Examiner’s Note
For clarification, claim 35 may be amended to include one or more processors and a non-transitory memory (as claim 18) to make sure that the claim falls within one of the four statutory categories. On the other hand, it may be amended to a non-transitory computer-readable medium claim since claim 18 is a system claim as well.
Providing supporting paragraph(s) for each limitation of amended/new claim(s) in Remarks is strongly requested for clear and definite claim interpretations by Examiner (e.g., to avoid rejections under 35 U.S.C § 112(a) “Lack of written description”)
Applicant can schedule an interview at any stage of the prosecution (e.g., Non-Final, Final, and After-Final) to discuss any issues related to, for example, rejections under 35 U.S.C § 101 and § 103, for moving toward allowance.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for the provisional application filed on 11/11/2022.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding 35 USC § 102/103 with respect to the independent claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments are directed to amended limitation(s) that has/have not been previously examined.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
claim 35: “means for generating, using a first transformer block of a plurality of transformer blocks of a machine learning model, a first attention propagation output” (Note that fig 9 and pars 126-49 of the present application describe sufficient structure for performing the claimed function.)
claim 35: “the means for generating being configured to process input data for the first transformer block using a first self-attention sub-block of the first transformer block” (Note that fig 9 and pars 126-49 of the present application describe sufficient structure for performing the claimed function.)
claim 35: “means for propagating the first attention propagation output to a second transformer block of the plurality of transformer blocks” (Note that fig 9 and pars 126-49 of the present application describe sufficient structure for performing the claimed function.)
claim 35: “means for transforming the first attention propagation output using a parametric propagation operation having one or more learned parameters to generate a first transformed attention propagation output” (Note that fig 9 and pars 126-49 of the present application describe sufficient structure for performing the claimed function.)
claim 35: “means for generating an output for the second transformer block” (Note that fig 9 and pars 126-49 of the present application describe sufficient structure for performing the claimed function.)
claim 35: “the means for generating the output for the second transformer block being configured to output features for the second transformer block based on the first attention propagation output” (Note that fig 9 and pars 126-49 of the present application describe sufficient structure for performing the claimed function.)
claim 35: “means for generating an output of the machine learning model based on the output for the second transformer block” (Note that fig 9 and pars 126-49 of the present application describe sufficient structure for performing the claimed function.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 17-25, 27, 34-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiao et al. (Sharing Attention Weights for Fast Transformer)
Regarding claim 1
Xiao teaches
A computer-implemented method of machine learning, comprising:
generating, using a first transformer block of a plurality of transformer blocks of a machine learning model, a first attention propagation output, the generating comprising processing input data for the first transformer block using a first self-attention sub-block of the first transformer block;
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence. This experience lead us to study the issue in another line of research, in which we reduce redundant computation and re-use some of the hidden states in the attention network. We propose a method to share attention weights in adjacent layers (call it shared attention network, or SAN for short). It leads to a model that shares attention computation in the stacked layers vertically. In addition to the new architecture, we develop a joint method to learn sharing policies and MT models simultaneously. As another “bonus”, SAN reduces the memory footprint because some hidden states are kept in the same piece of memory. SAN is simple and can be implemented in a few hours by anyone with an existing kit of Transformer. Also, it is orthogonal to previous methods and is straightforwardly applicable to the variants of Transformer.” [sec(s) 3.2] “An obvious next step is to develop a faster attention model that makes efficient re-use of the states in Eqs. (1) and (2), instead of computing everything on the fly. In this work we present a shared attention network (SAN) to share weight matrix S for adjacent layers. The idea is that we just compute the weight matrix once and reuse it for upper-level layers. Here we describe SAN for both the self-attention and encoder-decoder attention models. • SAN Self-Attention. We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output.” [sec(s) 4.1] “The bilingual and evaluation data came from three sources. … All models were trained for 100k steps with a mini-batch of 4,096 tokens on machines with 8 Nvidia 1080Ti GPUs”; e.g., “Sm = s(Qm, Km)” of fig 3 read(s) on “first self-attention sub-block”.)
propagating the first attention propagation output to a second transformer block of the plurality of transformer blocks, comprising transforming the first attention propagation output using a parametric propagation operation having one or more learned parameters to generate a first transformed attention propagation output;
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence.” [sec(s) 3.2] “An obvious next step is to develop a faster attention model that makes efficient re-use of the states in Eqs. (1) and (2), instead of computing everything on the fly. In this work we present a shared attention network (SAN) to share weight matrix S for adjacent layers. The idea is that we just compute the weight matrix once and reuse it for upper-level layers. Here we describe SAN for both the self-attention and encoder-decoder attention models. • SAN Self-Attention. We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output. In SAN, we can share Sm with the layers above m, like this Sm+i = s(Qm, Km) (4) for i ∈ [1, π − 1] where π indicates how many layers share the same attention weights. For example, in a 6-layer decoder, we can share the self-attention weights for every two layers (π = 2), or share the weights for the first two layers (π1 = 2) and let the remaining 4 layers use another weights (π2 = 4).”; e.g., applying operations at a layer read(s) on “transforming”.)
generating an output for the second transformer block, the generating the output for the second transformer block comprising generating output features for the second transformer block based on the first transformed attention propagation output; and
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m”, “An=Sn·V” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence.” [sec(s) 3.2] “An obvious next step is to develop a faster attention model that makes efficient re-use of the states in Eqs. (1) and (2), instead of computing everything on the fly. In this work we present a shared attention network (SAN) to share weight matrix S for adjacent layers. The idea is that we just compute the weight matrix once and reuse it for upper-level layers. Here we describe SAN for both the self-attention and encoder-decoder attention models. • SAN Self-Attention. We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output. In SAN, we can share Sm with the layers above m, like this Sm+i = s(Qm, Km) (4) for i ∈ [1, π − 1] where π indicates how many layers share the same attention weights. For example, in a 6-layer decoder, we can share the self-attention weights for every two layers (π = 2), or share the weights for the first two layers (π1 = 2) and let the remaining 4 layers use another weights (π2 = 4).” [sec(s) 2] “Note that S is essentially a weight (or scalar) matrix where every column represents a distribution. The output of self-attention is simply defined as the weighted sum of values: A = S · V (2) Here Q, K and V are generated from the same source with a linear transformation. The self-attention result is then fed into a fully connected feed-forward network (FFN).”; e.g., operation-applied read(s) on “transformed”.)
generating an output of the machine learning model based on the output for the second transformer block.
