DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 2/11/2026 has been considered.
Status of Claims
Applicant’s communications filed on 2/11/2026 have been considered.
Claims 1, 3-4, 10-11, 13-14, and 19-20 have been amended.
Claims 1, 3-11 and 13-21 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amended claims overcome the currently cited prior art because “the claimed [amended] elements… are not found in any teaching or obvious modification of the cited prior art” (Remarks Pages 10 and 11). This argument has been considered but is not persuasive. The combination of Etheridge/Patel has been further relied upon to teach the limitations of independent claim 1 in the current Office Action. For example, with regards to a client computing device, Etheridge was cited at ([Col 14 Ln 34-58][Col 15 Ln 54-60]), disclosing that the web-based insurance application may be accessed via a user’s interface device. Etheridge was further cited to teach causing a display of a progress bar that presents a status of an electronic commerce transaction, the progress bar including an indicator of multiple activities performed sequentially at a processing server to conduct the electronic commerce transaction, at (Etheridge, [Col 8 Ln 62-Col 9 Ln 7][Col 10 Ln 25-30][Col 16 Ln 9-26][Fig. 3B][Fig. 3C]), disclosing that the application includes a progress indicator regarding the customer’s progress in a four-part application progress, where each part of the application is highlighted to reflect the part that the user is currently working on. This portion additionally discloses that a communications interface facilitates the communication of data, including the information entered by the user via the user interface, between the user interface and the application engine, where the engine is implemented as a server. Accordingly, user selections and information regarding the life insurance application are received from the user device by the application engine. Etheridge has been further cited to teach providing a user-interactive capability at the client computing device to start, pause, or stop the multiple activities performed at the processing server, in response to user input at the client computing device, at (Etheridge, [Col 16 Ln 9-26][Col 16 Ln 66-Col 17 Ln 12]), disclosing that, once a user is finished with the “personal information” section, the user may navigate to the next “Policy Information” section by selecting an interactive button within the interface. It is noted that, since this limitation recites “start, pause or stop”, all 3 of these options (start/pause/stop) need not be present in the reference in order to teach the limitation, and accordingly Etheridge has been cited to teach starting (navigating to the next section) and stopping (finishing a section) activities. Etheridge has been further cited to teach wherein movement of the sliding indicator to the second position, in a first direction, causes an activity of the multiple activities to be performed at the processing server in the electronic commerce transaction, at (Etheridge, [Col 8 Ln 62-Col 9 Ln 7][Col 10 Ln 25-30][Col 16 Ln 9-26][Figs. 3B-3C]), disclosing that the life insurance application is broken up into four parts, all of which are represented via individual sections of the progress bar. The information input by the customer is then sent to the application engine server through the communication unit. Etheridge has been further relied upon to teach wherein the progress bar is updated to display an amount of progress in a sequence of the multiple activities of the electronic commerce transaction to be performed at the processing server, at (Etheridge, [Col 16 Ln 9-26][Fig. 3B][Fig. 3C]), discussing that while the customer is working through the applications steps, the progress bar indicates the customer’s progress accordingly. [Figs. 3B-3C] further depict the updating of the progress bar via highlighting of the customer’s progress.
On the other hand, Patel has been further relied upon to teach wherein the progress bar provides a user-interactive capability in response to user movement of the sliding indicator, at (Patel, [0019][0033]), disclosing that the GUI of the customer’s device includes a virtual slider button that can be grabbed and slid along a horizontal virtual track, where the selector has a finite number of button positions, and movement of the button in a rightward direction to different positions causes a transformation of images in a set of greeting cards presented via the GUI. Here, it can be seen that user movement of the slider button causes transformations within the GUI. Patel has been further cited to teach wherein user movement of the sliding indicator to the second position, in a first direction along the axis, controls transmission of a request from the client computing device to the processing server, at (Patel, [0016][0019][0033][0035]), disclosing the movement of the slider button along the horizontal virtual track, where movement causes the transformation of images within the GUI, and additionally that the user device communicates through a network with the web server that implements the website GUI. Accordingly, user selections within the website GUI, such as those pertaining to the slider button, are communicated to the web server, and have therefore been interpreted as requests from the client computing device to the processing server.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that “[Patel does not] control any activities ‘performed sequentially at a processing server’ as claimed”, and “[Patel] does not provide ‘a user-interactive capability at the client computing device to start, pause, or stop the multiple activities performed at the processing server, in response to user movement of the sliding indicator…” (Remarks Pages 11 and 12), these arguments have been considered but are not persuasive. If a rejection is based on a combination of references, a reply limited to arguing what a subset of the applied references teaches or fails to teach, or that does not address the combined teaching of the references, will not be persuasive. MPEP 2145(IV). As discussed in the above paragraph, Patel has not been solely relied upon to teach this limitation, but rather the combination of Etheridge and Patel has been cited. Etheridge has been cited as teaching the progress bar including an indicator of multiple activities performed sequentially at a processing server to conduct the electronic commerce transaction, and providing a user-interactive capability at the client computing device to start, pause, or stop the multiple activities performed at the processing server, in response to user input at the client computing device (see at least Etheridge [Col 8 Ln 62-Col 9 Ln 7][Col 10 Ln 25-30][Col 16 Ln 9-26][Fig. 3B][Fig. 3C]). Patel, on the other hand, has been cited to teach wherein the progress bar provides a user-interactive capability in response to user movement of the sliding indicator (see at least Patel [0019][0033]), such that the combination of the progress bar of Etheridge and the interactive functionality of Patel teach the claimed limitations. It is further noted that while (Patel, [0019]) discloses an alternative embodiment in which a server or network connection may be unnecessary, Patel has been cited as teaching an embodiment in which a web server 101 implements the website GUI and receives the user input via the GUI of the user device, which is also disclosed in Patel ([0019]), showing that the interactive functionality of the slider button is facilitated via communication with the web server. Accordingly, the rejection has been maintained.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that “A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that neither Etheridge nor Patel provides a progress bar with the claimed user-interactive capability… to start, pause, or stop the multiple activities performed at the processing server” (Remarks Page 12), this argument has been considered but is not persuasive. As discussed in the above paragraphs, the combination of Etheridge/Patel has been further relied upon to teach the amended limitations of the independent claims. It is further noted that “start, pause, or stop” lists each action in an alternative form, and accordingly a reference would not need to teach each of starting, pausing, and stopping an activity in order to read on the amended claims. Accordingly, Etheridge has been cited to teach the “starting” and “stopping” aspects, performed at the processing server, in response to user input (see at least [Col 16 Ln 9-26][Col 16 Ln 66-Col 17 Ln 12]).
