FINAL REJECTION
Claims 1-25 are presented for examination. Claims 24-25 are withdrawn from consideration.
2. The text of those applicable section of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paik et al (Paik), IEEE “Adaptive Cooling of Integrated Circuits Using Digital Microfluidics”1 in view of Liu et al. (Liu), US publication no. 2004/0112568 A1.
As per claim 1, Paik teaches a method of microfluid cooling for a non-uniform
Heatmap [section III "Adaptive hot-spot cooling concept and design", pages 434-437, figures 1-7], the method comprising:
identifying a plurality of zones of a microelectronic device; obtaining a local temperature measurement for one or more zones of the plurality of zones of the microelectronic device [sub section “A Requirements for Adaptive Hot-Spot Cooling”, page 434; “Feedback Control Mechanisms”, page 437]; and
applying a voltage to a microfluid in at least a portion of the one or more zones based on the obtained local temperature measurement [sub-section "Electrowetting based actuation of droplets", “Droplet Transport”, pages 435-436].
Paik does not explicitly disclose a microelectronic device comprising a coolant channel; while a microfluid is flowing through the coolant channel; applying a voltage to a segment of the coolant channel; wherein the applying increases a flow rate of the microfluid while the microfluid is flowing through the segment.
Liu discloses a microelectronic device comprising a coolant channel [15, figure 1]; while a microfluid is flowing through the coolant channel; applying a voltage to a segment of the coolant channel [para 21; wherein the applying increases a flow rate of the microfluid while the microfluid is flowing through the segment [para 21, 23].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention to combine the teachings of Paik and Liu because they both disclose a heat transfer device, the specify teachings of Liu stated above would have further enhanced the performance and functionality of Paik system to obtain predictable results to control a flow rate of fluid.
Paik teaches:
Page 434
3) System should be able to detect the changing thermal profile of the IC. To appropriately respond to increased heat densities or hot spots on an IC, the system requires a method to monitor these changes. Several methods to detect these changing thermal profiles are discussed toward the end of this section.
4) System should be able to adapt itself in response to a changing thermal profile. Once a change in the thermal profile has been detected, a response to the cooling device should be invoked in order to address this change. This requires the system to have a cooling mechanism that is reconfigurable such that improved cooling rates are
applied where they are needed (e.g., hot spots on the chip).
Page 435
Electrowetting-Based Actuation of Droplets: In electrowetting-based actuation of droplets, electrical fields are used to induce surface tension gradients. This method takes advantage of the electrowetting effect, in which the surface energy can be directly modified by the application of an electric field. The electric field results in a decrease in the contact angle, causing the droplet to spread or effectively wet the surface. If we divide the bottom electrode into discrete electrodes, as shown in Fig. 2,
we can induce motion in the droplet to any adjacent electrode simply by applying voltages to that electrode. A custom electronic controller was made to independently address and provide high voltages to each electrode. A custom-written program was used to easily toggle each electrode in an automated and programmatic manner. This fundamental method of actuation is the basis on which the three basic microfluidic operations for adaptive cooling are built.
Page 437
Feedback Control Mechanisms: Feedback of an IC' s thermal profile is crucial to the success of any adaptive cooling platform, as it provides a mechanism for which on-the-fly reconfigurability of droplet flow can work. There are two primary mechanisms for droplet flow control, each offering their own tradeoffs in terms of flexibility, sensing, and computational overhead. The first is thermal sensor feedback, where an array of temperature sensors maps the thermal profile of an IC for feedback to the droplet actuation system. Droplet generation rates, flow paths, and flow rates can be dynamically adjusted based on the thermal profile on the chip. This completely regulated approach offers the maximum flexibility as it dynamically adjust flow rates based on sensor readings, but it requires overhead for sensing, computation, and electronic control.
Liu teaches:
[0023] When a heat generator (such as a central processing unit of computer) produces heat taken away by a cooling fluid 5, the heated cooling fluid 5 flows through the conductive surface 10a, 10b into the plurality of micro channels 15a, 15b. According to size of the micro channels 15a, 15b, location of the heat exchanger 1, type of the fluid 5, velocity and temperature, the micro channels 15a, 15b have different
mass flow rates of fluids as shown in FIGS. 7A, 7B and 7C, and the sensor unit 17 installed in each of the micro channels 15a, 15b measures and converts a mass flow rate of fluid depending on fluid physical properties (such as fluid flow, temperature, pressure, etc.) to an electric signal, whereby an external power source provides positive voltage to the electrode 16 corresponding to the electric signal in a manner
that, an electrode in a micro channel having a relatively larger mass flow rate of fluid produces greater turbulence, and an electrode in a micro channel having a relatively
smaller mass flow rate of fluid produces less turbulence, so as to minimize a boundary layer of a heat-transmission surface by turbulence and to increase fluid mixing and
improve heat transfer performance. Furthermore, with greater turbulence being produced in a micro channel having a relatively larger mass flow rate of fluid, air bubbles or voids are easily formed in the flow field and may lead to increase in resistance of the flow field in the micro channel, making the external fluid 5 not easily enter into the micro channel, which thereby facilitates uniform fluid flows in different micro channels. In exemplification of a conventional diagram of mass flow rates shown in FIG. 7A, turbulence produced from the electrodes 16 increases resistance of central channels 35a, making relatively more fluids enter into side channels 35b in which mass flow rates of fluids are enhanced for facilitating uniform fluid flows in different channels as shown in FIG. 3. Similarly, for example of conventional diagrams of mass flow rates shown in FIGS. 7B and 7C, turbulence from electrodes can also facilitate uniform fluid flows in different channels as shown in FIG. 3, thereby effectively improving heat dissipating efficiency and heat transfer performance of the micro heat exchanger.
