DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/22/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-15, 17-24, 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stauffer et al. (US 2024/0014986 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 2021/0195568 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Stauffer discloses a wireless communication device for wireless communication, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors, the one or more memories comprising instructions executable by the one or more processors individually or collectively to cause the wireless communication device to (Paragraph 0040 discloses device comprises a processor 262 and memory 264, see Fig. 2):
transmit an indication of a probabilistically-shaped constellation being enabled for transmission of one or more messages (Fig. 12, paragraph 0105 discloses base transmits downlink communication to UE, where the downlink communication may include an indication that the data for the UE is at least partially modulated with RBIM. In aspects, the indication is received in the PDCCH of the downlink communication, and the data modulated with RBIM is received in the PDSCH of the downlink communication. The data of the downlink may include a first portion modulated at the PHY layer as constellation signals and a second portion of RBIM data that the base station modulates at the scheduling layer or MAC layer of a wireless link between the UE and the base station);
communicate a grant indicating a set of resources comprising one or more resource blocks for transmission of a message of the one or more messages (Fig. 12, paragraph 0106 discloses At 1210, the UE determines that the downlink includes data modulated with RBIM. For example, the UE may determine that the downlink communication includes the data at least partially modulated with RBIM based on the PDCCH indication received from the base station. At 1215, the UE determines index locations for one or more resource blocks of the downlink communication that include a first portion of data for the UE. Based on scheduling of the resource blocks by the base station, the UE can determine the index locations of the resource blocks that include PHY layer data (e.g., constellation signals) for the UE. At 1225, the UE decodes the first portion of the data from the one or more resource blocks of the downlink communication. For example, the UE can decode the modulation symbols or constellation signals from the resource blocks to obtain the first portion of the data).
Stauffer does not disclose transmit the message over the set of resources in accordance with the probabilistically-shaped constellation based at least in part on a quantity of the one or more resource blocks of the set of resources failing to satisfy a threshold quantity of resource blocks.
In an analogous art, Wang discloses transmit the message over the set of resources in accordance with the probabilistically-shaped constellation based at least in part on a quantity of the one or more resource blocks of the set of resources failing to satisfy a threshold quantity of resource blocks (Paragraph 0164-0165, 0172, 0181, 0183, 0189 disclose the time-frequency resource block corresponding to the second spreading factor N is determined. The quantity M of the available REs in the time-frequency resource block is determined. When M is less than or equal to N, or when the ratio of M to N is less than or equal to the first threshold, the second spreading block may be discarded or the second spreading block may not be sent, and the first spreading factor M is determined based on the quantity of the available REs in the time-frequency resource block. The first spreading block is obtained by using the first spreading factor M. Specifically Fig. 3 also discloses performing the modulation on the selected group of data and mapping the spreading blocks to available resources. Paragraphs 0177-0178 disclose the network device may send configuration information, where the configuration information is used to configure the second spreading factor N. The terminal device may receive the configuration information, and determine the second spreading factor N based on the configuration information and the signaling may include semi-static signaling and dynamic signaling. The semi-static signaling may be RRC signaling, a broadcast message, a system message, or a MAC CE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Wang to the system of Stauffer to provide
a spreading factor of a spreading block is adjusted based on available resource elements REs in a time-frequency resource block, then, the spreading block is generated by using the adjusted spreading factor, and finally, the generated spreading block is mapped to the available resource elements in the time-frequency resource block for sending (Abstract, Wang).
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 comprises substantially similar limitations as disclosed above in claim 1, claimed as a method to perform the above steps.
