DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response, filed 11/11/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 29 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-15 and 29 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see response, filed 11/11/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 16 and 30 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2025/0183968).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang teaches a network entity for wireless communications, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code (Paragraphs [0039]-[0040] describes specific examples of network entities used in wireless communications);
and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to (Paragraphs [0332]; [0335]; [0337] describes that the memory stores “computer readable program” (processor-executable code)):
transmit control signaling indicating a channel state feedback reporting configuration associated with a compressed non-Discrete Fourier Transform (non-DFT) codebook, a compressed set of singular vectors, or both (Paragraphs [0007]-[0008]; [0209] describes that the network device sends signaling that configures how the terminal should report channel state information. Paragraphs [0095]-[0103]; [0135]-[0138]; [0144] describes compressing singular vectors by selecting AI/ML model according to the number of feedback bits);
and receive a channel state feedback message comprising the compressed non- DFT codebook, the compressed set of singular vectors, or both, based at least in part on the channel state feedback reporting configuration (Paragraphs [0091]-[0092]; [0210]; [0213]; [0144] describes the network device has received the compressed singular vectors. And the terminal generates feedback according to configuration).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: receive a user equipment (UE) capability message indicating that a machine learning feedback mode is supported at the UE (Paragraphs [0087]; [0197]; [0271] describes UE sends indication information about AI/ML model support or capability message and networks configuration varies based on available AI/MLmodels ),
wherein to transmit the control signaling indicating the reporting configuration associated with the compressed non-DFT codebook, the compressed set of singular vectors, or both, is based at least in part on the UE capability message (Paragraphs [0076]; [0234]; [0306] describes the control signaling is based on the UE capability message which informed the network that models are available at the UE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 and 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0056240; hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang doesn’t teach wherein, to receive the compressed non-DFT codebook, the compressed set of singular vectors, or both, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: jointly receive the compressed non-DFT codebook and the compressed set of singular vectors based at least in part on the reporting configuration.
In analogous art Lee teaches wherein, to receive the compressed non-DFT codebook, the compressed set of singular vectors, or both, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: jointly receive the compressed non-DFT codebook and the compressed set of singular vectors based at least in part on the reporting configuration (Paragraph [0138] teaches joint transmission because it describes transmitting both the codebook information (Phase and amplitude codebooks) and the singular vectors together as part of the same CSI feedback with combined overhead calculations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Lee jointly receive the compressed non-DFT codebook and singular vectors to provide high resolution CSI feedback at a reduced feedback overhead (Lee, Paragraph [0115]),
Regarding claim 23, Zhang in view of Lee, Lee teaches wherein, to transmit control signaling, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit a radio resource control message indicating the reporting configuration associated with the compressed non-DFT codebook, the compressed set of singular vectors, or both (Fig. 19 step 1902 shows configuration information reception constitutes RRC-type control signaling. Paragraph [0138] teaches reporting configuration associated with the compressed non-DFT codebook, the compressed set of singular vectors).
Regarding claim 24, Zhang in view of Lee, Lee teaches wherein, to transmit control signaling, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit a medium access control-control element indicating the reporting configuration associated with the compressed non-DFT codebook, the compressed set of singular vectors, or both (Fig. 19 step 1902 shows configuration information reception constitutes medium access control. Paragraph [0138] teaches reporting configuration associated with the compressed non-DFT codebook, the compressed set of singular vectors).
Regarding claim 25, Zhang in view of Lee, Lee teaches wherein, to transmit control signaling, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit downlink control information indicating the reporting configuration associated with the compressed non-DFT codebook, the compressed set of singular vectors, or both (Paragraph [0078] and Fig. 19 step 1902 shows configuration information reception constitutes downlink control information. Paragraph [0138] teaches reporting configuration associated with the compressed non-DFT codebook, the compressed set of singular vectors).
Regarding claim 26, Zhang in view of Lee, Lee teaches wherein the compressed non-DFT codebook corresponds to a first quantity of bits, and wherein the compressed set of singular vectors correspond to a second quantity of bits different than the first quantity of bits (Paragraph [0138] teaches different bit quantities- codebook overhead of “D(N+K-(D-1))(np+na)” bits versus singular vector overhead of “Dna” bits, showing different quantities for codebooks versus singular vectors).
Regarding claim 27, Zhang in view of Lee, Lee teaches wherein the first quantity of bits is greater than the second quantity of bits (Paragraph [0138] teaches (N+K-(D-1))(np+na)> na (because N+k-(D-1)> 1 and np+na), the codebook requires more bits than singular vectors).
