DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a Final Action in response to correspondence filed on September 26, 2025. Claims 7, 8, 16, and 20 have been cancelled. Claims 1-6, 9-15, and 17-19 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the content type" in lines 29-30. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests amending the limitation to recite “a content type.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prakash et al. (US Publication No. 2016/0357871) in view of Sunny et al. (US Publication No. 2017/0116291) and further in view of Nigam (US Publication No. 2017/0124101).
As to claim 1, Prakash teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving, from a first application installed at a client device, content [application state] (see e.g., [0051] for the device 100 being any type of device that can communicate network data with another device (e.g., a personal computer, laptop, mobile device (e.g., phone, smartphone, smartwatch, personal gaming device, etc.), another network element, etc.) and [0065] for receiving multiple application states from multiple applications on a device at block 402 and for example and in one embodiment, process 400 receiving application states from a variety of applications, such as a word processing application, spreadsheet, contacts, mail, phone, web browser, media player, review application, classified advertisement application, social networking, productivity, utility, game, real estate, photo, video, e-commerce, storefront, coupon, operating system, and/or any other type of application that can run on the device. The process receives application states from applications.);
in response to receiving the content, processing the content to generate a first entry [index entry] in a central on-device repository [application state search index], the first entry including an indication of the first application [application identifier], and the central on-device repository being locally stored at the client device and including a second entry generated based on content from a second application that is different from the first application (see e.g., FIG. 2 and [0055] for the device including an on-device application state search index and [0065] for each application state that process 400 receives, process 400 adding those application states to the application state index and in one embodiment, process 400 adding an application state to the application state index by adding an application state identifier, indexable text, application identifier, and/or insertion time to a search index data structure. In response to receiving the application state, a first index entry is generated in an application state search index stored on the device. The application state search index includes other entries generated based on application states from other applications different from the first application. The index entry includes the application identifier.);
receiving, via a unified interface [application 204] that is independent of the first and second applications, a search query from the user (see e.g., FIG. 2 and [0055] for in one embodiment, the application 204 including a search input field 206, in this embodiment, the search input field being used to input a query that can be used by the local search service to perform a search using this query, and if a query is inputted to the search input 206, the application 204 sending this query to the local search service 208 and [0066] for process 450 being performed by a local search service to determine query results for a query using an application state index, such as local search service 208 as described in FIG. 2 above, in FIG. 4B, process 450 beginning by receiving a query at block 452, in one embodiment, the query being a search string that is input by a user in an application and sent to process 450, in one embodiment, the input being entered by text, spoken word, automatically generated, and/or some other way to entry a query prefix, and for example and in one embodiment, the user entering a query in web browser or file browser. The local search service receives a query via the application 204, which is independent from the first and second applications.);
in response to receiving the search query via the unified interface, searching the central on-device repository to determine whether any entry in the central on-device repository is responsive to the search query (see e.g., [0056] for the local search service 208 applying to query to the application state search index 212 to determine if there any application states that match the query and for example and in one embodiment, the local search service 208 applying the query to the searchable data for each of the application states stored in the index 212 and in this embodiment, the local search service 208 applying to query to the application state search index 212 to determine if there any application states that match the query and [0066] for at block 454, process 450 determining a set of query results for the query using the local application state index and in one embodiment, process 450 using the information in the query to determine matching application states in the local application state index. In response to the local search service receiving the search query via the application 204, the local search service searches the local application state index to determine whether any index entry in the local application state index is responsive to the search query.); and
in response to determining that the first entry is responsive to the search query,
generating an interface element [application icon/application state title/application state summary] based on the first entry, wherein the interface element includes the indication of the first application of the first entry [application icon] and the content type [application state summary/battery usage] of the first entry (see e.g., [0056] for in this example, if there is a match to the query for one or more application states in the index 212, the local search service 208 returning a set of results to the application 204 that includes these one or more application states, the application 204 displaying the ranked results, and if one of the ranked results for display is an application state, the application displaying an icon of the application, the application state title, and an application state summary, [0062] for the user going to the battery usage page in the settings application to see which application is consuming the most of the battery, and [0064] for an application state summary 308C for the component of the settings application (battery usage). In response to determining that a first index entry is responsive to the search query, an application icon, an application state title, and application state summary are generated. The application state summary may be battery usage, which is the content type for the battery usage page.), and
causing the generated interface element to be rendered at the unified interface, for selection by the user, wherein selection of the generated interface element causes the in-app content to be rendered within the first application (see e.g., [0056] for if one of the ranked results for display is an application state, the application displaying an icon of the application, the application state title, and an application state summary and in one embodiment, upon selection of the displayed application state, the application corresponding to the application state being loaded with that application state, in this embodiment, by loading application with the application state, the application being loaded in an execution state that corresponds to the application state, and for example in one embodiment, if the application state is a particular coupon (e.g., (50% weekend rental cars!”) for a coupon application, the coupon application being loaded with this application state and the application state displaying particular coupon as if the user had navigated to that coupon. The application icon, application state title, and application state summary are rendered at the application 204 for selection by the user. Selection of the application state causes the application state to be rendered within the first application.).
