DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s submission filed on April 1, 2026. Claims 1-30 are pending and rejected.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed on April 1, 2026. The Examiner has acknowledged the amended claims 1, 3, 10, 19, 25, and 30. Claims 1-30 are pending and are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Arguments (Remarks) filed April 1, 2026 have been fully considered, but are moot.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, 19, and 25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See also 103 rejection below.
The remainder of the arguments set forth by the applicant are not persuasive due to the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-11, 13-20, 22-26, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0372122 A1 to Shim et al. (hereinafter, “Shim”) in view of US 2015/0346894 A1 to Landau.
Regarding claim 1, Shim discloses: A user device, comprising:
a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (Fig. 1A), configured to:
generate, using a fingerprint sensor of the user device, a fingerprint scan of a finger press of a user of the user device (“The finger scan unit according to the present invention generates a fingerprint image by outputting an ultrasonic wave, and decides output intensity of the ultrasonic wave based on pressure of external force while a user's finger is brought into contact therewith” [0132]);
authenticate the user based at least in part on a plurality of types of information, the plurality of types of information comprising the fingerprint scan, information identifying a time duration of the finger press, information identifying a location of the finger press, and force information generated by a force sensor of the user device (“When external force is applied to the finger scan unit 300 by pressure of a first level, the controller 180 executes a user authentication using a prestored fingerprint image and a detected fingerprint image” [0169]; “The term “proximity touch” will often be referred to herein to denote the scenario in which a pointer is positioned to be proximate to the touch screen without contacting the touch screen. The term “contact touch” will often be referred to herein to denote the scenario in which a pointer makes physical contact with the touch screen. For the position corresponding to the proximity touch of the pointer relative to the touch screen, such position will correspond to a position where the pointer is perpendicular to the touch screen. The proximity sensor 141 may sense proximity touch, and proximity touch patterns (for example, distance, direction, speed, time, position, moving status, and the like). In general, controller 180 processes data corresponding to proximity touches and proximity touch patterns sensed by the proximity sensor 141, and cause output of visual information on the touch screen. In addition, the controller 180 can control the mobile terminal 100 to execute different operations or process different data (or information) according to whether a touch with respect to a point on the touch screen is either a proximity touch or a contact touch” [0061]);
determine, in association with the force information, one or more force amounts applied to a display screen of the user device by the finger press (“As illustrated in FIG. 3A, when external force is detected by the pressure sensing unit 310 (S301), the controller 180 measures a pressure level of the external force detected by the pressure sensing unit 310 (S302). For example, the pressure sensing unit 310 may detect the external force based on about 256 different levels” [0142]; “A touch sensor can sense a touch (or a touch input) applied to the touch screen, such as display unit 151, using any of a variety of touch methods. Examples of such touch methods include a resistive type, a capacitive type, an infrared type, and a magnetic field type, among others. As one example, the touch sensor may be configured to convert changes of pressure applied to a specific part of the display unit 151, or convert capacitance occurring at a specific part of the display unit 151, into electric input signals” [0062-0063] [Examiner notes that these texts show that the user applies their finger to a display screen of some sort, allowing for the force sensor to activate and measure the amount applied to said screen]),
wherein one or more user interface settings are adjusted in response to the user adjusting the one or more force amounts applied to the display screen of the user device by the finger press (“Input received at the first and second manipulation units 123 a and 123 b may be used in various ways. For example, the first manipulation unit 123 a may be used by the user to provide an input to a menu, home key, cancel, search, or the like, and the second manipulation unit 123 b may be used by the user to provide an input to control a volume level being output from the first or second audio output modules 152 a or 152 b, to switch to a touch recognition mode of the display unit 151, or the like” [0114]; “The display unit 151 may also form a touch screen together with the touch sensor. Here, the touch screen may serve as the user input unit 123 (see FIG. 1A). Therefore, the touch screen may replace at least some of the functions of the first manipulation unit 123 a” [0107] [Examiner notes that the input received at the manipulation units from the user is seen as the amount of force. Examiner also notes that the parameters related to the user interface settings include the user providing input to a menu, home key, etc.. The touch screen being used can have the function of the manipulation unit 123 a and therefore is able to have the user adjusting the amount of force applied to the display screen of the user device by the finger press]),
