DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) filed on 6/18/2026 have been considered.
Status of Claims
Applicant’s communications filed on 6/18/2026 have been considered.
Claims 1, 11 and 19 have been amended.
Claims 2 and 12 have been previously canceled.
Claims 1, 3-11 and 13-21 are currently pending and have been examined.
Eligibility Considerations
The claims recite eligible subject matter. The claims recite substantially similar subject matter to those at issue in the Office Action dated 3/24/2026. Accordingly, the claims are eligible for at least the same reasons set forth in the Office Action dated 3/24/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but are rendered moot under new grounds of rejection.
Applicant argues on pages 10-12 that the amended independent claims 1, 11 and 19 overcome the currently cited prior art because none of previously cited Etheridge, Patel, Rose, or Cok, separately or in combination, teach the newly amended limitations of the independent claims. This argument has been considered but is rendered moot, as Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 11 and 19 have altered the scope of the claims such that previously cited Patel, in view of newly cited Vincent and previously cited Etheridge, has been relied upon as the primary reference of the current 103 rejection of the independent claims, as discussed below. Accordingly, this argument is rendered moot under new grounds of rejection, and the claims stand rejected under 35 USC 103.
Applicant further argues that dependent claims 3-10, 13-18, and 20-21 are allowable over the previously cited art at least by virtue of their respective dependencies to the independent claims 1, 11, and 19. Applicant further argues that claims 3, 13, and 20, as well as claims 4, 14, and 20 include additional limitations related to the claimed user interaction and the claimed processing server that are not disclosed by the previously cited references. These arguments have similarly been rendered moot under the new grounds of rejection referenced in the above paragraph. Accordingly, these arguments are not applicable, and the rejection has been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-11, 13-14, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Patel (US 2015/0135127 A1) in view of newly cited Vincent (US 2018/0359340 A1), and further in view of previously cited Etheridge (US 10,460,392 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Patel discloses A method for implementing a contextual progress bar in a graphical user interface, the method comprising operations executed using processor circuitry of a client computing device, and the operations comprising ([Fig. 5]; [Fig. 1][0019] The GUI is provided on a user's computing device 110… Each user device has a processor 111 and a data storage medium 112. It also has a user interface that includes a display screen 113 and a user input device 114):
causing a display of a progress bar that presents a status of an electronic commerce transaction, the progress bar including a sliding indicator that is movable with direct manipulation by a user along an axis of the progress bar to control multiple activities performed sequentially to conduct the electronic commerce transaction ([Fig. 5]; [0030] an example card display window 500 that displays the six greeting cards 501 that incorporate the best matching templates; [0033] the GUI includes an image selector 520… including a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532… The button 531 is initially in a fully left "first" position 541 ("1") when the image set in each card is the respective stock image set. Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321 (FIG. 3). Movement of the button 531 further "forward" (rightward) to a "third" position 543 ("3") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a second forward transformation to the second user-designated image set 322 (FIG. 3); see [Fig. 3]; [0063] the user may select items for purchase; [0028] the displayable number of templates may be mathematically determined by the server based on data regarding the particular user and results of the search),
wherein the progress bar provides a user-interactive capability at the client computing device to start and to stop the multiple activities performed, in response to a position of the sliding indicator resulting from user movement of the sliding indicator along the axis at the client computing device ([Fig. 5]; [0033] Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321 (FIG. 3) [0034] the user can cause a transformation to progress only halfway (without reaching the next image set) and then return to the previous image set, by moving the button 531 only halfway from a previous position to the next position and then returning the button 531 to the previous position);
receiving user interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator from at least a first position to a second position on the progress bar along the axis ([Fig. 5]; [0033] the GUI includes an image selector 520… including a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532… The button 531 is initially in a fully left "first" position 541 ("1") when the image set in each card is the respective stock image set. Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321 (FIG. 3); see [Fig. 3]),
wherein user movement of the sliding indicator to the second position, in a first direction along the axis, controls transmission of a request from the client computing device that causes an activity of the multiple activities to be performed in the electronic commerce transaction ([Fig. 5]; [0033] the GUI includes an image selector 520… including a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532… Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321 (FIG. 3); [0035]; see [Fig. 3]), and
wherein a progression of the multiple activities tracks the position of the sliding indicator ([Fig. 5]; [0033] the GUI includes a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532… The button 531 is initially in a fully left "first" position 541 ("1") when the image set in each card is the respective stock image set. Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321 (FIG. 3). Movement of the button 531 further "forward" (rightward) to a "third" position 543 ("3") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a second forward transformation to the second user-designated image set 322 (FIG. 3); see [Fig. 3]); and
updating the display of the progress bar to indicate a status of the activity in the electronic commerce transaction to be performed ([Fig. 5]; [0033] the GUI includes an image selector 520… including a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532… the selector 530 has three positions 541, 542, 543. The button 531 is initially in a fully left "first" position 541 ("1") when the image set in each card is the respective stock image set. Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321 (FIG. 3); see [Fig. 5] the depicted horizontal virtual track 532 includes multiple positions at which the virtual slider button 531 is displayed),
wherein the progress bar is updated corresponding to the activity, and wherein the progress bar is updated to display the progression within a sequence of the multiple activities of the electronic commerce transaction to be performed ([Fig. 5]; [0033] the GUI includes an image selector 520… including a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532… the selector 530 has three positions 541, 542, 543. The button 531 is initially in a fully left "first" position 541 ("1") when the image set in each card is the respective stock image set. Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321 (FIG. 3); see [Fig. 5] the depicted horizontal virtual track 532 includes multiple positions at which the virtual slider button 531 is displayed).