Prakash does not specifically disclose receiving, from a first application installed at a client device, search-based content generated based on a previous search performed by a user of the client device within the first application, wherein the previous search performed by the user within the first application leads to a search result that is selected by the user and that describes in-app content that is accessible via the first application, and wherein receiving the search-based content is in response to the user selecting the search result; the first entry including one or more search terms for the previous search; and wherein the interface element includes the one or more search terms of the first entry. However, Sunny teaches
receiving, from a first application [content consumption application] installed at a client device, search-based content [search result instance] generated based on a previous search performed by a user of the client device within the first application, wherein the previous search performed by the user within the first application leads to a search result that is selected by the user and that describes in-app content [”The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn”] that is accessible via the first application, and wherein receiving the search-based content is in response to the user selecting the search result (see e.g., [0016] for the user accessing and modifying this search query result interaction data using a variety of different client devices, [0019] for the implementing software including content consumption application 160 and content consumption application 160 including a search function 164, such as a “Find” command, that allows a user to search for a particular keyword within a file, [0039] for user interface 162 provided by content consumption application 160 being configured to detect user selection of a particular displayed search result instance, and respond to such selection by displaying a portion of the opened file that contains the selected instance, additionally, in response to such selection, a search index administration process that is invoked by search index administration module 232 recording the user selection in search index 230 as the most recently selected search result instance for the particular search query and file, and FIG. 3 for comprehensive listing of search results 3030, and [0040] for instance, referring again to the specific example illustrated in FIG. 3, the most recently selected search result instance being “ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ”, the second-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . wigwam. Jim was . . . ”, and the third-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . himself. Jim cleaned . . . ” and these three instances being recorded in search index 230 in a hierarchical level under “Search Query ‘Jim’.” A search result instance is received from the content consumption application installed at the client device. The search result instance is generated based on a previous search performed by a user of the client device within the content consumption application. The previous search performed by the user within the content consumption application leads to a search result that is selected by the user and that describes “The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn” that is accessible via the content consumption application. Receiving the search result instance is in response to the user selecting the search result.);
the first entry [“ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ”] including one or more search terms [“Jim”] for the previous search (see e.g., [0019] for the implementing software including content consumption application 160 and content consumption application 160 including a search function 164, such as a “Find” command, that allows a user to search for a particular keyword within a file, [0039] for user interface 162 provided by content consumption application 160 being configured to detect user selection of a particular displayed search result instance, and respond to such selection by displaying a portion of the opened file that contains the selected instance, additionally, in response to such selection, a search index administration process that is invoked by search index administration module 232 recording the user selection in search index 230 as the most recently selected search result instance for the particular search query and file, and FIG. 3 for comprehensive listing of search results 3030, and [0040] for instance, referring again to the specific example illustrated in FIG. 3, the most recently selected search result instance being “ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ”, the second-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . wigwam. Jim was . . . ”, and the third-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . himself. Jim cleaned . . . ” and these three instances being recorded in search index 230 in a hierarchical level under “Search Query ‘Jim’.” The first search index entry, “ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ,” includes the search term “Jim,” which was input by the user to perform the previous search.); and
wherein the interface element includes the one or more search terms of the first entry (see e.g., [0036] for FIG. 3 being a screenshot illustrating an example user interface 3000 that displays both a comprehensive listing of search results 3030, as well as a focused list of most recently selected search results 3020 from amongst those included in the comprehensive listing and [0040] for instance, referring again to the specific example illustrated in FIG. 3, the most recently selected search result instance being “ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ”, the second-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . wigwam. Jim was . . . ”, and the third-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . himself. Jim cleaned . . . ” and these three instances being recorded in search index 230 in a hierarchical level under “Search Query ‘Jim’”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the search service of Prakash to receive, from a first application installed at a client device, search-based content generated based on a previous search performed by a user of the client device within the first application, wherein the previous search performed by the user within the first application leads to a search result that is selected by the user and that describes in-app content that is accessible via the first application, and wherein receiving the search-based content is in response to the user selecting the search result; the first entry including one or more search terms for the previous search; and wherein the interface element includes the one or more search terms of the first entry, as taught by Sunny, for the benefit of providing users with a better understanding of how they have previously interacted with the results of a particular search query (see e.g., Sunny, [0010]).
Prakash in view of Sunny does not specifically disclose the first entry including a content type of the in-app content. However, Nigam teaches
the first entry [viewed content information table entry] including a content type of the in-app content [set of data] (see e.g., [0028] for a user 102a using a native application 104a on a mobile device 106a to access content, which may be sent to a search engine 110 as a set of data 108a, and stored in an index 120, [0035] for the search engine 110 accessing the received set of data 108a to extract information from set of data 108a and store the information within the index 120, for instance, the search engine 110 using common search engine indexing techniques used by search engine architectures to generate the index 120, and the extracted information within the index 120 being stored in the viewed content information table 122, and [0036] for as shown in the example in FIG. 1, the viewed content information table 122 including information related to the viewed content accessed by the user 102a in the native application 104a and as depicted, the viewed content information table 122 including, for example, a “CONTENT TYPE,” which classifies the type of content represented on the native application 104a. The viewed content information table entry includes a content type of the set of data.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the search service of Prakash in view of Sunny to include the first entry including a content type of the in-app content, as taught by Nigam, for the benefit of classifying the content represented on the native application (see e.g., Nigam, [0036]).
As to claim 2, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Prakash teaches
in response to the user selecting the interface element displayed at the unified interface, causing the first application to be launched at the client device in a particular state (see e.g., [0056] for in one embodiment, upon selection of the displayed application state, the application corresponding to the application state being loaded with that application state, in this embodiment, by loading application with the application state, the application being loaded in an execution state that corresponds to the application state, and for example in one embodiment, if the application state is a particular coupon (e.g., (50% weekend rental cars!”) for a coupon application, the coupon application being loaded with this application state and the application state displaying particular coupon as if the user had navigated to that coupon. In response to the user selecting the displayed application state at application 204, the first application is launched in a particular state.).
As to claim 3, the limitations of parent claims 1 and 2 have been discussed above. Prakash does not specifically disclose wherein causing the first application to be launched at the client device in the particular state comprises: causing a particular user interface of the first application to be rendered at the client device, wherein the particular user interface displays the in-app content that is accessible via the first application and that is responsive to the previous search. However, Sunny teaches
wherein causing the first application to be launched at the client device in the particular state comprises:
causing a particular user interface [portion of the opened file that contains the selected instance] of the first application to be rendered at the client device, wherein the particular user interface displays the in-app content that is accessible via the first application and that is responsive to the previous search (see e.g., [0039] for user interface 162 provided by content consumption application 160 being configured to detect user selection of a particular displayed search result instance, and respond to such selection by displaying a portion of the opened file that contains the selected instance, additionally, in response to such selection, a search index administration process that is invoked by search index administration module 232 recording the user selection in search index 230 as the most recently selected search result instance for the particular search query and file and [0040] for instance, referring again to the specific example illustrated in FIG. 3, the most recently selected search result instance being “ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ”, the second-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . wigwam. Jim was . . . ”, and the third-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . himself. Jim cleaned . . . ” and these three instances being recorded in search index 230 in a hierarchical level under “Search Query ‘Jim’.” A portion of the opened content consumption application file that contains the selected instance is rendered at the client. The portion of the opened file that contains the selected instance displays “ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ,” which is accessible using the content consumption application and is responsive to the previous search.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the search service of Prakash wherein causing the first application to be launched at the client device in the particular state comprises: causing a particular user interface of the first application to be rendered at the client device, wherein the particular user interface displays the in-app content that is accessible via the first application and that is responsive to the previous search, as taught by Sunny, for the benefit of providing users with a better understanding of how they have previously interacted with the results of a particular search query (see e.g., Sunny, [0010]).