Regarding claim 11, Stauffer discloses a wireless communication device for wireless communication, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors, the one or more memories comprising instructions executable by the one or more processors individually or collectively to cause the wireless communication device to (Paragraph 0035 discloses device comprises a processor 212 and memory 214, see Fig. 2):
receive an indication of a probabilistically-shaped constellation being enabled for reception of one or more messages (Fig. 12, paragraph 0105 discloses UE receives downlink communication, where the downlink communication may include an indication that the data for the UE is at least partially modulated with RBIM. In aspects, the indication is received in the PDCCH of the downlink communication, and the data modulated with RBIM is received in the PDSCH of the downlink communication. The data of the downlink may include a first portion modulated at the PHY layer as constellation signals and a second portion of RBIM data that the base station modulates at the scheduling layer or MAC layer of a wireless link between the UE and the base station);
communicate a grant indicating a set of resources comprising one or more resource blocks for receiving a message of the one or more messages (Fig. 12, paragraph 0106 discloses At 1210, the UE determines that the downlink includes data modulated with RBIM. For example, the UE may determine that the downlink communication includes the data at least partially modulated with RBIM based on the PDCCH indication received from the base station. At 1215, the UE determines index locations for one or more resource blocks of the downlink communication that include a first portion of data for the UE. Based on scheduling of the resource blocks by the base station, the UE can determine the index locations of the resource blocks that include PHY layer data (e.g., constellation signals) for the UE. At 1225, the UE decodes the first portion of the data from the one or more resource blocks of the downlink communication. For example, the UE can decode the modulation symbols or constellation signals from the resource blocks to obtain the first portion of the data).
Stauffer does not disclose receive the message over the set of resources in accordance with the probabilistically-shaped constellation based at least in part on a quantity of the one or more resource blocks of the set of resources failing to satisfy a threshold quantity of resource blocks.
In an analogous art, Wang discloses receive the message over the set of resources in accordance with the probabilistically-shaped constellation based at least in part on a quantity of the one or more resource blocks of the set of resources failing to satisfy a threshold quantity of resource blocks (Paragraph 0164-0165, 0172, 0181, 0183, 0189 disclose the time-frequency resource block corresponding to the second spreading factor N is determined. The quantity M of the available REs in the time-frequency resource block is determined. When M is less than or equal to N, or when the ratio of M to N is less than or equal to the first threshold, the second spreading block may be discarded or the second spreading block may not be sent, and the first spreading factor M is determined based on the quantity of the available REs in the time-frequency resource block. The first spreading block is obtained by using the first spreading factor M. Specifically Fig. 3 also discloses performing the modulation on the selected group of data and mapping the spreading blocks to available resources. Paragraphs 0177-0178 disclose the network device may send configuration information, where the configuration information is used to configure the second spreading factor N. The terminal device may receive the configuration information, and determine the second spreading factor N based on the configuration information and the signaling may include semi-static signaling and dynamic signaling. The semi-static signaling may be RRC signaling, a broadcast message, a system message, or a MAC CE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Wang to the system of Stauffer to provide
a spreading factor of a spreading block is adjusted based on available resource elements REs in a time-frequency resource block, then, the spreading block is generated by using the adjusted spreading factor, and finally, the generated spreading block is mapped to the available resource elements in the time-frequency resource block for sending (Abstract, Wang).
Regarding claim 26, claim 26 comprises substantially similar limitations as disclosed above in claim 11, claimed as a method to perform the above steps.
Regarding claims 2 and 23, Stauffer discloses transmit a second indication of the probabilistically-shaped constellation, wherein transmitting the message in accordance with the probabilistically-shaped constellation is based at least in part on transmitting the second indication (Paragraph 0137 discloses transmitting a second indication to the second UE that the respective index locations of the one or more second resource blocks are used to indicate the second portion of the other data).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Stauffer discloses wherein the second indication comprises an index corresponding to the probabilistically-shaped constellation (Paragraph 0057 discloses When the UE 110 receives the downlink communication with the four-bit data message, the first bit [0] 512 can be decoded by a PHY-layer decoder of the UE 110, and the three bits modulated with RBIM [101] 510 can be decoded based on the RB index location (RB5) of the signal constellation of the first bit to provide the data [0101] sent by the base station. In aspects, the base station 120 or RB index modulator may assign multiple UEs 110 to an RBIM region, enabling the base station 120 to convey additional information with RBIM to at least some of the multiple UEs 110 via the RBIM region of air interface resources. In this example, the RB index location value is appended to the decoded data value, but in other implementations the RB index location value can be prepended to the decoded data value).
