DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/15/2023 and 12/08/2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 1, 8 and 15, the limitation “receive configuration information for transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state lists associated with the one or more candidate cells” renders the claims indefinite. The scope of the claimed subject matter cannot be determined by one having ordinary skill in the art. The above limitation was not used to perform measurement report. Therefore, claims are unclear and renders the claims indefinite.
Claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20 are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1, 8 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-11 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20230379070, Li hereinafter) in view of Rahman et al. (US 20210160881, Rahman hereinafter).
As to claim 1: Li discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising: a transceiver configured to: receive configuration information for reference signals associated with measurement of one or more candidate cells (see at least paragraphs [0068]-[0074], in step 301, the network device sends beam measurement configuration information which
includes reference signal resource configuration information.), and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to: perform measurement on the reference signals, and determine, based on the measurement, a measurement report (see at least paragraph [0088], in step 305, the terminal performs beam measurement based on the received reference signals and obtains measurement results of beams corresponding the respective reference signals.),
wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit the measurement report (see at least paragraph [0096], in step 306, the terminal sends a beam measurement result report.), and
wherein: the measurement report includes L×M measurements, L is a number of cells included in the measurement report, M is a number of measurements reported for each cell of the number of cells in the measurement report (see at least paragraphs [0038], [0056], [0097] and [0104], the beam measurement result report is a group-based beam measurement result report. The group-based beam measurement result report includes a beam measurement result report of at least one beam group, with each beam group including at least two beams. Alternatively, the group-based beam measurement result report includes beam measurement result reports of at least two beam groups, with each beam group including at least one beam. That is, the beam measurement result report includes beam measurement result reports of at least two beams, and at least one beam of the at least two beams is a beam of the neighbor cell of the terminal. In addition, the beam measurement result report includes periodic reporting.),
the measurement report includes reference signal ID and a corresponding measured L1-reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) (see at least paragraphs [0045]-[0047] the measurement result report includes an identification of a beam and a measurement result of the beam. The identification of the beam includes an identification of a reference signal corresponding to the beam. the measurement result of the beam includes at least one of a layer 1-reference signal received power (L1-RSRP).), and
the measurement report is included in uplink control information (UCI) transmitted on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see at least paragraph [0097], the beam measurement result report can be uplink control information (UCI). The UCI can be reported through a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).).
Li does not explicitly disclose receive configuration information for transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state lists associated with the one or more candidate cells.
However Rahman discloses receive configuration information for transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state lists associated with the one or more candidate cells (see at least paragraph [0202], at step 1602. In step 1602, the UE (e.g., 111-116 as illustrated in FIG. 1) receives configuration information on a set of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement TCI states, as taught by Rahman, into the invention of Li in order to improve the efficiency of radio interfaces (see Rahman, paragraphs [0003]).
As to claim 2: Li and Rahman disclose the UE of claim 1. Li further discloses wherein the reference signals comprise a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block of the one or more candidate cells (see at least paragraph [0084], the reference signal includes at least one of a synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB).).
As to claim 3: Li and Rahman disclose the UE of claim 1. Li further discloses wherein a cell among the number of cells in the measurement report is a serving cell (see at least paragraph [0029], serving cell.).
As to claim 4: Li and Rahman disclose the UE of claim 1. Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive a medium access control-control element (MAC CE) activating TCI states of a target cell from the candidate cells.
However Rahman discloses wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive a medium access control-control element (MAC CE) activating TCI states of a target cell from the candidate cells (see at least paragraphs [0098], [0115], [0132], [0160] and [0179], a subset of the TCI states can be activated or selected either via MAC CE.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement TCI states, as taught by Rahman, into the invention of Li in order to improve the efficiency of radio interfaces (see Rahman, paragraphs [0003]).
As to claim 8: Li discloses a base station (BS) comprising: a processor; and a transceiver operably coupled to the processor, the transceiver configured to: transmit configuration information for reference signals associated with measurement of one or more candidate cells (see at least paragraphs [0068]-[0074], in step 301, the network device sends beam measurement configuration information which
includes reference signal resource configuration information.), and
receive a measurement report (see at least paragraph [0096], in step 306, the terminal sends a beam measurement result report.),
wherein: the measurement report includes L×M measurements, L is a number of cells included in the measurement report, M is a number of measurements reported for each cell of the number of cells in the measurement report (see at least paragraphs [0038], [0056], [0097] and [0104], the beam measurement result report is a group-based beam measurement result report. The group-based beam measurement result report includes a beam measurement result report of at least one beam group, with each beam group including at least two beams. Alternatively, the group-based beam measurement result report includes beam measurement result reports of at least two beam groups, with each beam group including at least one beam. That is, the beam measurement result report includes beam measurement result reports of at least two beams, and at least one beam of the at least two beams is a beam of the neighbor cell of the terminal. In addition, the beam measurement result report includes periodic reporting.),
the measurement report includes reference signal ID and a corresponding measured L1-reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) (see at least paragraphs [0045]-[0047] the measurement result report includes an identification of a beam and a measurement result of the beam. The identification of the beam includes an identification of a reference signal corresponding to the beam. the measurement result of the beam includes at least one of a layer 1-reference signal received power (L1-RSRP).), and
the measurement report is included in uplink control information (UCI) received on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see at least paragraph [0097], the beam measurement result report can be uplink control information (UCI). The UCI can be reported through a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).).
