DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In re pages 7-8, the applicant argues that “It can be seen from the above disclosure that Zonka at most discloses that the prices associated with particular e-cards and/or media are conditioned on time of purchase and/or quantity of purchase.1-owever, Zonka is silent about defining the specific circumstances for sending notification information. In fact, Zonka only discloses a vague period of time (time of user login)for sending notification.”
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Zonka et al. discloses paragraph 0060 that “The server 65 interacts with the user account events database 137b, user account preferences database 137c, and user suggestions list 137d to, for instance, send email and/or text message reminders of upcoming events or suggestions for e-cards that the user may be interested in purchasing. A user is able to update his or her information in the user account events database 137b and user account preferences database 137c. Additionally, the server 65 (e.g., the user information module 115) is also operable to update the user's information in the user account events database 137b and user account preferences database 137c based on past e-cards created by the user, past browsing activity on the e-card webpages, and other user information.”, paragraph 0065 teaches “In step 205a, the user inputs information via the user computer 55 to the server 65. The user interacts with the server 65 via the web browser 57 and the server responds to the user-entered information and outputs updated webpage data accordingly. The information entered by the user may include selection information (e.g., selection of an e-card template or media file or entering search criteria), commands (e.g., generate e-card or purchase e-card), and/or user information (e.g., login, password, or information for user information database 137).”, paragraph 0075 teaches “In some implementations, event information entered via drop-down menu 275 (or via additional radio buttons or other similar input means) is used by the server 65 to update the suggestions in lists 262a-c. For instance, selecting anniversary in the drop-down menu 275 causes the server 65 to update the e-card suggestions list 262a to include more anniversary cards, the recipient menu 262b to include the user's spouse, and event suggestions to include an anniversary item. The suggestions update may remove some or all of the items previously listed in lists 262a-c.”, paragraph 0083 teaches “Based on the user selection, the search criteria box 360 is updated to display the search criteria applicable to the particular data type. After selecting e-card templates in the data type selection box 355, the search criteria box 360 includes the following fields: artist, keywords, date or date range, number of results, and category. Although the category box is depicted as a drop-down menu, in some implementations, the category field may also receive user input such that the category field may be searched. In some implementations, additional or fewer search fields are listed, such as music genre, movie genre, and card genre.”, paragraph 0091 teaches “After receiving calendar information (either default or user specified), the calendar generating module 105 accesses the databases 70 to retrieve the data for the calendar 240. For instance, the date, month, or week specified for the calendar 240 as well as the "most popular" selection is sent to the events database 140, assuming event view is selected in the calendar view mode section 245. The events database 140 then returns the most popular events for the time period specified. This returned data is then organized as calendar data and sent to the web browser 57 for display as the calendar 240. The requests sent from the calendar generating module 105 to the databases 70 are determined by the calendar information data supplied either as default calendar information or as specified by the user via the homepage 228.”. Zonka et al. discloses the user interacts with the server 65 via the web browser 57 and the server responds to the user-entered information and outputs updated webpage data accordingly. paragraph 0049-0050 teaches events database to store events data based on calendar dates. Herein, Zonka et al. teaches user inputs information, including date, month or week (first application interface) to receive cards, and based on the information entered by the user any number, updates (any number) webpage data, thus meets amended claim limitation.
In re page 9, the applicant argues that “It can be seen from the above disclosure that Zonka at most discloses that the server 65 may generate a custom homepage for a user based on user preferences stored in user account preferences database 137c. The user account preferences database 137c in Zonka usually stores information about the types of events, artists charities, and genres (e.g., music, movie, card, etc.) in which the user is interested, and is used to provide data support for the generation of personalized electronic greeting cards and personalized custom homepage for a user.”