Regarding claims 4 and 24, Stauffer discloses receive a capability message indicating a capability to decode the probabilistically-shaped constellation, wherein transmitting the message in accordance with the probabilistically-shaped constellation is based at least in part on receiving the capability (Paragraph 0073 discloses FIG. 7, the base station may receive RBIM capability information from the UEs and send each of the UEs an RBIM configured to use for implementing RBIM operations. In some cases, the base station implements the operations of 730 by communicating one or more RRC messages with the UEs to establish the RBIM configurations (e.g., RBIM region and RBIM table settings for a UE). As shown in FIG. 8, the base station 121 establishes RBIM configurations for the UE 111, UE 112, and UE 113).
Regarding claims 15 and 29, Stauffer discloses transmit a capability message indicating a capability to decode the probabilistically-shaped constellation, wherein receiving the message in accordance with the probabilistically-shaped constellation and decoding the message is based at least in part on transmitting the capability message (Paragraph 0073 discloses FIG. 7, the base station may receive RBIM capability information from the UEs and send each of the UEs an RBIM configured to use for implementing RBIM operations. In some cases, the base station implements the operations of 730 by communicating one or more RRC messages with the UEs to establish the RBIM configurations (e.g., RBIM region and RBIM table settings for a UE). As shown in FIG. 8, the base station 121 establishes RBIM configurations for the UE 111, UE 112, and UE 113).
Regarding claims 12 and 27, Stauffer discloses receive a second indication of the probabilistically-shaped constellation, wherein receiving the message in accordance with the probabilistically-shaped constellation is based at least in part on receiving the second indication (Paragraphs 0137-0138 discloses UE receives second indication that the respective index locations of the one or more second resource blocks are used to indicate the second portion of the other data.).
Regarding claims 14 and 28, Stauffer discloses wherein decode the message in accordance with the probabilistically-shaped constellation based at least in part on receiving the indication and the message. (Paragraph 0067 discloses the base station determines an RBIM configuration for the UE. The RBIM configuration of the UE may include assignment to an RBIM group of UEs, an RBIM region to which the UE is assigned, an RBIM codebook or RBIM table to use for decoding RBIM-enabled communications, or the like).
Regarding claim 6, Stauffer discloses wherein the wireless communication device comprises a user equipment (UE), wherein communicating the grant comprises receiving the grant indicating the set of resources, and wherein transmitting the message comprises transmitting an uplink message over the set of resources based at least in part on receiving the grant (Fig. 12, paragraph 0106 discloses At 1210, the UE determines that the downlink includes data modulated with RBIM. For example, the UE may determine that the downlink communication includes the data at least partially modulated with RBIM based on the PDCCH indication received from the base station. At 1215, the UE determines index locations for one or more resource blocks of the downlink communication that include a first portion of data for the UE. Based on scheduling of the resource blocks by the base station, the UE can determine the index locations of the resource blocks that include PHY layer data (e.g., constellation signals) for the UE. At 1225, the UE decodes the first portion of the data from the one or more resource blocks of the downlink communication. For example, the UE can decode the modulation symbols or constellation signals from the resource blocks to obtain the first portion of the data).