Li does not explicitly disclose transmit configuration information for transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state lists associated with the one or more candidate cells.
However Rahman discloses transmit configuration information for transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state lists associated with the one or more candidate cells (see at least paragraph [0202], at step 1602. In step 1602, the UE (e.g., 111-116 as illustrated in FIG. 1) receives configuration information on a set of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement TCI states, as taught by Rahman, into the invention of Li in order to improve the efficiency of radio interfaces (see Rahman, paragraphs [0003]).
As to claim 9: Li and Rahman disclose the BS of claim 8. Li further discloses wherein the reference signals comprise a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block of the one or more candidate cells (see at least paragraph [0084], the reference signal includes at least one of a synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB).).
As to claim 10: Li and Rahman disclose the BS of claim 8. Li further discloses wherein a cell among the number of cells in the measurement report is a serving cell (see at least paragraph [0029], serving cell.).
As to claim 11: Li and Rahman disclose the BS of claim 8. Li does not explicitly disclose wherein: the processor is further configured to determine TCI states of a target cell from the candidate cells to activate; and the transceiver is further configured to transmit a medium access control-control element (MAC CE) indicating the activated TCI states.
However Rahman discloses wherein: the processor is further configured to determine TCI states of a target cell from the candidate cells to activate; and the transceiver is further configured to transmit a medium access control-control element (MAC CE) indicating the activated TCI states (see at least paragraphs [0098], [0115], [0132], [0160] and [0179], a subset of the TCI states can be activated or selected either via MAC CE.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement TCI states, as taught by Rahman, into the invention of Li in order to improve the efficiency of radio interfaces (see Rahman, paragraphs [0003]).
As to claim 15: Li discloses a method of operating a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving configuration information for reference signals associated with measurement of one or more candidate cells (see at least paragraphs [0068]-[0074], in step 301, the network device sends beam measurement configuration information which includes reference signal resource configuration information.);
performing measurement on the reference signals; determining, based on the measurement, a measurement report (see at least paragraph [0088], in step 305, the terminal performs beam measurement based on the received reference signals and obtains measurement results of beams corresponding the respective reference signals.); and
transmitting the measurement report (see at least paragraph [0096], in step 306, the terminal sends a beam measurement result report.),
wherein: the measurement report includes L×M measurements, L is a number of cells included in the measurement report, M is a number of measurements reported for each cell of the number of cells in the measurement report (see at least paragraphs [0038], [0056], [0097] and [0104], the beam measurement result report is a group-based beam measurement result report. The group-based beam measurement result report includes a beam measurement result report of at least one beam group, with each beam group including at least two beams. Alternatively, the group-based beam measurement result report includes beam measurement result reports of at least two beam groups, with each beam group including at least one beam. That is, the beam measurement result report includes beam measurement result reports of at least two beams, and at least one beam of the at least two beams is a beam of the neighbor cell of the terminal. In addition, the beam measurement result report includes periodic reporting.),
the measurement report includes reference signal ID and a corresponding measured L1-reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) (see at least paragraphs [0045]-[0047] the measurement result report includes an identification of a beam and a measurement result of the beam. The identification of the beam includes an identification of a reference signal corresponding to the beam. the measurement result of the beam includes at least one of a layer 1-reference signal received power (L1-RSRP).), and
the measurement report is included in uplink control information (UCI), transmitted on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see at least paragraph [0097], the beam measurement result report can be uplink control information (UCI). The UCI can be reported through a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).).
Li does not explicitly disclose receiving configuration information for transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state lists associated with the one or more candidate cells.
However Rahman discloses receiving configuration information for transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state lists associated with the one or more candidate cells (see at least paragraph [0202], at step 1602. In step 1602, the UE (e.g., 111-116 as illustrated in FIG. 1) receives configuration information on a set of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement TCI states, as taught by Rahman, into the invention of Li in order to improve the efficiency of radio interfaces (see Rahman, paragraphs [0003]).
As to claim 16: Li and Rahman disclose the method of claim 15. Li further discloses wherein the reference signals are a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block of the one or more candidate cells (see at least paragraph [0084], the reference signal includes at least one of a synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB).).
As to claim 17: Li and Rahman disclose the method of claim 15. Li does not explicitly disclose further comprising receiving a medium access control-control element (MAC CE) activating TCI states of a target cell from the candidate cells.