As to claim 4, the limitations of parent claims 1-3 have been discussed above. Prakash does not specifically disclose wherein the search-based content includes a content identifier of the in-app content. However, Sunny teaches
wherein the search-based content includes a content identifier [file name/”The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn”] of the in-app content (see e.g., [0039] for user interface 162 provided by content consumption application 160 being configured to detect user selection of a particular displayed search result instance, and respond to such selection by displaying a portion of the opened file that contains the selected instance, additionally, in response to such selection, a search index administration process that is invoked by search index administration module 232 recording the user selection in search index 230 as the most recently selected search result instance for the particular search query and file and [0040] for instance, referring again to the specific example illustrated in FIG. 3, the most recently selected search result instance being “ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ”, the second-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . wigwam. Jim was . . . ”, and the third-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . himself. Jim cleaned . . . ” and these three instances being recorded in search index 230 in a hierarchical level under “Search Query ‘Jim’.” The search result instance includes a file name for “ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ,” which is ”The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the search service of Prakash wherein the search-based content includes a content identifier of the in-app content, as taught by Sunny, for the benefit of providing users with a better understanding of how they have previously interacted with the results of a particular search query (see e.g., Sunny, [0010]).
Claims 5 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prakash et al. (US Publication No. 2016/0357871) and Sunny et al. (US Publication No. 2017/0116291) in view of Nigam (US Publication No. 2017/0124101) as applied to claims 1-4 above, and further in view of Gebhard et al. (US Publication No. 2012/0124071).
As to claim 5, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Prakash and Sunny in view of Nigam does not specifically disclose wherein the first entry further includes a time that the previous search was performed. However, Gebhard teaches
wherein the first entry further includes a time that the previous search was performed (see e.g., [0045] for in the record of search terms maintained by per user search history source 222, per user search history source 222 including an indication of when each search term was used (e.g., a timestamp of when the search term was entered), and this record being accessed to determine how recently each of the matching previous search terms was used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the search service of Prakash and Sunny in view of Nigam wherein the first entry further includes a time that the previous search was performed, as taught by Gebhard, for the benefit of ranking entries in order from most recently searched to least recently searched (see e.g., Gebhard, [0045]).
As to claim 9, Prakash teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving, from a first application installed at a client device, content [application state] (see e.g., [0051] for the device 100 being any type of device that can communicate network data with another device (e.g., a personal computer, laptop, mobile device (e.g., phone, smartphone, smartwatch, personal gaming device, etc.), another network element, etc.) and [0065] for receiving multiple application states from multiple applications on a device at block 402 and for example and in one embodiment, process 400 receiving application states from a variety of applications, such as a word processing application, spreadsheet, contacts, mail, phone, web browser, media player, review application, classified advertisement application, social networking, productivity, utility, game, real estate, photo, video, e-commerce, storefront, coupon, operating system, and/or any other type of application that can run on the device. The process receives application states from applications.);
in response to receiving the content, processing the content to generate a first entry [index entry] in a central on-device repository [application state search index], the first entry including an indication of the first application [application identifier], and the central on-device repository being locally stored at the client device and including a second entry generated based on content from a second application that is different from the first application (see e.g., FIG. 2 and [0055] for the device including an on-device application state search index and [0065] for each application state that process 400 receives, process 400 adding those application states to the application state index and in one embodiment, process 400 adding an application state to the application state index by adding an application state identifier, indexable text, application identifier, and/or insertion time to a search index data structure. In response to receiving the application state, a first index entry is generated in an application state search index stored on the device. The application state search index includes other entries generated based on application states from other applications different from the first application. The index entry includes the application identifier.);
receiving, via an automated assistant application [application 204] and from the user, a spoken utterance that includes a search query (see e.g., FIG. 2 and [0055] for in one embodiment, the application 204 including a search input field 206, in this embodiment, the search input field being used to input a query that can be used by the local search service to perform a search using this query, and if a query is inputted to the search input 206, the application 204 sending this query to the local search service 208 and [0066] for process 450 being performed by a local search service to determine query results for a query using an application state index, such as local search service 208 as described in FIG. 2 above, in FIG. 4B, process 450 beginning by receiving a query at block 452, in one embodiment, the query being a search string that is input by a user in an application and sent to process 450, in one embodiment, the input being entered by spoken word to entry a query prefix, and for example and in one embodiment, the user entering a query in web browser or file browser. The local search service receives, via the application 204, a spoken word that includes a search query.);
in response to receiving the search query via the automated assistant,
searching the central on-device repository to determine whether any entry in the central on-device repository is responsive to the search query (see e.g., [0056] for the local search service 208 applying to query to the application state search index 212 to determine if there any application states that match the query and for example and in one embodiment, the local search service 208 applying the query to the searchable data for each of the application states stored in the index 212 and in this embodiment, the local search service 208 applying to query to the application state search index 212 to determine if there any application states that match the query and [0066] for at block 454, process 450 determining a set of query results for the query using the local application state index and in one embodiment, process 450 using the information in the query to determine matching application states in the local application state index. In response to the local search service receiving the search query via the application 204, the local search service searches the local application state index to determine whether any index entry in the local application state index is responsive to the search query.); and
in response to determining that the first entry is responsive to the search query,
generating an interface element [application icon/application state title/application state summary] based on the first entry, wherein the interface element includes the indication of the first application of the first entry [application icon] and the content type [application state summary/battery usage] of the first entry (see e.g., [0056] for in this example, if there is a match to the query for one or more application states in the index 212, the local search service 208 returning a set of results to the application 204 that includes these one or more application states, the application 204 displaying the ranked results, and if one of the ranked results for display is an application state, the application displaying an icon of the application, the application state title, and an application state summary, [0062] for the user going to the battery usage page in the settings application to see which application is consuming the most of the battery, and [0064] for an application state summary 308C for the component of the settings application (battery usage). In response to determining that a first index entry is responsive to the search query, an application icon, an application state title, and application state summary are generated. The application state summary may be battery usage, which is the content type for the battery usage page.), and
causing the generated interface element to be rendered at the unified interface [application 204], for selection by the user, wherein selection of the generated interface element causes the in-app content to be rendered within the first application (see e.g., [0056] for if one of the ranked results for display is an application state, the application displaying an icon of the application, the application state title, and an application state summary and in one embodiment, upon selection of the displayed application state, the application corresponding to the application state being loaded with that application state, in this embodiment, by loading application with the application state, the application being loaded in an execution state that corresponds to the application state, and for example in one embodiment, if the application state is a particular coupon (e.g., (50% weekend rental cars!”) for a coupon application, the coupon application being loaded with this application state and the application state displaying particular coupon as if the user had navigated to that coupon. The application icon, application state title, and application state summary are rendered at the application 204 for selection by the user. Selection of the application state causes the application state to be rendered within the first application.).