Patel discloses a progress bar including a sliding indicator that is movable with direct manipulation by a user to control multiple activities performed sequentially to conduct the electronic commerce transaction (see at least Patel [Fig. 5][0028][0030-0031][0033]; [Fig. 3]). Patel further discloses the progress bar providing a user-interactive capability at the client computing device to start and to stop the multiple activities performed in response to a position of the sliding indicator (Patel [Fig. 5][0034]). Patel further discloses transmitting a request from the client computing device that causes an activity of the multiple activities to be performed, wherein a progress of the activities tracks the position of the sliding indicator, and wherein the progress bar is updated to display the progression within a sequence of the multiple activities of the electronic commerce transaction (Patel [Fig. 5][0033]). Patel further discloses that the user computing device communicates with a processing server ([Fig. 1][0016][0019-0020][0029][0030-0031]). However, Patel does not explicitly disclose multiple activities performed sequentially at the processing server; and transmitting a request to the processing server that causes an activity to be performed at the processing server.
However, in the field of interactive slider elements within a graphical user interface (see at least Vincent [Fig. 1][[0088-0089]), Vincent, on the other hand, teaches multiple activities performed sequentially at the processing server ([0018] requests from the user 105 via local computer 110 trigger the pricing slider application server 160 to request pricing data from the pricing database server 170 and pricing database 180 as well as cause the pricing database server 170 to make calculations using the requested pricing data; see [0016] the system architecture 100 may be implemented using a client server model); and
transmitting a request to the processing server that causes an activity to be performed at the processing server ([0018] requests from the user 105 via local computer 110 trigger the pricing slider application server 160 to request pricing data from the pricing database server 170 and pricing database 180 as well as cause the pricing database server 170 to make calculations using the requested pricing data).
The steps of Vincent are applicable to the method of Patel, as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to interactive graphical user interface (GUI) slider features that control activities. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the interactive slider method as taught by Patel, to include multiple activities performed sequentially at the processing server; and transmitting a request to the processing server that causes an activity to be performed at the processing server, as taught by Vincent. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the interactive slider method of Patel in order to enable execution of a processing function on a client using resources from a processor of a server, as well as provide load balancing with server processing (Vincent, [0047][0145][0167]).
PatePPatel further discloses wherein the progress bar is updated corresponding to the activity, and to display the progression within a sequence of the multiple activities of the electronic commerce transaction (see at least Patel [Fig. 5][0033]). However, Patel in view of Vincent does not explicitly disclose wherein the progress bar is updated to display text.
However, in the field of progress bar display (see at least Etheridge [Fig. 3B-3G][Col 16 Ln 9-26]), Etheridge, on the other hand, teaches wherein the progress bar is updated to display text ([Col 16 Ln 9-26] Portion 324 may include a progress indicator that provides a customer with feedback regarding the customer's overall progress in the application process… while the customer is entering personal data using the web-based application, the progress bar may indicate the customer's progress accordingly; see [Fig. 3B-3G] depicting updating of the progress bar between “Personal Info”, “Policy Info”, “Health & Lifestyle”, and “Purchase” sections).