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Zonka et al. discloses paragraph 0039 that “In some systems, e-cards within the e-card database 125 have restrictions on their use. For instance, certain e-cards are specified as limited edition, whereby only a certain amount of e-cards are allowed to be produced by the e-card website or particular e-cards are only available during a certain time window (e.g., one hour, one day, one week, a holiday period, etc.). Another restriction selectively applied to e-cards is to only enable certain users to purchase or use particular e-cards. For instance, particular e-cards may only be available to users that have been associated with the e-card website for a certain amount of time or users that have spent a certain amount of money with the e-card website. Other restrictions for particular e-cards are contemplated by embodiments of the invention.” In addition to discussion above in paragraph 2, Zonka et al. discloses the user interacts with the server 65 via the web browser 57 and the server responds to the user-entered information and outputs updated webpage data accordingly. Herein, user entered information includes the date, month, or week specified for the calendar 240, thus meets claimed historical running record.
Claims 2, 4, 6-10, 12, 14, 18-20 are rejected for the same reason as discussed in the corresponding paragraph 2-3 above.
Therefore, in view of the above, the examiner believes that the features of the claims are taught by the applied arts. See also the Office Action sets for the below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-14, 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2013/0159445 by Zonka et al.
Regarding claim 1, a method for generating an imagery record, comprising:
detecting being within a triggering period, and displaying at least one anniversary card on a first application interface, wherein the triggering period is determined based on a target anniversary corresponding to a target user, and the first application interface is an information stream interface (paragraph 0039 teaches “In some systems, e-cards within the e-card database 125 have restrictions on their use. For instance, certain e-cards are specified as limited edition, whereby only a certain amount of e-cards are allowed to be produced by the e-card website or particular e-cards are only available during a certain time window (e.g., one hour, one day, one week, a holiday period, etc.).”, paragraph 0074 teaches “The user also inputs event information 270. For instance, the server is operable to send webpage data such that the web browser 57 displays a drop-down menu 275 or list of suggested events (e.g., birthday, anniversary, and events based on the current date).”, paragraph 0117 teaches “Although the invention is described for use with a user computer 55 with a web browser 57, in some constructions, a user interacts with the server 65 as described above using a mobile device, in-store kiosk, or other electronic device with either a web browser 57 or an e-card software application being executed thereon. For instance, in some constructions, a user navigates the e-card website using an iPhone.TM., iTouch.TM., iPad.TM., Android.TM. phone, tablet, or other mobile computing device using either a web browser or a specific e-card application that facilitates card selection and generation as described herein.”);
triggering the anniversary card to display an imagery record generating page, wherein the imagery record generating page is used to generate template information corresponding to the anniversary card, and the template information is determined based on the target anniversary (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0035 teaches “The e-card database 125 includes e-card templates that are used to form e-cards by the e-card generating module 110. The e-card templates include various levels of customizable elements. For instance, in some e-card templates, the only customizable portion is the sender name and receiver name. In another instance, a blank e-card template is almost entirely customizable including customizable size, color, message, lyrics and scripts, media attachments, etc.”); and
generating, in response to a first user instruction for the imagery record generating page, target imagery data, wherein the first user instruction is used to acquire source imagery data, and the target imagery data is generated based on the source imagery data and the template information (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0029 teaches “The webpage module 100 generates webpage data for output to the web browser 57. For instance, the web browser 57 receives webpage data generated by webpage module 100 and displays the webpage data on a user computer 55. In some implementations, a portion of the webpage data is stored locally at user computer 55 from previous webpage data transfers and, therefore, an updating portion of webpage data is sent from server 65 to complement or overwrite the webpage data already stored on the user computer 55.”, paragraph 0064 teaches “FIG. 6a depicts a method of generating an e-card according to embodiments of the invention. In step 200a, the server 65, in particular, the webpage module 100, generates a webpage data for display in a web browser. The webpage data is sent to the user's web browser, for instance, over the Internet 60. Once received, the webpage data is displayed in the web browser or e-card application. For instance, FIG. 7 depicts an exemplary home page displayed in the web browser 57 based on the webpage data generated in step 200a.”, paragraph 0077 teaches “In some implementations, the webpage 290 includes an e-card preview window 305. When an e-card template is selected from the e-card