Claim(s) 19-22, 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Lee in further view of Saber et al. (US 2023/0412230; hereinafter Saber).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang in view of Lee, Lee teaches to receive the compressed non-DFT codebook, the compressed set of singular vectors, or both, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to (Fig. 3 describes UE apparatus with processors, memory, and programing/code execution capabilities for wireless communications):
Zhang in view of Lee doesn’t teach separately receive the compressed non-DFT codebook and the compressed set of singular vectors based at least in part on the reporting configuration.
In analogous art Saber teaches separately receive the compressed non-DFT codebook and the compressed set of singular vectors based at least in part on the reporting configuration (Paragraph [0206] teaches separate transmission capability, the UE can be configured to report different components separately. It can report “only the singular values” separately from the other CSI information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang and Lee to incorporate the teachings of Saber’s separate transmission capability to reduce communication overhead (Saber, Paragraph [0052]).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang in view of Lee, Lee teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to (Fig. 3 describes UE apparatus with processors, memory, and programing/code execution capabilities for wireless communications):
Saber teaches determine a first periodicity (Paragraph [0328] describes encoders process codebook information, so NAIML report symbols represents the first periodicity for reporting)
Lee teaches associated with reporting the compressed non-DFT codebook based at least in part on the reporting configuration (Paragraph [0126] describes the compressed non-DFT codebook (3-bit PSK phase and amplitude codebooks) and compressed set of singular vectors and singular values);
Saber teaches and determine a second periodicity (Paragraph [0327] teaches channel estimation models process singular vector information, so NAIML, update symbols represent the second periodicity)
Lee, teaches associated with reporting the compressed set of singular vectors based at least in part on the reporting configuration (Paragraph [0328] describes singular vector transmission),
Saber teaches wherein the reporting configuration indicates the first periodicity (Paragraph [0328] describes encoders process codebook information, so NAIML report symbols represents the first periodicity for reporting)
Lee teaches associated with reporting the compressed non-DFT codebook (Paragraph [0126] describes transmission of compressed non-DFT codebooks),
Saber teaches the second periodicity (Paragraph [0327] teaches channel estimation models process singular vector information, so NAIML, update symbols represent the second periodicity)
Lee teaches, associated with reporting the compressed set of singular vectors, or both (Paragraph [0328] describes singular vector transmission).
Regarding claim 22, Zhang in view of Lee and Saber, Lee teaches wherein the first periodicity associated with reporting the compressed non-DFT codebook is less than the second periodicity associated with reporting the compressed set of singular vectors (Paragraph [0138] describes higher overhead typically correlates with more frequent updates needed for accuracy, as codebooks contain more detailed channel characterization information requiring frequent refresh).
Regarding claim 28, Zhang in view of Lee and Saber, Lee teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: receive first control signaling indicating a request to adjust a periodicity associated with reporting the compressed non-DFT codebook, the compressed set of singular vectors, or both, based at least in part on a change in a parameter associated with a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph [0222] teaches the UE detecting and processing changes in parameters (“UE location, speed, trajectory) over time (from t1 to t2) the phrase “based on the previous measurements and other information” shows the UE is monitoring parameter changes that affect channel conditions, which would necessitate adjusting reporting periodicity for optimal performance. Paragraph [0126] teaches that the periodicity adjustment request relates to compressed set of singular vectors (quantized ud and vd));
Saber teaches and transmit second control signaling indicating an adjusted periodicity (Paragraphs [0326]-[0328] describes receiving specific periodicity parameters that define adjusted timing for model updates and reporting. The number of symbols provides the precise adjusted periodicity value that the UE receives)
Lee teaches associated with reporting the compressed non-DFT codebook, the compressed set of singular vectors, or both, based at least in part on the first control signaling, wherein to receive the compressed non-DFT codebook, the compressed set of singular vectors, or both, is based at least in part on the adjusted periodicity (Paragraph [0138]; [0126] teaches transmission of compressed non-DFT codebooks and singular vectors according to adjusted periodicity).
Claim 21 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 20 respectively.
Claim 30 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 16 respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-15, and 29 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regrading claim 1, Lee et al. (US 2023/0056240; hereinafter Lee) in view of Saber et al. (US 2023/0412230; hereinafter Saber) fails to disclose “… select a non-Discrete Fourier Transform (non-DFT) codebook of a set of non-DFT codebooks associated with a channel state feedback message; determine a set of singular vectors associated with the non-DF T codebook based at least in part on a first machine learning model, wherein the set of singular vectors corresponds to a subspace associated with the non-DFT codebook;…”
Conclusion
/Chandrahas B Patel/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/M.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464