perform, in association with authenticating the user, an action that is associated with the one or more force amounts applied to the display screen of the user device by the finger press (“The display unit 151 may also include a touch sensor which senses a touch input received at the display unit. When a touch is input to the display unit 151, the touch sensor may be configured to sense this touch and the controller 180, for example, may generate a control command or other signal corresponding to the touch. The content which is input in the touching manner may be a text or numerical value, or a menu item which can be indicated or designated in various modes” [0105]; “According to this embodiment, a different function is executed, specifically, different screen information is output based on a pressure level which is detected while the user inputs a fingerprint. Especially, screen information for executing a more detailed function may be output in response to pressure of a higher level being applied, which may allow the user to fast control a different function by applying external force with a different pressure level that the user desires to apply” [0174] [Examiner notes that these texts show that during the fingerprinting process in order to authenticate the user, the various amount of force or pressure applied results in different accessibility functions that the user can use]),
wherein a first amount of force applied to the display screen of the apparatus by the finger press in combination with the authenticating the user causes a preview of a message notification to be displayed, and wherein a second amount of force applied to the display screen of the apparatus by the finger press in combination with the authenticating the user causes a messaging application to be opened (“Meanwhile, when pressure of a second level different from the first level is detected, the controller 180 may activate the full display unit 151 to output a home screen page 511. The second level may be set as a value smaller than the first level… According to this embodiment, a different function is executed, specifically, different screen information is output based on a pressure level which is detected while the user inputs a fingerprint. Especially, screen information for executing a more detailed function may be output in response to pressure of a higher level being applied, which may allow the user to fast control a different function by applying external force with a different pressure level that the user desires to apply” [0172-0174]; “The screen information 513 may include an icon executing an application by receiving a touch input or information related to a received event” [0170]; “Other application programs may be installed within the mobile terminal 100 at time of manufacturing or shipping, which is typically the case for basic functions of the mobile terminal 100 (for example, receiving a call, placing a call, receiving a message, sending a message, and the like). It is common for application programs to be stored in the memory 170, installed in the mobile terminal 100, and executed by the controller 180 to perform an operation (or function) for the mobile terminal 100” [0040] [Examiner notes that these texts explicitly say that a lighter force paired with authentication shows a basic view (preview) and a stronger force paired with authentication shows a more detailed or full view (opening the full application). The screen information can include a messaging app icon as is it common for a messaging functionality to be installed]).
Shim does not disclose: wherein a sensing region of the display screen comprises the force sensor and occupies thirty percent or more of the display screen; and
However, Landau discloses: wherein a sensing region of the display screen comprises the force sensor and occupies thirty percent or more of the display screen (“For other embodiments, the touch sensing region 330 may include a number of sensor components that are capable of detecting a percentage (e.g., proportion) of the display screen 320 that is covered by the user's palm or other objects. For example, rather than detect the user's palm 301, the touch sensing region 330 may detect that a proportion (e.g., ≧50%) of the display screen 320 that is covered or otherwise obfuscated by the user's palm 301 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 3A). Such embodiments may allow palm-touch inputs to be triggered in response to the placement of other objects over the touch sensing region 330 (e.g., not just the user's palm 301). The percent-coverage threshold may be a predetermined threshold and/or based on the size of an actual user's palm (e.g., determined through a registration process). It should be noted that the touch sensing region 330 may not register a palm-touch input if the user's palm 301 (and/or other object) does not cover at least the threshold percentage of the display screen 320 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 3B)” [0040] [Examiner notes that this text explicitly teaches a touch sensing region defined by a percentage of display, where input is triggered based on whether that threshold is met]); and
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to combine the method of Shim’s fingerprint sensor authentication methods with the added structure of Landaustrain in order to rely on using percentage-based screen area thresholds to define or control a sensing region.