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m”, “An=Sn·V” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence.” [sec(s) 3.2] “An obvious next step is to develop a faster attention model that makes efficient re-use of the states in Eqs. (1) and (2), instead of computing everything on the fly. In this work we present a shared attention network (SAN) to share weight matrix S for adjacent layers. The idea is that we just compute the weight matrix once and reuse it for upper-level layers. Here we describe SAN for both the self-attention and encoder-decoder attention models. • SAN Self-Attention. We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output. In SAN, we can share Sm with the layers above m, like this Sm+i = s(Qm, Km) (4) for i ∈ [1, π − 1] where π indicates how many layers share the same attention weights. For example, in a 6-layer decoder, we can share the self-attention weights for every two layers (π = 2), or share the weights for the first two layers (π1 = 2) and let the remaining 4 layers use another weights (π2 = 4).” [sec(s) 2] “Note that S is essentially a weight (or scalar) matrix where every column represents a distribution. The output of self-attention is simply defined as the weighted sum of values: A = S · V (2) Here Q, K and V are generated from the same source with a linear transformation. The self-attention result is then fed into a fully connected feed-forward network (FFN).”;)
Regarding claim 2
Xiao teaches claim 1.
Xiao further teaches
generating the first attention propagation output further comprises generating, using the first transformer block, an attention matrix; and
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence. This experience lead us to study the issue in another line of research, in which we reduce redundant computation and re-use some of the hidden states in the attention network. We propose a method to share attention weights in adjacent layers (call it shared attention network, or SAN for short). It leads to a model that shares attention computation in the stacked layers vertically. In addition to the new architecture, we develop a joint method to learn sharing policies and MT models simultaneously. As another “bonus”, SAN reduces the memory footprint because some hidden states are kept in the same piece of memory. SAN is simple and can be implemented in a few hours by anyone with an existing kit of Transformer. Also, it is orthogonal to previous methods and is straightforwardly applicable to the variants of Transformer.” [sec(s) 3.2] “An obvious next step is to develop a faster attention model that makes efficient re-use of the states in Eqs. (1) and (2), instead of computing everything on the fly. In this work we present a shared attention network (SAN) to share weight matrix S for adjacent layers. The idea is that we just compute the weight matrix once and reuse it for upper-level layers. Here we describe SAN for both the self-attention and encoder-decoder attention models. • SAN Self-Attention. We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output.” [sec(s) 4.1] “The bilingual and evaluation data came from three sources.”;)
generating the attention matrix comprises processing a query representation and a key representation of the input data for the first transformer block using the first self-attention sub-block.
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence. … SAN is simple and can be implemented in a few hours by anyone with an existing kit of Transformer. Also, it is orthogonal to previous methods and is straightforwardly applicable to the variants of Transformer.” [sec(s) 3.2] “An obvious next step is to develop a faster attention model that makes efficient re-use of the states in Eqs. (1) and (2), instead of computing everything on the fly. In this work we present a shared attention network (SAN) to share weight matrix S for adjacent layers. The idea is that we just compute the weight matrix once and reuse it for upper-level layers. Here we describe SAN for both the self-attention and encoder-decoder attention models. • SAN Self-Attention. We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output.” [sec(s) 4.1] “The bilingual and evaluation data came from three sources.”;)
Regarding claim 3
Xiao teaches claim 2.
Xiao further teaches
wherein the first attention propagation output comprises the attention matrix.
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence. … SAN is simple and can be implemented in a few hours by anyone with an existing kit of Transformer. Also, it is orthogonal to previous methods and is straightforwardly applicable to the variants of Transformer.” [sec(s) 3.2] “An obvious next step is to develop a faster attention model that makes efficient re-use of the states in Eqs. (1) and (2), instead of computing everything on the fly. In this work we present a shared attention network (SAN) to share weight matrix S for adjacent layers. The idea is that we just compute the weight matrix once and reuse it for upper-level layers. Here we describe SAN for both the self-attention and encoder-decoder attention models. • SAN Self-Attention. We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output.” [sec(s) 4.1] “The bilingual and evaluation data came from three sources.”;)
Regarding claim 4
Xiao teaches claim 3.
wherein generating the output features for the second transformer block further comprises: (See claim 1)
Xiao further teaches
accessing an output for a third transformer block of the plurality of transformer blocks, wherein the third transformer block immediately precedes the second transformer block; and
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m”, “An=Sn·V” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence.” [sec(s) 3.2] “An obvious next step is to develop a faster attention model that makes efficient re-use of the states in Eqs. (1) and (2), instead of computing everything on the fly. In this work we present a shared attention network (SAN) to share weight matrix S for adjacent layers. The idea is that we just compute the weight matrix once and reuse it for upper-level layers. Here we describe SAN for both the self-attention and encoder-decoder attention models. • SAN Self-Attention. We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output. In SAN, we can share Sm with the layers above m, like this Sm+i = s(Qm, Km) (4) for i ∈ [1, π − 1] where π indicates how many layers share the same attention weights. For example, in a 6-layer decoder, we can share the self-attention weights for every two layers (π = 2), or share the weights for the first two layers (π1 = 2) and let the remaining 4 layers use another weights (π2 = 4).” [sec(s) 2] “Note that S is essentially a weight (or scalar) matrix where every column represents a distribution. The output of self-attention is simply defined as the weighted sum of values: A = S · V (2) Here Q, K and V are generated from the same source with a linear transformation. The self-attention result is then fed into a fully connected feed-forward network (FFN).”;)
generating, using a second self-attention sub-block of the second transformer block, the output features for the second transformer block based on the first transformed attention propagation output and a value representation of the output for the third transformer block.