The rejections of independent claims 11 and 19 have been maintained for similar reasons to those set forth with regards to independent claim 1, above.
Applicant further argues that the dependent claims overcome the currently cited prior art because “[the combination of references] would not support the ability for activities to be performed by the processing server in the electronic commerce transaction” (Remarks Pages 12 and 13). This argument has been considered but is not persuasive. Etheridge has been further cited to teach multiple activities performed by the processing server, at (Etheridge [Col 8 Ln 62-Col 9 Ln 7][Col 10 Ln 25-30]), disclosing communication between the user device and the application engine, which is a server. A communications interface sends data from the user device to the application engine providing the life insurance application, including data entered by the user via the GUI during the life insurance application process. Accordingly, since the application engine receives user input and allows a user to advance through sections of said application, this has been interpreted as performing the activities by the processing server. Accordingly, the dependent claims stand rejected under the current combination of references, as Etheridge has been further relied upon to teach aspects of the processing server. Therefore, dependent claims 3-10, 13-18, and 20-21 stand rejected.
Eligibility Considerations
The claims recite eligible subject matter. Specifically, the amended claims do more than apply the abstract idea using a generic computer because the recited additional elements of the claim apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the user of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claims as a whole are more than a drafting effort to monopolize the exception. For example, the claims recite the progress bar including a sliding indicator that is movable by a user to control multiple activities performed sequentially at a processing server…, wherein the progress bar provides a user-interactive capability at the client computing device to start, pause, or stop the multiple activities… in response to user movement of the sliding indicator; and receiving user interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator from at least a first position to a second position on the progress bar along an axis; wherein user movement of the sliding indicator to the second position, in a first direction along the axis, controls transmission of a request from the client computing device to the processing server that causes an activity of the multiple activities to be performed. The claim as a whole integrates the method of organizing human activity into a practical application. While the claims still broadly recite the abstract idea of processing and displaying transactions, the claims as a whole are directed towards the functionality of the progress bar and sliding indicator with regards to such transactions, such that they amount to more than merely applying the abstract idea in a technological environment. The additional elements recite a specific improvement over prior art systems by reducing the computational load associated with electronic transactions and providing a user interface that is capable of intelligently adjusting to the context of the activity being performed (see Specification: [0014][0057]). The specification further discusses that the claims progress bar and sliding indicator allow the transaction to be started, advanced, paused, etc., giving the user more accurate control of an electronic commerce transaction (see at least Spec [0021]). In light of Specification paragraphs [0014][0021][0057], it can be seen that providing a contextual progress bar with a sliding indicator to control activities performed in an electronic commerce transaction eliminates the issue of difficulty interacting with input and navigational controls, particular in settings where small screens are used, and this provides a technical solution to the technical problem by improving the computer’s ability to present a graphical user interface so multiple types of input can be collected from the user through the user interface, accurately and efficiently. The claimed features of the progress bar including a sliding indicator that is movable by a user to control multiple activities performed sequentially at a processing server…, wherein the progress bar provides a user-interactive capability at the client computing device to start, pause, or stop the multiple activities… in response to user movement of the sliding indicator; and receiving user interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator from at least a first position to a second position on the progress bar along an axis; wherein user movement of the sliding indicator to the second position, in a first direction along the axis, controls transmission of a request from the client computing device to the processing server that causes an activity of the multiple activities to be performed, in this way does more than just apply the judicial exception and uses the judicial exception in a meaningful way beyond generally linking because the interface provides a technical solution to a technical problem. Thus, the claims are integrated into a practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 11, 13-14, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Etheridge (US 10,460,392 B1), in view of previously cited Patel (US 2015/0135127 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Etheridge discloses A method for implementing a contextual progress bar in a graphical user interface, the method comprising operations executed using processor circuitry of a client computing device, and the operations comprising ([Col 14 Ln 34-58] FIGS. 3A-3G are examples of what may be displayed to a customer as part of a web-based insurance application. In the present aspects, the following example screenshots shown in FIGS. 3A-3G may be displayed using any suitable interface device; [Col 15 Ln 54-60] FIG. 3B illustrates an example screenshot 320 for a web-based application used for collecting information from a customer in accordance with an exemplary aspect of the present disclosure. Screenshot 320 may include portions 306, 308, 322, and 324; [Col 16 Ln 9-26] Portion 324 may include a progress indicator that provides a customer with feedback regarding the customer's overall progress in the application process):
causing a display of a progress bar that presents a status of an electronic commerce transaction, the progress bar including an indicator of multiple activities performed sequentially at a processing server to conduct the electronic commerce transaction ([Col 16 Ln 9-26] Portion 324 may include a progress indicator that provides a customer with feedback regarding the customer's overall progress in the application process… As shown in FIG. 3B, the progress bar shown in portion 324 may break the application process up into four parts… As shown in FIG. 3B, while the customer is entering personal data using the web-based application, the progress bar may indicate the customer's progress accordingly. Once the customer is finished entering personal information, the customer may navigate to the next portion of the web-based application to enter policy information using any suitable method, such as an interactive tab or button; [Fig. 3B][Fig. 3C] show that the progress bar updates (via highlighting) to indicate the step of the application that the user is currently on… see [Col 8 Ln 62-Col 9 Ln 7] communication unit 116 sends data entered by a customer via user interface 108 to application engine 170; [Col 10 Ln 25-30] application engine 170 may be implemented at a server),
providing a user-interactive capability at the client computing device to start, pause, or stop the multiple activities performed at the processing server, in response to user input at the client computing device ([Col 16 Ln 9-26] while the customer is entering personal data using the web-based application, the progress bar may indicate the customer's progress accordingly. Once the customer is finished entering personal information, the customer may navigate to the next portion of the web-based application to enter policy information using any suitable method, such as an interactive tab or button, for example; [Col 16 Ln 66-Col 17 Ln 12] additional portions 362 that include additional fields may be generated in response to a user clicking on an interactive button, such as the “continue button,” for example);
receiving user interaction causing movement of the sliding indicator from at least a first position to a second position on the progress bar, wherein movement of the sliding indicator to the second position, in a first direction, causes an activity of the multiple activities to be performed at the processing server in the electronic commerce transaction ([Col 16 Ln 9-26] portion 324 may be present at each screenshot to allow a customer to gauge how much more information may be needed until the application is completed, in the present aspect. As shown in FIG. 3B, the progress bar shown in portion 324 may break the application process up into four parts… while the customer is entering personal data using the web-based application, the progress bar may indicate the customer's progress accordingly; [Fig. 3B][Fig. 3C] depict the progress bar 324 updating from highlighting a first section to highlighting a second section, in response to the user completing the “Personal Info” section and moving on to the “Policy Info” section… see [Col 8 Ln 62-Col 9 Ln 7] communication unit 116 sends data entered by a customer via user interface 108 to application engine 170; [Col 10 Ln 25-30] application engine 170 may be implemented at a server); and
updating the display of the progress bar to indicate a status of the activity in the electronic commerce transaction to be performed at the processing server, wherein the progress bar is updated to display text corresponding to the activity ([Col 16 Ln 9-26] Portion 324 may include a progress indicator that provides a customer with feedback regarding the customer's overall progress in the application process… As shown in FIG. 3B, while the customer is entering personal data using the web-based application, the progress bar may indicate the customer's progress accordingly; [Fig. 3B][Fig. 3C] depict the progress bar 324 updating in response to the user completing the “Personal Info” section and moving on to the “Policy Info” section), and
wherein the progress bar is updated to display an amount of progress in a sequence of the multiple activities of the electronic commerce transaction to be performed at the processing server ([Col 16 Ln 9-26] Portion 324 may include a progress indicator that provides a customer with feedback regarding the customer's overall progress in the application process… As shown in FIG. 3B, the progress bar shown in portion 324 may break the application process up into four parts… As shown in FIG. 3B, while the customer is entering personal data using the web-based application, the progress bar may indicate the customer's progress accordingly; [Fig. 3B][Fig. 3C] depict the progress bar 324 updating in response to the user completing the “Personal Info” section and moving on to the “Policy Info” section).