Claim 10 recites substantially the same limitation as claim 1, for implementing the corresponding method, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 19 recites substantially the same limitation as claim 1, in the form of a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer readable program code for implementing the corresponding method, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 25, Shim discloses: An apparatus, comprising:
means for generating, using a fingerprint sensor of the apparatus, a fingerprint scan of a finger press of a user of the apparatus (“The finger scan unit according to the present invention generates a fingerprint image by outputting an ultrasonic wave, and decides output intensity of the ultrasonic wave based on pressure of external force while a user's finger is brought into contact therewith” [0132]);
means for authenticating the user based at least in part on a plurality of types of information, the plurality of types of information comprising the fingerprint scan, information identifying a time duration of the finger press, information identifying a location of the finger press, and force information generated by a force sensor of the apparatus (“When external force is applied to the finger scan unit 300 by pressure of a first level, the controller 180 executes a user authentication using a prestored fingerprint image and a detected fingerprint image” [0169]; “The term “proximity touch” will often be referred to herein to denote the scenario in which a pointer is positioned to be proximate to the touch screen without contacting the touch screen. The term “contact touch” will often be referred to herein to denote the scenario in which a pointer makes physical contact with the touch screen. For the position corresponding to the proximity touch of the pointer relative to the touch screen, such position will correspond to a position where the pointer is perpendicular to the touch screen. The proximity sensor 141 may sense proximity touch, and proximity touch patterns (for example, distance, direction, speed, time, position, moving status, and the like). In general, controller 180 processes data corresponding to proximity touches and proximity touch patterns sensed by the proximity sensor 141, and cause output of visual information on the touch screen. In addition, the controller 180 can control the mobile terminal 100 to execute different operations or process different data (or information) according to whether a touch with respect to a point on the touch screen is either a proximity touch or a contact touch” [0061]);
means for determining, in association with the force information one or more force amounts applied to a display screen of the apparatus by the finger press (“As illustrated in FIG. 3A, when external force is detected by the pressure sensing unit 310 (S301), the controller 180 measures a pressure level of the external force detected by the pressure sensing unit 310 (S302). For example, the pressure sensing unit 310 may detect the external force based on about 256 different levels” [0142]; “A touch sensor can sense a touch (or a touch input) applied to the touch screen, such as display unit 151, using any of a variety of touch methods. Examples of such touch methods include a resistive type, a capacitive type, an infrared type, and a magnetic field type, among others. As one example, the touch sensor may be configured to convert changes of pressure applied to a specific part of the display unit 151, or convert capacitance occurring at a specific part of the display unit 151, into electric input signals” [0062-0063] [Examiner notes that these texts show that the user applies their finger to a display screen of some sort, allowing for the force sensor to activate and measure the amount applied to said screen]),
wherein one or more user interface settings are adjusted in response to the user adjusting the one or more force amounts applied to the display screen of the user device by the finger press (“Input received at the first and second manipulation units 123 a and 123 b may be used in various ways. For example, the first manipulation unit 123 a may be used by the user to provide an input to a menu, home key, cancel, search, or the like, and the second manipulation unit 123 b may be used by the user to provide an input to control a volume level being output from the first or second audio output modules 152 a or 152 b, to switch to a touch recognition mode of the display unit 151, or the like” [0114]; “The display unit 151 may also form a touch screen together with the touch sensor. Here, the touch screen may serve as the user input unit 123 (see FIG. 1A). Therefore, the touch screen may replace at least some of the functions of the first manipulation unit 123 a” [0107] [Examiner notes that the input received at the manipulation units from the user is seen as the amount of force. Examiner also notes that the parameters related to the user interface settings include the user providing input to a menu, home key, etc.. The touch screen being used can have the function of the manipulation unit 123 a and therefore is able to have the user adjusting the amount of force applied to the display screen of the user device by the finger press]),