drop-down menu 295, a preview of the e-card template is generated by the server and displayed in the e-card preview window 305. If a particular e-card was selected from e-card suggestions list 262a, a preview is automatically displayed upon reaching the webpage 290 in some implementations. A user may select an e-card template and proceed to customization options by selecting the customize button 307.”, paragraph 0083 teaches “Based on the user selection, the search criteria box 360 is updated to display the search criteria applicable to the particular data type. After selecting e-card templates in the data type selection box 355, the search criteria box 360 includes the following fields: artist, keywords, date or date range, number of results, and category.”, paragraph 0089 teaches “In some implementations, selecting one of the events in the calendar 240 (e.g., actor's birthday) will link the user to a specific page related to the event, artist, or media listed. In some implementations, upon selection of an event of the calendar, one or more e-card templates or media related to the selected event are displayed to the user.”, paragraph 0101 teaches “Upon receipt of the e-card assembly 450, a recipient 90 views the e-card 455 and perceives the media playing via an e-card reader 500 (e.g., a web browser, specific email application, or other html interpreting device) and a display 505, as shown in FIG. 1.”);
wherein the detecting being within the triggering period and displaying the at least one anniversary card on the first application interface (in addition o discussion above, paragraph 0060 that “The server 65 interacts with the user account events database 137b, user account preferences database 137c, and user suggestions list 137d to, for instance, send email and/or text message reminders of upcoming events or suggestions for e-cards that the user may be interested in purchasing. A user is able to update his or her information in the user account events database 137b and user account preferences database 137c. Additionally, the server 65 (e.g., the user information module 115) is also operable to update the user's information in the user account events database 137b and user account preferences database 137c based on past e-cards created by the user, past browsing activity on the e-card webpages, and other user information.”) comprises:
displaying the at least on anniversary card within the triggering period and after the information stream interface is refreshed for a preset number of rounds (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0065 teaches “In step 205a, the user inputs information via the user computer 55 to the server 65. The user interacts with the server 65 via the web browser 57 and the server responds to the user-entered information and outputs updated webpage data accordingly. The information entered by the user may include selection information (e.g., selection of an e-card template or media file or entering search criteria), commands (e.g., generate e-card or purchase e-card), and/or user information (e.g., login, password, or information for user information database 137).”, paragraph 0075 teaches “In some implementations, event information entered via drop-down menu 275 (or via additional radio buttons or other similar input means) is used by the server 65 to update the suggestions in lists 262a-c. For instance, selecting anniversary in the drop-down menu 275 causes the server 65 to update the e-card suggestions list 262a to include more anniversary cards, the recipient menu 262b to include the user's spouse, and event suggestions to include an anniversary item. The suggestions update may remove some or all of the items previously listed in lists 262a-c.”, paragraph 0083 teaches “Based on the user selection, the search criteria box 360 is updated to display the search criteria applicable to the particular data type. After selecting e-card templates in the data type selection box 355, the search criteria box 360 includes the following fields: artist, keywords, date or date range, number of results, and category. Although the category box is depicted as a drop-down menu, in some implementations, the category field may also receive user input such that the category field may be searched. In some implementations, additional or fewer search fields are listed, such as music genre, movie genre, and card genre.”, paragraph 0091 teaches “After receiving calendar information (either default or user specified), the calendar generating module 105 accesses the databases 70 to retrieve the data for the calendar 240. For instance, the date, month, or week specified for the calendar 240 as well as the "most popular" selection is sent to the events database 140, assuming event view is selected in the calendar view mode section 245. The events database 140 then returns the most popular events for the time period specified. This returned data is then organized as calendar data and sent to the web browser 57 for display as the calendar 240. The requests sent from the calendar generating module 105 to the databases 70 are determined by the calendar information data supplied either as default calendar information or as specified by the user via the homepage 228.”. Zonka et al. discloses the user interacts with the server 65 via the web browser 57 and the server responds to the user-entered information and outputs updated webpage data accordingly. paragraph 0049-0050 teaches events database to store events data based on calendar dates. Herein, Zonka et al. teaches user inputs information, including date, month or week (first application interface) to receive cards, and based on the information entered by the user any number, updates (any number) webpage data, thus meets amended claim limitation.).