Regarding claim 7, Stauffer discloses wherein the wireless communication device comprises a network entity, wherein communicating the grant comprises transmitting the grant indicating the set of resources, and wherein transmitting the message comprises transmitting a downlink message over the set of resources based at least in part on transmitting the grant (Fig. 12, paragraph 0106 discloses At 1210, the UE determines that the downlink includes data modulated with RBIM. For example, the UE may determine that the downlink communication includes the data at least partially modulated with RBIM based on the PDCCH indication received from the base station. At 1215, the UE determines index locations for one or more resource blocks of the downlink communication that include a first portion of data for the UE. Based on scheduling of the resource blocks by the base station, the UE can determine the index locations of the resource blocks that include PHY layer data (e.g., constellation signals) for the UE. At 1225, the UE decodes the first portion of the data from the one or more resource blocks of the downlink communication. For example, the UE can decode the modulation symbols or constellation signals from the resource blocks to obtain the first portion of the data).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Stauffer discloses wherein the indication comprises a flag in a downlink control information message, in an uplink control information message, or in a medium access control control element message (Paragraph 0066 discloses the UE and base station communicate indications of the UE's RBIM capability information and/or UE configuration information via respective RRC messages).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Stauffer discloses wherein the indication comprises a flag in a radio resource control message (Paragraph 0066 discloses the UE and base station communicate indications of the UE's RBIM capability information and/or UE configuration information via respective RRC messages).
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Stauffer discloses wherein the message comprises a control information message (Paragraph 0028 discloses the base stations 120 communicate with the UE 110 using a wireless link 130, which may be implemented as any suitable type of wireless link. The wireless link 130 includes control-plane information and/or user-plane data, for example, downlink of user-plane data and control-plane information communicated from the base stations 120 to the UE 110, uplink of other user-plane data and control-plane information communicated from the UE 110 to the base station 120, or both).
Regarding claim 17, Stauffer discloses wherein the wireless communication device comprises a user equipment (UE), wherein communicating the grant comprises receiving the grant indicating the set of resources, and wherein receiving the message comprises receiving a downlink message over the set of resources based at least in part on receiving the grant (Fig. 12, paragraph 0106 discloses At 1210, the UE determines that the downlink includes data modulated with RBIM. For example, the UE may determine that the downlink communication includes the data at least partially modulated with RBIM based on the PDCCH indication received from the base station. At 1215, the UE determines index locations for one or more resource blocks of the downlink communication that include a first portion of data for the UE. Based on scheduling of the resource blocks by the base station, the UE can determine the index locations of the resource blocks that include PHY layer data (e.g., constellation signals) for the UE. At 1225, the UE decodes the first portion of the data from the one or more resource blocks of the downlink communication. For example, the UE can decode the modulation symbols or constellation signals from the resource blocks to obtain the first portion of the data).
Regarding claim 18, Stauffer discloses wherein the wireless communication device comprises a network entity, wherein communicating the grant comprises transmitting the grant indicating the set of resources, and wherein receiving the message comprises receiving an uplink message over the set of resources based at least in part on transmitting the grant (Fig. 12, paragraph 0106 discloses At 1210, the UE determines that the downlink includes data modulated with RBIM. For example, the UE may determine that the downlink communication includes the data at least partially modulated with RBIM based on the PDCCH indication received from the base station. At 1215, the UE determines index locations for one or more resource blocks of the downlink communication that include a first portion of data for the UE. Based on scheduling of the resource blocks by the base station, the UE can determine the index locations of the resource blocks that include PHY layer data (e.g., constellation signals) for the UE. At 1225, the UE decodes the first portion of the data from the one or more resource blocks of the downlink communication. For example, the UE can decode the modulation symbols or constellation signals from the resource blocks to obtain the first portion of the data).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 16, 25 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US 2025/0055643 A1) discloses The method includes: receiving first data; sending second data through a plurality of antenna ports, where the second data is obtained by performing, by a network device, distribution matching, forward error correction encoding, and modulation on the first data based on a bit mapping relationship; and sending indication information to a terminal device, where the indication information is used by the terminal device to determine the bit mapping relationship, and the bit mapping relationship is used by the terminal device to perform distribution dematching on the second data to obtain an estimated value of the first data (Abstract).
/ROMANI OHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413