However Rahman discloses receiving a medium access control-control element (MAC CE) activating TCI states of a target cell from the candidate cells (see at least paragraphs [0098], [0115], [0132], [0160] and [0179], a subset of the TCI states can be activated or selected either via MAC CE.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement TCI states, as taught by Rahman, into the invention of Li in order to improve the efficiency of radio interfaces (see Rahman, paragraphs [0003]).
Claims 6-7, 13-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20230379070, Li hereinafter) in view of Rahman et al. (US 20210160881, Rahman hereinafter) and further in view of Visa et al. (US 20250254571, Visa hereinafter).
As to claim 6: Li and Rahman disclose the UE of claim 1. Li and Rahman do not explicitly disclose wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit a message including a request to perform a cell switch to a target cell.
However Visa discloses wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit a message including a request to perform a cell switch to a target cell (see at least paragraphs [0089]-[0103] and Fig. 6, a migration request message.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement cell migration, as taught by Visa, into the invention of Li and Rahman in order to enable the network to operate in a more efficient manner (see Visa, paragraphs [0007]).
As to claim 7: Li and Rahman disclose the UE of claim 6. Li and Rahman do not explicitly disclose wherein: the transceiver is further configured to receive an acknowledgement of the message; and the processor is further configured to perform a cell switch after a beam application time from an end time of the acknowledgement.
However Visa discloses wherein: the transceiver is further configured to receive an acknowledgement of the message; and the processor is further configured to perform a cell switch after a beam application time from an end time of the acknowledgement (see at least paragraphs [0089]-[0103] and Fig. 6, a migration acknowledgement
message including configuration information associated with the target base station 111 for the one or more active data sessions. The configuration message sent to the UE 101 informs the UE 101 to switch to the new serving cell.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement cell migration, as taught by Visa, into the invention of Li and Rahman in order to enable the network to operate in a more efficient manner (see Visa, paragraphs [0007]).
As to claim 13: Li and Rahman disclose the BS of claim 8. Li and Rahman do not explicitly disclose wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive a message including a request to perform a cell switch to a target cell.
However Visa discloses wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive a message including a request to perform a cell switch to a target cell (see at least paragraphs [0089]-[0103] and Fig. 6, a migration request message.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement cell migration, as taught by Visa, into the invention of Li and Rahman in order to enable the network to operate in a more efficient manner (see Visa, paragraphs [0007]).
As to claim 14: Li and Rahman disclose the BS of claim 13. Li and Rahman do not explicitly disclose wherein: the transceiver is further configured to transmit an acknowledgement of the message; and the processor is further configured to perform a cell switch after beam application time from an end time of the acknowledgement.
However Visa discloses wherein: the transceiver is further configured to transmit an acknowledgement of the message; and the processor is further configured to perform a cell switch after beam application time from an end time of the acknowledgement (see at least paragraphs [0089]-[0103] and Fig. 6, a migration acknowledgement
message including configuration information associated with the target base station 111 for the one or more active data sessions. The configuration message sent to the UE 101 informs the UE 101 to switch to the new serving cell.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement cell migration, as taught by Visa, into the invention of Li and Rahman in order to enable the network to operate in a more efficient manner (see Visa, paragraphs [0007]).
As to claim 19: Li and Rahman disclose the method of claim 15. Li and Rahman do not explicitly disclose further comprising transmitting a message including a request to perform a cell switch to a target cell.
However Visa discloses transmitting a message including a request to perform a cell switch to a target cell (see at least paragraphs [0089]-[0103] and Fig. 6, a migration request message.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement cell migration, as taught by Visa, into the invention of Li and Rahman in order to enable the network to operate in a more efficient manner (see Visa, paragraphs [0007]).
As to claim 20: Li and Rahman disclose the method of claim 19. Li and Rahman do not explicitly disclose further comprising: receiving an acknowledgement of the message; and performing a cell switch after a beam application time from an end time of the acknowledgement.
However Visa discloses receiving an acknowledgement of the message; and performing a cell switch after a beam application time from an end time of the acknowledgement (see at least paragraphs [0089]-[0103] and Fig. 6, a migration acknowledgement
message including configuration information associated with the target base station 111 for the one or more active data sessions. The configuration message sent to the UE 101 informs the UE 101 to switch to the new serving cell.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement cell migration, as taught by Visa, into the invention of Li and Rahman in order to enable the network to operate in a more efficient manner (see Visa, paragraphs [0007]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 12 and 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
He et al. (US 20210136862) discloses Channel State Information (CSI) Reporting During A Discontinuous Reception (DRX) Cycle.
Cui et al. (US 20250167942) discloses Improved Reference Signal Measurement Mechanisms During Secondary Cell Activation in New Radio.
CHUNG et al. (US 20250234355) discloses Method And Device For Transmitting And Receiving Signal In Wireless Communication System.
Taherzadeh Boroujeni et al. (US 20250106834) discloses Semi-Persistent Channel State Information Report Refinement.
/K. J./
Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464