Prakash does not specifically disclose receiving, from a first application installed at a client device, search-based content generated based on a previous search performed by a user of the client device within the first application, wherein the previous search performed by the user within the first application leads to a search result that is selected by the user and that describes in-app content that is accessible via the first application, and wherein receiving the search-based content is in response to the user selecting the search result; the first entry including one or more search terms for the previous search; and wherein the interface element includes the one or more search terms of the first entry. However, Sunny teaches
receiving, from a first application [content consumption application] installed at a client device, search-based content [search result instance] generated based on a previous search performed by a user of the client device within the first application, wherein the previous search performed by the user within the first application leads to a search result that is selected by the user and that describes in-app content [”The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn”] that is accessible via the first application, and wherein receiving the search-based content is in response to the user selecting the search result (see e.g., [0016] for the user accessing and modifying this search query result interaction data using a variety of different client devices, [0019] for the implementing software including content consumption application 160 and content consumption application 160 including a search function 164, such as a “Find” command, that allows a user to search for a particular keyword within a file, [0039] for user interface 162 provided by content consumption application 160 being configured to detect user selection of a particular displayed search result instance, and respond to such selection by displaying a portion of the opened file that contains the selected instance, additionally, in response to such selection, a search index administration process that is invoked by search index administration module 232 recording the user selection in search index 230 as the most recently selected search result instance for the particular search query and file, and FIG. 3 for comprehensive listing of search results 3030, and [0040] for instance, referring again to the specific example illustrated in FIG. 3, the most recently selected search result instance being “ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ”, the second-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . wigwam. Jim was . . . ”, and the third-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . himself. Jim cleaned . . . ” and these three instances being recorded in search index 230 in a hierarchical level under “Search Query ‘Jim’.” A search result instance is received from the content consumption application installed at the client device. The search result instance is generated based on a previous search performed by a user of the client device within the content consumption application. The previous search performed by the user within the content consumption application leads to a search result that is selected by the user and that describes “The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn” that is accessible via the content consumption application. Receiving the search result instance is in response to the user selecting the search result.);
the first entry [“ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ”] including one or more search terms [“Jim”] for the previous search (see e.g., [0019] for the implementing software including content consumption application 160 and content consumption application 160 including a search function 164, such as a “Find” command, that allows a user to search for a particular keyword within a file, [0039] for user interface 162 provided by content consumption application 160 being configured to detect user selection of a particular displayed search result instance, and respond to such selection by displaying a portion of the opened file that contains the selected instance, additionally, in response to such selection, a search index administration process that is invoked by search index administration module 232 recording the user selection in search index 230 as the most recently selected search result instance for the particular search query and file, and FIG. 3 for comprehensive listing of search results 3030, and [0040] for instance, referring again to the specific example illustrated in FIG. 3, the most recently selected search result instance being “ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ”, the second-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . wigwam. Jim was . . . ”, and the third-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . himself. Jim cleaned . . . ” and these three instances being recorded in search index 230 in a hierarchical level under “Search Query ‘Jim’.” The first search index entry, “ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ,” includes the search term “Jim,” which was input by the user to perform the previous search.); and
wherein the interface element includes the one or more search terms of the first entry (see e.g., [0036] for FIG. 3 being a screenshot illustrating an example user interface 3000 that displays both a comprehensive listing of search results 3030, as well as a focused list of most recently selected search results 3020 from amongst those included in the comprehensive listing and [0040] for instance, referring again to the specific example illustrated in FIG. 3, the most recently selected search result instance being “ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ”, the second-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . wigwam. Jim was . . . ”, and the third-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . himself. Jim cleaned . . . ” and these three instances being recorded in search index 230 in a hierarchical level under “Search Query ‘Jim’”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the search service of Prakash to receive, from a first application installed at a client device, search-based content generated based on a previous search performed by a user of the client device within the first application, wherein the previous search performed by the user within the first application leads to a search result that is selected by the user and that describes in-app content that is accessible via the first application, and wherein receiving the search-based content is in response to the user selecting the search result; the first entry including one or more search terms for the previous search; and wherein the interface element includes the one or more search terms of the first entry, as taught by Sunny, for the benefit of providing users with a better understanding of how they have previously interacted with the results of a particular search query (see e.g., Sunny, [0010]).
Prakash in view of Sunny does not specifically disclose the first entry including a content type of the in-app content. However, Nigam teaches
the first entry [viewed content information table entry] including a content type of the in-app content [set of data] (see e.g., [0028] for a user 102a using a native application 104a on a mobile device 106a to access content, which may be sent to a search engine 110 as a set of data 108a, and stored in an index 120, [0035] for the search engine 110 accessing the received set of data 108a to extract information from set of data 108a and store the information within the index 120, for instance, the search engine 110 using common search engine indexing techniques used by search engine architectures to generate the index 120, and the extracted information within the index 120 being stored in the viewed content information table 122, and [0036] for as shown in the example in FIG. 1, the viewed content information table 122 including information related to the viewed content accessed by the user 102a in the native application 104a and as depicted, the viewed content information table 122 including, for example, a “CONTENT TYPE,” which classifies the type of content represented on the native application 104a. The viewed content information table entry includes a content type of the set of data.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the search service of Prakash in view of Sunny to include the first entry including a content type of the in-app content, as taught by Nigam, for the benefit of classifying the content represented on the native application (see e.g., Nigam, [0036]).
Prakash and Sunny in view of Nigam does not specifically disclose in response to receiving the search query via the automated assistant, causing a unified interface, that is independent from the first and second applications, to be displayed at the client device. However, Gebhard teaches
in response to receiving the search query [search term characters] via the automated assistant [toolbar], causing a unified interface [suggestion list], that is independent from the first and second applications, to be displayed at the client device (see e.g., [0025] for search UI module 204 providing a search user interface to a user, receiving user inputs (e.g., via an input module 114 of FIG. 1), and also displaying or otherwise presenting (e.g., via a display module 116 of FIG. 1) suggested search terms as well as other information, [0027] for toolbar 304 including a variety of different information, such as the current time (illustrated as 10:10 AM), a data entry field 306 providing a location where a user can input characters of a search term and have those characters displayed, and in the illustrated example, the user entering the characters "He,”[0028] for in response to user selection of search button 308, the characters currently entered in data entry field 306 being sent to an application for searching, [0029] for screen display 302 also displaying one or more suggested search terms as suggestion list 310, suggestion list 310 including the suggested search terms in the combined set of search terms (e.g., as generated by extensible search term suggestion module 202 of FIG. 2), and in the illustrated example, the user having entered the characters "He", and the combined set of search terms being Hello, Heathrow Airport, Henderson Nevada, Helium, Heroes, Hercules, Health Benefits, and Healthy Lifestyles, and [0032] for search UI module 204 being a system level search user interface module that provides a search user interface to various different applications. In response to receiving search term characters via the toolbar, a suggestion list is displayed. The suggestion list is part of a system level search user interface that is independent from multiple applications.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the search service of Prakash and Sunny in view of Nigam to in response to receiving the search query via the automated assistant, cause a unified interface, that is independent from the first and second applications, to be displayed at the client device, as taught by Gebhard, for the benefit of providing different combined sets of suggestions as characters are input (see e.g., Gebhard, [0025]).