Regarding claim 2, the method further comprising:
sending activity information to a server, wherein the activity information indicates that a target application is in an active state, and the first application interface is an interface of the target application (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0122-0123 teaches “Generally, the NFC module 630 is an active initiator, while the other NFC circuit is a passive or active target, although the NFC module 630 may be an active target in some instances. A passive NFC target is powered by a radio frequency (RF) field generated by the NFC module 630, while an active NFC target has its own power source…… The server 65 may receive GPS data from the GPS module 615 when a user logs in to the e-card website to reach his or her user page. Logging in is an example of the GPS module 615 "checking in" to the server 65 to transfer GPS data. A separate action, such as selecting a graphic "check in" button displayed on the e-card website displayed on the mobile user/client 55a may also be used. The server 65 is operable to send location-specific communications to the user via postings on the user page, email, text message, etc., based on the user's location as provided by the sent GPS data..”);
receiving a target message from the server, wherein the target message is transmitted by the server within the triggering period (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0123 teaches “For example, exclusive events may be organized on short notice by a host or artist associated with the server 65. To inform users of the event, the server 65 sends a message to all users who have recently logged in to the server 65 and provided GPS data that indicates the user is within a particular geographic range (e.g., 5 miles or 10 miles) of the planned event. Such events can include concerts, book readings, book signings, movie screenings, music-video screenings, celebrity appearances, etc.”); and
displaying, based on the target message, the at least one anniversary card on the information stream interface (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0061 teaches “The website maintained address lists 147 include address lists stored in the mailing list database 146 by a website authorized personnel, such as an administrator (i.e., not by general users). The website maintained address lists 147 include one or more lists of addresses that are, for instance, licensable or purchasable by users of the website. For instance, an artist or organization may wish to send an e-card including a new song (audio file or video file) to executives of one or more music labels, a particular advertising agency, or other group of people whose addresses are stored in a list within the website maintained address lists 147. If the user meets certain standards set by the website and pays a particular fee, the user is able to send an e-card to the members of the list. The fee may be variable based on the list chosen. The transaction is handled by the payment module 120 similar to other e-card purchases, but the additional address list fee is added to the purchase price.”, paragraph 0062, paragraph 0139 teaches “Although the databases within databases 70 are depicted as storing data in a table format with particular rows and columns, the databases may store information in a variety of ways.”).
Regarding claim 6, the method wherein the displaying the anniversary card on the first application interface comprises: displaying at least one anniversary card corresponding to a target anniversary type on the first application interface (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0101 teaches “Upon receipt of the e-card assembly 450, a recipient 90 views the e-card 455 and perceives the media playing via an e-card reader 500 (e.g., a web browser, specific email application, or other html interpreting device) and a display 505, as shown in FIG. 1.”).
Regarding claim 7, the method wherein the template information comprises at least one of the following: a background image, a background special effect, background music, a transition method, or a camera movement direction (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0036 teaches “FIG. 3 depicts one exemplary construction of the e-card database 125. The e-card database 125 includes an e-card name column 150, media file name column 155, graphics (front) column 160, text (front) column 165, background design (front) column 170, additional columns not shown (as indicated by dashed lines), and background design (back) column 177. Each e-card template is assigned a row of the e-card database 125. E-card template 175 is titled "birthday 1" and includes a media file "Song 7." The front of the e-card includes graphics file "books 1," text file "text 1," and a background design "Balloons in Sky" (see, e.g., FIG. 12). The back of the card includes a "white" background design. Although not shown in e-card database 125 depicted in FIG. 3, each portion of the card, e.g., the front, inside left, inside right, and back, includes one or more graphics columns, text columns, and background design columns. Additionally, other characteristics may be associated with each e-card in the e-card database 125, such as related music/movie genre (e.g., rock, pop, country, classical, horror, comedy, etc.), card genre (funny, serious, etc.), male/female recipient, male/female user, adult's card, children's card, holiday card, birthday card, religious event card, political card, etc.”, paragraph 0041 teaches “In some implementations, users have the option to store user-generated media within the media database 135. For instance, a user is able to capture media (e.g., audio or video) using user equipment (e.g., a home computer, microphone, camera, sophisticated recording equipment and software, etc.), then upload the media to the media database 135 via the e-card website.”, paragraph 0080 teaches “Additionally, although not shown, the user is able to enter text, adjust the e-card size, adjust the e-card colors, adjust the background, attach additional graphics, attach additional media, and make other card customizations as is understood in the art.”, paragraph 0119).
