DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to the Application filed on 06/15/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1 and 11 are independent claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: context subsystem, biosignals subsystem, prompt composer, pre-trained Generative Artificial Intelligence (GenAI) model, and output stage in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitations “context subsystem,” “biosignals subsystem,” “prompt composer,” “pre-trained Generative Artificial Intelligence (GenAI) model,” and “output stage” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No clear association between the structure and the function can be found in the specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10-12, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Mielke et al. (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. No. 2023/0135179, hereinafter Mielke) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. No. 2024/0412029, hereinafter Yang).
As to independent claims 1 and 11, Mielke teaches:
The system comprising (Title and abstract):
a context subsystem configured to receive at least one of background material, sensor data, and other device data as information that is used in part to infer a context for a user (Paragraph 6, "The assistant system may create and store a user profile comprising both personal and contextual information associated with the user");
a biosignals subsystem configured to receive at least one of a physically sensed signal… (Paragraph 41, "the user may interact with the assistant system 140 by providing a user input (e.g., a verbal request for information regarding a current status of nearby vehicle traffic) to the assistant xbot via a microphone of the client system 130." The microphone reads on physically sensed signal from the user);
a prompt composer configured to receive an input from at least one of the context subsystem and the biosignals subsystem to generate a prompt that identifies at least one of a requested output modality and a desired output modality (Paragraph 82, "The render output module 232 may determine how to render the output in a way that is suitable for the client system 130");
a pre-trained Generative Artificial Intelligence (GenAI) model configured to utilize the prompt to generate a multimodal output (Paragraph 41, "The assistant application 136 may then present the responses to the user at the client system 130 via various modalities (e.g., audio, text, image, and video)." Paragraph 41, "(e.g., displaying a text-based push notification and/or image(s) illustrating a local map of nearby vehicle traffic on a display of the client system 130");
an output stage configured to transform the multimodal output into at least one form of user agency, user capability augmentation, and combinations thereof (Paragraph 82, "the response may be rendered as augmented-reality data for enhancing user experience"); and
logic to:
tokenize the at least one of the background material, the sensor data, and the other device data into context tokens suitable to prompt the GenAI model (Paragraph 266, "The assistant system 140 may simply “prompting” an off-the-shelf pre-trained language model with the tokenized example dialogues.");
tokenize the at least one of the physically sensed signal and the neurologically sensed signal into biosignal tokens suitable to prompt the GenAI model (Paragraph 349, "determine what words were spoken by the user");
generate a context prompt from at least one of the context tokens and the biosignal tokens (Paragraph 266, "For example, the prompt may be “share the tourist office location with Andy. Right?”");
prompt the GenAI model with the context prompt and receive the multimodal output from the GenAI model (Paragraph 41, "(e.g., displaying a text-based push notification and/or image(s) illustrating a local map of nearby vehicle traffic on a display of the client system 130"); and
transform the multimodal output into the at least one form of the user agency, the user capability augmentation, and combinations thereof (Paragraph 82, "the response may be rendered as augmented-reality data for enhancing user experience").
Mielke does not appear to expressly teach a neurologically sensed signal from the user.
Yang teaches a neurologically sensed signal from the user (Paragraph 35, "predict the affective states (e.g., emotional sentiments) of the user 210 from cognitive data (e.g., electroencephalogram (EEG) data), physiological data (e.g., heart rate, perspiration rate, body temperature, etc.)". Paragraph 69.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the smart assistant of Mielke to include the AI techniques of Yang to include the crucial part of human communication, i.e., all the contextual information that typically accompanies the verbal communication (see Yang at paragraph 17).
As to dependent claims 2 and 12, Mielke further teaches the context subsystem receives the at least one of the sensor data and the other device data from at least one of a camera and a microphone array (Paragraph 42, "the non-audio user inputs may be specific visual signals detected by a low-power sensor (e.g., camera) of client system 130." Paragraph 62, "e.g., microphone").
As to dependent claims 4 and 14, Yang further teaches the biosignals subsystem receives data from biometric sensors for at least one of electroencephalography (EEG), electrocorticography (ECoG), electrocardiogram (ECG or EKG), electromyography (EMG), electrooculography (EOG), pulse determination, heart rate variability determination, blood sugar sensing, and dermal conductivity determination (Paragraph 35, "predict the affective states (e.g., emotional sentiments) of the user 210 from cognitive data (e.g., electroencephalogram (EEG) data), physiological data (e.g., heart rate, perspiration rate, body temperature, etc.)". Paragraph 69.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the smart assistant of Mielke to include the AI techniques of Yang to include the crucial part of human communication, i.e., all the contextual information that typically accompanies the verbal communication (see Yang at paragraph 17).
As to dependent claims 5 and 15, Mielke further teaches the prompt composer constructs at least one of: a single token; a string of tokens; a series of conditional or unconditional commands suitable to prompt the GenAI model; tokens that identify at least one of the requested output modality and the desired output modality; an embedding to be provided separately to the GenAI model for use in an intermediate layer of the GenAI model; and multiple tokenized sequences at once that constitute a series of conditional commands (Paragraph 266, "For example, the prompt may be “share the tourist office location with Andy. Right?”").
