DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 11-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Du et al. (US PG Pub 2012/0002395 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Du discloses an optical module (222, FIGS. 3A-3B, [0033]), comprising:
a stepped structure (a support 10 having a stepped surface 13, FIG. 3B, [0033]) that includes a plurality of steps (a top step 13a/a second top step 13b, FIG. 3B, [0033]);
a plurality of laser minibars (20a-20c, FIG. 3A, [0033]);
a plurality of fast axis collimators (FACs) (14, FIG. 3A, [0036]);
a plurality of slow axis collimators (SACs) (30, FIG. 3A, [0037]);
a plurality of gratings (40, FIG. 3A, where 40 may be a diffraction grating, [0037]); and
an output coupler (OC) (see annotated FIG. 3A below), wherein:
each step, of the plurality of steps of the stepped structure, is associated with a particular distance (d1/d2/d3, see annotated FIG. 3A below), in a lateral direction, from the OC that is different than respective distances of other steps of the plurality of steps (d1>d2>d3, see annotated FIG. 3A below),
each laser minibar, of the plurality of laser minibars, is disposed on a particular step (20a is disposed on the top step 13a; 20b is disposed on the second top step 13b; and 20c is disposed on the bottom step surface 13, FIG. 3A), of the plurality of steps, that is different than the other steps of the stepped structure on which other laser minibars are disposed (the top step 13a, the second top step 13b, and the bottom step surface 13 are different, FIG. 3B),
each FAC, of the plurality of FACs, corresponds to a laser minibar, of the plurality of laser minibars, and is disposed between the laser minibar and a SAC (the FACs 14 are disposed between 20a-20c and the SACs 30, FIG. 3A), of the plurality of SACs, that corresponds to the laser minibar (the FACs and the emitters have one-to-one correspondence, FIG. 3A),
each SAC, of the plurality of SACs, corresponds to a laser minibar, of the plurality of laser minibars, and is disposed between a FAC, of the plurality of FACs (the SACs are disposed between the FACs and the gratings, FIG. 3A), that corresponds to the laser minibar and a grating, of the plurality of gratings, that corresponds to the laser minibar (the SACs, the gratings and the emitters have one-to-one correspondence, FIG. 3A), and
each grating, of the plurality of gratings, corresponds to a laser minibar, of the plurality of laser minibars, and is disposed between a SAC, of the plurality of SACs, that corresponds to the laser minibar and the OC (the gratings are disposed between the SACs and the OC corresponding to the emitters, FIG. 3A).
Regarding claim 2, Du discloses each step, of the plurality of steps of the stepped structure, is associated with a particular height that is different than respective heights of the other steps of the plurality of steps (13a/13b have different heights, FIG. 3B).
Regarding claim 6, Du discloses the plurality of laser minibars are configured to emit a plurality of laser beams (33a-33c, FIG. 3A, [0034]); the plurality of gratings are configured to receive the plurality of laser beams via the plurality of FACs and the plurality of SACs (FIG. 3A), to provide spatial beam combination (SBC) of the plurality of laser beams into a plurality of single laser beams (81, FIG. 3A, [0038]), and to direct the plurality of single laser beams to the OC (FIG. 3A); and the OC is configured to receive the plurality of single laser beams from the plurality of gratings, and to direct a portion of the plurality of single laser beams out of the optical module (FIG. 3A).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Du discloses the plurality of gratings are physically arranged, vertically relative to one another, to enable SBC of the plurality of laser beams (FIG. 3A).
Regarding claim 8, Du discloses the OC is configured to reflect another portion of the plurality of single laser beams back to the plurality of laser minibars to cause respective laser emitters of the plurality of laser minibars to be wavelength-locked (the OC may include a Volume Bragg Grating 89 for optionally providing an optical feedback to the emitters 20 for spectral locking, FIG. 6A, [0053]).
Regarding claim 12, Du discloses the plurality of laser minibars are configured as multiple columns (FIG. 3A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. in view of Faybishenko (US PG Pub 2009/0245315 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Du has disclosed the optical module outlined in the rejection to claim 1 above.
Du does not disclose each laser minibar, of the plurality of laser minibars, comprises a plurality of laser emitters.
Faybishenko discloses a similar optical module (110, FIG. 1A, [0018]) comprising a plurality of laser minibars (120.1-120.3, FIG. 1, [0019]), each including a plurality of laser emitters (120 may be replaced with a laser bar having a plurality of laser emitters, [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser minibar of Du with comprising a plurality of laser emitters as taught by Faybishenko in order to obtain desired output power.
The combination does not disclose each laser emitter is a single mode laser emitter.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified each laser emitter in the laser bar of the combination with a single mode laser emitter in order to maximize beam quality.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Du has disclosed the optical module outlined in the rejection to claims 1 and 11 above and further discloses the emitters may be wavelength-locked by a Volume Bragg Grating (89, FIG. 6A, [0053]).