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m”, “An=Sn·V” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence.” [sec(s) 3.2] “An obvious next step is to develop a faster attention model that makes efficient re-use of the states in Eqs. (1) and (2), instead of computing everything on the fly. In this work we present a shared attention network (SAN) to share weight matrix S for adjacent layers. The idea is that we just compute the weight matrix once and reuse it for upper-level layers. Here we describe SAN for both the self-attention and encoder-decoder attention models. • SAN Self-Attention. We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output. In SAN, we can share Sm with the layers above m, like this Sm+i = s(Qm, Km) (4) for i ∈ [1, π − 1] where π indicates how many layers share the same attention weights. For example, in a 6-layer decoder, we can share the self-attention weights for every two layers (π = 2), or share the weights for the first two layers (π1 = 2) and let the remaining 4 layers use another weights (π2 = 4).” [sec(s) 2] “Note that S is essentially a weight (or scalar) matrix where every column represents a distribution. The output of self-attention is simply defined as the weighted sum of values: A = S · V (2) Here Q, K and V are generated from the same source with a linear transformation. The self-attention result is then fed into a fully connected feed-forward network (FFN).”;)
Regarding claim 5
Xiao teaches claim 2.
Xiao further teaches
wherein generating the first attention propagation output comprises generating, using the first transformer block, output features for the first transformer block by processing the attention matrix and a value representation of the input data for the first transformer block using the first self-attention sub-block.
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m”, “An=Sn·V” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence.” [sec(s) 3.2] “An obvious next step is to develop a faster attention model that makes efficient re-use of the states in Eqs. (1) and (2), instead of computing everything on the fly. In this work we present a shared attention network (SAN) to share weight matrix S for adjacent layers. The idea is that we just compute the weight matrix once and reuse it for upper-level layers. Here we describe SAN for both the self-attention and encoder-decoder attention models. • SAN Self-Attention. We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output. In SAN, we can share Sm with the layers above m, like this Sm+i = s(Qm, Km) (4) for i ∈ [1, π − 1] where π indicates how many layers share the same attention weights. For example, in a 6-layer decoder, we can share the self-attention weights for every two layers (π = 2), or share the weights for the first two layers (π1 = 2) and let the remaining 4 layers use another weights (π2 = 4).” [sec(s) 2] “Note that S is essentially a weight (or scalar) matrix where every column represents a distribution. The output of self-attention is simply defined as the weighted sum of values: A = S · V (2) Here Q, K and V are generated from the same source with a linear transformation. The self-attention result is then fed into a fully connected feed-forward network (FFN).” [sec(s) 4.1] “The bilingual and evaluation data came from three sources.”; e.g., “Sm = s(Qm, Km)” of fig 3 read(s) on “first self-attention sub-block”.)
Regarding claim 6
Xiao teaches claim 5.
Xiao further teaches
wherein the first attention propagation output comprises the output features for the first transformer block.
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m”, “Am=Sm·V” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence.” [sec(s) 3.2] “An obvious next step is to develop a faster attention model that makes efficient re-use of the states in Eqs. (1) and (2), instead of computing everything on the fly. In this work we present a shared attention network (SAN) to share weight matrix S for adjacent layers. The idea is that we just compute the weight matrix once and reuse it for upper-level layers. Here we describe SAN for both the self-attention and encoder-decoder attention models. • SAN Self-Attention. We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output. In SAN, we can share Sm with the layers above m, like this Sm+i = s(Qm, Km) (4) for i ∈ [1, π − 1] where π indicates how many layers share the same attention weights. For example, in a 6-layer decoder, we can share the self-attention weights for every two layers (π = 2), or share the weights for the first two layers (π1 = 2) and let the remaining 4 layers use another weights (π2 = 4).” [sec(s) 2] “Note that S is essentially a weight (or scalar) matrix where every column represents a distribution. The output of self-attention is simply defined as the weighted sum of values: A = S · V (2) Here Q, K and V are generated from the same source with a linear transformation. The self-attention result is then fed into a fully connected feed-forward network (FFN).” [sec(s) 4.1] “The bilingual and evaluation data came from three sources.”; e.g., “Am” read(s) on “output features”.)
Regarding claim 7
Xiao teaches claim 1.
Xiao further teaches
further comprising generating, using the first transformer block, an output for the first transformer block, wherein generating the output for the first transformer block comprises processing output features of the first self-attention sub-block using a first feedforward sub-block of the first transformer block.