means for performing, in association with authenticating the user, an action that is associated with the one or more force amounts applied to the display screen (“The display unit 151 may also include a touch sensor which senses a touch input received at the display unit. When a touch is input to the display unit 151, the touch sensor may be configured to sense this touch and the controller 180, for example, may generate a control command or other signal corresponding to the touch. The content which is input in the touching manner may be a text or numerical value, or a menu item which can be indicated or designated in various modes” [0105]; “According to this embodiment, a different function is executed, specifically, different screen information is output based on a pressure level which is detected while the user inputs a fingerprint. Especially, screen information for executing a more detailed function may be output in response to pressure of a higher level being applied, which may allow the user to fast control a different function by applying external force with a different pressure level that the user desires to apply” [0174] [Examiner notes that these texts show that during the fingerprinting process in order to authenticate the user, the various amount of force or pressure applied results in different accessibility functions that the user can use]),
wherein a first amount of force applied to the display screen of the apparatus by the finger press in combination with the authenticating the user causes a preview of a message notification to be displayed, and wherein a second amount of force applied to the display screen of the apparatus by the finger press in combination with the authenticating the user causes a messaging application to be opened (“Meanwhile, when pressure of a second level different from the first level is detected, the controller 180 may activate the full display unit 151 to output a home screen page 511. The second level may be set as a value smaller than the first level… According to this embodiment, a different function is executed, specifically, different screen information is output based on a pressure level which is detected while the user inputs a fingerprint. Especially, screen information for executing a more detailed function may be output in response to pressure of a higher level being applied, which may allow the user to fast control a different function by applying external force with a different pressure level that the user desires to apply” [0172-0174]; “The screen information 513 may include an icon executing an application by receiving a touch input or information related to a received event” [0170]; “Other application programs may be installed within the mobile terminal 100 at time of manufacturing or shipping, which is typically the case for basic functions of the mobile terminal 100 (for example, receiving a call, placing a call, receiving a message, sending a message, and the like). It is common for application programs to be stored in the memory 170, installed in the mobile terminal 100, and executed by the controller 180 to perform an operation (or function) for the mobile terminal 100” [0040] [Examiner notes that these texts explicitly say that a lighter force paired with authentication shows a basic view (preview) and a stronger force paired with authentication shows a more detailed or full view (opening the full application). The screen information can include a messaging app icon as is it common for a messaging functionality to be installed]).
Shim does not disclose: wherein a sensing region of the display screen comprises the force sensor and occupies thirty percent or more of the display screen; and
However, Landau discloses: wherein a sensing region of the display screen comprises the force sensor and occupies thirty percent or more of the display screen (“For other embodiments, the touch sensing region 330 may include a number of sensor components that are capable of detecting a percentage (e.g., proportion) of the display screen 320 that is covered by the user's palm or other objects. For example, rather than detect the user's palm 301, the touch sensing region 330 may detect that a proportion (e.g., ≧50%) of the display screen 320 that is covered or otherwise obfuscated by the user's palm 301 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 3A). Such embodiments may allow palm-touch inputs to be triggered in response to the placement of other objects over the touch sensing region 330 (e.g., not just the user's palm 301). The percent-coverage threshold may be a predetermined threshold and/or based on the size of an actual user's palm (e.g., determined through a registration process). It should be noted that the touch sensing region 330 may not register a palm-touch input if the user's palm 301 (and/or other object) does not cover at least the threshold percentage of the display screen 320 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 3B)” [0040] [Examiner notes that this text explicitly teaches a touch sensing region defined by a percentage of display, where input is triggered based on whether that threshold is met]); and
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to combine the method of Shim’s fingerprint sensor authentication methods with the added structure of Landaustrain in order to rely on using percentage-based screen area thresholds to define or control a sensing region.
Regarding claims 2, 11, 20, and 26, a combination of Shim-Landau disclose all limitations of claims 1/10/19/25.
