Final Rejection
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites the limitations “the rotatable nest” in line 7. It is suggested the limitation be amended to read –the rotatable primary nest--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “a separation port aligned with a direction of rotation of the rotatable nest” in lines 8 and 9. In view of the Examiner and further as shown in Applicant’s Figures 3A and 3B the separation port is aligned against a direction of rotation of the rotatable nest. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3,5-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ackley (US 4266477 A) in view of Maruyama (US 10,926,907) and further in view of Kelyman (US 9,770,684).
Referring to claim 1. Ackley discloses a bead singulator and dispenser (10; Figure 1) comprising:
a bulk hopper (12) configured to hold and present a plurality of beads (20);
a primary nest (16);
a pocket (40) formed in the primary nest (16) and configured to retain a single bead (20); and
a manipulation port (114) routed through the primary nest (16) that is coupled to the pocket (40) and a vacuum source (a known vacuum source connecting to member 112 and 116);
wherein the primary nest (16) is rotatable from a pickup position (position at which pocket 40 is within 12) with the pocket oriented towards the bulk hopper (1) to an ejection position (at position of 40 at 82).
Ackley does not specifically disclose wherein the manipulation port is rotatable with the primary nest while remaining coupled to the vacuum source such that the manipulation port remains under continuous vacuum from the vacuum source as the primary nest rotates from the pickup position to the ejection position.
Maruyama discloses a packaging machine (51; Figure 5) wherein the manipulation port (55B) is rotatable with the primary nest (54) while remaining coupled to the vacuum source (61) such that the manipulation port (55B) remains under continuous vacuum from the vacuum source (61) as the primary nest (54) rotates from the pickup position (at P1) to the ejection position (at P2).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Ackley to include the manipulation port as being rotatable with the primary nest while remaining coupled to the vacuum source as taught by Maruyama because the articles grasped within the pockets can be aided to remain seated within the pockets and the vacuum can be selectively disengaged to better control the manipulation of the retained articles thus reducing the potential for the primary nest jamming with articles due to unintended release.
Ackley discloses a separation port (14) aligned with a direction of rotation of the rotatable nest (16), the separation port (14) being configured to rotate against the pocket of the primary nest (16; see Figure 1) in the direction of rotation as the primary nest (16) rotates to dislodge any additional beads (20) of the plurality beads while the vacuum source (a known vacuum source connecting to member 112 and 116) retains the single bead (16) in the pocket (40).
Ackley in view of Maruyama do not specifically disclose the separation port being configured to emit low pressure air towards the pocket of the primary nest
and the separation port emits low pressure air towards the pocket of the primary nest.
Kelyman discloses a drum filter media cleaning apparatus (10; Figure 1) wherein a separation port (22) being configured to emit low pressure air towards the pocket of the primary nest (12) and the separation port (22) emits low pressure air towards the pocket of the primary nest (12).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Ackley in view of Maruyama to include a separation port being configured to emit low pressure air towards the pocket of the primary nest and the separation port emits low pressure air towards the pocket of the primary nest as taught by Kelyman because replacing a mechanical brush type separation port with a separation port configured to emit low pressure air would reduce the number of mechanical parts and space required for mounting the separation port thus reducing the overall cost of the dispenser.
Referring to claim 2. Ackley discloses a bead singulator and dispenser (10; Figure 1) comprising:
a vacuum source (vacuum source not shown; A conduit 116 interconnects the vacuum chest 112 with a known vacuum source, which may be introduced immediately adjacent to the feed drum shaft 32; Col. 9 line 59-60) coupled to the manipulation port (114 through member 120) that is configured to pull a single bead into the pocket (40) when the primary nest (16) is in the pickup position (position at which pocket 40 is within 12).
Referring to claim 3. Ackley discloses a bead singulator and dispenser (10; Figure 1) comprising:
an air pressure source (air pressure source for chest 118) coupled to the manipulation port (114) that is configured to eject a single bead (20) retained within the pocket (40) when the primary nest is in the ejection position (at position of 40 at 82).
Referring to claim 5. Ackley discloses a bead singulator and dispenser (10; Figure 1) comprising:
a transfer tube (tube 82) having an inlet adjacent the pocket (40) when the primary nest (16) is in the ejection position (at position of 40 at 82).