The steps of Etheridge are applicable to the method of Patel in view of Vincent, as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to interactive graphical user interface (GUI) display of progress bars. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the progress bar display method as taught by Patel in view of Vincent, to include wherein the progress bar is updated to display text, as taught by Etheridge. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the progress bar display method of Patel in view of Vincent in order to provide additional information indicating a customer’s progress throughout a process, including indicating completed sections and sections for which a customer is currently providing information (Etheridge, [Col 16 Ln 9-26][Col 16 Ln 59-65]).
Regarding Claim 3, Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge teaches the method of claim 1.
Patel further discloses receiving a second user interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator from the second position to a third position on the progress bar along the axis, wherein user movement of the sliding indicator to the third position transmits a subsequent request to the processing server that causes a subsequent activity to be performed by the processing server in the electronic commerce transaction ([Fig. 5]; [0033] the GUI includes a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532… The button 531 is initially in a fully left "first" position 541 ("1") when the image set in each card is the respective stock image set. Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321 (FIG. 3). Movement of the button 531 further "forward" (rightward) to a "third" position 543 ("3") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a second forward transformation to the second user-designated image set 322 (FIG. 3); see [Fig. 3]).
However, Patel does not explicitly disclose transmitting the request to the processing server that causes an activity to be performed by the processing server.
Vincent, on the other hand, teaches transmitting the request to the processing server that causes an activity to be performed by the processing server ([0018] requests from the user 105 via local computer 110 trigger the pricing slider application server 160 to request pricing data from the pricing database server 170 and pricing database 180 as well as cause the pricing database server 170 to make calculations using the requested pricing data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the interactive slider method as taught by Patel, to include multiple activities performed sequentially at the processing server; and transmitting a request to the processing server that causes an activity to be performed at the processing server, as taught by Vincent, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4, Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge teaches the method of claim 1.
Patel further discloses receiving a reverse user interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator from the second position back to the first position on the progress bar, wherein user movement of the sliding indicator back to the first position, in a second direction along the axis that is opposite of the first direction, controls transmission of a reverse request that causes the activity to be reversed in the electronic commerce transaction ([Fig. 5]; [0034] Movement of the slider button 531 in a reverse (leftward) direction from the "3" position to the "2" position causes the second user-designated image set 322 in each item 501, 511 to undergo a reverse transformation to be replaced with the first user-designated image set 321. Further movement of the slider button 531 in the reverse direction to the "1" position causes the first user-designated image set 321 in each item 501, 511 to be replaced by the initial stock images).
However, Patel does not explicitly disclose transmitting a request to the processing server that causes the activity by the processing server.
Vincent, on the other hand, teaches transmitting a request to the processing server that causes the activity by the processing server ([0018] requests from the user 105 via local computer 110 trigger the pricing slider application server 160 to request pricing data from the pricing database server 170 and pricing database 180 as well as cause the pricing database server 170 to make calculations using the requested pricing data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the interactive slider method as taught by Patel, to include transmitting a request to the processing server that causes the activity by the processing server, as taught by Vincent, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 9, Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge teaches the method of claim 1.
Patel further discloses wherein the user movement of the sliding indicator from the first position to the second position on the progress bar causes automatic movement of the sliding indicator on the progress bar and causes automatic performance of the multiple activities in the electronic commerce transaction ([Fig. 5]; [0033] the GUI includes an image selector 520… including a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532… Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321 (FIG. 3); [0035]; see [Fig. 3]),
wherein the display of the progress bar is updated to show each of the multiple activities for the electronic commerce transaction ([Fig. 5]; [0033] the GUI includes an image selector 520… including a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532… the selector 530 has three positions 541, 542, 543. The button 531 is initially in a fully left "first" position 541 ("1") when the image set in each card is the respective stock image set. Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321 (FIG. 3); see [Fig. 5] the depicted horizontal virtual track 532 includes multiple positions at which the virtual slider button 531 is displayed), and
wherein the progress bar is configured to receive a subsequent user interaction that stops the automatic movement of the sliding indicator on the progress bar and stops the automatic performance of the multiple activities in the electronic commerce transaction ([Fig. 5]; [0034] the user can cause a transformation to progress only halfway (without reaching the next image set) and then return to the previous image set, by moving the button 531 only halfway from a previous position to the next position and then returning the button 531 to the previous position).
Regarding Claim 10, Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge teaches the method of claim 1.
