device 204 may receive the signal 210, having a first frequency(i.e. second frequency carrier), from the source device 202 and repeat (re-transmit) the received signal 210 as signals 212 1, . . . , 212 N, to the target devices 206 1, . . . , 206 N, respectively. the frequency of the received signal 210 may be shifted (i.e., translated) to match the receive frequencies (i.e. third carrier frequency) of the target devices 206 1, . . ., 206 N and/or mitigate any sort of interference such as avoiding noisy frequencies, based on information received via the control connections 208)
Rofougaran does not disclose wherein a difference between the second carrier frequency and the third carrier frequency satisfies a threshold; and
LIU et al US 2019 / 0013923 A1 discloses wherein a difference between the second carrier frequency and the third carrier frequency satisfies a threshold [0016] discloses difference between the two carrier central frequencies satisfies a threshold, when the absolute value of the difference between the two carrier central frequencies is less than a threshold value, the control circuit 140 has the wireless communication device 100 enables the self-interference cancellation circuit 13 and when the absolute value of the difference is greater than the threshold value, the control circuit 140 has the wireless communication device 100 disables the self-interference cancellation circuit 130.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rofougaran, by including wherein a difference between the second carrier frequency and the third carrier frequency satisfies a threshold, as taught by LIU, in order to enable or disable the self-interference cancellation (see LIU [0016]).
Regarding claims 24 ,31,37 and 43, the combination of Rofougaran and LIU discloses all the features with respect to claims 23,30,36 and 42, respectively.
Rofougaran further discloses wherein, to transmit the indication of the configuration, the one or more processors are configured to cause the network device to: transmit a second beamformed signal comprising control information that indicates the configuration (fig.2, [0025]-[0028] discloses repeater device utilized to forward wireless communications from a source device to a plurality of target devices (i.e. one or more user equipment (UEs)). The repeater device receives control information via control connection 208. The control connections 208 comprises a wireless and/or wireline link that may be utilized to communicate control messages between the source wireless device 202 and the repeater device 204, wherein links may comprise a Bluetooth connection (i.e., lower frequency).
Regarding claims 25 ,32,38 and 44, the combination of Rofougaran and LIU discloses all the features with respect to claims 24,31,37and 43, and 48respectively. Rofougaran further discloses wherein the second beamformed signal is transmitted via a first link used to communicate beamformed signal transmissions (fig.2, [0025]-[0028] discloses repeater device utilized to forward wireless communications from a source device to a plurality of target devices (i.e. one or more user equipment (UEs)). The repeater device receives control information via control connection 208. The control connections 208 comprises a wireless and/or wireline link that may be utilized to communicate control messages between the source wireless device 202 and the repeater device 204, wherein links may comprise a Bluetooth connection= lower frequency.
Regarding claims 26,33,39, and 45, the combination of Rofougaran and LIU discloses all the features with respect to claims 23,30,36 and 42, respectively.
Rofougaran further discloses wherein, to transmit the indication of the configuration, the one or more processors are configured to cause the network device to: transmit, via a second link that is different from a first link used to communicate beamformed signal transmissions, a second signal that indicates the configuration(fig. 2 and [0026]-[0029] disclose the repeater device 204 receives control information via communication208=Bluetooth communication (low frequency) ( first link) and receives the signal 210, having a first frequency= extremely high frequency (EHF) (i.e. a second link)), wherein communication 208 and a first frequency are different).
Regarding claims 27 ,34,40 and 46, the combination of Rofougaran and LIU discloses all the features with respect to claims 23,30,36 and 42, respectively.
Rofougaran further discloses wherein the configuration comprises one or more transmission directions[0027] the repeater device 204 may comprise suitable logic, circuitry, and/or code that may enable configuration of the repeater device 204 based on information received via the control connections 208, 209 1, . . . , 209 N. Wherein The repeater device 204 may enable reception and/or transmission of an RE signal to facilitate forwarding an RF signal from the source wireless device 202 to target devices 206 1, . . . , 206 N. Accordingly, the repeater device 204 may be enabled to control directionality of the repeated signals 212 1, . . . , 212 N so as to direct the signals 212 1, . . . , 212 N to the target devices 206 1, . . . , 206 N, respectively,
one or more gains, a beam width for one or more transmission beams, a beam width for one or more receive beams, or a combination thereof.
Claims 28 ,35,41 and 47 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Rofougaran in view of LIU in view of ROFOUGARAN et al US 2020/0403689 A1, refer as ROFOUGARAN _689
Regarding claims 28 ,35,41 and 47, the combination of Rofougaran and LIU discloses all the features with respect to claims 23,30,36 and 42, respectively. While Rofougaran discloses, in paragraph 0017, the repeater device receives extremely high frequency (EHF) signals and non-EHF RF signals, For example, Bluetooth RF signals in approximately 60 GHz.
the combination of Rofougaran and LIU discloses does not explicitly disclose wherein the same radio frequency spectrum band comprises a millimeter wave (mmW) frequency range.
ROFOUGARAN et al US 2020/0403689 A1 discloses wherein the same radio frequency spectrum band comprises a millimeter wave (mmW) frequency [0043] the repeater device facilitates communication in both sub 30 gigahertz to above 30 gigahertz. The band of radio frequencies in the electromagnetic spectrum from 30 to 300 gigahertz is usually referred to as extremely high frequency (EHF) communication. Such radio frequencies have wavelengths from ten to one millimeter, referred to as millimeter wave (mmW). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Rofougaran and LIU, by incorporating wherein the same radio frequency spectrum band comprises a millimeter wave (mmW) frequency, as taught by ROFOUGARAN_689, in order to facilitate communication in both sub 30 gigahertz to above 30 gigahertz (ROFOUGARAN_689 [0043]).
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s argument with respect to the pending claims have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive for at least the following reasons. Applicant’s amendment to claims necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Therefore, Applicant's arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/ABDELTIF AJID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478