Shim further discloses: an ultrasonic-based piezoelectric sensor; and wherein the one or more processors, to generate the fingerprint scan, are configured to: generate, using the ultrasonic-based piezoelectric sensor, the fingerprint scan in association with the finger press (“The finger scan unit according to the present invention generates a fingerprint image by outputting an ultrasonic wave, and decides output intensity of the ultrasonic wave based on pressure of external force while a user's finger is brought into contact therewith. Hereinafter, a configuration of the finger scan unit and a control method thereof will be described” [0132]; “As illustrated in FIG. 2A, a finger scan unit 300 according to this embodiment is provided on one area of the front case 101 which is made of a metal. The finger scan unit 300 includes ... a piezoelectric element 340... The piezoelectric element 340 may be made of piezo materials. The piezoelectric element 340 may be arranged in plurality according to a width of the finger scan unit 300. The number of piezoelectric elements 340 are decided based on an interval between ridge and valley portions” [0134-0135] [Examiner notes that the scan unit includes an ultrasonic sensor that has piezoelectric elements which is interpreted as the ultrasonic-based piezoelectric sensor here]).
Regarding claims 4, 13, and 28, a combination of Shim-Landau disclose all limitations of claims 1/10/25.
Shim further discloses: wherein the location of the finger press is over a notification displayed on a lock screen of the display screen of the user device (“When the user authentication is needed for an execution of each application, namely, each application is in a lock state, the icon 515′ corresponding to the application includes a first badge 515 a indicating the lock state. The drawing illustrates that the first badge 515 a is output on one area of each icon in an overlapping manner, but the present invention may not be limited to this. For example, a specific image or a specific color may be output on an edge of the icon. When a touch input is applied to the icon of the application in the lock state, the application is executed and an authentication function receiving a password is executed. Accordingly, the user can select one application, execute an authentication procedure and then execute and control the application” [0182] [Examiner notes that when the screen is in a locked state, the badge that shows (overlays) on top of the icon is seen as a notification and when the fingerprint is pressed against the icon. This explicitly illustrates how the location of where the user presses their finger is directly over a notification displayed while the screen is locked]).
Regarding claims 5, 14, 23, and 29, a combination of Shim-Landau disclose all limitations of claims 4/13/22/28.
Shim further discloses: wherein the messaging application is associated with the notification on the display screen of the user device (“When a fingerprint is detected by the finger scan unit 300, the controller 180 releases the lock states of the applications corresponding to the icons included in the list screen 515. Accordingly, each first badge 515 a is switched into a second badge 515 b indicating the release of the lock state. While the second badge 515 b is output, when a touch input is applied to the icon, the controller 180 may activate the application without the authentication procedure, and output an execution screen for controlling the application. This may allow the user to control a lock state of every application output on the list screen 515 at once” [0183-0184] [Examiner notes that the user inputting their finger press activates the authentication process which then leads to the application being executed that is associated to the badge; since messaging is an application, it falls under the umbrella of applications included in the list screen 515]).
Regarding claims 6, 15, and 24, a combination of Shim-Landau disclose all limitations of claims 1/10/19.
Shim further discloses: wherein the location of the finger press is over a graphical icon associated with a user interface setting, of the one or more interface settings, displayed on the display screen of the user device (“When a touch input is applied to the icon of the application in the lock state, the application is executed and an authentication function receiving a password is executed” [0182]; “Meanwhile, when a fingerprint is detected together with pressure of a third level, the controller 180 may control the display unit 151 to output a second selection screen 515″ including only icons of applications corresponding to the pressure of the third level” [0201]);
wherein the one or more force amounts applied to the display screen of the user device by the finger press Input received at the first and second manipulation units 123 a and 123 b may be used in various ways. For example, the first manipulation unit 123 a may be used by the user to provide an input to a menu, home key, cancel, search, or the like, and the second manipulation unit 123 b may be used by the user to provide an input to control a volume level being output from the first or second audio output modules 152 a or 152 b, to switch to a touch recognition mode of the display unit 151, or the like” [0114] [Examiner notes that the input received at the manipulation units from the user is seen as the third amount of force. Examiner also notes that the parameters related to the user interface settings include the user providing input to a menu, home key, etc.]).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, a combination of Shim-Landau disclose all limitations of claims 6/15.