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m”, “Am=Sm·V” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence.” [sec(s) 3.2] “An obvious next step is to develop a faster attention model that makes efficient re-use of the states in Eqs. (1) and (2), instead of computing everything on the fly. In this work we present a shared attention network (SAN) to share weight matrix S for adjacent layers. The idea is that we just compute the weight matrix once and reuse it for upper-level layers. Here we describe SAN for both the self-attention and encoder-decoder attention models. • SAN Self-Attention. We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output. In SAN, we can share Sm with the layers above m, like this Sm+i = s(Qm, Km) (4) for i ∈ [1, π − 1] where π indicates how many layers share the same attention weights. For example, in a 6-layer decoder, we can share the self-attention weights for every two layers (π = 2), or share the weights for the first two layers (π1 = 2) and let the remaining 4 layers use another weights (π2 = 4).” [sec(s) 2] “The Transformer system follows the popular encoder-decoder paradigm. On the encoder side, there are a number of identical stacked layers. Each of them is composed of a self-attention sub-layer and a feed-forward sub-layer. … Note that S is essentially a weight (or scalar) matrix where every column represents a distribution. The output of self-attention is simply defined as the weighted sum of values: A = S · V (2) Here Q, K and V are generated from the same source with a linear transformation. The self-attention result is then fed into a fully connected feed-forward network (FFN).” [sec(s) 4.1] “The bilingual and evaluation data came from three sources.”; e.g., “FFN” read(s) on “feedforward sub-block”.)
Regarding claim 8
Xiao teaches claim 1.
Xiao further teaches
wherein generating the output for the second transformer block comprises processing the output features of a second self-attention sub-block using a second feedforward sub-block of the second transformer block.
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m”, “Am=Sm·V” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence.” [sec(s) 3.2] “An obvious next step is to develop a faster attention model that makes efficient re-use of the states in Eqs. (1) and (2), instead of computing everything on the fly. In this work we present a shared attention network (SAN) to share weight matrix S for adjacent layers. The idea is that we just compute the weight matrix once and reuse it for upper-level layers. Here we describe SAN for both the self-attention and encoder-decoder attention models. • SAN Self-Attention. We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output. In SAN, we can share Sm with the layers above m, like this Sm+i = s(Qm, Km) (4) for i ∈ [1, π − 1] where π indicates how many layers share the same attention weights. For example, in a 6-layer decoder, we can share the self-attention weights for every two layers (π = 2), or share the weights for the first two layers (π1 = 2) and let the remaining 4 layers use another weights (π2 = 4).” [sec(s) 2] “The Transformer system follows the popular encoder-decoder paradigm. On the encoder side, there are a number of identical stacked layers. Each of them is composed of a self-attention sub-layer and a feed-forward sub-layer. … Note that S is essentially a weight (or scalar) matrix where every column represents a distribution. The output of self-attention is simply defined as the weighted sum of values: A = S · V (2) Here Q, K and V are generated from the same source with a linear transformation. The self-attention result is then fed into a fully connected feed-forward network (FFN).” [sec(s) 4.1] “The bilingual and evaluation data came from three sources.”; e.g., “FFN” read(s) on “feedforward sub-block”.)
Regarding claim 10
Xiao teaches claim 1.
Xiao further teaches
the plurality of transformer blocks comprises a sequence of transformer blocks,
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m”, “Am=Sm·V” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence.” [sec(s) 3.2] “We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output. In SAN, we can share Sm with the layers above m, like this Sm+i = s(Qm, Km) (4) for i ∈ [1, π − 1] where π indicates how many layers share the same attention weights. For example, in a 6-layer decoder, we can share the self-attention weights for every two layers (π = 2), or share the weights for the first two layers (π1 = 2) and let the remaining 4 layers use another weights (π2 = 4).” [sec(s) 2] “The Transformer system follows the popular encoder-decoder paradigm. On the encoder side, there are a number of identical stacked layers. Each of them is composed of a self-attention sub-layer and a feed-forward sub-layer. … Note that S is essentially a weight (or scalar) matrix where every column represents a distribution. The output of self-attention is simply defined as the weighted sum of values: A = S · V (2) Here Q, K and V are generated from the same source with a linear transformation. The self-attention result is then fed into a fully connected feed-forward network (FFN).” [sec(s) 4.1] “The Transformer system used in our experiments consisted of a 6-layer encoder and a 6-layer decoder.”;)
the sequence of transformer blocks comprises one or more initial blocks, a plurality of intermediate blocks, and one or more final blocks, and
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m”, “Am=Sm·V” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence.” [sec(s) 3.2] “We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output. In SAN, we can share Sm with the layers above m, like this Sm+i = s(Qm, Km) (4) for i ∈ [1, π − 1] where π indicates how many layers share the same attention weights. For example, in a 6-layer decoder, we can share the self-attention weights for every two layers (π = 2), or share the weights for the first two layers (π1 = 2) and let the remaining 4 layers use another weights (π2 = 4).” [sec(s) 2] “The Transformer system follows the popular encoder-decoder paradigm. On the encoder side, there are a number of identical stacked layers. Each of them is composed of a self-attention sub-layer and a feed-forward sub-layer. … Note that S is essentially a weight (or scalar) matrix where every column represents a distribution. The output of self-attention is simply defined as the weighted sum of values: A = S · V (2) Here Q, K and V are generated from the same source with a linear transformation. The self-attention result is then fed into a fully connected feed-forward network (FFN).” [sec(s) 4.1] “The Transformer system used in our experiments consisted of a 6-layer encoder and a 6-layer decoder.”;)
the plurality of intermediate blocks comprises the first transformer block and the second transformer block.