As to dependent claims 6 and 16, Yang further teaches the pre-trained GenAI model is at least one of large language models (LLMs), Generative Pre-trained Transformer (GPT) models, text-to-image creators, visual art creators, and generalist agent models (Paragraph 114, "the generative AI (i.e., the LLM)").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the smart assistant of Mielke to include the AI techniques of Yang to include the crucial part of human communication, i.e., all the contextual information that typically accompanies the verbal communication (see Yang at paragraph 17).
As to dependent claims 7 and 17, Mielke further teaches the output stage is configured to receive an output mode selection signal from the user through biosignals, wherein the output mode selection signal at least one of: instructs the output stage of a choice between the multimodal outputs; and instructs the output stage to direct one or more of alternative multimodal outputs to alternate endpoints (Paragraph 114, "the CU composer 370 may also determine a modality of the generated communication content using the UI payload generator 374").
As to dependent claims 8 and 18, Mielke further teaches the multimodal output is in the form of at least one of text-to-speech utterances, written text, multimodal artifacts, other user agency supportive outputs, and commands to a non-language user agency device (Paragraph 112, "a text-to-speech (TTS) component 390." Paragraph 41, "may then present the responses to the user at the client system 130 via various modalities (e.g., audio, text, image, and video)").
As to dependent claim 10, Mielke further teaches an encoder/parser framework for additionally encoding multimodal output; and logic to: provide control commands to control at least one of: a non-language user agency device; a robot system; and smart AI-powered devices (Paragraph 43, "the client system 130, the rendering device 137, and the companion device 138 may operate as a smart assistant device").
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Mielke in view of Yang and Xiaofan Jia et al. (Jia, Xiaofan, Sadeed Bin Sayed, Nahian Ibn Hasan, Luis J. Gomez, Guang-Bin Huang, and Abdulkadir C. Yucel. "DeeptDCS: Deep Learning-Based Estimation of Currents Induced During Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation." arXiv preprint arXiv:2205.01858 (2022), hereinafter Xiaofan Jia).
As to dependent claims 3 and 13, the respective rejections of claim 1 and 11 are incorporated.
Mielke does not appear to expressly teach the at least one form of the user agency includes neural stimulation to the user with Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS).
Xiaofan Jia teaches the at least one form of the user agency includes neural stimulation to the user with Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS) (Page 2, paragraph spanning left and right column, page 3, right column, paragraph 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the smart assistant of Mielke to include the tDCS techniques of Xiaofan Jia to solve the problem of how to identify an alternative output modality.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Mielke in view of Yang and Coursey et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 11,645,479, hereinafter Coursey).
As to dependent claims 9 and 19, the respective rejections of claim 1 and 11 are incorporated.
Mielke does not appear to expressly teach the output stage including an output adequacy feedback system, including logic to: detect an event related potential (ERP) in response to a multimodal output suggestion; on condition the ERP is detected, performing at least one of: provide feedback to at least one of: the user; and the prompt composer, wherein the prompt composer provides the feedback to the GenAI model; wherein the feedback includes at least one of the ERP and a current context state; record the ERP to the multimodal output suggestion; automatically reject the multimodal output suggestion, generate new prompts with rejection feedback tokens, and send the rejection feedback tokens to the prompt composer; and on condition no ERP is detected: allow the multimodal output suggestion to proceed.
Coursey teaches the output stage including an output adequacy feedback system, including logic to: detect an event related potential (ERP) in response to a multimodal output suggestion; on condition the ERP is detected, performing at least one of: provide feedback to at least one of: the user; and the prompt composer, wherein the prompt composer provides the feedback to the GenAI model; wherein the feedback includes at least one of the ERP and a current context state; record the ERP to the multimodal output suggestion; automatically reject the multimodal output suggestion, generate new prompts with rejection feedback tokens, and send the rejection feedback tokens to the prompt composer; and on condition no ERP is detected: allow the multimodal output suggestion to proceed (Column 14, penultimate paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the smart assistant of Mielke to include the AI techniques of Coursey to provide a more successful virtual agent for language interactions (see Coursey at column 1, lines 40 and 41).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang et al. (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. No. 2024/0242442) teaches a system for supplementing user perception and experience via augmented reality (AR), artificial intelligence (AI), and machine-learning (ML) techniques is described. The system may include a processor and a memory storing instructions. The processor, when executing the instructions, may cause the system to receive data associated with at least one of a location, context, or setting and determine, using at least one artificial intelligence (AI) model and at least one machine learning (ML) model, relationships between objects in the at least one of the location, context, or setting. The processor, when executing the instructions, may then apply an artificial intelligence (AI) agent to analyze the relationships and generate a three-dimensional (3D) mapping of the at least one of the location, context, or setting and provide an output to aid a user's perception and experience.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 U.S.P.Q. 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 U.S.P.Q. 275, 277 (C.C.P.A. 1968)).
/Casey R. Garner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2123