As to claim 10, the limitations of parent claim 9 have been discussed above. Prakash teaches
in response to the user selecting the interface element displayed at the unified interface, causing the first application to be launched at the client device in a particular state (see e.g., [0056] for in one embodiment, upon selection of the displayed application state, the application corresponding to the application state being loaded with that application state, in this embodiment, by loading application with the application state, the application being loaded in an execution state that corresponds to the application state, and for example in one embodiment, if the application state is a particular coupon (e.g., (50% weekend rental cars!”) for a coupon application, the coupon application being loaded with this application state and the application state displaying particular coupon as if the user had navigated to that coupon. In response to the user selecting the displayed application state at application 204, the first application is launched in a particular state.).
As to claim 11, the limitations of parent claims 9 and 10 have been discussed above. Prakash does not specifically disclose wherein causing the first application to be launched at the client device in the particular state comprises: causing a particular user interface of the first application to be rendered at the client device, wherein the particular user interface displays the in-app content that is accessible via the first application and that is responsive to the previous search. However, Sunny teaches
wherein causing the first application to be launched at the client device in the particular state comprises:
causing a particular user interface [portion of the opened file that contains the selected instance] of the first application to be rendered at the client device, wherein the particular user interface displays the in-app content that is accessible via the first application and that is responsive to the previous search (see e.g., [0039] for user interface 162 provided by content consumption application 160 being configured to detect user selection of a particular displayed search result instance, and respond to such selection by displaying a portion of the opened file that contains the selected instance, additionally, in response to such selection, a search index administration process that is invoked by search index administration module 232 recording the user selection in search index 230 as the most recently selected search result instance for the particular search query and file and [0040] for instance, referring again to the specific example illustrated in FIG. 3, the most recently selected search result instance being “ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ”, the second-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . wigwam. Jim was . . . ”, and the third-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . himself. Jim cleaned . . . ” and these three instances being recorded in search index 230 in a hierarchical level under “Search Query ‘Jim’.” A portion of the opened content consumption application file that contains the selected instance is rendered at the client. The portion of the opened file that contains the selected instance displays “ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ,” which is accessible using the content consumption application and is responsive to the previous search.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the search service of Prakash wherein causing the first application to be launched at the client device in the particular state comprises: causing the particular user interface of the first application to be rendered at the client device, wherein the particular user interface displays the in-app content that is accessible via the first application and that is responsive to the previous search, as taught by Sunny, for the benefit of providing users with a better understanding of how they have previously interacted with the results of a particular search query (see e.g., Sunny, [0010]).
As to claim 12, the limitations of parent claims 9-11 have been discussed above. Prakash does not specifically disclose wherein the search-based content includes a content identifier of the in-app content. However, Sunny teaches
wherein the search-based content includes a content identifier [file name/”The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn”] of the in-app content (see e.g., [0039] for user interface 162 provided by content consumption application 160 being configured to detect user selection of a particular displayed search result instance, and respond to such selection by displaying a portion of the opened file that contains the selected instance, additionally, in response to such selection, a search index administration process that is invoked by search index administration module 232 recording the user selection in search index 230 as the most recently selected search result instance for the particular search query and file and [0040] for instance, referring again to the specific example illustrated in FIG. 3, the most recently selected search result instance being “ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ”, the second-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . wigwam. Jim was . . . ”, and the third-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . himself. Jim cleaned . . . ” and these three instances being recorded in search index 230 in a hierarchical level under “Search Query ‘Jim’.” The search result instance includes a file name for “ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ,” which is ”The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the search service of Prakash wherein the search-based content includes a content identifier of the in-app content, as taught by Sunny, for the benefit of providing users with a better understanding of how they have previously interacted with the results of a particular search query (see e.g., Sunny, [0010]).
As to claim 13, the limitations of parent claims 9-11 have been discussed above. Prakash and Sunny in view of Nigam does not specifically disclose wherein the first entry includes an indication indicating whether the in-app content is personalized or public. However, Gebhard teaches
wherein the first entry [record] includes an indication [the current user of the device at the time the search term was entered] indicating whether the in-app content [search term] is personalized [per user search history source] or public [crowd search history source] (see e.g., [0041] for per user search history source 222 being one or more components or modules that provide zero or more suggested search terms based on a history of search terms entered by the user of a device (e.g., the device implementing extensible search term suggestion module 202 and/or search UI module 204), when a search term is entered by the user (e.g., by selecting search button 308 of FIG. 1), search UI module 204 providing the search term to extensible search term suggestion module 202, search UI module 204 also providing the search term to application 206, or alternatively relying on extensible search term suggestion module 202 to provide the search term to application 206, extensible search term suggestion module 202 providing the search term to per user search history source 222, which maintains a record of the search term, the current user of the device at the time the search term was entered, and the application that was searched for that search term and [0048] for crowd search history source 224 being one or more components or modules that provide zero or more suggested search terms based on a history of search terms without regard for the user of the device and crowd search history source 224 being similar to per user search history source 222, but operates without regard for the user of the device and a record of the user of the device need not be maintained, and the comparison of the received characters to the search terms that were previously searched for need not be based on the current user of the device. The record includes a current user of the device at the time the search term was entered. A current user indicates that the search term is personalized (from per user search history source). A lack of a current user within the record indicates the search term is public (from crowd search history source.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the search service of Prakash and Sunny in view of Nigam wherein the first entry includes an indication indicating whether the in-app content is personalized or public, as taught by Gebhard, for the benefit of arranging the obtained suggestions in a particular order that is based on the suggestion sources from which the suggestions are obtained (see e.g., Gebhard, [0058]).
As to claim 14, the limitations of parent claim 9 have been discussed above. Prakash and Sunny in view of Nigam does not specifically disclose wherein the first entry further includes a time that the previous search was performed. However, Gebhard teaches
wherein the first entry further includes a time that the previous search was performed (see e.g., [0045] for in the record of search terms maintained by per user search history source 222, per user search history source 222 including an indication of when each search term was used (e.g., a timestamp of when the search term was entered), and this record being accessed to determine how recently each of the matching previous search terms was used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the search service of Prakash and Sunny in view of Nigam wherein the first entry further includes a time that the previous search was performed, as taught by Gebhard, for the benefit of ranking entries in order from most recently searched to least recently searched (see e.g., Gebhard, [0045]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prakash et al. (US Publication No. 2016/0357871) and Sunny et al. (US Publication No. 2017/0116291) in view of Nigam (US Publication No. 2017/0124101) as applied to claims 1-4 above, and further in view of Morris et al. (US Publication No. 2014/0358970).