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m”, “Am=Sm·V” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence.” [sec(s) 3.2] “We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output. In SAN, we can share Sm with the layers above m, like this Sm+i = s(Qm, Km) (4) for i ∈ [1, π − 1] where π indicates how many layers share the same attention weights. For example, in a 6-layer decoder, we can share the self-attention weights for every two layers (π = 2), or share the weights for the first two layers (π1 = 2) and let the remaining 4 layers use another weights (π2 = 4).” [sec(s) 2] “The Transformer system follows the popular encoder-decoder paradigm. On the encoder side, there are a number of identical stacked layers. Each of them is composed of a self-attention sub-layer and a feed-forward sub-layer. … Note that S is essentially a weight (or scalar) matrix where every column represents a distribution. The output of self-attention is simply defined as the weighted sum of values: A = S · V (2) Here Q, K and V are generated from the same source with a linear transformation. The self-attention result is then fed into a fully connected feed-forward network (FFN).” [sec(s) 4.1] “The Transformer system used in our experiments consisted of a 6-layer encoder and a 6-layer decoder.”;)
Regarding claim 17
Xiao teaches claim 1.
Xiao further teaches
wherein, when generating the output features for the second transformer block, a second self-attention sub-block does not compute an attention matrix.
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m”, “An=Sn·V” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence.” [sec(s) 3.2] “An obvious next step is to develop a faster attention model that makes efficient re-use of the states in Eqs. (1) and (2), instead of computing everything on the fly. In this work we present a shared attention network (SAN) to share weight matrix S for adjacent layers. The idea is that we just compute the weight matrix once and reuse it for upper-level layers. Here we describe SAN for both the self-attention and encoder-decoder attention models. • SAN Self-Attention. We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output. In SAN, we can share Sm with the layers above m, like this Sm+i = s(Qm, Km) (4) for i ∈ [1, π − 1] where π indicates how many layers share the same attention weights. For example, in a 6-layer decoder, we can share the self-attention weights for every two layers (π = 2), or share the weights for the first two layers (π1 = 2) and let the remaining 4 layers use another weights (π2 = 4).” [sec(s) 2] “Note that S is essentially a weight (or scalar) matrix where every column represents a distribution. The output of self-attention is simply defined as the weighted sum of values: A = S · V (2) Here Q, K and V are generated from the same source with a linear transformation. The self-attention result is then fed into a fully connected feed-forward network (FFN).”; e.g., “we can share Sm with the layers above m” read(s) on “does not compute an attention matrix”.)
Regarding claim 18
The claim is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 1, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the method claim.
Regarding claim 19
The claim is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 2, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the method claim.
Regarding claim 20
The claim is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 3, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the method claim.
Regarding claim 21
The claim is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 4, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the method claim.
Regarding claim 22
The claim is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 5, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the method claim.
Regarding claim 23
The claim is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 6, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the method claim.
Regarding claim 24
The claim is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 7, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the method claim.
Regarding claim 25
The claim is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 8, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the method claim.
Regarding claim 27
The claim is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 10, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the method claim.
Regarding claim 34
The claim is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 17, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the method claim.
Regarding claim 35
The claim is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 1, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the method claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (Sharing Attention Weights for Fast Transformer) in view of Xia et al. (Tied Transformers: Neural Machine Translation with Shared Encoder and Decoder)
Regarding claim 9
Xiao teaches claim 1.
(Note: Hereinafter, if a limitation has bold brackets (i.e. [·]) around claim languages, the bracketed claim languages indicate that they have not been taught yet by the current prior art reference but they will be taught by another prior art reference afterwards.)
Xiao further teaches
the first transformer block comprises an [encoder] block, and
the second transformer block comprises a decoder block.
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “(c) SAN Encoder-Decoder Attention”, “Qm”, “Km”, “Vm” [sec(s) 4.1] “The Transformer system used in our experiments consisted of a 6-layer encoder and a 6-layer decoder.” [sec(s) 4.2] “In encoder-decoder attention, we share the context V generated by the encoder for further speed-ups (see Figure 3(c)). It is therefore worth a study on how much this method can accelerate the system. Table 4 shows that sharing the context contributes half of the speed improvement. This agrees with our design that weight sharing is more beneficial to the decoder because attention is heavier on the decoder side. Another interesting question is whether SAN can improve the system on the encoder side. To seek an answer, we apply SAN to the encoder-side self-attention sub-layers and see small speed improvements (Table 5). This result confirms the previous report that the decoder occupies the inference time and the encoder is light [Zhang et al., 2018].” [sec(s) 3.2] “An obvious next step is to develop a faster attention model that makes efficient re-use of the states in Eqs. (1) and (2), instead of computing everything on the fly. In this work we present a shared attention network (SAN) to share weight matrix S for adjacent layers. The idea is that we just compute the weight matrix once and reuse it for upper-level layers. Here we describe SAN for both the self-attention and encoder-decoder attention models. • SAN Self-Attention. We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output. In SAN, we can share Sm with the layers above m, like this Sm+i = s(Qm, Km) (4) for i ∈ [1, π − 1] where π indicates how many layers share the same attention weights. For example, in a 6-layer decoder, we can share the self-attention weights for every two layers (π = 2), or share the weights for the first two layers (π1 = 2) and let the remaining 4 layers use another weights (π2 = 4). … SAN Encoder-Decoder Attention … where Am is the attention output of layer m, V is the context representation generated by the encoder.”;)
However, Xiao does not appear to explicitly teach:
the first transformer block comprises an [encoder] block, and
(Note: Hereinafter, if a limitation has one or more bold underlines, the one or more underlined claim languages indicate that they are taught by the current prior art reference, while the one or more non-underlined claim languages indicate that they have been taught already by one or more previous art references.)
Xia teaches
the first transformer block comprises an encoder block, and
(Xia [fig(s) 1] [sec(s) 1] “We make an initial attempt to answer this question and then propose tied transformer. We cast the typical encoder-decoder based sequence-to-sequence model into a more compact one in that there is only one copy of parameter set, which is applicable to both the encoder and decoder. In that way we force the sharing among the weights of the encoder and the decoder, rather than only among the source-side and target-side word embeddings” [sec(s) 3.1] “he architecture of tied transformer is shown in Figure 1. We follow the notations defined in Section 2.3 to mathematically describe our model. Tied transformer is a stacked model with L blocks, where the l’th block consists of a self-attention module ϕlS , a cross-lingual attention ϕlC and a nonlinear function ϕlF , where superscript l represents the layer id. We show how the encoder and decoder are shared.”;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Xiao with the encoder of Xia.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to combine in order to significantly outperform the conventional approach in diverse test datasets.