Patel further discloses wherein the electronic commerce transaction relates to at least one data processing activity that is initiated for an in-store pickup, a back-end order fulfillment, or a supply chain status ([Fig. 5]; [0033-0034] the selector 530 includes a virtual slider button… movement of the button 531… causes the images in each card 501 to undergo transformations; [0063] The user may then select the remaining items on the display window 500 for purchase. The user provides payment and delivery information to the server 101. The selected items are then delivered (provided) to the user) (Note: Delivery of purchased products reasonably reads on a back-end order fulfillment), and
wherein a speed of updating the display of the progress bar is based on the at least one data processing activity ([Fig. 5]; [0034] the rate of forward or reverse transformation is proportional respectively to the speed of forward or reverse movement of the button 531).
However, Patel does not explicitly disclose an activity initiated at the processing server .
Vincent, on the other hand, teaches an activity initiated at the processing server ([0018] requests from the user 105 via local computer 110 trigger the pricing slider application server 160 to request pricing data from the pricing database server 170 and pricing database 180 as well as cause the pricing database server 170 to make calculations using the requested pricing data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the interactive slider method as taught by Patel, to include an activity initiated at the processing server, as taught by Vincent, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 11 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. The claim discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 1, except claim 1 is directed to a process while claim 11 is directed to a medium. The added element of A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the computer- readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by processor circuitry and memory of a client computing device, causes the computing device to perform operations is taught by Patel (Patel: [0019]). Therefore, claim 11 is rejected for the same rationale over the prior art cited in claim 1.
Claim 13 recites a medium comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 3. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 3, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, Claim 13 is rejected for the same rationale over the prior art cited in claim 3.
Claim 14 recites a medium comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 4. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 4, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, Claim 14 is rejected for the same rationale over the prior art cited in claim 4.
Regarding Claim 16, Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge teaches the medium of claim 11.
Patel further discloses wherein the display of the progress bar is presented on a checkout screen used for a purchase of a product with the electronic commerce transaction ([0063] The user may then select the remaining items on the display window 500 for purchase. The user provides payment and delivery information to the server 101. The selected items are then delivered (provided) to the user; see [Fig. 5][0030] display window 500).
Claim 18 recites a medium comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 9. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 9, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, Claim 18 is rejected for the same rationale over the prior art cited in claim 9.
Regarding Claim 19, Patel discloses A client computing device comprising ([Fig. 1]; user computing device 110):
a touchscreen to display a graphical user interface and to receive user interaction ([Fig. 1]; [0019] user computing device has a user interface that includes a display screen 113 and a user input device 114… including a touch-screen for inputting user entries);
at least one processor ([Fig. 1]; [0019] Each user device has a processor 111 and a data storage medium 112); and
memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to perform operations that ([Fig. 1]; [0019] Each user device has a processor 111 and a data storage medium 112… some or all of the software code for implementing the GUI may be stored in the data storage medium 112 of the user device 110 and executed by the user device's processor 111):
output a progress bar in the graphical user interface that presents a status of an electronic commerce transaction, the progress bar including a sliding indicator that is movable with direct manipulation by a user along an axis of the progress bar to control multiple activities performed sequentially to conduct the electronic commerce transaction ([Fig. 5]; [0030] an example card display window 500 that displays the six greeting cards 501 that incorporate the best matching templates; [0033] the GUI includes an image selector 520… including a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532… The button 531 is initially in a fully left "first" position 541 ("1") when the image set in each card is the respective stock image set. Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321 (FIG. 3). Movement of the button 531 further "forward" (rightward) to a "third" position 543 ("3") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a second forward transformation to the second user-designated image set 322 (FIG. 3); see [Fig. 3]; [0063] the user may select items for purchase; [0028] the displayable number of templates may be mathematically determined by the server based on data regarding the particular user and results of the search),
wherein the progress bar provides a user-interactive capability at the client computing device to start and to stop the multiple activities performed, in response to a position of the sliding indicator resulting from user movement of the sliding indicator along the axis at the client computing device ([Fig. 5]; [0033] Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321 (FIG. 3) [0034] the user can cause a transformation to progress only halfway (without reaching the next image set) and then return to the previous image set, by moving the button 531 only halfway from a previous position to the next position and then returning the button 531 to the previous position);
detect a first user interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator from at least a first position to a second position on the progress bar along the axis ([Fig. 5]; [0033] the GUI includes an image selector 520… including a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532… The button 531 is initially in a fully left "first" position 541 ("1") when the image set in each card is the respective stock image set. Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321 (FIG. 3); see [Fig. 3]),
