DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a processing optical unit” in claim 8 and “a beam shaping optical unit” in claim 9, wherein the generic place holder “optical unit” is preceded by functional limitations “a processing” and “a beam shaping” without sufficiently reciting what the “optical unit” structurally entails. Further, “a feed device” in claim 8 and “an axis device” in claim 10, wherein the generic place holder “device” is preceded by functional limitations without sufficiently reciting what the “device” structurally entails.
Structural support for “a processing optical unit” can be found in ¶ 0089 of the specification and is described as an optical imaging system comprising one or more lens or an optically imaging free-form surface. Thus, “a processing optical unit” is interpreted to mean any lens system or assembly for guiding a laser beam from a laser source onto a surface and equivalent thereof for the purpose of this examination.
Structural support for “a beam shaping optical unit” can be found in ¶ 0159 of the specification and is described as an axicon for shaping the incident laser beam. Thus, “a beam shaping optical unit” is interpreted to mean any axicon for shaping the incident laser beam and equivalent thereof for the purpose of this examination.
Structural support for “feed device” can be found in ¶ 0090, 0100, 0118 and 0160 – 0166 of the specification, wherein the “feed device” is described as a table or a workpiece holder, a robot or a spatially resolving encoder that can relatively move the laser beam and the workpiece in different axis rotationally or translationally. Thus, “feed device” is interpreted to mean any table, workpiece holder, robot or encoder that relatively move or rotate move the laser beam and the workpiece in different axis and equivalent thereof for the purpose of this examination.
Structural support for “axis device” can be found in ¶ 0100 - 0104 of the specification, wherein the “axis device” is described as a robotic arm or rotational shaft that guides the relative movement of the laser beam and the workpiece in different axis. Thus, “axis device is interpreted to be any robotic arm or shaft that guides the relative movement of the laser beam and the workpiece along axes and equivalent thereof for the purpose of this examination.
Further, claims 1 – 6, 8 – 11 and 15 – 16 all have limitations connected by “and/or” and the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claims is considered to be any one or more of the limitations from the list connected by “and/or” as discussed in ¶ 0173 of the specification. The examiner notes that in the rejection of the claims herein, if a limitation from a list connected by “and/or” is not mapped to a prior art then it is considered optional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, this claim starts by reciting the limitation “The device according to claim 3…" wherein claim 3 is a method claim dependent from independent method claim 1 and it is not clear what “device claim” is referred to herein, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 9, 11 – 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivanov et al. (US 2020/0361037 A1) and hereinafter “Ivanov”
Regarding claim 1, Ivanov discloses a method for separating a workpiece having a transparent material (a method of laser separating a transparent workpiece 160, 460, (0043, 0051 – 0052, 0133 and see annotated FIGS. 9A and 9B) the method comprising:
providing ultrashort laser pulses using an ultrashort pulse laser (providing an ultra-short pulses from laser beam source 110, (0117 and see FIG.1C)),
introducing material modifications into the transparent material of the workpiece along a separation line (introducing crack propagations 172, 472a, 472b for separation along a separation line of the transparent workpiece 160, 460, (0114, 0133 and see FIGS. 1A, 1B, annotated 9A and 9B)), and
separating the material of the workpiece along the separation line (separating the transparent workpiece 164, 460 along by directing the laser beam focal line 113 along a separation line 113, (0133 and see FIGS. 1C, annotated 9A and 9B)), wherein the laser pulses form a laser beam that is incident onto the workpiece at a work angle (the first and second cracks 472a, 472b are formed by directing the laser beam focal line 113, at an angle, from the impingement surfaces 462, 464 to the edge surface 466 , (0133 and see FIGS.9A and 9B)), the material modifications are Type III modifications associated with a formation of cracks in the material of the workpiece (the material modifications forms the first and second cracks (defects) 472a, 472b in the transparent workpiece 460, (0133, see annotated FIG.9A and 9B)*Note here- “Type III modification” is interpreted to mean formation of cracks along a separation line in the transparent workpiece as discussed in the specification ¶ 0088, 0125, 0133), the material modifications penetrate two sides of the workpiece that are located in intersecting planes (the formed cracks 472a, 472b penetrate the upper and lower surfaces 462, 464 and edge surface 466 that are located in intersecting planes, (0133 and please see annotated FIGS.9A and 9B)) separating the material of the workpiece produces a chamfer and/or a bevel (separating the cracks 472a, 472b from the transparent material 460 produces a separated article 460′ having beveled edge 468, as depicted in FIG. 9B, (0133)).
Ivanov does not explicitly say a length of a hypotenuse of the chamfer and/or bevel is between 50µm and 5000µm.
