DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Tsals et al (U.S. Pat. 8,556,861A1, hereinafter “Tsals”).
Regarding claim 1, Tsals discloses a medicament delivery device (see Fig. 1) apparatus comprising:
a needle 55 (see Fig. 4) with a sharp distalmost tip 58 (see Fig. 4);
a needle hub 63 (see Fig. 4) connected to a proximal end of the needle; and
an adaptor 103 (see Fig. 1) surrounding a portion of the needle and extending along a longitudinal axis of the needle, wherein the adaptor includes a cylindrical portion (roughly corresponding to adapter body 101), a distal surface 116 (see Fig. 1), and an outwardly facing contact surface 104 (see Fig. 1), wherein the contact surface defines a planar surface angled relative to the longitudinal axis of the needle (see Fig. 1 showing the contact surface 104 being planar and angled relative to surface 105, the latter of which is aligned with the longitudinal axis of the needle, as disclosed in col. 5, line 52 to col. 6, line 13);
wherein the sharp distalmost tip is configured to move from a retracted position in which the sharp distalmost tip is within the adaptor (see Fig. 4) to a deployed position in which the sharp distalmost tip protrudes beyond the contact surface (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 2, Tsals discloses a user-actuated mechanism configured to selectively move the sharp distalmost tip between the retracted position and the deployed position (an axial force is applied to syringe barrel 59 causing a latch 113 to deflect when acted upon by the distal end 60 of barrel 59; this mechanism permits the barrel 59 moves forward after the latch 113 is deflected; see col. 7, lines 5-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-9, 12-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsals in view of McLoughlin et al (U.S. Pat. 9,867,941 B2, hereinafter “McLoughlin”).
Regarding claim 3, Tsals discloses the apparatus of claim 2, but does not appear to disclose a biasing member configured to urge the sharp distalmost tip toward the retracted position.
McLoughlin discloses a medicament delivery device apparatus comprising:
a needle 14 (disclosed as a hollow needle on pg. 3, line 4 and shown in Fig. 24H) with a sharp distalmost tip (disclosed as a needle tip on pg. 3, line 4);
a needle hub (where the needle connects to a standard syringe; see Fig. 24H) connected to a proximal end of the needle; and
an adaptor (e.g., 398; see Fig. 26) surrounding a portion of the needle and extending along a longitudinal axis of the needle, wherein the adaptor includes a cylindrical portion (see annotated Fig. 28, below), a distal surface (see annotated Fig. 28, below), and an outwardly facing contact surface (see annotated Fig. 28, below);
wherein the sharp distalmost tip is configured to move from a retracted position in which the sharp distalmost tip is within the adaptor (see Fig. 24E; before use, the needle is retracted behind the bottom of the adaptor so that the adaptor can be placed onto the skin) to a deployed position in which the sharp distalmost tip protrudes beyond the contact surface (see Fig. 24F; when sufficient user skin contact is detected, the injection proceeds by automatic insertion of the needle into the skin; this needle movement proceeds through the aperture 398a of the adaptor and thus beyond the contact surface illustrated in annotated Fig. 28);
and a biasing member configured to urge the sharp distalmost tip toward the retracted position (see col. 55, lines 40-50; the biasing member could be, for example, the worm drive 82b that moves rearwardly to retract the sharp distalmost tip from the skin; see also col. 19, lines 45-50 disclosing a light return spring to retract the needle back into its housing).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the invention of Tsals to incorporate a biasing member configured to urge the sharp distalmost tip toward the retracted position, as taught in McLoughlin, in order to more easily and/or automatically retract the needle back into the adaptor after use, thus improving patient safety, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 4-6, Tsals discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but does not appear to disclose one or more sensors; and a microprocessor configured to receive signals from the one or more sensors and, based on the signals, cause the sharp distalmost tip to move from the retracted position to the deployed position. Further, specifically regarding claims 5 and 6, Tsals does not disclose that, the one or more sensors include a capacitance sensor positioned on the adaptor; and the one or more sensors include a pressure sensor positioned on the adaptor.
McLoughlin discloses that its device comprises: one or more sensors (such as capacitive skin sensor electrodes 3100a-h; see Fig. 29); and a microprocessor 3230 (see Fig. 34A) configured to receive signals from the one or more sensors and, based on the signals, cause the sharp distalmost tip to move from the retracted position to the deployed position (see col. 57, lines 40-45 and col. 58, line 40 to col. 59, lines 32-47, describing how the sensors register that the adaptor has been placed into proper contact with the user’s skin and then automatically insert the needle when the sufficient user skin contact is detected). Further, regarding claim 5, McLoughlin discloses that the one or more sensors include a capacitance sensor positioned on the adaptor (see col. 57, lines 59-61). Further, regarding claim 6, McLoughlin discloses that the one or more sensors include a pressure sensor positioned on the adaptor (the capacitive sensors disclosed in McLoughlin are a type of pressure sensor, in which changes in capacitance are detected as pressure deforms a diaphragm between two flexible plates).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the invention of Tsals to incorporate the sensors as taught above by McLoughlin, in order to prevent the insertion of the needle until skin contact is detected (see McLoughlin at col. 59, lines 47-59), and in doing so, ensure safety and hygiene by only permitting the needle to protrude from the adapter when commencing expulsion of the liquid drug formulation (see McLoughlin at col. 19, lines 16-30).
Regarding claim 7, Tsals discloses a medicament delivery device (see Fig. 1) apparatus comprising:
a needle 55 (see Fig. 4) with a sharp distalmost tip 58 (see Fig. 4);
a needle hub 63 (see Fig. 4) connected to a proximal end of the needle; and
an adaptor 103 (see Fig. 1) surrounding a portion of the needle and extending along a longitudinal axis of the needle, wherein the adaptor includes a cylindrical portion (roughly corresponding to adapter body 101), a distal surface 116 (see Fig. 1), and an outwardly facing contact surface 104 (see Fig. 1);
wherein the sharp distalmost tip is configured to move from a retracted position in which the sharp distalmost tip is within the adaptor (see Fig. 4) to a deployed position in which the sharp distalmost tip protrudes from the adaptor.