But does not explicitly disclose the progress bar including a sliding indicator that is movable by a user to control multiple activities; wherein the progress bar provides a user-interactive capability in response to user movement of the sliding indicator; and receiving user interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator along an axis, wherein user movement of the sliding indicator to the second position, in a first direction along the axis, controls transmission of a request from the client computing device to the processing server.
Patel, on the other hand, teaches the progress bar including a sliding indicator that is movable by a user to control multiple activities ([0033] The GUI includes an image selector including a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger (if touch screen) and slide along a horizontal virtual track 532. The selector 530 has a finite number of button positions that equals the total number of available image sets, which itself equals the number of user-designated image sets… see at least [0021-0022] discussing user selection of different image sets to be inserted in greeting card templates);
wherein the progress bar provides a user-interactive capability in response to user movement of the sliding indicator ([0033] The GUI includes an image selector including a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger (if touch screen) and slide along a horizontal virtual track 532. The selector 530 has a finite number of button positions that equals the total number of available image sets, which itself equals the number of user-designated image sets… Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321… see [0019] The GUI is provided on a user's computing device 110); and
receiving user interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator along an axis, wherein user movement of the sliding indicator to the second position, in a first direction along the axis, controls transmission of a request from the client computing device to the processing server ([0033] an image selector, to be actuated with the input device 114 for transforming the images in the cards… a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger (if touch screen) and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532… Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321… Movement of the button 531 further "forward" (rightward) to a "third" position 543 ("3") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a second forward transformation to the second user-designated image set 322; [0035] Operation of this selector 530 provides user control of the transformation process… see [0016] the system includes a hardware server 101 having at least one processor 102, the server hosting a website that provides the GUI; [0019] The user device may communicate through a network such as the Internet 120 with the web server 101 that implements the website GUI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system, as taught by Etheridge, the progress bar including a sliding indicator that is movable by a user to control multiple activities; wherein the progress bar provides a user-interactive capability in response to user movement of the sliding indicator at the client computing device; and receiving user interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator, wherein user movement of the sliding indicator to the second position, in a first direction along the axis, controls transmission of a request from the client computing device to the processing server, as taught by Patel, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Etheridge, to include the teachings of Patel, in order to provide a user with control of a process that is amusing to the user, and gives the user the impression of being in control, via a virtual slider button that can be grabbed and slid along a horizontal virtual track (Patel, [0033][0035]).
Regarding Claim 3, Etheridge and Patel teach the limitations of claim 1.
Etheridge further discloses receiving a second interaction causing movement of the indicator from the second position to a third position on the progress bar ([Col 16 Ln 59-65] As shown in FIG. 3D, the progress bar in portion 324 once again indicates the customer's progress throughout the application process. Compared with the progress bar in FIG. 3C, the progress bar illustrated in FIG. 3C may indicate that the customer has completed the personal information and insurance policy information steps of the application process while currently entering the health and lifestyle information; [Fig. 3C][Fig. 3D] depict the progress bar 324 updating from highlighting a second section to highlighting a third section, in response to the user completing the “Policy Info” section and moving on to the “Health & Lifestyle” section, while the progress bar is further highlighted down the length of the progress bar),
wherein movement of the indicator to the third position causes a subsequent activity to be performed by the processing server in the electronic commerce transaction ([Col 16 Ln 59-65] As shown in FIG. 3D, the progress bar in portion 324 once again indicates the customer's progress throughout the application process. Compared with the progress bar in FIG. 3C, the progress bar illustrated in FIG. 3C may indicate that the customer has completed the personal information and insurance policy information steps of the application process while currently entering the health and lifestyle information);
But does not explicitly disclose receiving a second interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator from the second position to a third position on the progress bar, along the axis, wherein user movement of the sliding indicator to the third position transmits a subsequent request to the processing server.
Patel, on the other hand, discloses receiving a second interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator from the second position to a third position on the progress bar, along the axis (further forward/rightward), wherein user movement of the sliding indicator to the third position transmits a subsequent request to the processing server ([0033] an image selector, to be actuated with the input device 114 for transforming the images in the cards… a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger (if touch screen) and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532… Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321… Movement of the button 531 further "forward" (rightward) to a "third" position 543 ("3") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a second forward transformation to the second user-designated image set 322; [0035] Operation of this selector 530 provides user control of the transformation process… see [0016] the system includes a hardware server 101 having at least one processor 102, the server hosting a website that provides the GUI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system, as taught by Etheridge, receiving a second interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator from the second position to a third position on the progress bar, along the axis, wherein user movement of the sliding indicator to the third position transmits a subsequent request to the processing server, as taught by Patel, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4, Etheridge and Patel teach the limitations of claim 1.