wherein user movement of the sliding indicator to the second position, in a first direction along the axis, controls transmission of a request from the client computing device that causes an activity of the multiple activities to be performed in the electronic commerce transaction ([Fig. 5]; [0033] the GUI includes an image selector 520… including a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532… Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321 (FIG. 3); [0035]; see [Fig. 3]), and
wherein a progression of the multiple activities tracks the position of the sliding indicator ([Fig. 5]; [0033] the GUI includes a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532… The button 531 is initially in a fully left "first" position 541 ("1") when the image set in each card is the respective stock image set. Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321 (FIG. 3). Movement of the button 531 further "forward" (rightward) to a "third" position 543 ("3") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a second forward transformation to the second user-designated image set 322 (FIG. 3); see [Fig. 3]); and
output an updated display of the progress bar to indicate a status of the activity to be performed in the electronic commerce transaction ([Fig. 5]; [0033] the GUI includes an image selector 520… including a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532… the selector 530 has three positions 541, 542, 543. The button 531 is initially in a fully left "first" position 541 ("1") when the image set in each card is the respective stock image set. Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321 (FIG. 3); see [Fig. 5] the depicted horizontal virtual track 532 includes multiple positions at which the virtual slider button 531 is displayed),
wherein the progress bar is updated to display text corresponding to the activity, and wherein the progress bar is updated to display the progression within a sequence of the multiple activities of the electronic commerce transaction to be performed at the processing server ([Fig. 5]; [0033] the GUI includes an image selector 520… including a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532… the selector 530 has three positions 541, 542, 543. The button 531 is initially in a fully left "first" position 541 ("1") when the image set in each card is the respective stock image set. Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321 (FIG. 3); see [Fig. 5] the depicted horizontal virtual track 532 includes multiple positions at which the virtual slider button 531 is displayed).
Patel discloses a device outputting progress bar including a sliding indicator that is movable with direct manipulation by a user to control multiple activities performed sequentially to conduct the electronic commerce transaction (see at least Patel [Fig. 5][0028][0030-0031][0033]; [Fig. 3]). Patel further discloses the progress bar providing a user-interactive capability at the client computing device to start and to stop the multiple activities performed in response to a position of the sliding indicator (Patel [Fig. 5][0034]). Patel further discloses transmitting a request from the client computing device that causes an activity of the multiple activities to be performed, wherein a progress of the activities tracks the position of the sliding indicator, and wherein the progress bar is updated to display the progression within a sequence of the multiple activities of the electronic commerce transaction (Patel [Fig. 5][0033]). Patel further discloses that the user computing device communicates with a processing server ([Fig. 1][0016][0019-0020][0029][0030-0031]). However, Patel does not explicitly disclose multiple activities performed sequentially at the processing server; and transmitting a request to the processing server that causes an activity to be performed at the processing server.
Vincent, on the other hand, teaches multiple activities performed sequentially at the processing server ([0018] requests from the user 105 via local computer 110 trigger the pricing slider application server 160 to request pricing data from the pricing database server 170 and pricing database 180 as well as cause the pricing database server 170 to make calculations using the requested pricing data; see [0016] the system architecture 100 may be implemented using a client server model); and
transmitting a request to the processing server that causes an activity to be performed at the processing server ([0018] requests from the user 105 via local computer 110 trigger the pricing slider application server 160 to request pricing data from the pricing database server 170 and pricing database 180 as well as cause the pricing database server 170 to make calculations using the requested pricing data).
The steps of Vincent are applicable to the device of Patel, as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to interactive graphical user interface (GUI) slider features that control activities. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device as taught by Patel, to include multiple activities performed sequentially at the processing server; and transmitting a request to the processing server that causes an activity to be performed at the processing server, as taught by Vincent. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the device of Patel in order to enable execution of a processing function on a client using resources from a processor of a server, as well as provide load balancing with server processing (Vincent, [0047][0145][0167]).
PatePPatel further discloses wherein the progress bar is updated corresponding to the activity, and to display the progression within a sequence of the multiple activities of the electronic commerce transaction (see at least Patel [Fig. 5][0033]). However, Patel in view of Vincent does not explicitly disclose wherein the progress bar is updated to display text.
However, in the field of progress bar display (see at least Etheridge [Fig. 3B-3G][Col 16 Ln 9-26]), Etheridge, on the other hand, teaches wherein the progress bar is updated to display text ([Col 16 Ln 9-26] Portion 324 may include a progress indicator that provides a customer with feedback regarding the customer's overall progress in the application process… while the customer is entering personal data using the web-based application, the progress bar may indicate the customer's progress accordingly; see [Fig. 3B-3G] depicting updating of the progress bar between “Personal Info”, “Policy Info”, “Health & Lifestyle”, and “Purchase” sections).