However, Ivanov also teaches that the transparent workpiece may have a depth (e.g., thickness) ranging from 50 µm to 10,000µm, (0053 and please see annotated FIG.9A) and the crack angle (θd) can be chosen to be any angle greater than 10 degrees, (0130 and please see annotated FIG.9B). Thus, choosing the crack angle to be 30 degrees, the lower triangle opposite side to be 200 µm and applying basic trigonometry (sin 30o = 200 µm /hypotenuse, would yield the hypotenuse to be 100 µm, which is in the range between 50µm and 5000µm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the hypotenuse of the chamfer and/or bevel to be between 50µm and 5000µm, as Ivanov teaches a thickness of the transparent workpiece that suggests the hypotenuse to be within the claimed range of 50µm and 5000µm and “in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists”, see MPEP 2144.05. In this case, the thickness of the transparent workpiece taught by Ivanov suggests the hypotenuse of beveled edge to be in the claimed range, rendering the claimed hypotenuse range obvious.
Regarding claim 2, Ivanov teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein separating the material of the workpiece comprises a mechanical separation, and/or an etching procedure, and/or an application of heat, and/or a self-separation (separating the material from the transparent workpiece also includes a subsequent step of separating by mechanical force or thermal stress induced force or a chemical etching to propagate the crack along a contour, (0127)).
Regarding claim 3, Ivanov teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein
the laser beam is a non-diffractive laser beam (the laser beams used are “quasi-non-diffracting beam”, example, Gauss-Bessel beams, Airy beams, Weber beams, and Bessel beams, (0056 – 0057)), and/or
the laser beam has a non-radially symmetric transverse intensity distribution (laser beams of oblong angular spectrum or non-radially symmetric transverse intensity are used, (0090 – 0092 and see FIG.3A)), with the transverse intensity distribution appearing elongate in a direction of a first axis in comparison with a second axis perpendicular to the first axis (the transverse intensity is elongate along the focal line axis where maximum intensity of the laser beam is extending, (0049)).
Regarding claim 4, Ivanov teaches the device according to claim 3, wherein
a projection of the non-radially symmetric transverse intensity distribution onto the workpiece appears to have a same size along the first axis and along the second axis as a result of the work angle (the oblong angular spectrum laser beam is refracted at the transparent workpiece surface to form a circular or almost circular spectrum inside the transparent workpiece 160, (0092 and see FIG.3A), thus, the oblong angular beam (FIG.3A) appears to have the same size along the first and second axis (circular) due to the refractive angle), and/or
the projection of the non-radially symmetric transverse intensity distribution onto the workpiece is elongated in a feed direction (the transverse intensity is elongate along the focal line axis where maximum intensity of the laser beam is extending, (0049)), and/or
a ratio of the first axis to the second axis of the non-radially symmetric transverse intensity distribution is greater than a reciprocal of cosine of the work angle, and/or the ratio of the first axis to the second axis is greater than 2.
Regarding claim 5, Ivanov teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the length of the hypotenuse of the chamfer and/or bevel is between 100 µm and 200 µm (the transparent workpiece may have a depth (e.g., thickness) ranging from 50 µm to 10,000µm, (0053 and please see annotated FIG.9A) and the crack angle (θd) can be chosen to be any angle greater than 10 degrees, (0130 and please see annotated FIG.9B). Thus, choosing the crack angle to be 30 degrees, the lower triangle opposite side to be 200 µm and applying basic trigonometry (sin 30o = 200 µm /hypotenuse, would yield the hypotenuse to be 100 µm, which is in the range between 100 µm and 200 µm).
Regarding claim 6, Ivanov teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein:
a pulse energy of the laser pulses is between 10µJ and 5mJ (the pulse energy of the laser pulse can be from 25 μJ to 600 μJ, depending on the specific composition of the transparent workpiec3, (0123)) and/or
a mean laser power is between 1W and 1kW (average laser power can be from 10 W to about 1000 W, (0128)) and/or
the laser pulses are individual laser pulses or part of a laser burst (the laser pulses can be pulsing bursts having sub-pulses, (0119)); a laser burst comprising
2 to 20 laser pulses (a laser burst can have 2 or more sub-laser pulses, (0119)), and the laser pulses of the laser burst having a temporal spacing of 10ns to 40ns (the sub-pulses within the pulse burst may be separated by a duration that is in a range from about 1 ns to about 50 ns, (0120)), and/or
a wavelength of the laser is between 300nm and 1500nm (suitable wavelengths may include from 215 nm – 1064nm, (0084 and 0115)).