Etheridge receiving a reverse user interaction causing movement of the indicator from the second position back to the first position on the progress bar ([Col 15 Ln 22-27] a customer may navigate forwards and backwards through the various steps in the application process; [Fig. 3B][Fig. 3C] depict that the highlighted section of the progress bar changes in response to the current step of the application that the customer is working on),
Etheridge further discloses wherein an activity is performed in the electronic commerce transaction ([Col 16 Ln 9-26][Figs. 3B-3C]), but does not explicitly disclose receiving a reverse user interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator from the second position back to the first position on the progress bar; wherein user movement of the sliding indicator back to the first position, in a second direction along the axis that is opposite of the first direction, controls transmission of a reverse request to the processing server that causes the activity to be reversed by the processing server.
Patel, on the other hand, discloses receiving a reverse user interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator from the second position back to the first position on the progress bar ([0034] Movement of the slider button 531 in a reverse (leftward) direction from the "3" position to the "2" position causes the second user-designated image set 322 in each item 501, 511 to undergo a reverse transformation to be replaced with the first user-designated image set 321);
wherein user movement of the sliding indicator back to the first position, in a second direction along the axis that is opposite of the first direction, controls transmission of a reverse request to the processing server that causes the activity to be reversed by the processing server ([0034] Movement of the slider button 531 in a reverse (leftward) direction from the "3" position to the "2" position causes the second user-designated image set 322 in each item 501, 511 to undergo a reverse transformation to be replaced with the first user-designated image set 321. Further movement of the slider button 531 in the reverse direction to the "1" position causes the first user-designated image set 321 in each item 501, 511 to be replaced by the initial stock images; [0019] The user device may communicate through a network such as the Internet 120 with the web server 101 that implements the website GUI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system, as taught by Etheridge, receiving a reverse user interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator from the second position back to the first position on the progress bar; wherein user movement of the sliding indicator back to the first position, in a second direction along the axis that is opposite of the first direction, controls transmission of a reverse request to the processing server that causes the activity to be reversed by the processing server, as taught by Patel, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 11 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. Claim 11 recites limitations that are substantially parallel in nature to those addressed above for claim 1 which is directed towards a method. The disclosure of Etheridge/Patel teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Etheridge further discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the computer- readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by processor circuitry and memory of a client computing device, causes the computing device to perform operations (Etheridge: [Col 8 Ln 33-52]). Claim 11 is therefore rejected for the reasons set forth above in claim 1 and in this paragraph.
Claim 13 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 3. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 3.
Claim 14 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 4. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 4.
Regarding Claim 16, Etheridge and Patel teach the limitations of claim 11.
Etheridge further discloses wherein the display of the progress bar is presented on a checkout screen used for a purchase of a product with the electronic commerce transaction ([Col 18 Ln 22-26] FIG. 3E illustrates an example screenshot 370 for a web-based application used for accepting payment for an insurance policy from a customer; [Fig. 3E] depicts the progress bar 324 within the “Purchase” screen).
Regarding Claim 19, Etheridge discloses A client computing device comprising: a touchscreen to display a graphical user interface and to receive user interaction ([Col 5 Ln 53-Col 6 Ln 6] The method may include remotely gathering and/or presenting knockout questions… and/or (j) other types of information from a user, such as via wireless communication and/or a mobile device, such as a smart phone);
at least one processor; and memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to perform operations that ([Col 12 Ln 38-44] Method 200 may begin when one or more processors displays one or more introductions and/or instructions for a customer starting a life insurance application process (block 202). In the present aspect, block 202 may be implemented as part of a web-based application, such as a web-based application running on an interface device, such as customer channel interface device 102… see [Col 10 Ln 42-52] memory 176 may be a computer-readable non-transitory storage device that may include any combination of volatile (e.g., a random access memory (RAM), or non-volatile memory (e.g., battery-backed RAM, FLASH, etc.). Memory 176 may be configured to store instructions executable by CPU 174. These instructions may include machine readable instructions that, when executed by CPU 174, cause CPU 174 to perform various acts):
output a progress bar in the graphical user interface that presents a status of an electronic commerce transaction, the progress bar including an indicator of multiple activities performed sequentially at a processing server to conduct the electronic commerce transaction ([Col 16 Ln 9-26] Portion 324 may include a progress indicator that provides a customer with feedback regarding the customer's overall progress in the application process… As shown in FIG. 3B, the progress bar shown in portion 324 may break the application process up into four parts… As shown in FIG. 3B, while the customer is entering personal data using the web-based application, the progress bar may indicate the customer's progress accordingly. Once the customer is finished entering personal information, the customer may navigate to the next portion of the web-based application to enter policy information using any suitable method, such as an interactive tab or button; [Fig. 3B][Fig. 3C] show that the progress bar updates (via highlighting) to indicate the step of the application that the user is currently on… see [Col 8 Ln 62-Col 9 Ln 7] communication unit 116 sends data entered by a customer via user interface 108 to application engine 170; [Col 10 Ln 25-30] application engine 170 may be implemented at a server);
providing a user-interactive capability at the client computing device to start, pause, or stop the multiple activities performed at the processing server, in response to user input at the client computing device ([Col 16 Ln 9-26] while the customer is entering personal data using the web-based application, the progress bar may indicate the customer's progress accordingly. Once the customer is finished entering personal information, the customer may navigate to the next portion of the web-based application to enter policy information using any suitable method, such as an interactive tab or button, for example; [Col 16 Ln 66-Col 17 Ln 12] additional portions 362 that include additional fields may be generated in response to a user clicking on an interactive button, such as the “continue button,” for example);
detect a first user interaction causing movement of the indicator from at least a first position to a second position on the progress bar, wherein movement of the indicator to the second position causes an activity of the multiple activities to be performed at the processing server in the electronic commerce transaction ([Col 16 Ln 9-26] portion 324 may be present at each screenshot to allow a customer to gauge how much more information may be needed until the application is completed, in the present aspect. As shown in FIG. 3B, the progress bar shown in portion 324 may break the application process up into four parts… while the customer is entering personal data using the web-based application, the progress bar may indicate the customer's progress accordingly; [Fig. 3B][Fig. 3C] depict the progress bar 324 updating from highlighting a first section to highlighting a second section, in response to the user completing the “Personal Info” section and moving on to the “Policy Info” section… see [Col 8 Ln 62-Col 9 Ln 7] communication unit 116 sends data entered by a customer via user interface 108 to application engine 170); and
output an updated display of the progress bar to indicate a status of the activity to be performed at the processing server in the electronic commerce transaction, wherein the progress bar is updated to display text corresponding to the activity ([Col 16 Ln 9-26] Portion 324 may include a progress indicator that provides a customer with feedback regarding the customer's overall progress in the application process… As shown in FIG. 3B, while the customer is entering personal data using the web-based application, the progress bar may indicate the customer's progress accordingly; [Fig. 3B][Fig. 3C] depict the progress bar 324 updating in response to the user completing the “Personal Info” section and moving on to the “Policy Info” section), and
wherein the progress bar is updated to display an amount of progress in a sequence of the multiple activities of the electronic commerce transaction to be performed at the processing server ([Col 16 Ln 9-26] Portion 324 may include a progress indicator that provides a customer with feedback regarding the customer's overall progress in the application process… As shown in FIG. 3B, the progress bar shown in portion 324 may break the application process up into four parts… As shown in FIG. 3B, while the customer is entering personal data using the web-based application, the progress bar may indicate the customer's progress accordingly; [Fig. 3B][Fig. 3C] depict the progress bar 324 updating in response to the user completing the “Personal Info” section and moving on to the “Policy Info” section);
But does not explicitly disclose a progress bar including a sliding indicator that is movable by a user to control multiple activities; wherein the progress bar provides a user-interactive capability in response to user movement of the sliding indicator; and detecting a user interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator along an axis, wherein user movement of the sliding indicator to the second position, in a first direction along the axis, controls transmission of a request from the client computing device to the processing server.