(Xia [sec(s) 4] “The three rows in Table 1 represent the basic Transformer algorithm, our proposed algorithm and the improvements brought by our algorithm. We also list the IWSLT 2014 De→En results reported by previous literature. The tied transformer significantly outperforms the standard transformer. The improvements are two-folded: first, we could see Transformer outperforms non-transformer systems, which is helpful to get a great score; second, on top of such a strong baseline, we are still capable to further improve the performances, which demonstrate the effectiveness of our method. On the three tasks De→En, Es→En and Ro→En, our proposed method could outperform the Transformer baseline by 1.83, 1.84 and 1.35 points, which indeed verifies our motivation introduced in Section 1 that such a framework is helpful to improve the translations within a same language family. As far as we could survey, we achieve the best result on IWSLT 2014 De→En, whose previously best result in 33.81 provided by (Elbayad et al. 2018).”)
Regarding claim 26
The claim is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 9, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the method claim.
Claim(s) 11-12, 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (Sharing Attention Weights for Fast Transformer) in view of Beltagy et al. (Longformer: The Long-Document Transformer)
Regarding claim 11
Xiao teaches claim 1.
Xiao further teaches
wherein generating the first attention propagation output comprises processing the input data for the first transformer block using a plurality of [window] self-attention operations to generate the output features for the first transformer block.
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m”, “Am=Sm·V” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence.” [sec(s) 3.2] “We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output. In SAN, we can share Sm with the layers above m, like this Sm+i = s(Qm, Km) (4) for i ∈ [1, π − 1] where π indicates how many layers share the same attention weights. For example, in a 6-layer decoder, we can share the self-attention weights for every two layers (π = 2), or share the weights for the first two layers (π1 = 2) and let the remaining 4 layers use another weights (π2 = 4).” [sec(s) 2] “The Transformer system follows the popular encoder-decoder paradigm. On the encoder side, there are a number of identical stacked layers. Each of them is composed of a self-attention sub-layer and a feed-forward sub-layer. … Note that S is essentially a weight (or scalar) matrix where every column represents a distribution. The output of self-attention is simply defined as the weighted sum of values: A = S · V (2) Here Q, K and V are generated from the same source with a linear transformation. The self-attention result is then fed into a fully connected feed-forward network (FFN).” [sec(s) 4.1] “The Transformer system used in our experiments consisted of a 6-layer encoder and a 6-layer decoder.”;)
However, Xiao does not appear to explicitly teach:
wherein generating the first attention propagation output comprises processing the input data for the first transformer block using a plurality of [window] self-attention operations to generate the output features for the first transformer block.
Beltagy teaches
wherein generating the first attention propagation output comprises processing the input data for the first transformer block using a plurality of window self-attention operations to generate the output features for the first transformer block.
(Beltagy [sec(s) 1] “Longformer’s attention mechanism is a combination of a windowed local-context self-attention and an end task motivated global attention that encodes inductive bias about the task. Through ablations and controlled trials we show both attention types are essential – the local attention is primarily used to build contextual representations, while the global attention allows Longformer to build full sequence representations for prediction.” [sec(s) 3.1] “Sliding Window Given the importance of local context (Kovaleva et al., 2019), our attention pattern employs a fixed-size window attention surrounding each token. Using multiple stacked layers of such windowed attention results in a large receptive field, where top layers have access to all input locations and have the capacity to build representations that incorporate information across the entire input, similar to CNNs (Wu et al., 2019). … Dilated Sliding Window To further increase the receptive field without increasing computation, the sliding window can be “dilated”. This is analogous to dilated CNNs (van den Oord et al., 2016) where the window has gaps of size dilation d (Fig. 2c). Assuming a fixed d and w for all layers, the receptive field is l × d × w, which can reach tens of thousands of tokens even for small values of d. In multi-headed attention, each attention head computes a different attention score. We found settings with different dilation configurations per head improves performance by allowing some heads without dilation to focus on local context, while others with dilation focus on longer context.”;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Xiao with the window self-attention operations of Beltagy.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to combine in order to achieve state-of-the-art results on the character-level language modeling tasks and, when pretrained, consistently outperform the conventional approach on long document tasks.
(Beltagy [sec(s) 8] “Longformer achieves state-of-the-art results on the character-level language modeling tasks of text8 and enwik8. When pretrained, Longformer consistently outperforms RoBERTa on long document tasks and sets new state-of-the-art results on WikiHop and TriviaQA. We further present LED, an encoder-decoder variant of Longformer for modeling sequence-to-sequence tasks, and achieve state-of-the-art results on the arXiv long document summarization task.”)
Regarding claim 12
The combination of Xiao, Beltagy teaches claim 11.
Xiao further teaches
wherein the first attention propagation output comprises the output features for the first transformer block.
