DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response filed on 6/17/2026
Hereon, claims 1-27 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,15,20,21-22,24-25, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Partovi, (USNO.2007/0182367).
As for claim 1, Partovi discloses and shows in Figs. 6,10,15 apparatus for providing charging power to a pair of external power charging terminals that are coupled to a power storage device of an external device, the pair of external power charging terminals (ref’s coil) being spaced apart by a predetermined distance, the apparatus comprising: a conductive plate (via area of the pad) assembly including a plurality of conductive plates, each of the conductive plates having a surface, the surface having a maximum surface length less than the predetermined distance (distance between coils), the maximum surface length being greater than or equal to a length between any two points on the surface of the conductive plate; a plurality of detector circuits (via proximity sensors) respectively coupled to corresponding ones of the plurality of conductive plates, each of the detector circuits configured to be responsive to a voltage on one of the external power charging terminals to provide a detection signal when the corresponding conductive plate contacts the one of the external power charging terminals (via ref’s hand shake and verification process) ; and a plurality of selection (ref’s micro control unit and Fet driver) circuits respectively coupled to corresponding ones of the plurality of conductive plates and including a pair of power-supply terminals (via interconnects: Fig. 8) for receiving a power supply voltage, each of the selection circuits further coupled to receive the detection signal from a corresponding one of the detector circuits and configured to electrically connect the corresponding conductive plate to one of the power-supply terminals in response to receiving the detection signal (par.[0056,0060,0063,0094, 0117,0130,0141])
As for claim 2, Partovi discloses and shows in Fig. 15 the plurality of conductive plates are arranged to be contiguous so that a top surface of the conductive plate assembly is substantially planar; each of the conductive plates has length and width dimensions substantially the same as length and width dimensions of the other conductive plates; and each of the length and width dimensions of each of the conductive plates is less than the predetermined distance.
As for claim 3, Partovi discloses and shows in Fig. 15 plurality of detector circuits are coupled to an electrically common circuit point (via PCB).
As for claim 15, Partovi discloses and shows in Figs. 6,10,15 apparatus for providing charging power to a pair of external power charging terminals that are coupled to a power storage device of an external device, the pair of external power charging terminals being spaced apart by a predetermined distance (distance between coils), the apparatus comprising: a conductive plate (via area of the pad) assembly including a plurality of conductive plates; a plurality of detector circuits (via proximity sensors) respectively coupled to corresponding ones of the plurality of conductive plates, the plurality of detector circuits being coupled to an electrically common circuit point, each of the detector circuits configured to be responsive to a voltage on one of the external power charging terminals to provide a detection signal when the corresponding conductive plate is contacted by the one of the external power charging terminals; and a plurality of selection circuits (ref’s micro control unit and Fet driver) respectively coupled to corresponding ones of the plurality of conductive plates and including a pair of power- supply terminals (via interconnects: Fig. 8) for receiving a power supply voltage, each of the selection circuits further coupled to receive the detection signal from a corresponding one of the detector circuits and configured to electrically connect the corresponding conductive plate to one of the power-supply terminals in response to receiving the detection signal (par.[0056,0060,0063,0094,0117,0130,0141]).
As for claim 20, Partovi discloses and shows in Figs. 6,8,10,15 a method for providing charging power to a pair of power charging terminals that are coupled to a power storage device, the method comprising: detecting ,by a detector circuit, that a first of a plurality of conductive plates (ref’s first unit) is contacted by a first of the power charging terminals based on a first current; detecting,by a detector circuit, that a second of the plurality of conductive plates (ref’s additional units) is contacted by a second of the power charging terminals based on a second current, wherein the second current is sourced from the first current, or the first current is sourced from the second current; electrically,by a selection circuit, connecting the first conductive plate to a first of a pair of power-supply terminals (via interconnects); electrically,by the selection circuit, connecting the second conductive plate to a second of the pair of power-supply terminals; and providing, by the pair of power-supply terminals, charging power to the pair of power charging terminals from the pair of power-supply terminals via the first and second conductive plates (par.[0056,0060,0063,0094,0117,0130,0141]).
As for claim 21, Partovi discloses and shows in Figs. 6,8,10,15 the second current is sourced from the first current, the first current flows outwards from the first conductive plate, and the second current flows towards the second conductive plate; or when the first current is sourced from the second current, the second current flows outwards from the second conductive plate, and the first current flows towards the first conductive plate
As for claim 22, Partovi discloses and shows in Figs. 6,8,10,15 detecting, by the detector circuit, that a third of the plurality of conductive plates is contacted by the first power charging terminal based on a third current; and electrically, by the selection circuit, connecting the third conductive plate with the first power-supply terminal; wherein providing charging power to the pair of power charging terminals comprises: providing, by the pair of power-supply terminals, charging power to the pair of power charging terminals from the pair of power-supply terminals via the first, second,
and third conductive plates
As for claim 24, Partovi discloses third current flows towards the third conductive plate, and the second and third currents are sourced from the first current
As for claim 25, Partovi discloses and shows in Figs. 6,8,10,15 generating, by the detector circuit, a first detection signal based on the first current; and generating, by the detector circuit, a second detection signal based on the second current; wherein: electrically, by the selection circuit, connecting the first conductive plate with the first of the pair of power-supply terminals comprises selecting the first power-supply terminal based on the first detection signal (via ref’s presence detection); and electrically connecting, by the selection circuit, the second conductive plate with the second of the pair of power-supply terminals comprises selecting the second power-supply terminal based on the second detection signal (par.[0141])
As for claim 27, Partovi discloses and shows providing charging power to the pair of power charging terminals further comprises providing charging power to the pair of power charging terminals via a third current, wherein the third current is different from the first and second currents (implied based on power requirements for charging and power loss)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Partovi in view of Muratov et al, (Muratov), (USNO.2016/0006267).