Patel, on the other hand, discloses a progress bar including a sliding indicator that is movable by a user to control multiple activities ([0033] The GUI includes an image selector including a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger (if touch screen) and slide along a horizontal virtual track 532. The selector 530 has a finite number of button positions that equals the total number of available image sets, which itself equals the number of user-designated image sets… see at least [0021-0022] discussing user selection of different image sets to be inserted in greeting card templates);
wherein the progress bar provides a user-interactive capability in response to user movement of the sliding indicator ([0033] The GUI includes an image selector including a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger (if touch screen) and slide along a horizontal virtual track 532. The selector 530 has a finite number of button positions that equals the total number of available image sets, which itself equals the number of user-designated image sets… see [0019] The GUI is provided on a user's computing device 110); and
detecting a user interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator along an axis, wherein user movement of the sliding indicator to the second position, in a first direction along the axis, controls transmission of a request from the client computing device to the processing server ([0033] an image selector, to be actuated with the input device 114 for transforming the images in the cards… a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger (if touch screen) and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532… Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321… Movement of the button 531 further "forward" (rightward) to a "third" position 543 ("3") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a second forward transformation to the second user-designated image set 322; [0035] Operation of this selector 530 provides user control of the transformation process… see [0016] the system includes a hardware server 101 having at least one processor 102, the server hosting a website that provides the GUI; [0019] The user device may communicate through a network such as the Internet 120 with the web server 101 that implements the website GUI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system, as taught by Etheridge, a progress bar including a sliding indicator that is movable by a user to control multiple activities; wherein the progress bar provides a user-interactive capability in response to user movement of the sliding indicator; and detecting a user interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator along an axis, wherein user movement of the sliding indicator to the second position, in a first direction along the axis, controls transmission of a request from the client computing device to the processing server, as taught by Patel, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Etheridge, to include the teachings of Patel, in order to provide a user with control of a process that is amusing to the user, and gives the user the impression of being in control, via a virtual slider button that can be grabbed and slid along a horizontal virtual track (Patel, [0033][0035]).
Regarding Claim 20, Etheridge and Patel teach the limitations of claim 19.
Etheridge further discloses detect a second user interaction causing movement of the sliding indicator from the second to a third position on the progress bar ([Col 16 Ln 59-65] As shown in FIG. 3D, the progress bar in portion 324 once again indicates the customer's progress throughout the application process. Compared with the progress bar in FIG. 3C, the progress bar illustrated in FIG. 3C may indicate that the customer has completed the personal information and insurance policy information steps of the application process while currently entering the health and lifestyle information; [Fig. 3C][Fig. 3D] depict the progress bar 324 updating from highlighting a second section to highlighting a third section, in response to the user completing the “Policy Info” section and moving on to the “Health & Lifestyle” section, while the progress bar is further highlighted down the length of the progress bar),
wherein user movement of the indicator to the third position causes a subsequent activity to be performed by the processing server in the electronic commerce transaction ([Col 16 Ln 59-65] As shown in FIG. 3D, the progress bar in portion 324 once again indicates the customer's progress throughout the application process. Compared with the progress bar in FIG. 3C, the progress bar illustrated in FIG. 3C may indicate that the customer has completed the personal information and insurance policy information steps of the application process while currently entering the health and lifestyle information… see [Col 10 Ln 10-14] application engine 170 may be implemented as any suitable type of server); or
detect a reverse user interaction causing movement of the indicator from the second position back to the first position on the progress bar ([Col 15 Ln 22-27] a customer may navigate forwards and backwards through the various steps in the application process; [Fig. 3b][Fig. 3C] depict that the highlighted section of the progress bar changes in response to the current step of the application that the customer is working on),
Etheridge further discloses wherein an activity is performed in the electronic commerce transaction ([Col 16 Ln 9-26][Figs. 3B-3C]), but does not explicitly disclose detecting a second interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator from the second position to a third position on the progress bar along the axis, wherein user movement of the sliding indicator to the third position transmits a subsequent request to the processing server; or detecting a reverse user interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator from the second position back to the first position on the progress bar, wherein user movement of the sliding indicator back to the first position, in a second direction along the axis that is opposite of the first direction, controls transmission of a reverse request to the processing server that causes the activity to be reversed by the processing server.
