DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119 or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. In particular, the Application claims a foreign priority to a Taiwanese Application filed on 14 Feb 2023. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements, submitted on 16 Jun 2023 and 9 Apr 2024, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claims 8 and 11, the Reply alleges Homchaudhuri fails to anticipate the claimed invention because it “does not teach of suggest that the AP itself searches for better center frequencies having reduced interference.” Reply, 7 (emphasis omitted). The Reply seems to allege that the claim limitation, “finding a second frequency band that meets a specified quality requirement from a plurality of frequency bands specified by the wireless network communication protocol” requires an AP to search for low interference frequencies. Id. at 7-8. The Examiner contends the claimed invention does not require an AP to “search” for a second frequency band. Instead, the method taught by Homchaudhuri continues to anticipate the claimed invention based on the broadest, reasonable interpretation of “find[ing] a . . . frequency band.”
In Homchaudhuri, a STA provides an AP with a vector that includes a number of low interference center frequencies or channels. Homchaudhuri, ¶77. The AP then uses the information provided in the vector “to determine whether a channel change is needed and which channel to use in case a change is to take place.” Ibid. (emphasis added). In other words, the UE provides candidates and the AP selects one of them if a change is need. The AP is still the device that is making the ultimate decision on which channel or frequency to switch to. Id. at 75 (“by allowing the wireless terminals to send a message . . . to the AP, the AP may use information in that message to make a determination of whether to switch channels to better handle interference issues faced by the wireless stations.”). The fact that the UE of Homchaudhuri provides candidate channels (i.e. frequencies) to the AP does not preclude the AP from “find[ing] a second frequency band” to change to because the AP makes the ultimate decision on which channel to change to.
Regarding claim 1, the Reply contends the combination of Jia ‘468 and Sharma fails to teach the same claim concept as Homchaudhuri. Reply, 10-11. Claim 1 is now rejected using Homchaudhuri, rendering the arguments directed to the combination of Jia ’48 and Sharma moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Homchaudhuri (US 20150065157).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Homchaudhuri teaches method and a terminal device comprising a communication circuit and processor for dynamically switching frequency bands, which is adaptable for a terminal device and comprises:
monitoring a first connection quality of the terminal device on a first frequency band (Homchaudhuri, ¶¶69, 93 – terminal detects interference on an open Wi-Fi band), wherein the terminal device exchanges data with a network device on the first frequency band based on a wireless network communication protocol (Homchaudhuri, ¶¶5, 82 – AP exchanges Wi-Fi data with STA on “existing” or “current” channel as shown in figure 5);
in response to determining that the first connection quality of the first frequency band does not meet a specified quality requirement (Homchaudhuri, ¶78 – when the interference amount is greater than a threshold, the terminal transmits a CSA IE), requesting the network device to find a second frequency band that meets the specified quality requirement from a plurality of frequency bands specified by the wireless network communication protocol (Homchaudhuri, ¶75 – wireless terminal sends CSA IE to AP for a channel switch; Homchaudhuri, ¶88 – a channel switch is a change or switch from one frequency to another; Homchaudhuri, ¶77 – STA informs AP of Wi-Fi center frequencies [i.e. “second” channels] where the level of interference is low [i.e. meets a quality requirement] and the AP selects one); and
in response to determining that the second frequency band that meets the specified quality requirement has been found, re-establishing a connection with the network device on the second frequency band. Homchaudhuri, ¶78 (when the interference is greater than a threshold, the AP proceeds with a channel switch to one of the channels with low interference); Homchaudhuri, ¶82 (a subset as small as 1 STA may switch to using the new channel).
Regarding claim 8 and 11, Homchaudhuri teaches a method and network device, comprising a communication circuit and a processor, for dynamically switching frequency bands, which is adaptable for a network device and comprises:
exchanging data with a terminal device on a first frequency band based on a wireless network communication protocol (Homchaudhuri, ¶¶5, 82 – AP exchanges Wi-Fi data with STA on “existing” or “current” channel as shown in figure 5);
in response to a request of the terminal device (Homchaudhuri, ¶75 – wireless terminal sends CSA IE to AP), finding a second frequency band that meets a specified quality requirement from a plurality of frequency bands specified by the wireless network communication protocol (Homchaudhuri, ¶78 – when the interference amount is greater than a threshold, the AP proceeds with a channel switch; Homchaudhuri, ¶88 – a channel switch is a change or switch from one frequency to another; Homchaudhuri, ¶77 – STA informs AP of Wi-Fi center frequencies [i.e. “second” channels] where the level of interference is low [i.e. meets a quality requirement]); and
in response to determining that the second frequency band that meets the specified quality requirement has been found, re-establishing a connection with the terminal device on the second frequency band. Homchaudhuri, ¶78 (when the interference is greater than a threshold, the AP proceeds with a channel switch to one of the channels with low interference); Homchaudhuri, ¶82 (a subset as small as 1 STA may switch to using the new channel).
Regarding claim 9, Homchaudhuri also teaches in response to determining that the second frequency band that meets the specified quality requirement has been found, disconnecting a connection between a terminal device and the network device on the first frequency band. Homchaudhuri, ¶147-148 (by switching to the new channel, the previous channel is no longer used [i.e. disconnected]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Homchaudhuri (US 20150065157) in view of Jia ‘468 (US 20140269468).