Du does not disclose each laser minibar, of the plurality of laser minibars, comprises a plurality of laser emitters, wherein each laser emitter, of the plurality of laser emitters, is configured to emit a laser beam that is associated with a particular wavelength, which is different than respective wavelengths of laser beams emitted by other laser emitters of the plurality of laser emitters.
Faybishenko discloses a similar optical module (110, FIG. 1A, [0018]) comprising a plurality of laser minibars (120.1-120.3, FIG. 1, [0019]), each including a plurality of laser emitters and different laser emitters emitting different wavelengths (120 may be replaced with a laser bar having a plurality of laser emitters and different emitters generate different wavelengths, [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser minibars of Du with comprising a plurality of laser emitters and emitting different wavelengths as taught by Faybishenko in order to obtain desired output power and wavelength modulation.
Claims 5, 14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MUENDEL et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0344910 A1).
Regarding claims 5, 14 and 18, Du has disclosed the optical module outlined in the rejection to claims 1 and 11 above.
Du further discloses a particular SAC, of the plurality of SACs, has a focal length, and the particular SAC corresponds to a particular laser minibar, of the plurality of laser minibars, and to a particular grating, of the plurality of gratings (FIG. 3A).
Du does not disclose the particular SAC is positioned at a first distance from the particular laser minibar that is equal to the focal length; and the particular SAC is positioned at a second distance from the particular grating that is equal to the focal length.
MUENDEL discloses a first distance (fTL, FIG. 8) between a laser chip (810, FIG. 8) and a SAC (830, FIG. 8) is equal to a focal length of the SAC and a second distance (fTL, FIG. 8) between a grating (840, FIG. 8) and the SAC is also equal to the focal length of the SAC ([0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reposition the SAC of Du so that the distance between the SAC and the laser minibar and the distance between the SAC and the grating equal to the focal length of the SAC as taught by MUENDEL in order to desired collimation effect, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 19, Du discloses the particular laser minibar is configured to emit a plurality of laser beams (33a-33c, FIG. 3A, [0034]); the particular SAC is configured to receive, from the particular laser minibar, the plurality of laser beams, to collimate the plurality of laser beams (FIG. 3A), and to direct the plurality of laser beams to the particular grating (FIG. 3A); and the particular grating is configured to receive, from the particular SAC, the plurality of laser beams, to combine the plurality of laser beams into a single laser beam (81, FIG. 3A, [0038]), and to direct the single laser beam to an output coupler (OC) of the optical module (FIG. 3A).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al.
Regarding claim 9, Du has disclosed the optical module outlined in the rejection to claim 6 above and further discloses the optical module further comprises at least one of a first lens or a second lens (88, FIG. 3A, [0041]), and wherein the OC is configured to direct the portion of the plurality of single laser beams out of the optical module via at least one of the first lens or the second lens (FIG. 3A) except the first lens is a fast axis coupling lens (FCL), and the second lens is a slow axis coupling lens (SCL). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first lens or the second lens of Du with a FCL or a SCL in order to obtain desired output beam characteristics.
Claims 10, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al in view of YU et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0271501 A1).
Regarding claims 10, 16 and 20, Du has disclosed the optical module outlined in the rejection to claims 6, 16 and 19 above except the optical module further comprises a transform lens and a common grating, wherein: the OC is configured to receive the plurality of single laser beams from the plurality of gratings via the transform lens and the common grating, the transform lens is a Fourier transform lens that is configured to converge the plurality of single laser beams on the common grating, and the common grating is configured to direct the plurality of single laser beams as combined single laser beams to the OC. YU discloses the optical module (FIG. 1) further comprises a transform lens (2, FIG. 1, [0070]) and a common grating (3, FIG. 1, [0066]), wherein: the OC (4, FIG. 1) is configured to receive the plurality of single laser beams from the plurality of gratings via the transform lens and the common grating (FIG. 1), the transform lens is a Fourier transform lens that is configured to converge the plurality of single laser beams on the common grating ([0070]), and the common grating is configured to direct the plurality of single laser beams as combined single laser beams to the OC (FIG. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical module of Du with a transform lens and a common grating as taught by YU in order to obtain desired output beam characteristics.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the cited prior art fails to disclose or suggest “the optical module further comprises a pair of lenses, wherein: a first lens, of the pair of lenses, is configured to collimate the combined single laser beams prior to the combined single laser beams propagating to the OC; and a second lens, of the pair of lenses, is configured to collimate the combined single laser beams after a portion of the combined single laser beams propagate from the OC”. In particular, Du fails to disclose or suggest any pair of collimating lenses with one upstream of the OC and the other downstream of the OC configured to collimate the combined signal laser beams. Therefore, claim 17 is allowable over the cited prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chuyanov et al. (US PG Pub 2009/0323752 A1) discloses an optical module similar to the claimed invention (see FIGS. 2-3).
/YUANDA ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828