Patel, on the other hand, discloses detecting a second interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator from the second position to a third position on the progress bar along the axis, wherein user movement of the sliding indicator to the third position transmits a subsequent request to the processing server ([0033] an image selector, to be actuated with the input device 114 for transforming the images in the cards… a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger (if touch screen) and slid along a horizontal virtual track 532… Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321… Movement of the button 531 further "forward" (rightward) to a "third" position 543 ("3") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a second forward transformation to the second user-designated image set 322; [0035] Operation of this selector 530 provides user control of the transformation process… see [0016] the system includes a hardware server 101 having at least one processor 102, the server hosting a website that provides the GUI); or
detecting a reverse user interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator from the second position back to the first position on the progress bar ([0034] Movement of the slider button 531 in a reverse (leftward) direction from the "3" position to the "2" position causes the second user-designated image set 322 in each item 501, 511 to undergo a reverse transformation to be replaced with the first user-designated image set 321),
wherein user movement of the sliding indicator back to the first position, in a second direction along the axis that is opposite of the first direction, controls transmission of a reverse request to the processing server that causes the activity to be reversed by the processing server ([0034] Movement of the slider button 531 in a reverse (leftward) direction from the "3" position to the "2" position causes the second user-designated image set 322 in each item 501, 511 to undergo a reverse transformation to be replaced with the first user-designated image set 321. Further movement of the slider button 531 in the reverse direction to the "1" position causes the first user-designated image set 321 in each item 501, 511 to be replaced by the initial stock images… see [0016] the system includes a hardware server 101 having at least one processor 102, the server hosting a website that provides the GUI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system, as taught by Etheridge, detecting a second interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator from the second position to a third position on the progress bar along the axis, wherein user movement of the sliding indicator to the third position transmits a subsequent request to the processing server; or detecting a reverse user interaction on the sliding indicator that includes user movement of the sliding indicator from the second position back to the first position on the progress bar, wherein user movement of the sliding indicator back to the first position, in a second direction along the axis that is opposite of the first direction, controls transmission of a reverse request to the processing server that causes the activity to be reversed, as taught by Patel, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claims 5-7, 9-10, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Etheridge in view of Patel, and further in view of previously cited Rose (US 2018/0056179 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Etheridge and Patel teach the limitations of claim 1.
Etheridge further discloses wherein the graphical user interface includes the display of the progress bar ([Col 16 Ln 9-26] Portion 324 may include a progress indicator that provides a customer with feedback regarding the customer's overall progress in the application process), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the graphical user interface includes a real-time camera view from a camera of the computing device, and wherein the display of the progress bar is overlaid on the real-time camera view.
Rose, on the other hand, discloses wherein the graphical user interface includes a real-time camera view from a camera of the computing device ([0042] the device may include a camera via which the app may acquire image frames, video data, live video, and/or the like, e.g., 316. The app may be configured to analyze the incoming data, and search, e.g., 312, for a product identifier, e.g., 314, such as barcodes, QR codes and/or the like; [Fig. 3A][Fig. 3C]), and
wherein the display is overlaid on the real-time camera view ([0045] the app may include interface elements to allow the user to switch back and forth between the product identification mode and product offer interface display screens (see, e.g., 317b), so that a user may accurately study deals available to the user before capturing a product identifier. In some embodiments, the user may be provided with information about products, user settings, merchants, offers, etc. in list form (see, e.g., 317c) so that the user may better understand the user's purchasing option; [Fig. 3A] depicts the interface elements displayed over the view of the camera… see [0429] wherein the customized user interface is configured to display as an overlay over the online experience provided by the merchant to the user at the point of sale device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system, as taught by Etheridge and Patel, wherein the graphical user interface includes a real-time camera view from a camera of the computing device, and wherein the display is overlaid on the real-time camera view, as taught by Rose, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Etheridge and Patel, to include the teachings of Rose, in order to facilitate an expedited shopping experience (Rose, [0033]).
Regarding Claim 6, Etheridge and Patel teach the limitations of claim 5.
Etheridge further discloses wherein the display of the progress bar is provided ([Col 16 Ln 9-26] Portion 324 may include a progress indicator that provides a customer with feedback regarding the customer's overall progress in the application process, and
wherein the electronic commerce transaction causes a price check, comparison, or purchase of the product ([Col 18 Ln 22-26] As shown in FIG. 3E, portion 324 may indicate the customer's appropriate progress during the purchasing step in the application process. Portion 372 may include one or more interactive portions and/or fields that allow a customer to submit a payment for processing one or more portions of the initial quoted premium price; [Fig. 3E] depicting the “Purchase” step);
But does not explicitly disclose wherein the display is provided in response to an identification of a barcode, QR code, or product image of a product with the camera.
Rose, on the other hand, discloses wherein the display is provided in response to an identification of a barcode, QR code, or product image of a product with the camera ([0044] the detection of a product identifier may trigger various operations to provide products, services, information, etc. for the user. For example, the app may be configured to detect and capture a QR code having embedded merchant and/or product information, and utilize the information extracted from the QR code to process a transaction for purchasing a product from a merchant. As other examples, the app may be configured to provide information on related products, quotes, pricing information, related offers, (other) merchants related to the product identifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system, as taught by Etheridge and Patel, wherein the display is provided in response to an identification of a barcode, QR code, or product image of a product with the camera, as taught by Rose, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Regarding Claim 7, Etheridge and Patel teach the limitations of claim 1.
Etheridge further discloses wherein the graphical user interface includes a checkout screen for a purchase of a product with the electronic commerce transaction ([Col 18 Ln 22-24] FIG. 3E illustrates an example screenshot 370 for a web-based application used for accepting payment for an insurance policy from a customer; [Fig. 3E] depicts the “Purchase” step), and
wherein the display of the progress bar is on the checkout screen ([Col 18 Ln 22-26] As shown in FIG. 3E, portion 324 may indicate the customer's appropriate progress during the purchasing step in the application process. Portion 372 may include one or more interactive portions and/or fields that allow a customer to submit a payment for processing one or more portions of the initial quoted premium price; [Fig. 3E] depicting the “Purchase” step);
But does not explicitly disclose wherein the display is overlaid on the screen.
Rose, on the other hand, discloses wherein the display is overlaid on the screen ([0045] the app may include interface elements to allow the user to switch back and forth between the product identification mode and product offer interface display screens (see, e.g., 317b), so that a user may accurately study deals available to the user before capturing a product identifier. In some embodiments, the user may be provided with information about products, user settings, merchants, offers, etc. in list form (see, e.g., 317c) so that the user may better understand the user's purchasing option; [Fig. 3A] depicts the interface elements displayed over the view of the camera… see [0429] wherein the customized user interface is configured to display as an overlay over the online experience provided by the merchant to the user at the point of sale device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system, as taught by Etheridge and Patel, wherein the display is overlaid on the screen, as taught by Rose, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Regarding Claim 9, Etheridge and Patel teach the limitations of claim 1.