The steps of Etheridge are applicable to the device of Patel in view of Vincent, as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to interactive graphical user interface (GUI) display of progress bars. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device as taught by Patel in view of Vincent, to include wherein the progress bar is updated to display text, as taught by Etheridge. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the device of Patel in view of Vincent in order to provide additional information indicating a customer’s progress throughout a process, including indicating completed sections and sections for which a customer is currently providing information (Etheridge, [Col 16 Ln 9-26][Col 16 Ln 59-65]).
Regarding Claim 20, Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge teaches the device of claim 19.
Patel wherein the instructions further cause the computing device to perform operations that:
detect a second user interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator from the second position to a third position on the progress bar along the axis, wherein user movement of the sliding indicator to the third position transmits a subsequent request to the processing server that causes a subsequent activity to be performed by the processing server in the electronic commerce transaction ([Fig. 5]; [0033] the GUI includes a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532… The button 531 is initially in a fully left "first" position 541 ("1") when the image set in each card is the respective stock image set. Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321 (FIG. 3). Movement of the button 531 further "forward" (rightward) to a "third" position 543 ("3") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a second forward transformation to the second user-designated image set 322 (FIG. 3); see [Fig. 3]); or
detect a reverse user interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator from the second position back to the first position on the progress bar, wherein user movement of the sliding indicator back to the first position, in a second direction along the axis that is opposite of the first direction, controls transmission of a reverse request to the processing server that causes the activity to be reversed by the processing server in the electronic commerce transaction ([Fig. 5]; [0034] Movement of the slider button 531 in a reverse (leftward) direction from the "3" position to the "2" position causes the second user-designated image set 322 in each item 501, 511 to undergo a reverse transformation to be replaced with the first user-designated image set 321. Further movement of the slider button 531 in the reverse direction to the "1" position causes the first user-designated image set 321 in each item 501, 511 to be replaced by the initial stock images).
However, Patel does not explicitly disclose transmitting a request to the processing server that causes the activity by the processing server.
Vincent, on the other hand, teaches transmitting a request to the processing server that causes the activity by the processing server ([0018] requests from the user 105 via local computer 110 trigger the pricing slider application server 160 to request pricing data from the pricing database server 170 and pricing database 180 as well as cause the pricing database server 170 to make calculations using the requested pricing data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the interactive slider method as taught by Patel, to include transmitting a request to the processing server that causes the activity by the processing server, as taught by Vincent, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 19.
Claim(s) 5-7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge, and further in view of previously cited Rose (US 2018/0056179 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge teaches the method of claim 1.
Patel further discloses wherein the graphical user interface includes a view of the computing device ([Fig. 5]; [0030] an example card display window 500 that displays the six greeting cards 501 that incorporate the best matching templates; [0033] the GUI includes an image selector 520… including a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532), and
the display of the progress bar ([Fig. 5]; [0033] the GUI includes an image selector 520… including a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532).
Patel discloses wherein the progress bar is a display element (see at least Patel [Fig. 5][0030-0033]). However, Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge does not explicitly disclose wherein the interface includes a real-time camera view from a camera; and wherein the display element is overlaid on the real-time camera view.
However, in the field of dynamic user interfaces for customer shopping experiences (see at least Rose [0033-0034][Figs. 3A-3E][0042-0053]), Rose, on the other hand, teaches wherein the interface includes a real-time camera view from a camera ([0042] the device may include a camera via which the app may acquire image frames, video data, live video, and/or the like, e.g., 316. The app may be configured to analyze the incoming data, and search, e.g., 312, for a product identifier, e.g., 314, such as barcodes, QR codes and/or the like; [Fig. 3A][Fig. 3C]); and
wherein the display element is overlaid on the real-time camera view ([0045] the app may include interface elements to allow the user to switch back and forth between the product identification mode and product offer interface display screens (see, e.g., 317b), so that a user may accurately study deals available to the user before capturing a product identifier. In some embodiments, the user may be provided with information about products, user settings, merchants, offers, etc. in list form (see, e.g., 317c) so that the user may better understand the user's purchasing option; [Fig. 3A] depicts the interface elements displayed over the view of the camera… see [0429] wherein the customized user interface is configured to display as an overlay over the online experience provided by the merchant to the user at the point of sale device).