Regarding claim 8, the method wherein the source imagery data comprises a video or a picture, and the imagery record generating page is displayed on a second application interface; the generating, in response to the first user instruction for the imagery record generating page, the target imagery data comprises: displaying, based on the imagery record generating page, a template corresponding to the anniversary card on the second application interface; in response to the first user instruction, acquiring a target video or a target picture, and displaying the target video or the target picture at a target position on the second application interface; and rendering, in response to a second user instruction, the template information displayed on the second application interface and the target picture or the target video displayed on the second application interface into the target imagery data (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0110 teaches “For instance, a first user sends a request to a second user asking for the second user to approve of being associated with the first user. The second user may accept or decline the request. If the second user accepts the request, the first user and the second user are now associated. Accordingly, a link may be provided on the first user's webpage that links to the second user's webpage, and vice versa. Additionally, in some instances, one or more user-specific events of the second user may be added to the first user's calendar either automatically after accepting the association or manually based on input from the first user. If the second user declines the request, the first user and the second user remain not associated.”).
Regarding claim 9, the method wherein before the generating, in response to the first user instruction for the imagery record generating page, the target imagery data, the method further comprises: modifying, in response to a third user instruction, a configuration parameter of the imagery record generating page, wherein the configuration parameter is used to set a characteristic of template information generated by the imagery record generating page (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0110 teaches “For instance, a first user sends a request to a second user asking for the second user to approve of being associated with the first user. The second user may accept or decline the request. If the second user accepts the request, the first user and the second user are now associated. Accordingly, a link may be provided on the first user's webpage that links to the second user's webpage, and vice versa. Additionally, in some instances, one or more user-specific events of the second user may be added to the first user's calendar either automatically after accepting the association or manually based on input from the first user. If the second user declines the request, the first user and the second user remain not associated.”).
Regarding claim 10, the method after the generating the target imagery data, further comprising: releasing the target imagery data (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0101 teaches “Upon receipt of the e-card assembly 450, a recipient 90 views the e-card 455 and perceives the media playing via an e-card reader 500 (e.g., a web browser, specific email application, or other html interpreting device) and a display 505, as shown in FIG. 1.”, paragraph 0112 teaches “Users may use the media and e-card browsing functionality described above with respect to FIGS. 7-10 to post and send e-cards and media to other user pages. In some instances, the media and e-cards posted or sent remain remotely stored (from the recipient's perspective). For instance, the media or e-cards posted or sent may remain on one or more of the e-card server 65, databases 70, the third party server 85, and remote storage 590 (see, e.g., FIG. 14).”).
Claim 11 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in the corresponding claim 1 above.
Claim 12 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in the corresponding claim 1 above.
Claim 13 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in the corresponding claim 1 above.
Claim 14 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in the corresponding claim 2 above.
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in the corresponding claim 1 above (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0027 teaches storage media, paragraph 0101 teaches computer, paragraph 0132, paragraph 0140 teaches memory).
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in the corresponding claim 1 above (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0027 teaches storage media, paragraph 0101 teaches computer, paragraph 0132, paragraph 0140 teaches memory).
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in the corresponding claim 1 above (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0027 teaches storage media, paragraph 0101 teaches computer, paragraph 0132, paragraph 0140 teaches memory).
Claim 21 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in the corresponding claim 2 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIGAR CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484