Shim further discloses: wherein a fourth amount of force applied to the display screen of the user device is associated with a second action (“The mobile terminal 100 according to FIG. 4A includes a first finger scan unit 300 a provided on one side surface, and a second finger scan unit 300 b provided on another side surface. The first and second finger scan units 300 a and 300 b may include a plurality of finger scan portions arranged in one direction” [0157]); and
wherein the second action comprises displaying each of the plurality of parameters, wherein each of the plurality of parameters can be individually modified in association with further interaction with the display screen of the user device (“Input received at the first and second manipulation units 123 a and 123 b may be used in various ways. For example, the first manipulation unit 123 a may be used by the user to provide an input to a menu, home key, cancel, search, or the like, and the second manipulation unit 123 b may be used by the user to provide an input to control a volume level being output from the first or second audio output modules 152 a or 152 b, to switch to a touch recognition mode of the display unit 151, or the like” [0114]; “Meanwhile, when pressure of a second level different from the first level is detected, the controller 180 may activate the full display unit 151 to output a home screen page 511” 0172] [Examiner notes that the parameters related to the user interface settings include the user providing input to a menu, home key, etc., including based on the amount of pressure detected as a factor in itself]).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, a combination of Shim-Landau disclose all limitations of claims 1/10.
Shim further discloses: wherein the one or more processors, to perform the action that is associated with the one or more force amounts applied to the display screen of the user device by the finger press, are configured to: perform the action in association with the one or more force amounts applied to the display screen of the user device by the finger press satisfying a force threshold, wherein the action is associated with the force threshold (“According to this embodiment, a different function is executed, specifically, different screen information is output based on a pressure level which is detected while the user inputs a fingerprint. Especially, screen information for executing a more detailed function may be output in response to pressure of a higher level being applied, which may allow the user to fast control a different function by applying external force with a different pressure level that the user desires to apply” [0174]; “For example, when a touch input with a pressure level lower than a preset reference pressure level is applied, the controller 180 maintains a state that the lock state is not released” [0194] [Examiner notes that a different function is executed based on a level of pressure being outputted. This shows that there is a specific threshold that needs to be met in order for the different function to be executed (different screen information is output). When it is higher threshold met (higher than the pressure level detected), the user gains the ability to have more function. Examiner notes that the same is applied for vice versa, if the touch input is less than a specific level or force threshold, the user does not get let into the application and the screen remains locked]).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, a combination of Shim-Landau disclose all limitations of claims 1/10.
Shim further discloses: wherein the one or more processors, to perform the action that is associated with the one or more force amounts applied to the display screen of the user device by the finger press, are configured to: perform the action in association with the one or more force amounts applied to the display screen of the user device by the finger press being included within a force range, wherein the action is associated with the force range (“Meanwhile, when pressure lower than the preset reference pressure is detected by the finger scan unit 300 for a specific time, the controller controls the display unit 151 to output a second indicator 501 b guiding a movement of a finger” [0150]; “Accordingly, when pressure less than the preset reference pressure is detected by the finger scan unit 300, the controller 180 controls the display unit 151 to output a third indicator 501 c” [0153] [Examiner notes that these texts show both the low side and the high side of the pressure that can be applied by the user's finger press]).
Regarding claim 22, a combination of Shim-Landau disclose all limitations of claim 19.
Shim further discloses: wherein the location of the finger press is over a notification displayed on a lock screen of the display screen of the user device (“When the user authentication is needed for an execution of each application, namely, each application is in a lock state, the icon 515′ corresponding to the application includes a first badge 515 a indicating the lock state. The drawing illustrates that the first badge 515 a is output on one area of each icon in an overlapping manner, but the present invention may not be limited to this. For example, a specific image or a specific color may be output on an edge of the icon. When a touch input is applied to the icon of the application in the lock state, the application is executed and an authentication function receiving a password is executed. Accordingly, the user can select one application, execute an authentication procedure and then execute and control the application” [0182] [Examiner notes that when the screen is in a locked state, the badge that shows (overlays) on top of the icon is seen as a notification and when the fingerprint is pressed against the icon. This explicitly illustrates how the location of where the user presses their finger is directly over a notification displayed while the screen is locked]).