Etheridge further discloses wherein the movement of the indicator from the first position to the second position on the progress bar causes automatic movement of the indicator on the progress bar and causes performance of the multiple activities in the electronic commerce transaction ([Col 16 Ln 9-26] portion 324 may be present at each screenshot to allow a customer to gauge how much more information may be needed until the application is completed, in the present aspect. As shown in FIG. 3B, the progress bar shown in portion 324 may break the application process up into four parts… while the customer is entering personal data using the web-based application, the progress bar may indicate the customer's progress accordingly; [Fig. 3B][Fig. 3C] depict the progress bar 324 updating from highlighting a first section to highlighting a second section, in response to the user completing the “Personal Info” section and moving on to the “Policy Info” section),
wherein the display of the progress bar is updated to show each of the multiple activities for the electronic commerce transaction ([Col 16 Ln 9-26] Portion 324 may include a progress indicator that provides a customer with feedback regarding the customer's overall progress in the application process… As shown in FIG. 3B, while the customer is entering personal data using the web-based application, the progress bar may indicate the customer's progress accordingly; [Fig. 3B][Fig. 3C] depict the progress bar 324 updating in response to the user completing the “Personal Info” section and moving on to the “Policy Info” section; [Col 16 Ln 54-58][Fig. 3D] As shown in FIG. 3D, the progress bar in portion 324 once again indicates the customer's progress throughout the application process. Compared with the progress bar in FIG. 3C, the progress bar illustrated in FIG. 3C may indicate that the customer has completed the personal information and insurance policy information steps of the application process while currently entering the health and lifestyle information), and
receiving a subsequent user interaction that stops the automatic movement of the indicator on the progress bar and stops the performance of the multiple activities in the electronic commerce transaction ([Col 19 Ln 12-16] FIG. 3G illustrates an example screenshot 390 for a web-based application used for collecting information from a customer; [Col 19 Ln 17-26] portion 392 may include instructions informing the customer whether she is insured upon payment of a portion (or all) of the quoted premium; [Col 19 Ln 27-33] the present aspects may also result in a customer being denied coverage entirely. In either case, portion 392 may act to notify the customer of this determination; [Col 19 Ln 34-39] For example, if a customer has entered “yes” to one or more kick out questions in the health and lifestyle step of the application process, then portion 392 may indicate that the application may be non-binding, that the customer may be ineligible for temporary life insurance coverage, that payment cannot be accepted at this time, etc; [Fig. 3G] depicts a screen in which the application process is finished, and the user is present with a “Thank You” prompt. The progress bar 324 is no longer present, since the application has been completed);
But does not explicitly disclose wherein the user movement of the sliding indicator from the first position to the second position on the progress bar causes automatic movement of the sliding indicator on the progress bar; wherein the user interaction causes automatic performance of the electronic commerce transaction, and wherein the progress bar is configured to receive a subsequent user interaction that stops the automatic performance of the electronic commerce transaction.
Patel, on the other hand, discloses wherein the user movement of the sliding indicator from the first position to the second position on the progress bar causes automatic movement of the sliding indicator on the progress bar ([0033] The GUI includes an image selector including a virtual slider button 531 that can be grabbed with the mouse or finger (if touch screen) and slide along a horizontal virtual track 532. The selector 530 has a finite number of button positions that equals the total number of available image sets, which itself equals the number of user-designated image sets … Movement of the button 531 rightward, in a "forward" (rightward) direction to a "second" position 542 ("2") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a first forward transformation (transition) to the first user-designated image set 321; [0035] Operation of this selector 530 provides user control of the transformation process), and
wherein the progress bar is configured to receive a subsequent user interaction ([0033] Movement of the button 531 further "forward" (rightward) to a "third" position 543 ("3") causes the images in each card 501 to undergo a second forward transformation to the second user-designated image set 322).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system, as taught by Etheridge, wherein the user movement of the sliding indicator from the first position to the second position on the progress bar causes automatic movement of the sliding indicator on the progress bar, and wherein the progress bar is configured to receive a subsequent user interaction, as taught by Patel, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Rose, on the other hand, discloses wherein the user interaction causes automatic performance of the multiple activities in the electronic commerce transaction ([0042] the device may include a camera via which the app may acquire image frames, video data, live video, and/or the like, e.g., 316. The app may be configured to analyze the incoming data, and search, e.g., 312, for a product identifier, e.g., 314, such as barcodes, QR codes and/or the like; [0044] the detection of a product identifier may trigger various operations to provide products, services, information, etc. for the user. For example, the app may be configured to detect and capture a QR code having embedded merchant and/or product information, and utilize the information extracted from the QR code to process a transaction for purchasing a product from a merchant. As other examples, the app may be configured to provide information on related products, quotes, pricing information, related offers, (other) merchants related to the product identifier, rewards/loyalty points associated with purchasing the product related to the product identifier, analytics on purchasing behavior, alerts on spend tracking, and/or the like), and
wherein a subsequent user interaction stops the automatic performance of the electronic commerce transaction ([0045] the user may desire to cancel product purchasing; the app may provide the user with a user interface element (e.g., 318) to cancel the product identifier recognition procedure and return to the prior interface screen the user was utilizing; [Fig. 3A][Fig. 3E] depict “Cancel” interface elements to cancel the product purchase).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system, as taught by Etheridge and Patel, wherein the user interaction causes automatic performance of the multiple activities in the electronic commerce transaction, and wherein a subsequent user interaction stops the automatic performance of the electronic commerce transaction, as taught by Rose, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Regarding Claim 10, Etheridge and Patel teach the limitations of claim 1.
Etheridge further discloses wherein the electronic commerce transaction relates to at least one data processing activity that is initiated at the processing server ([Col 12 Ln 38-55] one or more processors displays one or more introductions and/or instructions for a customer starting a life insurance application process (block 202). In the present aspect, block 202 may be implemented as part of a web-based application, such as a web-based application running on an interface device, such as customer channel interface device 102; [Col 12 Ln 56-Col 13 Ln 14] one or more processors collecting personal customer information from the customer (block 204). These one or more processors may include a CPU, such as CPU 174, for example, as shown in FIG. 1, which may receive the customer information in conjunction with a communication unit, such as communication unit 172, for example. In the present aspect, method 200 may include displaying one or more prompts and/or fields as part of a web-based application (block 204). Method 200 may include collecting information from a customer as a customer fills in these prompts and/or fields with applicable information (block 204)… see [Col 10 Ln 10-14] application engine 170 may be implemented as any suitable type of server), and
wherein a speed of updating the display of the progress bar is based on the at least one data processing activity ([Col 16 Ln 9-26] Portion 324 may include a progress indicator that provides a customer with feedback regarding the customer's overall progress in the application process… portion 324 may be present at each screenshot to allow a customer to gauge how much more information may be needed until the application is completed… As shown in FIG. 3B, the progress bar shown in portion 324 may break the application process up into four parts: personal information, policy information, health and lifestyle information, and/or policy purchase. As shown in FIG. 3B, while the customer is entering personal data using the web-based application, the progress bar may indicate the customer's progress accordingly; [Fig. 3B-3F]);
But does not explicitly disclose a data processing activity that is initiated for an in-store pickup, a back-end order fulfillment, or a supply chain status.