As per claim 2, Paik teaches the applying of the voltage alters intermolecular cohesion in the microfluid sub-section "Electrowetting based actuation of droplets", “Droplet Transport”, pages 435-436].
As per claim 3, Paik teaches the applying of the voltage induces a super diffusivity of the microfluid [sub-section "Electrowetting based actuation of droplets", “Droplet Transport”, pages 435-436;].
As per claim 4, Paik teaches the applying of the voltage alters an intermolecular dimensionality of the microfluid [sub-section "Electrowetting based actuation of droplets", “Droplet Transport”, pages 435-436; “IC Level Integration”, page 437].
As per claim 5, Paik teaches the micro fluid is water, wherein the applying of the voltage disrupts intermolecular hydrogen bonding in the water, and wherein a dimensionality prevalence of the water differs between the one or more
zones and at least one other zone [sub-section "Electrowetting based actuation of droplets", “Droplet Transport”, pages 435-436; “IC Level Integration”, page 437].
As per claim 6, Paik teaches the one or more zones include a plurality of electrodes for the applying of the voltage [sub-section "Electrowetting based actuation of droplets", “Droplet Transport”, pages 435-436; “IC Level Integration”, page 437].
As per claim 7, Paik teaches the one or more zones include a plurality of electrodes oppositely disposed in pairs across a coolant channel for the applying of the voltage [sub-section "Electrowetting based actuation of droplets", “Droplet Transport”, pages 435-436; “Droplet Formation/Dispensing”, page 436; figure 4].
As per claim 8, Paik teaches of generating the non-uniform heatmap from the local obtained temperature measurement for the plurality of zones, and wherein the applying of the voltage is different for at least two zones of the plurality of zones
based on the non-uniform heatmap [sub-section “A Requirements for Adaptive Hot-Spot Cooling”, page 434; "Electrowetting based actuation of droplets", “Droplet Transport”, pages 435-436; “Feedback Control Mechanisms”, Page 437].
As to claims 9-15, directed to a computer-readable storage medium storing the instructions to perform the method of steps executed by the system as set forth in claims 1-7. Therefore, it is rejected on the same basis as set forth hereinabove.
As to claims 16-21 are contained the same limitations as claims 9-15. Therefore, same rejection is applied.
As per claim 22, Paik teaches a method of microfluid cooling for a non-uniform
heatmap, the method comprising: disposing electrodes on protruding contacts of a microelectronic device at least partially defining a coolant channel for a microfluid [subsection “C Design and Fabrication of Flow-Through Prototypes”, Page 438];
obtaining a plurality of local temperature measurements from temperature sensors disposed in different zones of the microelectronic device adjacent to corresponding
segments of the coolant channel for the micro fluid; and applying a voltage to the micro fluid in the coolant channel using the disposed electrodes based on the obtained
local temperature measurement [sub-section “A Requirements for Adaptive Hot-Spot Cooling”, page 434; "Electrowetting based actuation of droplets", “Droplet Transport”, pages 435-436; "Electrowetting based actuation of droplets", “Droplet Transport”, pages 435-436].
Paik does not explicitly disclose a microelectronic device comprising a coolant channel; while a microfluid is flowing through the coolant channel; applying a voltage to a segment of the coolant channel; wherein the applying increases a flow rate of the microfluid while the microfluid is flowing through the segment.
Liu discloses a microelectronic device comprising a coolant channel [15, figure 1]; while a microfluid is flowing through the coolant channel; applying a voltage to a segment of the coolant channel [para 21; wherein the applying increases a flow rate of the microfluid while the microfluid is flowing through the segment [para 21, 23].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention to combine the teachings of Paik and Liu because they both disclose a heat transfer device, the specify teachings of Liu stated above would have further enhanced the performance and functionality of Paik system to obtain predictable results to control a flow rate of fluid.
As per claim 23, Paik teaches the protruding contacts of the microelectronic device are heat sources [subsection “C Design and Fabrication of Flow-Through Prototypes”, Page 438].
5. Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. MPEP 2141.02 VI: “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS."
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 3/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
7. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
See detailed rejection indicated above.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUN CAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 Paik is cited by applicant.