As to claim 6, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Prakash and Sunny in view of Nigam does not specifically disclose wherein the content type of the in-app content is a music content type. However, Morris teaches
wherein the content type of the in-app content is a music content type (see e.g., [0027] for the search result being associated with context metadata indicating an application identifier for a music player application that can be executed on the client device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the search service of Prakash and Sunny in view of Nigam wherein the content type of the in-app content is a music content type, as taught by Morris, for the benefit of invoking a "play" action within a music player application by selecting a search result (see e.g., Morris, [0035]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prakash et al. (US Publication No. 2016/0357871), Sunny et al. (US Publication No. 2017/0116291), and Nigam (US Publication No. 2017/0124101) in view of Gebhard et al. (US Publication No. 2012/0124071) as applied to claims 5 and 9-14 above, and further in view of Morris et al. (US Publication No. 2014/0358970).
As to claim 15, the limitations of parent claim 9 have been discussed above. Prakash, Sunny, and Nigam in view of Gebhard does not specifically disclose wherein the content type of the in-app content is a music content type. However, Morris teaches
wherein the content type of the in-app content is a music content type (see e.g., [0027] for the search result being associated with context metadata indicating an application identifier for a music player application that can be executed on the client device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the search service of Prakash, Sunny, and Nigam in view of Gebhard wherein the content type of the in-app content is a music content type, as taught by Morris, for the benefit of invoking a "play" action within a music player application by selecting a search result (see e.g., Morris, [0035]).
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prakash et al. (US Publication No. 2016/0357871) in view of Sunny et al. (US Publication No. 2017/0116291) and further in view of Gebhard et al. (US Publication No. 2012/0124071).
As to claim 17, Prakash teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving, from a first application installed at a client device, content [application state] (see e.g., [0051] for the device 100 being any type of device that can communicate network data with another device (e.g., a personal computer, laptop, mobile device (e.g., phone, smartphone, smartwatch, personal gaming device, etc.), another network element, etc.) and [0065] for receiving multiple application states from multiple applications on a device at block 402 and for example and in one embodiment, process 400 receiving application states from a variety of applications, such as a word processing application, spreadsheet, contacts, mail, phone, web browser, media player, review application, classified advertisement application, social networking, productivity, utility, game, real estate, photo, video, e-commerce, storefront, coupon, operating system, and/or any other type of application that can run on the device. The process receives application states from applications.);
in response to receiving the content, processing the content to generate a first entry [index entry] in a central on-device repository [application state search index],
wherein the central on-device repository is locally stored at the client device and includes a plurality of entries generated based on content received from different applications that include the first application (see e.g., FIG. 2 and [0055] for the device including an on-device application state search index and [0065] for each application state that process 400 receives, process 400 adding those application states to the application state index and in one embodiment, process 400 adding an application state to the application state index by adding an application state identifier, indexable text, application identifier, and/or insertion time to a search index data structure. In response to receiving the application state, a first index entry is generated in an application state search index stored on the device. The application state search index includes a plurality of entries generated based on application states from different applications that include the first application.); and
wherein the first entry includes an indication of the first application [application identifier] (see e.g., FIG. 2 and [0065] for process 400 adding an application state to the application state index by adding an application identifier. The index entry includes the application identifier.);
receiving, via a unified interface [application 204] that is independent of the first and second applications, a search query from the user (see e.g., FIG. 2 and [0055] for in one embodiment, the application 204 including a search input field 206, in this embodiment, the search input field being used to input a query that can be used by the local search service to perform a search using this query, and if a query is inputted to the search input 206, the application 204 sending this query to the local search service 208 and [0066] for process 450 being performed by a local search service to determine query results for a query using an application state index, such as local search service 208 as described in FIG. 2 above, in FIG. 4B, process 450 beginning by receiving a query at block 452, in one embodiment, the query being a search string that is input by a user in an application and sent to process 450, in one embodiment, the input being entered by text, spoken word, automatically generated, and/or some other way to entry a query prefix, and for example and in one embodiment, the user entering a query in web browser or file browser. The local search service receives a query via the application 204, which is independent from the first and second applications.);
in response to receiving the search query via the unified interface, searching the central on-device repository to determine whether any entry in the central on-device repository is responsive to the search query (see e.g., [0056] for the local search service 208 applying to query to the application state search index 212 to determine if there any application states that match the query and for example and in one embodiment, the local search service 208 applying the query to the searchable data for each of the application states stored in the index 212 and in this embodiment, the local search service 208 applying to query to the application state search index 212 to determine if there any application states that match the query and [0066] for at block 454, process 450 determining a set of query results for the query using the local application state index and in one embodiment, process 450 using the information in the query to determine matching application states in the local application state index. In response to the local search service receiving the search query via the application 204, the local search service searches the local application state index to determine whether any index entry in the local application state index is responsive to the search query.); and
in response to determining that a subset of entries, of the plurality of entries, that include the first entry, are responsive to the search query,
ranking the subset of entries (see e.g., [0056] for in this example, if there is a match to the query for one or more application states in the index 212, the local search service 208 returning a set of results to the application 204 that includes these one or more application states and the application 204 displaying the ranked results. In response to determining that a subset of index entries are responsive to the query, the subset of index entries are ranked.)
generating one or more interface elements [application icon/application state title/application state summary] based on the subset of entries, including an interface element that includes the indication of the first application of the first entry [application icon] and the content type [application state summary/battery usage] of the first entry (see e.g., [0056] for in this example, if there is a match to the query for one or more application states in the index 212, the local search service 208 returning a set of results to the application 204 that includes these one or more application states, the application 204 displaying the ranked results, and if one of the ranked results for display is an application state, the application displaying an icon of the application, the application state title, and an application state summary, [0062] for the user going to the battery usage page in the settings application to see which application is consuming the most of the battery, and [0064] for an application state summary 308C for the component of the settings application (battery usage). In response to determining that a first index entry is responsive to the search query, an application icon, an application state title, and application state summary are generated. The application state summary may be battery usage, which is the content type for the battery usage page.), and
causing the generated one or more interface elements to be rendered at the unified interface, for selection by the user, wherein selection of the generated interface element causes the in-app content to be rendered within the first application (see e.g., [0056] for if one of the ranked results for display is an application state, the application displaying an icon of the application, the application state title, and an application state summary and in one embodiment, upon selection of the displayed application state, the application corresponding to the application state being loaded with that application state, in this embodiment, by loading application with the application state, the application being loaded in an execution state that corresponds to the application state, and for example in one embodiment, if the application state is a particular coupon (e.g., (50% weekend rental cars!”) for a coupon application, the coupon application being loaded with this application state and the application state displaying particular coupon as if the user had navigated to that coupon. The application icon, application state title, and application state summary are rendered at the application 204 for selection by the user. Selection of the application state causes the application state to be rendered within the first application.).