The steps of Rose are applicable to the method of Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge, as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to interactive graphical user interfaces (GUI) to assist customers throughout a shopping process. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the interactive interface shopping method as taught by Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge, to include wherein the interface includes a real-time camera view from a camera; and wherein the display element is overlaid on the real-time camera view, as taught by Rose. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the interactive interface shopping method of Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge in order to provide customers with additional contextual, real-time information regarding products to assist the user in understanding purchasing options, as well as provide contextual information regarding identified products (Rose, [0043-0045]).
Regarding Claim 6, Patel in view of Vincent, Etheridge and Rose teaches the method of claim 5.
Patel further discloses wherein the display of the progress bar is provided in response to an identification of a barcode, QR code, or product image of a product ([Fig. 2]; [0020] he user uses the GUI to upload images 201, selects stock images 202, and designate search criteria 203; [Fig. 3]; [0021] the user uses an image designation window 300 of the GUI to designate images (e.g., photos) to be inserted in the greeting card templates), and
wherein the electronic commerce transaction causes a price check, comparison, or purchase of the product ([Fig. 2]; [0020] the user uses the GUI to transform images in the items 206… and purchase the displayed items that remain on the display).
However, Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge does not explicitly disclose identification of a product image with the camera.
Rose, on the other hand, teaches identification of a product image with the camera ([0044] the detection of a product identifier may trigger various operations to provide products, services, information, etc. for the user. For example, the app may be configured to detect and capture a QR code having embedded merchant and/or product information, and utilize the information extracted from the QR code to process a transaction for purchasing a product from a merchant. As other examples, the app may be configured to provide information on related products, quotes, pricing information, related offers, (other) merchants related to the product identifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the interactive interface shopping method as taught by Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge, to include identification of a product image with the camera, as taught by Rose, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Regarding Claim 7, Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge teaches the method of claim 1.
Patel further discloses wherein the graphical user interface includes a checkout screen for a purchase of a product with the electronic commerce transaction ([0063] The user may then select the remaining items on the display window 500 for purchase. The user provides payment and delivery information to the server 101. The selected items are then delivered (provided) to the user; see [Fig. 5][0030] display window 500), and
wherein the display of the progress bar is on the checkout screen ([Fig. 5]; [0033] the GUI includes an image selector 520… including a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532).
Patel discloses wherein the progress bar is a display element. However, Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge does not explicitly disclose wherein the display element is overlaid on the screen.
Rose, on the other hand, teaches wherein the display element is overlaid on the screen ([0045] the app may include interface elements to allow the user to switch back and forth between the product identification mode and product offer interface display screens (see, e.g., 317b), so that a user may accurately study deals available to the user before capturing a product identifier. In some embodiments, the user may be provided with information about products, user settings, merchants, offers, etc. in list form (see, e.g., 317c) so that the user may better understand the user's purchasing option; [Fig. 3A] depicts the interface elements displayed over the view of the camera… see [0429] wherein the customized user interface is configured to display as an overlay over the online experience provided by the merchant to the user at the point of sale device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the interactive interface shopping method as taught by Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge, to include wherein the display element is overlaid on the screen, as taught by Rose, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Regarding Claim 15, Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge teaches the medium of claim 11.
Patel further discloses wherein the progress bar is displayed as a view of the computing device ([Fig. 5]; [0030] an example card display window 500 that displays the six greeting cards 501 that incorporate the best matching templates; [0033] the GUI includes an image selector 520… including a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532), and
wherein the display of the progress bar is provided in response to an identification of a barcode, QR code, or product image of a product with the camera.
Patel further discloses wherein the progress bar is a display element (see at least Patel [Fig. 5][0030-0033]). However, Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge does not explicitly disclose wherein the display element is displayed as an overlay of a real-time camera view from a camera; and identification of a product with the camera.
Rose, on the other hand, teaches wherein the display element is displayed as an overlay of a real-time camera view from a camera ([0045] the app may include interface elements to allow the user to switch back and forth between the product identification mode and product offer interface display screens (see, e.g., 317b), so that a user may accurately study deals available to the user before capturing a product identifier. In some embodiments, the user may be provided with information about products, user settings, merchants, offers, etc. in list form (see, e.g., 317c) so that the user may better understand the user's purchasing option; [Fig. 3A] depicts the interface elements displayed over the view of the camera… see [0429] wherein the customized user interface is configured to display as an overlay over the online experience provided by the merchant to the user at the point of sale device); and
identification of a product with the camera ([0044] the detection of a product identifier may trigger various operations to provide products, services, information, etc. for the user. For example, the app may be configured to detect and capture a QR code having embedded merchant and/or product information, and utilize the information extracted from the QR code to process a transaction for purchasing a product from a merchant. As other examples, the app may be configured to provide information on related products, quotes, pricing information, related offers, (other) merchants related to the product identifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the interactive interface shopping method as taught by Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge, to include wherein the display element is displayed as an overlay of a real-time camera view from a camera; and identification of a product with the camera, as taught by Rose, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Claim(s) 8, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge, and further in view of newly cited Dale-Thiebout (US 2010/0057630 A1), hereinafter Dale-Thiebout.