Regarding claim 7, Ivanov teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the laser beam is polarized parallel to a plane of incidence (the laser beams can be S-polarized or P-polarized wherein in P-polarization is the laser beam is polarized parallel to a plane of incidence, (0104)).
Regarding claim 8, Ivanov discloses a device for separating a workpiece comprising a transparent material (an optical assembly 100 for separating a transparent workpiece 160, please see FIGS.2A and 2B), the device comprising:
an ultrashort pulse laser configured to provide ultrashort laser pulses (laser beam source 110 configured to provide ultrashort laser pulses (0117, see FIGS.2A and 2B)),
a processing optical unit (lens assembly 130, see FIGS. 2A and 2B) configured to introduce the laser pulses into the material of the workpiece (the lens assembly 130 is configured to introduce laser beam 112 comprising laser pulses into the material of the transparent workpiece 160, (084 – 0086 and see FIGS. 2A and 2B)), and
a feed device (one or more translation stages 190, see FIGS. 2A and 2B) configured to move the laser beam formed by the laser pulses and the workpiece relative to one another with a feed along a separation line (the one or more translation stages 190 configured to translate the laser beam focal line 113 relative to the transparent workpiece 160, the plurality of crack lines 172 may be formed in the transparent workpiece 160,(0114, see FIGS.2A and 2B)), and to orient an optical axis of the processing optical unit at a work angle relative to a surface of the workpiece, wherein the laser pulses are introduced into the workpiece at the work angle (wherein each of the plurality of crack lines (defects) 172 are oriented at a crack line ( defect) angle θd (e.g. greater than 10°) of the transparent workpiece 160, (0114, and see FIGS. 1A - 2B)), material modifications are introduced in the material of the workpiece by the laser pulses, the material modifications are Type III modifications associated with a formation of cracks in the material of the workpiece(the material modifications forms the first and second cracks (defects) 472a, 472b in the transparent workpiece 460, (0133, see annotated FIG.9A and 9B)), the material modifications penetrate two sides of the workpiece that are located in intersecting planes (the formed cracks 472a, 472b penetrate the upper and lower surfaces 462, 464 and edge surface 466 that are located in intersecting planes, (0133 and please see annotated FIGS.9A and 9B)), a separation step separating the material of the workpiece produces a chamfer and/or a bevel(separating the cracks 472a, 472b from the transparent material 460 produces a separated article 460′ having beveled edge 468, as depicted in FIG. 9B, (0133)).
Ivanov does not explicitly say a length of a hypotenuse of the chamfer and/or bevel is between 50µm and 5000µm.
However, Ivanov also teaches that the transparent workpiece may have a depth (e.g., thickness) ranging from 50 µm to 10,000µm, (0053 and please see annotated FIG.9A) and the crack angle (θd) can be chosen to be any angle greater than 10 degrees, (0130 and please see annotated FIG.9B). Thus, choosing the crack angle to be 30 degrees, the lower triangle opposite side to be 200 µm and applying basic trigonometry (sin 30o = 200 µm /hypotenuse, would yield the hypotenuse to be 100 µm, which is in the range between 50µm and 5000µm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the hypotenuse of the chamfer and/or bevel to be between 50µm and 5000µm, as Ivanov teaches a thickness of the transparent workpiece that suggests the hypotenuse to be within the claimed range of 50µm and 5000µm and “in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists”, see MPEP 2144.05. In this case, the thickness of the transparent workpiece taught by Ivanov suggests the hypotenuse of beveled edge to be in the claimed range, rendering the claimed hypotenuse range obvious.
Regarding claim 9, Ivanov teaches the device according to claim 8, further comprising a beam shaping optical unit configured to shape the laser beam into a non-diffractive laser beam (axicon 124 configured to transform the laser beam into diffractive beam, (0095)), with a transverse intensity distribution of the non-diffractive laser beam being non-radially symmetric(a transverse intensity distribution of the non-diffractive laser beam being oblong angular spectrum or non-radially symmetric, (0090 – 0092 and see FIG.3A)), with the non-radially symmetric transverse intensity distribution being elongate in a direction of a first axis in comparison with a second axis perpendicular to the first axis(the transverse intensity is elongate along the focal line axis where maximum intensity of the laser beam is extending, (0049)).
Regarding claim 11, Ivanov teaches the device according to claim 8, wherein:
the work angle of the processing optical unit is between 0 and 60° (the crack angle (θd) can be chosen to be any angle greater than 10 degrees, (0130 and please see annotated FIG.9B), and/or
component laser rays of the laser beam are incident on the workpiece at an angle of incidence of no more than 80° with respect to a surface normal of the workpiece.