Referring to claim 6. Ackley discloses a bead singulator and dispenser (10; Figure 1) comprising:
wherein the transfer tube (tube 82) has an outlet (opening of 82 when adjacent 22) configured to be positioned adjacent a desired location of a bead receiver (98).
Referring to claim 7. Ackley discloses a bead singulator and dispenser (10; Figure 1) comprising:
wherein the primary nest (16) further comprises a first inspection port (opening of 16 between member 14 and 16)
and wherein the primary nest (16) is configured to rotate the pocket (40) past the first inspection port (opening of 16 between member 14 and 16) prior to reaching the ejection position (at position of 40 at 82).
Referring to claim 8. Ackley discloses a bead singulator and dispenser (10; Figure 1) comprising:
wherein the primary nest (16) further comprises a first rejection port (port within section 60) such that the primary nest (16) is configured to rotate the pocket (40) past the rejection port (port within section 60) after passing the inspection port (opening of 16 between member 14 and 16).
Referring to claim 9. Ackley discloses a bead singulator and dispenser (10; Figure 1) comprising:
a secondary nest (18) having a pocket (42) configured to retain a single bead (50) and a manipulation port (member 114 of 18) coupled to the pocket (42), wherein the secondary nest (18) is rotatable from a pickup position (at top end of 18) with the pocket (42) of secondary nest (18) adjacent the pocket (40) of the primary nest (16) to an ejection position (bottom of 18).
Referring to claim 10. Ackley discloses a bead singulator and dispenser (10; Figure 1) comprising:
wherein the primary nest (16) further comprises a first rejection port (port within section 60) such that the primary nest (16) is configured to rotate the pocket (40) of the primary nest (16) past the first rejection port (port within section 60) after passing the first inspection port (opening of 16 between member 14 and 16) and wherein the secondary nest (18) further comprises a second rejection port (port within section 58’) such that the secondary nest (18) is configured to rotate the pocket (42) of the secondary nest (42) past the second rejection port (port within section 58’) after passing the second inspection port (opening of 18 between member tip of 58’ and tip of 58).
Referring to claim 11. Ackley discloses a method for singulating and dispensing one bead from a plurality of beads (10; Figure 1) comprising:
providing a bulk hopper (12) having a plurality of beads (20) and an outlet (bottom of 12);
orienting a primary nest (16) in a pickup position (member 16 adjacent member 12) such that a pocket (40) formed in the primary nest (16) is adjacent the outlet of the bulk hopper (bottom of 12);
retaining a single bead (20) within the pocket (40) by drawing a vacuum from a vacuum source (a known vacuum source connecting to member 112 and 116), through a manipulation port (114) routed through the primary nest (16), the manipulation port (114) being coupled to the pocket (40) and the vacuum source (a known vacuum source connecting to member 112 and 116);
rotating the primary nest (16) from a pickup position (top of 16) to an ejection position (bottom of 16); and
ejecting the retained single bead (20) by supplying pressurized air through the manipulation port (114; see bottom of 16).
Ackley does not specifically disclose wherein the manipulation port is rotatable with the primary nest while remaining coupled to the vacuum source such that the manipulation port remains under continuous vacuum from the vacuum source as the primary nest rotates from the pickup position to the ejection position.
Maruyama discloses a packaging machine (51; Figure 5) wherein the manipulation port (55B) is rotatable with the primary nest (54) while remaining coupled to the vacuum source (61) such that the manipulation port (55B) remains under continuous vacuum from the vacuum source (61) as the primary nest (54) rotates from the pickup position (at P1) to the ejection position (at P2).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Ackley to include the manipulation port as being rotatable with the primary nest while remaining coupled to the vacuum source as taught by Maruyama because the articles grasped within the pockets can be aided to remain seated within the pockets and the vacuum can be selectively disengaged to better control the manipulation of the retained articles thus reducing the potential for the primary nest jamming with articles due to unintended release.
Referring to claim 13. Ackley discloses a method for singulating and dispensing one bead from a plurality of beads (10; Figure 1) comprising:
wherein ejecting (at bottom end of 16) the retained single bead (20) further comprises delivering the ejected bead (20) into a transfer tube (housing of 44 adjacent member 90; at bottom of 18), wherein the transfer tube (housing of 44 adjacent member 90; at bottom of 18) has an inlet (opening of 44) adjacent the pocket (40) when the primary nest (16) is in the ejection position (bottom of 16).