Regarding Claim 8, Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge teaches the method of claim 1.
Patel further discloses wherein the multiple activities are part of a purchase workflow for the electronic commerce transaction, wherein the purchase workflow includes ([Fig. 5]; [0033-0034] the selector 530 includes a virtual slider button… movement of the button 531… causes the images in each card 501 to undergo transformations; [0063] The user may then select the remaining items on the display window 500 for purchase. The user provides payment and delivery information to the server 101. The selected items are then delivered (provided) to the user):
a first stage to display to the user the progress bar regarding a purchase of a product ([Fig. 5]; [0033] the GUI includes a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532… The button 531 is initially in a fully left "first" position 541 ("1"));
a second stage to display to the user the progress bar regarding the purchase of the product ([Fig. 5]; [0033] Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321 (FIG. 3));
a third stage to display to the user the progress bar regarding the purchase of the product ([Fig. 5]; [0033] movement of the button 531 further "forward" (rightward) to a "third" position 543 ("3") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a second forward transformation to the second user-designated image set 322 (FIG. 3)); and
a fourth stage to display to the user progress bar regarding the purchase of the product based on processing of the payment information ([Fig. 5]; [0034] Movement of the slider button 531 in a reverse (leftward) direction from the "3" position to the "2" position causes the second user-designated image set 322 in each item 501, 511 to undergo a reverse transformation to be replaced with the first user-designated image set 321).
However, Patel in view of Vincent does not explicitly disclose displaying contextual instructions on the progress bar; displaying item information on the progress bar; displaying payment information on the progress bar; and displaying transaction information on the progress bar based on processing of the payment information.
Etheridge, on the other hand, teaches displaying contextual instructions on the progress bar ([Fig. 3B] depicting the “Personal Info” section of the progress indicator 324; [Col 16 Ln 9-26] portion 324 may be present at each screenshot to allow a customer to gauge how much more information may be needed until the application is completed… the progress bar breaks the application into four parts, including personal information); and
displaying item information on the progress bar ([Fig. 3B] depicting the “Policy Info” section of the progress indicator 324; [Col 16 Ln 9-26] portion 324 may be present at each screenshot to allow a customer to gauge how much more information may be needed until the application is completed… the progress bar breaks the application into four parts, including policy information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the progress bar display method as taught by Patel in view of Vincent, to include displaying contextual instructions on the progress bar; and displaying item information on the progress bar, as taught by Etheridge, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
However, in the field of progress bar display to track a transaction (see at least Dale-Thiebout [Fig. 5][0036-0039]), Dale-Thiebout, on the other hand, teaches displaying payment information on the progress bar ([Fig. 5]; [0039] a progress bar 73 displayed on the Web page 71 to track various aspects of a transaction… a set of milestones are included in the progress bar, such as Offer… [and] Closing); and
displaying transaction information on the progress bar based on processing of the payment information ([Fig. 5]; [0039] a progress bar 73 displayed on the Web page 71 to track various aspects of a transaction… a set of milestones are included in the progress bar, such as Recording; see [Fig. 3][0024] closing is performed by completing title transfer and escrow… the overall process is generally regulated by state law).
The steps of Dale-Thiebout are applicable to the method of Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge, as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to tracking a transaction through a displayed progress bar. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the progress bar transaction tracking method as taught by Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge, to include displaying payment information on the progress bar; and displaying transaction information on the progress bar based on processing of the payment information, as taught by Dale-Thiebout. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to expand the progress bar transaction tracking method of Patel in view of Vincent and Etheridge in order to allow easy determination of where a transaction currently stands for a customer (Dale-Thiebout, [0039]).
Claim 17 recites a medium comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 8. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 8, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, Claim 17 is rejected for the same rationale over the prior art cited in claim 8.
Claim 21 recites a device comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 8. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 8, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, Claim 21 is rejected for the same rationale over the prior art cited in claim 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY RYAN DONAHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3689
/MARISSA THEIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3689