Regarding claim 12, Ivanov teaches the device according to claim 8, further comprising a polarization optical unit (optical element 120, see FIG.2A), the polarization optical unit comprising a polarizer and a waveplate, and configured to adjust a polarization of the laser beam relative to a plane of incidence of the laser beam (the optical element 102 is a plate comprising, additional optical component, such as a polarizer configured to S-polarize or P-polarize the laser beam 112, (0104 and see FIG.2A)),
Regarding claim 13, Ivanov teaches the device according to claim 12, wherein the polarization optical unit is configured to adjust the polarization parallel to the plane of incidence of the laser beam (the laser beams can be S-polarized or P-polarized, wherein in P-polarization is the laser beam is polarized parallel to a plane of incidence, (0104)).
Regarding claim 15, Ivanov teaches the device according claim 8, further comprising:
a beam guiding device configured to guide the laser beam to the workpiece, the beam guiding device comprising a mirror system and/or an optical fiber (a beam guiding elements 122 communicatively connected to a controller to guide the laser via optical fiber, (0093 and FIG.2A)), and/or
control electronics configured to trigger a laser pulse emission of the ultrashort pulse laser based on relative positions of the laser beam and the workpiece (controller 121 configured to control the laser pulses impinging the transparent workpiece 160, (0093 – 0094, 0107, and 0112)).
Claim(s) 10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivanov in view of Lee et al. (KR 100800565 B1, cited in the IDS filed on 08/14/2025)
Regarding claim 10, Ivanov teaches the device according to claim 8, wherein:
the processing optical unit comprises a telescope system configured to introduce the laser beam with a reduced and/or increased size into the workpiece (the lens assembly 130 comprises multiple lenses, prisms and collimating space to control the size of the laser beam, (0084 – 0086, see FIGS.2A and 2B)), and/or
the feed device comprises and a workpiece holder that are configured to move the processing optical unit and the workpiece relative to one another (the translation stage 190 is a workpiece holder coupled to the transparent workpiece 160 configured to translate the laser beam relative to the transparent workpiece 160, (0108, 0114, see FIGS.2A and 2B)).
Ivanov does not explicitly teach that the translation stage 190 (feed device) comprises an axis device that is configured to move along three spatial axes in translational fashion and about at least two spatial axes in rotational fashion.
However, Lee that relates a high-speed fiber laser cutting, (page 7), also teaches an axis device (a robotic optical fiber holder arm 100, see FIGS.5 and 6) that is configured to move along three spatial axes in translational fashion and about at least two spatial axes in rotational fashion (the robotic optical fiber holder arm 100 is configured to move with 5-axis translation and rotational freedom, (pages 8, 17 – 18 and see FIGS. 5 and 6)).
This laser robotic arm has the advantage for providing multiple axis movement freedom for high speed fiber laser processing while protecting the optical fiber from damaged due to excessive rotation and impact (pages 12 – 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ivanov’s translational stage to include an axis device (a robotic optical fiber holder arm 100) that is configured to move with 5-axis translation and rotational freedom in order to provide multiple axis movement freedom for high speed fiber laser processing while protecting the optical fiber from damaged due to excessive rotation and impact as taught in Lee.
Regarding claim 14, Ivanov in view of Lee teach the device according to claim 10, wherein the axis device is adjusted for aligning a long axis of the non-radially symmetric transverse intensity distribution along a feed direction (the robotic optical fiber holder arm 100 is adjustable to align along multiple axes of laser application the laser processing head, Lee (page 19 and see FIG.6)).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivanov in view of Lee in further view of Almer et al. (US 20220258285 A1, foreign priority Nov. 5, 2019) and hereinafter “Almer”.
Regarding claim 16, Ivanov in view of Lee teaches the device according to claim 10.
Ivanov in view of Lee do not teach the workpiece holder (the translation stage 190) has a surface that does not reflect and/or scatter the laser beam.
However, Almer that relates to a laser cutting method and device for cutting planar glass material (0002 – 0003), also teaches that the carrier plate 4 for holding the glass plate 2 to be cut must have of a diffusing layer 5 that is composed polytetrafluoroethylene material that diffuses laser beam emerging from the glass plate 2 and to prevent interference with the laser cutting process, (0045 – 0046, 0054 and see FIG.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the workpiece holder of claim 10 taught by Ivanov in view of Lee to be a surface of non-reflective and/or non-scattering material of a laser beam in order to prevent interference with the laser cutting process as taught in Almer.
Conclusion
/DILNESSA B BELAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761