Referring to claim 14. Ackley discloses a method for singulating and dispensing one bead from a plurality of beads (10; Figure 1) comprising:
adjusting the position of an outlet (outlet of 44 in 18) of the transfer tube (housing of 44 adjacent member 90; at bottom of 18) relative to a bead receiver (22).
Referring to claim 15. Ackley discloses a method for singulating and dispensing one bead from a plurality of beads (10; Figure 1) comprising:
providing an exhaust gap (gap between 18 and 58’) between the outlet of the transfer tube (housing of 44 adjacent member 90; at bottom of 18) and the bead receiver (22), wherein the exhaust gap (gap between 18 and 58’) is configured to cause a desired deceleration of the ejected bead (20).
Referring to claim 16. Ackley discloses a method for singulating and dispensing one bead from a plurality of beads (10; Figure 1) comprising:
wherein ejecting the retained single bead (20) comprises orienting the pocket of the primary nest (16) towards a bead receiver (22).
Referring to claim 17. Ackley discloses a method for singulating and dispensing one bead from a plurality of beads (10; Figure 1) comprising:
rotating the pocket (40) of the primary nest (16) subsequently past a first inspection port (opening of 16 between member 14 and 16) to allow examination of an exposed side (can be seen from the exterior) of the retained single bead (20) and a first rejection port (port within section 60) prior to reaching the ejection position (bottom of 16).
Referring to claim 18. Ackley discloses a method for singulating and dispensing one bead from a plurality of beads (10; Figure 1) comprising:
ejecting the retained single bead (20) comprises orienting the pocket (40) of the primary nest (16) towards a secondary nest (18) having a pocket (44) configured to retain a single bead (20) and a manipulation port (114 on member 18) coupled to the pocket (40) so that the ejected bead (20) is deposited within the pocket (44) of the secondary nest (18), further comprising rotating the secondary nest (16) from a pickup position (top of 18) with the pocket of secondary nest (44) adjacent the pocket (40) of the primary nest (16) to an ejection position (bottom of 18).
Referring to claim 19. Ackley discloses a method for singulating and dispensing one bead from a plurality of beads (10; Figure 1) comprising:
supplying pressurized air (pressurized air) through the manipulation port (114) of the secondary nest (18) when the secondary nest (18) is in the ejection position (bottom of 18) to deliver the ejected bead (20) to a bead receiver (22).
Referring to claim 20. Ackley discloses a method for singulating and dispensing one bead from a plurality of beads (10; Figure 1) comprising:
rotating the pocket (40) of the primary nest (16) subsequently past a first inspection port (opening of 16 between member 14 and 16) to allow examination of an exposed side (open to view) of the retained single bead (20) and a first rejection port (port within section 60) prior to reaching the ejection position (bottom of 16) of the primary nest (16); and
rotating the pocket (44) of the secondary nest (18) subsequently past a second inspection port (opening of 18 between member tip of 58’ and tip of 58) to allow examination of an opposing side of the retained single bead (20) and a second rejection port (port within section 58’) prior to reaching the ejection position (bottom of 18) of the secondary nest (18), wherein the opposing side of the retained single bead is exposed when transferred from the pocket (40) of the primary nest (16) to the pocket of the secondary nest (18).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
See new rejections in light of Ackley (US 4266477 A) in view of Maruyama (US 10,926,907) and further in view of Kelyman (US 9,770,684) cited above.
New reference of Kelyman (US 9,770,684) discloses a drum filter media cleaning apparatus (10; Figure 1) wherein a separation port (22) being configured to emit low pressure air towards the pocket of the primary nest (12) and the separation port (22) emits low pressure air towards the pocket of the primary nest (12).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Ackley in view of Maruyama to include a separation port being configured to emit low pressure air towards the pocket of the primary nest and the separation port emits low pressure air towards the pocket of the primary nest as taught by Kelyman because replacing a mechanical brush type separation port with a separation port configured to emit low pressure air would reduce the number of mechanical parts and space required for mounting the separation port thus reducing the overall cost of the dispenser.
The Examiner suggests Applicant include additional structure to overcome the cited rejections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See disclosure of Sugawara (WO 9942209 A1), Figure 4; discloses elements of claimed structure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAKESH KUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651