Prakash does not specifically disclose receiving, from a first application installed at a client device, search-based content generated based on a previous search performed by a user of the client device within the first application, wherein the previous search performed by the user within the first application leads to a search result that is selected by the user and that describes in-app content that is accessible via the first application, and wherein receiving the search-based content is in response to the user selecting the search result; the first entry including one or more search terms for the previous search; and wherein the interface element includes the one or more search terms of the first entry. However, Sunny teaches
receiving, from a first application [content consumption application] installed at a client device, search-based content [search result instance] generated based on a previous search performed by a user of the client device within the first application, wherein the previous search performed by the user within the first application leads to a search result that is selected by the user and that describes in-app content [”The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn”] that is accessible via the first application, and wherein receiving the search-based content is in response to the user selecting the search result (see e.g., [0016] for the user accessing and modifying this search query result interaction data using a variety of different client devices, [0019] for the implementing software including content consumption application 160 and content consumption application 160 including a search function 164, such as a “Find” command, that allows a user to search for a particular keyword within a file, [0039] for user interface 162 provided by content consumption application 160 being configured to detect user selection of a particular displayed search result instance, and respond to such selection by displaying a portion of the opened file that contains the selected instance, additionally, in response to such selection, a search index administration process that is invoked by search index administration module 232 recording the user selection in search index 230 as the most recently selected search result instance for the particular search query and file, and FIG. 3 for comprehensive listing of search results 3030, and [0040] for instance, referring again to the specific example illustrated in FIG. 3, the most recently selected search result instance being “ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ”, the second-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . wigwam. Jim was . . . ”, and the third-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . himself. Jim cleaned . . . ” and these three instances being recorded in search index 230 in a hierarchical level under “Search Query ‘Jim’.” A search result instance is received from the content consumption application installed at the client device. The search result instance is generated based on a previous search performed by a user of the client device within the content consumption application. The previous search performed by the user within the content consumption application leads to a search result that is selected by the user and that describes “The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn” that is accessible via the content consumption application. Receiving the search result instance is in response to the user selecting the search result.);
the first entry [“ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ”] including one or more search terms [“Jim”] for the previous search (see e.g., [0019] for the implementing software including content consumption application 160 and content consumption application 160 including a search function 164, such as a “Find” command, that allows a user to search for a particular keyword within a file, [0039] for user interface 162 provided by content consumption application 160 being configured to detect user selection of a particular displayed search result instance, and respond to such selection by displaying a portion of the opened file that contains the selected instance, additionally, in response to such selection, a search index administration process that is invoked by search index administration module 232 recording the user selection in search index 230 as the most recently selected search result instance for the particular search query and file, and FIG. 3 for comprehensive listing of search results 3030, and [0040] for instance, referring again to the specific example illustrated in FIG. 3, the most recently selected search result instance being “ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ”, the second-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . wigwam. Jim was . . . ”, and the third-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . himself. Jim cleaned . . . ” and these three instances being recorded in search index 230 in a hierarchical level under “Search Query ‘Jim’.” The first search index entry, “ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ,” includes the search term “Jim,” which was input by the user to perform the previous search.); and
wherein the interface element includes the one or more search terms of the first entry (see e.g., [0036] for FIG. 3 being a screenshot illustrating an example user interface 3000 that displays both a comprehensive listing of search results 3030, as well as a focused list of most recently selected search results 3020 from amongst those included in the comprehensive listing and [0040] for instance, referring again to the specific example illustrated in FIG. 3, the most recently selected search result instance being “ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ”, the second-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . wigwam. Jim was . . . ”, and the third-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . himself. Jim cleaned . . . ” and these three instances being recorded in search index 230 in a hierarchical level under “Search Query ‘Jim’”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the search service of Prakash to receive, from a first application installed at a client device, search-based content generated based on a previous search performed by a user of the client device within the first application, wherein the previous search performed by the user within the first application leads to a search result that is selected by the user and that describes in-app content that is accessible via the first application, and wherein receiving the search-based content is in response to the user selecting the search result; the first entry including one or more search terms for the previous search; and wherein the interface element includes the one or more search terms of the first entry, as taught by Sunny, for the benefit of providing users with a better understanding of how they have previously interacted with the results of a particular search query (see e.g., Sunny, [0010]).
Prakash in view of Sunny does not specifically disclose wherein the first entry includes an indication indicating whether in-app content accessible via the first application and responsive to the previous search is personalized or public; and ranking the subset of entries based at least on the indication indicating whether the in-app content is personalized or public. However, Gebhard teaches
wherein the first entry [record] includes an indication [the current user of the device at the time the search term was entered] indicating whether in-app content [search term] accessible via the first application [application that was searched for that search term] and responsive to the previous search is personalized [per user search history source] or public [crowd search history source] (see e.g., [0041] for per user search history source 222 being one or more components or modules that provide zero or more suggested search terms based on a history of search terms entered by the user of a device (e.g., the device implementing extensible search term suggestion module 202 and/or search UI module 204), when a search term is entered by the user (e.g., by selecting search button 308 of FIG. 1), search UI module 204 providing the search term to extensible search term suggestion module 202, search UI module 204 also providing the search term to application 206, or alternatively relying on extensible search term suggestion module 202 to provide the search term to application 206, extensible search term suggestion module 202 providing the search term to per user search history source 222, which maintains a record of the search term, the current user of the device at the time the search term was entered, and the application that was searched for that search term and [0048] for crowd search history source 224 being one or more components or modules that provide zero or more suggested search terms based on a history of search terms without regard for the user of the device and crowd search history source 224 being similar to per user search history source 222, but operates without regard for the user of the device and a record of the user of the device need not be maintained, and the comparison of the received characters to the search terms that were previously searched for need not be based on the current user of the device. The record includes a current user of the device at the time the search term was entered. A current user indicates that the search term is personalized (from per user search history source). A lack of a current user within the record indicates the search term is public (from crowd search history source. The search term is accessible using the application that was searched for that search term. The search term is responsive to the previous search.); and
ranking the subset of entries based at least on the indication indicating whether the in-app content is personalized or public (see e.g., [0058] for search term merge module 244 generates the combined set of suggested search terms by arranging the obtained suggested search terms in a particular order that is based on the suggestion sources from which the suggested search terms are obtained).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the search service of Prakash in view of Sunny wherein the first entry includes an indication indicating whether in-app content accessible via the first application and responsive to the previous search is personalized or public; and ranking the subset of entries based at least on the indication indicating whether the in-app content is personalized or public, as taught by Gebhard, for the benefit of arranging the obtained suggestions in a particular order that is based on the suggestion sources from which the suggestions are obtained (see e.g., Gebhard, [0058]).