Regarding claim 30, a combination of Shim-Landau disclose all limitations of claim 1.
Shim further discloses: wherein the first amount of force applied to the display screen of the user device by the finger press in combination with the authentication of the user is configured to enable an airplane mode of the user device (“When external force is applied to the finger scan unit 300 by pressure of a first level, the controller 180 executes a user authentication using a prestored fingerprint image and a detected fingerprint image. When the user authentication is completed, the controller 180 controls the display unit 151 to output screen information 513 which is preset by the user or includes contents of applications with high frequency of use. The controller 180 may output the screen information 513 on one area where the status information 502 is output. When a preset time elapses, the screen information 513 may be switched back into the status information 502. Or, the controller 180 may activate the full display unit 151 to output the screen information 513. The screen information 513 may include an icon executing an application by receiving a touch input or information related to a received event. The controller 180 may output an execution screen of the application based on a touch applied to the screen information 513. Or, the controller 180 may output a window for executing one function of the application” [0169-0170] [Examiner notes that this text shows an interaction where a force-based touch interaction in conjunction with fingerprint authentication enables or executes a user interface function).
Claims 3, 12, 21, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0372122 A1 to Shim et al. (hereinafter, “Shim”) in view of US 2015/0346894 A1 to Landau and in further view of US 2018/0218859 A1 to Ligtenberg et al. (hereinafter, “Ligtenberg”).
Regarding claim 3, a combination of Shim-Landau disclose all limitations of claim 1.
Shim-Landau do not explicitly disclose: a strain gauge sensor that is located in the sensing region of the display screen; wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: generate the force information using the strain gauge sensor, wherein the force information comprises an electrical resistance; and wherein the one or more processors, to determine the one or more force amounts applied to the display screen of the user device by the finger press, are configured to: determine the one or more force amounts applied to the display screen of the user device by the finger press in association with the electrical resistance.
However, Ligtenberg discloses: a strain gauge sensor that is located in the sensing region of the display screen (“a seventh force sensor 2200g configured to detect an applied force using a strain-based sensing scheme” [0395]; “The strain-sensitive elements may include a strain gauge, resistive sensor, or other similar element that exhibits a change in electrical response due to a deflection or strain” [0406]);
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: generate the force information using the strain gauge sensor, wherein the force information comprises an electrical resistance (“Specifically, the seventh force sensor 2200g is configured to detect the magnitude of an applied force using an array of strain-sensor elements 2230g operably coupled to the top case 2204g having an input surface 2202g. As shown in FIG. 22G, the top case 2204g may experience a localized deformation or deflection in response to a force applied by the object 2210g (e.g., a user's finger). The localized deformation or deflection may cause one or more of the strain-sensor elements 2230g to be placed into a strained condition, which may produce an electrical response (e.g., a change in resistance or impedance or any other suitable electrical phenomena) that can be measured using force-sensing circuitry” [0395]); and
wherein the one or more processors, to determine the one or more force amounts applied to the display screen of the user device by the finger press, are configured to: determine the one or more force amounts applied to the display screen of the user device by the finger press in association with the electrical resistance (“In some implementations, the strain-sensor elements 2230g are formed into a two-dimensional array across the area of the input surface 2202g. Each strain-sensor element 2230g may form a pixel or element of the two-dimensional array and may include a strain gauge or similarly shaped strain-sensitive element. The strain gauge may include multiple traces or fingers that are configured to detect strain along a particular direction or multiple directions. If the strain-sensor elements 2230g are arranged in a two-dimensional array, the strain-sensor elements 2230g may be used to determine both the location and the magnitude of multiple forces applied to the input surface 2202g. Some configurations may provide multi-touch, multi-force capability in which the magnitude of each applied force may be calculated or estimated” [0397] [Examiner notes that by the strain gauge sensor being able determine the magnitude of force applied to the input surface, it is determining the amount of force being applied to the finger press associated with the electrical resistance]).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to combine the method of Shim’s fingerprint sensor authentication methods and Landau’s methods with the added structure of Ligtenberg’s strain sensor specific elements in order to detect and measure if any strain is occurring such as deformations in response to any force applied as Ligtenberg suggests [0395]).