Rose, on the other hand, discloses a data processing activity that is initiated for an in-store pickup, a back-end order fulfillment, or a supply chain status ([0084] FIG. 9 shows a data flow diagram illustrating an example user purchase checkout procedure… a user, e.g., 901a, may desire to purchase a product, service, offering, and/or the like (“product”), from… the merchant’s store… a user in a merchant store may scan a product barcode of the product via a barcode scanner at a point-of-sale terminal… The client may generate a checkout request, e.g., 912, and provide the checkout request, e.g., 913, to the merchant server).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system, as taught by Etheridge and Patel, a data processing activity that is initiated for an in-store pickup, a back-end order fulfillment, or a supply chain status, as taught by Rose, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Regarding Claim 15, Etheridge and Patel teach the limitations of claim 11.
Etheridge further discloses wherein the progress bar is displayed ([Col 16 Ln 9-26] Portion 324 may include a progress indicator that provides a customer with feedback regarding the customer's overall progress in the application process), and
wherein the display of the progress bar is provided ([Col 16 Ln 9-26] Portion 324 may include a progress indicator that provides a customer with feedback regarding the customer's overall progress in the application process);
But does not explicitly disclose wherein the display is displayed as an overlay of a real-time camera view from a camera of the computing device, and wherein the display is provided in response to an identification of a barcode, QR code, or product image of a product with the camera.
Rose, on the other hand, discloses wherein the display is displayed as an overlay of a real-time camera view from a camera of the computing device ([0042] the device may include a camera via which the app may acquire image frames, video data, live video, and/or the like, e.g., 316. The app may be configured to analyze the incoming data, and search, e.g., 312, for a product identifier, e.g., 314, such as barcodes, QR codes and/or the like; [Fig. 3A][Fig. 3C]), and
wherein the display is provided in response to an identification of a barcode, QR code, or product image of a product with the camera ([0044] the detection of a product identifier may trigger various operations to provide products, services, information, etc. for the user. For example, the app may be configured to detect and capture a QR code having embedded merchant and/or product information, and utilize the information extracted from the QR code to process a transaction for purchasing a product from a merchant. As other examples, the app may be configured to provide information on related products, quotes, pricing information, related offers, (other) merchants related to the product identifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system, as taught by Etheridge and Patel, wherein the display is displayed as an overlay of a real-time camera view from a camera of the computing device, and wherein the display is provided in response to an identification of a barcode, QR code, or product image of a product with the camera, as taught by Rose, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Claim 18 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 9. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 9.
Claims 8, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Etheridge in view of Patel, and further in view of previously cited Cok (US 2011/0231798 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Etheridge and Patel teach the limitations of claim 1.
Etheridge further discloses wherein the multiple activities are part of a purchase workflow for the electronic commerce transaction, wherein the purchase workflow includes ([Col 16 Ln 6-26] As shown in FIG. 3B, the progress bar shown in portion 324 may break the application process up into four parts: personal information, policy information, health and lifestyle information, and/or policy purchase. As shown in FIG. 3B, while the customer is entering personal data using the web-based application, the progress bar may indicate the customer's progress accordingly):
a first stage to display contextual instructions to the user regarding a purchase of a product ([Col 15 Ln 6-15] FIG. 3A illustrates an example screenshot 300 for a web-based application used for collecting information from a customer… portion 302 includes text explaining an introduction to the life insurance application process and instructions to familiarize the customer regarding what to expect throughout the process);
a second stage to display item information to the user regarding the purchase of the product ([Col 16 Ln 27-31] FIG. 3C illustrates an example screenshot 340 for a web-based application used for collecting information from a customer in accordance with an exemplary aspect of the present disclosure; [Fig. 3C] depicts information regarding the customer’s insurance policy);
a third stage to display payment information to the user regarding the purchase of the product ([Col 18 Ln 22-26] FIG. 3E illustrates an example screenshot 370 for a web-based application used for accepting payment for an insurance policy from a customer; [Fig. 3E] depicts a “Purchase” screen); and
a fourth stage to display transaction information to the user regarding the purchase of the product based on processing of the payment information ([Col 19 Ln 12-16] FIG. 3G illustrates an example screenshot 390 for a web-based application used for collecting information from a customer in accordance with an exemplary aspect of the present disclosure. Screenshot 390 may include portions 306, 392, etc; [Col 19 Ln 17-26] portion 392 may include instructions informing the customer whether she is insured upon payment of a portion (or all) of the quoted premium. As illustrated in the example screenshot 390 as shown in FIG. 3G, the customer has qualified for temporary life insurance coverage. Although medical underwriting may still need to be performed and the policy premium and/or benefit value may change, the customer may be provided with some life insurance policy protection upon payment; [Fig. 3G] depicts a “Thank You” message in response to the user’s payment, along with a “Binding Receipt” section in 392);
But does not explicitly disclose displaying different stages of workflow information to the user on the progress bar.
Cok, on the other hand, discloses displaying different stages of workflow information to the user on the progress bar ([0028] a set of connected tasks is represented by icons 1-12 in a dynamic diagram 10, wherein the icons are connected with connection indicators that illustrate the relationship between connected tasks; [0031] The active icon 2 in FIG. 1C can be highlighted relative to the inactive icons in the graphic user interface, e.g. with bold text labels, to indicate the current task and status to an operator; [0032] the icons in the dynamic diagram 10 change as progress is made through the tasks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system, as taught by Etheridge and Patel, displaying different stages of workflow information to the user on the progress bar, as taught by Cok, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Etheridge and Patel, to include the teachings of Cok, in order to provide a simple progress bar graphic indicator for assisting operators to navigate a complex, flexible and dynamic workflow (Cok, [0005]).
Claim 17 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 8. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 8.
Claim 21 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 8. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 8.
Conclusion
/ZACHARY RYAN DONAHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3689
/MARISSA THEIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3689