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m”, “Am=Sm·V” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence.” [sec(s) 3.2] “We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output. In SAN, we can share Sm with the layers above m, like this Sm+i = s(Qm, Km) (4) for i ∈ [1, π − 1] where π indicates how many layers share the same attention weights. For example, in a 6-layer decoder, we can share the self-attention weights for every two layers (π = 2), or share the weights for the first two layers (π1 = 2) and let the remaining 4 layers use another weights (π2 = 4).” [sec(s) 2] “The Transformer system follows the popular encoder-decoder paradigm. On the encoder side, there are a number of identical stacked layers. Each of them is composed of a self-attention sub-layer and a feed-forward sub-layer. … Note that S is essentially a weight (or scalar) matrix where every column represents a distribution. The output of self-attention is simply defined as the weighted sum of values: A = S · V (2) Here Q, K and V are generated from the same source with a linear transformation. The self-attention result is then fed into a fully connected feed-forward network (FFN).” [sec(s) 4.1] “The Transformer system used in our experiments consisted of a 6-layer encoder and a 6-layer decoder.”;)
Regarding claim 28
The claim is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 11, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the method claim.
Regarding claim 29
The claim is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 12, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the method claim.
Claim(s) 13, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (Sharing Attention Weights for Fast Transformer) in view of Beltagy et al. (Longformer: The Long-Document Transformer) in view of Zhang et al. (Densely-Connected Transformer with Co-attentive Information for Matching Text Sequences)
Regarding claim 13
The combination of Xiao, Beltagy teaches claim 12.
Xiao further teaches
the parametric propagation operation comprises transforming the first attention propagation output by [concatenating] output features for a third transformer block of the plurality of transformer blocks to the first attention propagation output, and
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence.” [sec(s) 3.2] “An obvious next step is to develop a faster attention model that makes efficient re-use of the states in Eqs. (1) and (2), instead of computing everything on the fly. In this work we present a shared attention network (SAN) to share weight matrix S for adjacent layers. The idea is that we just compute the weight matrix once and reuse it for upper-level layers. Here we describe SAN for both the self-attention and encoder-decoder attention models. • SAN Self-Attention. We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output. In SAN, we can share Sm with the layers above m, like this Sm+i = s(Qm, Km) (4) for i ∈ [1, π − 1] where π indicates how many layers share the same attention weights. For example, in a 6-layer decoder, we can share the self-attention weights for every two layers (π = 2), or share the weights for the first two layers (π1 = 2) and let the remaining 4 layers use another weights (π2 = 4).”;)
the third transformer block immediately precedes the second transformer block.
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m”, “An=Sn·V” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence.” [sec(s) 3.2] “We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output. In SAN, we can share Sm with the layers above m, like this Sm+i = s(Qm, Km) (4) for i ∈ [1, π − 1] where π indicates how many layers share the same attention weights. For example, in a 6-layer decoder, we can share the self-attention weights for every two layers (π = 2), or share the weights for the first two layers (π1 = 2) and let the remaining 4 layers use another weights (π2 = 4).””;)
However, the combination of Xiao, Beltagy does not appear to explicitly teach:
the parametric propagation operation comprises transforming the first attention propagation output by [concatenating] output features for a third transformer block of the plurality of transformer blocks to the first attention propagation output, and
Zhang teaches
the parametric propagation operation comprises transforming the first attention propagation output by concatenating output features for a third transformer block of the plurality of transformer blocks to the first attention propagation output, and
(Zhang [sec(s) 3.1] “Transformer Encoder. The inputs of transformer encoder are the representations Ha = {h1a, h2a, ..., hala} and Hb = {h1b, h2b, ..., hblb} for text sequences which are the concatenation of outputs of word embedding layer and all the previous sublayers. We leverage transformer encoder [31] to obtain refined representation for two text sequences separately. Transformer is a recently proposed neural architecture which based solely on attention mechanisms, it achieves remarkable performance on neural machine translation task while being more parallelizable and requiring significantly less time to train. … Multi-head Co-attention. Motivated by the success of multi-head self-attention in neural machine translation task, we leverage multi-head co-attention mechanism to perform matching. Following is the general single head co-attention mechanism
, (12) where f is the scaled dot-product attention, i represents the i-th head. The multi-head co-attentive representations are then obtained as follows:
(13)”;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Xiao, Beltagy with the concatenation of Zhang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to combine in order to show the superiority of the system which outperforms many other neural architectures and achieves competitive performance on five real-world datasets.
(Zhang [sec(s) 1] “Extensive experiments are conducted to show the superiority of our proposed model which outperforms many other neural architectures and achieves competitive performance on five real-world datasets.”)
Regarding claim 30
The claim is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 13, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the method claim.
Claim(s) 14, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (Sharing Attention Weights for Fast Transformer) in view of Beltagy et al. (Longformer: The Long-Document Transformer) in view of Zamir et al. (Restormer: Efficient Transformer for High-Resolution Image Restoration)
Regarding claim 14
Xiao teaches claim 12.
Xiao further teaches
the parametric propagation operation comprises transforming the first attention propagation output using an [upsampling] operation.
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence.” [sec(s) 3.2] “An obvious next step is to develop a faster attention model that makes efficient re-use of the states in Eqs. (1) and (2), instead of computing everything on the fly. In this work we present a shared attention network (SAN) to share weight matrix S for adjacent layers. The idea is that we just compute the weight matrix once and reuse it for upper-level layers. Here we describe SAN for both the self-attention and encoder-decoder attention models. • SAN Self-Attention. We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output. In SAN, we can share Sm with the layers above m, like this Sm+i = s(Qm, Km) (4) for i ∈ [1, π − 1] where π indicates how many layers share the same attention weights. For example, in a 6-layer decoder, we can share the self-attention weights for every two layers (π = 2), or share the weights for the first two layers (π1 = 2) and let the remaining 4 layers use another weights (π2 = 4).”;)
However, the combination of Xiao, Beltagy does not appear to explicitly teach:
the parametric propagation operation comprises transforming the first attention propagation output using an [upsampling] operation.
Zamir teaches
the parametric propagation operation comprises transforming the first attention propagation output using an upsampling operation.