Regarding claims 12, 21, and 27, a combination of Shim-Landau disclose all limitations of claims 10/19/25.
Shim-Landau do not explicitly disclose: a strain gauge sensor; wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: generate the force information using the strain gauge sensor, wherein the force information comprises an electrical resistance; and wherein the one or more processors, to determine the one or more force amounts applied to the display screen of the user device by the finger press, are configured to: determine the one or more force amounts applied to the display screen of the user device by the finger press in association with the electrical resistance.
However, Ligtenberg discloses: a strain gauge sensor (“a seventh force sensor 2200g configured to detect an applied force using a strain-based sensing scheme” [0395]; “The strain-sensitive elements may include a strain gauge, resistive sensor, or other similar element that exhibits a change in electrical response due to a deflection or strain” [0406]);
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: generate the force information using the strain gauge sensor, wherein the force information comprises an electrical resistance (“Specifically, the seventh force sensor 2200g is configured to detect the magnitude of an applied force using an array of strain-sensor elements 2230g operably coupled to the top case 2204g having an input surface 2202g. As shown in FIG. 22G, the top case 2204g may experience a localized deformation or deflection in response to a force applied by the object 2210g (e.g., a user's finger). The localized deformation or deflection may cause one or more of the strain-sensor elements 2230g to be placed into a strained condition, which may produce an electrical response (e.g., a change in resistance or impedance or any other suitable electrical phenomena) that can be measured using force-sensing circuitry” [0395]); and
wherein the one or more processors, to determine the one or more force amounts applied to the display screen of the user device by the finger press, are configured to: determine the one or more force amounts applied to the display screen of the user device by the finger press in association with the electrical resistance (“In some implementations, the strain-sensor elements 2230g are formed into a two-dimensional array across the area of the input surface 2202g. Each strain-sensor element 2230g may form a pixel or element of the two-dimensional array and may include a strain gauge or similarly shaped strain-sensitive element. The strain gauge may include multiple traces or fingers that are configured to detect strain along a particular direction or multiple directions. If the strain-sensor elements 2230g are arranged in a two-dimensional array, the strain-sensor elements 2230g may be used to determine both the location and the magnitude of multiple forces applied to the input surface 2202g. Some configurations may provide multi-touch, multi-force capability in which the magnitude of each applied force may be calculated or estimated” [0397] [Examiner notes that by the strain gauge sensor being able determine the magnitude of force applied to the input surface, it is determining the amount of force being applied to the finger press associated with the electrical resistance]).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to combine the method of Shim’s fingerprint sensor authentication methods and Landau’s methods with the added structure of Ligtenberg’s strain sensor specific elements in order to detect and measure if any strain is occurring such as deformations in response to any force applied as Ligtenberg suggests [0395]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Thompson (US 2020/0184191 A1) teaches a an input device that includes a fingerprint sensor and a processing system. The fingerprint sensor is configured to capture images of a sensing region of the input device. The processing system is configured to acquire a first image of the sensing region, where the first image includes one or more fingerprints. The processing system compares the first image with one or more adjunct templates to determine a similarity score for each of the one or more fingerprints. The processing system further compares at least one of the fingerprints with one or more fingerprints templates to determine a match score, and selectively authenticates the first image based at least in part on the similarity score and the match score.
/SARON MATTHEWOS WORKU/Examiner, Art Unit 2408
/LINGLAN EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2408