As to claim 18, the limitations of parent claim 17 have been discussed above. Prakash teaches
in response to the user selecting a particular interface element, of the one or more interface elements, that is generated based on the first entry and that is displayed at the unified interface, causing the first application to be launched at the client device in a particular state (see e.g., [0056] for in one embodiment, upon selection of the displayed application state, the application corresponding to the application state being loaded with that application state, in this embodiment, by loading application with the application state, the application being loaded in an execution state that corresponds to the application state, and for example in one embodiment, if the application state is a particular coupon (e.g., (50% weekend rental cars!”) for a coupon application, the coupon application being loaded with this application state and the application state displaying particular coupon as if the user had navigated to that coupon. In response to the user selecting the application state for the first application, the first application is launched in a particular state.).
As to claim 19, the limitations of parent claims 17 and 18 have been discussed above. Prakash does not specifically disclose wherein causing the first application to be launched at the client device in a particular state comprises: causing a particular user interface of the first application to be rendered at the client device, wherein the particular user interface displays the in-app content that is accessible via the first application and that is responsive to the previous search. However, Sunny teaches
causing a particular user interface [portion of the opened file that contains the selected instance] of the first application to be rendered at the client device, wherein the particular user interface displays the in-app content that is accessible via the first application and that is responsive to the previous search (see e.g., [0039] for user interface 162 provided by content consumption application 160 being configured to detect user selection of a particular displayed search result instance, and respond to such selection by displaying a portion of the opened file that contains the selected instance, additionally, in response to such selection, a search index administration process that is invoked by search index administration module 232 recording the user selection in search index 230 as the most recently selected search result instance for the particular search query and file and [0040] for instance, referring again to the specific example illustrated in FIG. 3, the most recently selected search result instance being “ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ”, the second-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . wigwam. Jim was . . . ”, and the third-most-recent search result instance is “ . . . himself. Jim cleaned . . . ” and these three instances being recorded in search index 230 in a hierarchical level under “Search Query ‘Jim’.” A portion of the opened content consumption application file that contains the selected instance is rendered at the client. The portion of the opened file that contains the selected instance displays “ . . . painted Jim's face . . . ,” which is accessible using the content consumption application and is responsive to the previous search.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the search service of Prakash wherein causing the first application to be launched at the client device in a particular state comprises: causing a particular user interface of the first application to be rendered at the client device, wherein the particular user interface displays the in-app content that is accessible via the first application and that is responsive to the previous search, as taught by Sunny, for the benefit of providing users with a better understanding of how they have previously interacted with the results of a particular search query (see e.g., Sunny, [0010]).
Response to Amendment
The objection to the drawings has been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments to said drawings.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 26, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 10 of Applicant’s Response, Applicant argues:
In rejecting the pre-amendment version of these features the Office Action cites to paragraphs [0051], [0055], and [0065] of Prakash. More particularly, in alleging that the "search-based content" of pre-amendment claim 1 is obvious the Office Action relies on the "application states" of cited paragraphs of Prakash. Office Action, pp. 4-5.
However, the "application states" of cited paragraphs of Prakash are not, as set forth in the amended independent claims, received "in response to the user selecting the search result" from the "previous search" and are not used in generating an entry that includes "one or more search terms for the previous search ... and a content type of the in-app content".
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments. Sunny, not Prakash, was relied upon to reject most of the above limitations. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In the Office action dated June 26, 2025, Sunny was relied upon to reject “search-based content,” (see e.g., p. 7) and “wherein receiving the search-based content is in response to the user selecting the search result” (see e.g., p. 14). Accordingly, these limitations have been sufficiently rejected. Applicant’s arguments regarding “one or more search terms for the previous search ... and a content type of the in-app content” are moot in light of new grounds of rejection.
On page 10 of Applicant’s Response, Applicant further argues:
The Office Action also cites to paragraphs [0016], [0019], and [0039] of Sunny in alleging that the "search-based content" of pre-amendment claim 1 is obvious. Office Action, p. 7. More particularly, the Office Action cites to various portions of "search" related disclosure in those paragraphs.
However, those cited paragraphs fail to render obvious ""receiving the search- based content is in response to the user selecting the search result", and that "in response to receiving the search-based content, processing the search-based content to generate a first entry" that includes "one or more search terms for the previous search, an indication of the first application, and a content type of the in-app content" as set forth in the amended independent claims.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments. Sunny discloses most of the above limitations. “A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art” (see MPEP § 2123(I)). FIG. 3 of Sunny discloses the “3 most recent search results,” which may correspond with the claimed “search result.” Sunny recites that “user interface 162 provided by content consumption application 160 can be configured to detect user selection of a particular displayed search result instance, and respond to such selection by displaying a portion of the opened file that contains the selected instance” (see [0039]). Accordingly, Sunny sufficiently teaches that “receiving the search- based content is in response to the user selecting the search result.” Applicant’s arguments regarding “in response to receiving the search-based content, processing the search-based content to generate a first entry" that includes "one or more search terms for the previous search, an indication of the first application, and a content type of the in-app content" are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
On page 11 of Applicant’s arguments, Applicant argues:
As another example, the rejections of the Office Action fail to render obvious amended claim 1's (and similar language of the other independent claims) "interface element" that "includes the one or more search terms of the first entry, the indication of the first application of the first entry, and the content type of the first entry" and that "selection of the generated interface element causes the in-app content to be rendered within the first application".
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments. Prakash discloses “selection of the generated interface element causes the in-app content to be rendered within the first application.” “A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art” (see MPEP § 2123(I)). Prakash recites that “upon selection of the displayed application state, the application corresponding to the application state is loaded with that application state. In this embodiment, by loading application with the application state, the application is loaded in an execution state that corresponds to the application state. For example in one embodiment, if the application state is a particular coupon (e.g., (50% weekend rental cars!”) for a coupon application, the coupon application is loaded with this application state and the application state displays particular coupon as if the user had navigated to that coupon” (see [0056]). Accordingly, Prakash sufficiently teaches “selection of the generated interface element causes the in-app content to be rendered within the first application.” Applicant’s arguments regarding "interface element" that "includes the one or more search terms of the first entry, the indication of the first application of the first entry, and the content type of the first entry" are addressed in the instant rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
12-30-2025
/DARA J GLASSER/Examiner, Art Unit 2161
/APU M MOFIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2161