Regarding claim 5, Homchaudhuri teaches the method of claim 1 and an AP proceeding with switching to a channel with low interference (Homchaudhuri, ¶78), but does not explicitly teach “in response to determining that a network device has found the second frequency band that meets the specified quality requirement, disconnecting a connection between the terminal device and the network device on the first frequency band.” However, Jia ‘468 teaches an AP suspending a connection between itself and an STA. Jia’468, figure 5 (first “Suspend” message disconnects the 2.4 GHz connection between STA and AP); Jia ‘468, ¶¶3, 39 – examples of performance characteristics that are monitored. At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to suspend the use of the first frequency band, as taught by Jia ‘468, after connecting to a new channel with lower interference, as taught by Homchaudhuri, in order to free up resources on the first frequency channel for other devices in the network.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Homchaudhuri (US 20150065157) in view of Van Doorselaer (US 20130322286).
Regarding claim 2, Homchaudhuri teaches the method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach “sending a ping command to a network device on the first frequency band; and in response to determining that a transmission time corresponding to the ping command exceeds a first time threshold, determining that the first connection quality of the first frequency band does not meet the specified quality requirement.” However, Van Doorselaer describes the prior art as determining the end-to-end performance of an access point by sending ICMP ping messages. Van Doorselaer, ¶11. Van Doorselaer measure the round trip time of ping packet to create an IP ping matrix. Van Doorselaer, ¶27. And then uses threshold values to assign a level of performance to the IP ping matrix. Id. at ¶36. As a result of this performance testing, Van Doorselaer may suggest using another frequency band. Id. at ¶42. At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use RTT determined using ping packets, as taught by Van Doorselaer, to determine when to change to a new channel, as taught by Homchaudhuri, in order to ensure a reference round trip time is provide to all devices. Id. at ¶27.
Regarding claim 3, Homchaudhuri teaches the method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach “transmitting a specific data with a specified size to a network device; in response to determining that a transmission time for transmitting the specific data exceeds a second time threshold, determining that the first connection quality of the first frequency band does not meet the specified quality requirement.” As discussed in the rejection of claim 2, Van Doorselaer teaches the use of RTT, detected using ping message, to characterize link performance. Infra. Van Doorselaer also teaches the RTT being define for each packet size. Van Doorselaer, ¶27. In the example shown in figure 1, Van Doorselaer uses packet size of 500 bytes as the “specified size.” Id. at figure 1 (see horizontal axis). At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use RTT determined using packets of fixed sizes, as taught by Van Doorselaer, to determine when to change to the new channel, as taught by Homchaudhuri, in order to ensure a reference round trip time is provide to all devices. Id. at ¶27.
Claims 4, 6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Homchaudhuri (US 20150065157) in view of Jia ‘501 (US 20220053501).
Regarding claim 4, Homchaudhuri teaches the method according claim 1 and an AP using RSSI to determine an interference value and comparing the interference value to a threshold. Homchaudhuri, ¶49 (RSSI) and ¶78 (interference comparison). Homchaudhuri does not explicitly teach in response to determining that a received signal strength indication (RSSI) corresponding to the first frequency band is lower than a signal strength threshold, determining that the first connection quality of the first frequency band does not meet the specified quality requirement.
However, Jia ‘501 teaches an access point comparing the metrics of a first and second frequency band (Jia ‘501, ¶6) and if the signal strength of the current band is lower than a threshold, a band switch is initiated. Id. at ¶¶3, 54. At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to change channels, as taught by Homchaudhuri, when signal strength of a current band is below a threshold, as taught by Jia ‘501, in order to provide better performance to the user terminal. Id. at ¶45.
Regarding claim 6, Homchaudhuri teaches the method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach “in response to determining that a network device does not find the second frequency band that meets the specified quality requirement, maintaining a connection between the terminal device and the network device on the first frequency band.” However, Jia ‘501 teaches an access point comparing the metrics of a first and second frequency band (Jia ‘501, ¶6) and if the first metric associated with the first frequency band is better than the second metric associated with the second frequency band, the terminal remains with the first band. Id. at ¶¶44-46. At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the existing channel, as taught by Homchaudhuri, when it has a quality metric better than a potential new channel, as taught by Jia ‘501, in order to provide better performance to the user terminal. Id. at ¶45.
Regarding claim 10, Homchaudhuri teaches the method according to claim 8, but does not explicitly teach “in response to determining that the second frequency band that meets the specified quality requirement is not found, maintaining a connection between a terminal device and the network device on the first frequency band.” However, Jia ‘501 teaches an access point comparing the metrics of a first and second frequency band (Jia ‘501, ¶6) and if the first metric associated with the first frequency band is better than the second metric associated with the second frequency band, the terminal remains with the first band. Id. at ¶¶44-46. At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the existing channel, as taught by Homchaudhuri, when it has a quality metric better than a potential new channel, as taught by Jia ‘501, in order to provide better performance to the user terminal. Id. at ¶45.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benjamin Lamont/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461