(Zamir [fig(s) 2] “Transformer Block”, “Concatenation”, “Skip Connections”, “Architecture of Restormer for high-resolution image restoration. Our Restormer consists of multiscale hierarchical design incorporating efficient Transformer blocks. The core modules of Transformer block are: (a) multi-Dconv head transposed attention (MDTA) that performs (spatially enriched) query-key feature interaction across channels rather the spatial dimension, and (b) Gated-Dconv feed-forward network (GDFN) that performs controlled feature transformation, i.e., to allow useful information to propagate further” [sec(s) 3] “For feature downsampling and upsampling, we apply pixel-unshuffle and pixel-shuffle operations [69], respectively. To assist the recovery process, the encoder features are concatenated with the decoder features via skip connections [66]. The concatenation operation is followed by a 1×1 convolution to reduce channels (by half) at all levels, except the top one. At level-1, we let Transformer blocks to aggregate the low-level image features of the encoder with the high-level features of the decoder. It is beneficial in preserving the fine structural and textural details in the restored images. Next, the deep features Fd are further enriched in the refinement stage operating at high spatial resolution. These design choices yield quality improvements as we shall see in the experiment section (Sec. 4).”;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Xiao, Beltagy with the upsampling of Zamir.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to combine in order to achieve consistent and significant performance gains over existing approaches on all five datasets.
(Zamir [sec(s) 4] “We compute PSNR/SSIM scores using the Y channel in YCbCr color space in a way similar to existing methods [32, 61, 93]. Table 1 shows that our Restormer achieves consistent and significant performance gains over existing approaches on all five datasets. Compared to the recent best method SPAIR [61], Restormer achieves 1.05 dB improvement when averaged across all datasets.”)
Regarding claim 31
The claim is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 14, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the method claim.
Claim(s) 16, 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (Sharing Attention Weights for Fast Transformer) in view of Zamir et al. (Restormer: Efficient Transformer for High-Resolution Image Restoration)
Regarding claim 16
Xiao teaches claim 1.
Xiao further teaches
wherein the parametric propagation operation comprises transforming the first attention propagation output by performing one or more [convolution] operations on the first attention propagation output.
(Xiao [fig(s) 1] [fig(s) 3] “Layer n=m+i”, “Layer m” [sec(s) 1] “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence.” [sec(s) 3.2] “An obvious next step is to develop a faster attention model that makes efficient re-use of the states in Eqs. (1) and (2), instead of computing everything on the fly. In this work we present a shared attention network (SAN) to share weight matrix S for adjacent layers. The idea is that we just compute the weight matrix once and reuse it for upper-level layers. Here we describe SAN for both the self-attention and encoder-decoder attention models. • SAN Self-Attention. We define the self-attention weight matrix in layer m as: Sm = s(Qm, Km) (3) where s(·, ·) is the function described in Eq. (1), Qm and Km are the inputs, and Sm is the attention weight for the output. In SAN, we can share Sm with the layers above m, like this Sm+i = s(Qm, Km) (4) for i ∈ [1, π − 1] where π indicates how many layers share the same attention weights. For example, in a 6-layer decoder, we can share the self-attention weights for every two layers (π = 2), or share the weights for the first two layers (π1 = 2) and let the remaining 4 layers use another weights (π2 = 4).”;)
However, Xiao does not appear to explicitly teach:
wherein the parametric propagation operation comprises transforming the first attention propagation output by performing one or more [convolution] operations on the first attention propagation output.
Zamir teaches
wherein the parametric propagation operation comprises transforming the first attention propagation output by performing one or more convolution operations on the first attention propagation output.
(Zamir [fig(s) 2] “Convolution”, “Transformer Block”, “Concatenation”, “Skip Connections”, “Architecture of Restormer for high-resolution image restoration. Our Restormer consists of multiscale hierarchical design incorporating efficient Transformer blocks. The core modules of Transformer block are: (a) multi-Dconv head transposed attention (MDTA) that performs (spatially enriched) query-key feature interaction across channels rather the spatial dimension, and (b) Gated-Dconv feed-forward network (GDFN) that performs controlled feature transformation, i.e., to allow useful information to propagate further” [sec(s) 3] “Overall Pipeline. Given a degraded image I ∈ RH×W×3, Restormer first applies a convolution to obtain low-level feature embeddings F0 ∈ RH×W×C. … For feature downsampling and upsampling, we apply pixel-unshuffle and pixel-shuffle operations [69], respectively. To assist the recovery process, the encoder features are concatenated with the decoder features via skip connections [66]. The concatenation operation is followed by a 1×1 convolution to reduce channels (by half) at all levels, except the top one. At level-1, we let Transformer blocks to aggregate the low-level image features of the encoder with the high-level features of the decoder. It is beneficial in preserving the fine structural and textural details in the restored images. Next, the deep features Fd are further enriched in the refinement stage operating at high spatial resolution. These design choices yield quality improvements as we shall see in the experiment section (Sec. 4).” [sec(s) 3.1] “As another essential component in MDTA, we introduce depth-wise convolutions to emphasize on the local context before computing feature covariance to produce the global attention map. From a layer normalized tensor Y ∈ RHˆ×Wˆ×Cˆ, our MDTA first generates query (Q), key (K) and value (V) projections, enriched with local context. It is achieved by applying 1×1 convolutions to aggregate pixel-wise cross-channel context followed by 3×3 depth-wise convolutions to encode channel-wise spatial context”;)
Xiao is combinable with Zamir for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 14.
Regarding claim 33
The claim is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 16, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the method claim.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhu et al. (A Densely Connected Transformer for Machine Translation) teaches concatenation for multiple heads.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEHWAN KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2129