As for claims 14 and 19, Partovi discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a detector circuit are configured to wirelessly control the selection circuits to electrically connect two of the conductive plates to the pair of power-supply terminals
Muratov discloses and shows in Fig. 1A a detector circuit (ref’s sensing and communications circuit) are configured to wirelessly control the selection circuits (ref’s detection and control) (par.[0028,0031])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Partovi by using a detector circuit are configured to wirelessly control the selection circuits for advantages such as providing the ability to control the voltage output (par.[0031]), as taught by Muratov.
Partovi in combination with Muratov discloses the claimed invention except for electrically connect two of the conductive plates to the pair of power-supply terminal. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to electrically connect two of the conductive plates to the pair of power-supply terminals since it was known in the art at the time of the invention electrically connect two of the conductive plates to the pair of power-supply terminals would provide advantages such has increase power distribution coverage and efficiency .
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Partovi in view of Abe, (USNO.2009/0167252).
As for claim 26, Partovi discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose emitting a light based on a current; and receiving a light to generate a detection signal
Abe discloses emitting a light based on a current; and receiving a light to generate a detection signal (par.[0022])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Partovi by emitting a light based on a current; and receiving a light to generate a detection signal for advantages such as providing the ability to inform a user of a charge state (par.[0022]), as taught by Abe.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicants’ argument that
I It is believed that Partovi does not disclose "the maximum surface length being greater than or equal to a length between any two points on the surface of the conductive plate" recited in claim 1.
II. Partovi does not disclose any specific size of the induction coils corresponding to the claimed maximum surface length, and Partovi does not disclose a distance between a pair of external power charging terminals.
III. Applicant submits that Partovi does not disclose "detector circuit" recited in claims 1 and 15. Further, Partovi does not disclose "detector circuit", "first current" and "second current" recited in claim 20
The examiner respectfully disagree and submits,
I & II. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., specific size of the induction coils corresponding to the claimed maximum surface length) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Partovi discloses and shows in Figs. 6,10,15. the surface having a maximum surface length less than the predetermined distance (distance between coils), the maximum surface length being greater than or equal to a length between any two points on the surface of the conductive plate, as claimed.
III. Partovi discloses and shows detector circuits (via proximity sensors) which can be current sensors (par.[0117,0119]) with the plurality of coils. Therefore, Partovi does disclose "detector circuit", "first current" and "second current, as claimed
For at least the reasons provided above, the applicant arguments regarding independent claims are not persuasive. The applicant argues that dependent claims are patentable for similar reasons and are also not persuasive. The applicant further argues that since dependent claims depend on the argued independent claim; they are patentable at least by virtue of their dependencies. Since the applicant's arguments regarding independent claims are not persuasive, the applicant's arguments regarding dependent claims are also not persuasive.
Accordingly, the rejection is still proper and thus maintained.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-11,12-13,16-18, and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4: each of the detector circuits comprises first and second diodes coupled in parallel and a resistor, wherein: a positive terminal of the first diode and a negative terminal of the second diode are coupled to the corresponding conductive plate; a negative terminal of the first diode and a positive terminal of the second diode are coupled to the resistor; and the resistor is coupled to the electrically common circuit point, in combination with the remaining limitations of independent claims
Claim 8: each of the detector circuits comprises: a first optocoupler including a first light-emitting diode (LED) and a first phototransistor; a second optocoupler including a second LED and a second phototransistor; and a resistor, wherein: a positive terminal of the first LED and a negative terminal of the second LED are coupled to the corresponding conductive plate; a negative terminal of the first LED and a positive terminal of the second LED are coupled to the resistor; and the resistor is coupled to the electrically common circuit point, in combination with the remaining limitations of independent claims
Claim 12: each of the detector circuits comprises: a first current sensor; a second current sensor; and a resistor, wherein: a current input terminal of the first current sensor and a current output terminal of the second current sensor are coupled to the corresponding conductive plate; a current output terminal of the first current sensor and a current input terminal of the second current sensor are coupled to the resistor; and the resistor is coupled to the electrically common circuit point, in combination with the remaining limitations of independent claims
Claim 16: first and second diodes coupled in parallel and a resistor, wherein:
a positive terminal of the first diode and a negative terminal of the second
diode are coupled to the corresponding conductive plate; a negative terminal of the first diode and a positive terminal of the second diode are coupled to the resistor; and
the resistor is coupled to the electrically common circuit point, in combination with the remaining limitations of independent claims
Claim 17: each of the detector circuits comprises: a first optocoupler including a first light-emitting diode (LED) and a first phototransistor; a second optocoupler including a second LED and a second phototransistor; and a resistor,wherein:a positive terminal of the first LED and a negative terminal of the second LED are coupled to the corresponding conductive plate; a negative terminal of the first LED and a positive terminal of the second LED are coupled to the resistor; and the resistor is coupled to the electrically common circuit point, in combination with the remaining limitations of independent claims
Claim 23: third current flows outwards from the third conductive plate, and the second current is sourced from the first and third currents, in combination with the remaining limitations of independent claims
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859