It is noted that Tsals does not appear to disclose one or more sensors; and
a microprocessor configured to: receive a signal from the one or more sensors indicative of contact with a sclera of an eye; and cause, in response to the signal, the sharp distalmost tip to move from a retracted position in which the sharp distalmost tip is within the adaptor to a deployed position in which the sharp distalmost tip protrudes beyond the contact surface.
Further, as per claims 8, 9 and 12, Tsals does not appear to disclose the one or more sensors include a capacitance sensor positioned on the adaptor, or the one or more sensors include a plurality of pressure sensors positioned on the adaptor, or the one or more sensors include a level configured to determine an angular position of the needle and the adaptor.
McLoughlin discloses that its device comprises one or more sensors (such as capacitive skin sensor electrodes 3100a-h; see Fig. 29); and
a microprocessor 3230 (see Fig. 34A) configured to receive a signal from the one or more sensors indicative of contact with a sclera of an eye (see col. 57, lines 40-45 and col. 58, line 40 to col. 59, lines 32-47, describing how the sensors register that the adaptor has been placed into proper contact with the user’s skin), and configured to cause, in response to the signal, the sharp distalmost tip to move from a retracted position in which the sharp distalmost tip is within the adaptor to a deployed position in which the sharp distalmost tip protrudes beyond the contact surface (see col. 3, lines 4-8; col. 54, lines 49-58).
Regarding claim 8, McLoughlin also discloses that the one or more sensors include a capacitance sensor positioned on the adaptor (see col. 57, lines 59-61).
Regarding claim 9, McLoughlin also discloses that the one or more sensors include a plurality of pressure sensors positioned on the adaptor (the capacitive sensors disclosed in McLoughlin are a type of pressure sensor, in which changes in capacitance are detected as pressure deforms a diaphragm between two flexible plates).
Regarding claim 12, McLoughlin also discloses that the one or more sensors include a level configured to determine an angular position of the needle and the adaptor (see col. 60, lines 4-32, disclosing a tilt event detection to determine the level of tilt of the adaptor and needle relative to the skin surface).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the invention of Tsals to incorporate the sensors and microprocessor as taught by McLoughlin, in order to prevent the insertion of the needle until surface contact is detected (see McLoughlin at col. 59, lines 47-59), and in doing so, ensure safety and hygiene by only permitting the needle to protrude from the adapter when commencing expulsion of the liquid drug formulation (see McLoughlin at col. 19, lines 16-30).
Regarding claim 13, Tsals discloses a mechanism configured to move the sharp distalmost tip from a retracted position in which the sharp distalmost tip is positioned within the adaptor to a deployed position (an axial force is applied to syringe barrel 59 causing a latch 113 to deflect when acted upon by the distal end 60 of barrel 59; this mechanism permits the barrel 59 moves forward after the latch 113 is deflected; see col. 7, lines 5-9), but does not appear to disclose that the microprocessor is further configured to cause, in response to determining the position of the sharp distalmost tip or adaptor, the mechanism to move the sharp distalmost tip from the retracted position to the deployed position.
McLoughlin discloses that its microprocessor is further configured to cause, in response to determining the position of the sharp distalmost tip or adaptor, the mechanism to move the sharp distalmost tip from the retracted position to the deployed position (see Fig. 24F; when sufficient user skin contact is detected, the injection proceeds by automatic insertion of the needle into the skin; this needle movement proceeds through the aperture 398a of the adaptor).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the invention of Tsals to incorporate the sensors and microprocessor as taught by McLoughlin, in order to prevent the insertion of the needle until surface contact is detected (see McLoughlin at col. 59, lines 47-59), and in doing so, ensure safety and hygiene by only permitting the needle to protrude from the adapter when commencing expulsion of the liquid drug formulation (see McLoughlin at col. 19, lines 16-30).
Regarding claim 14, it is noted that Tsals does not appear to disclose the determination and causation steps as recited.
McLoughlin discloses that its microprocessor is further configured to:
determine, based on the signals from the one or more sensors, that the sharp distalmost tip or adaptor has been moved out of contact with the human organ (see col. 59, lines 60-63, disclosing determining a “lift-off event”);
and cause, in response to determining that the sharp distalmost tip or adaptor has been moved out of contact with the human organ, the mechanism to move the sharp distalmost tip from the deployed position to the retracted position (see col. 59, lines 63-65, disclosing that the emergency stop procedure is initiated to stop drug delivery, and the needle is withdrawn from the user’s skin; this withdrawal is understood to refer to withdrawing the needle and accompanying syringe back into the drive unit).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the invention of Tsals to incorporate the sensors and microprocessor as taught by McLoughlin, in order to prevent the insertion of the needle until surface contact is detected (see McLoughlin at col. 59, lines 47-59), and in doing so, ensure safety and hygiene by only permitting the needle to protrude from the adapter when commencing expulsion of the liquid drug formulation (see McLoughlin at col. 19, lines 16-30).
Regarding claim 15, Tsals does not appear to disclose the one or more sensors as recited, and the microprocessor further configured to determine that angular position of the needle is a predetermined angular position.
McLoughlin discloses that the one or more sensors includes a sensor configured to detect an angular position of the needle relative to a tangent of the human organ (see col. 60, lines 4-32, disclosing a tilt event detection to determine the level of tilt of the adaptor and needle relative to the skin surface);
wherein the microprocessor is further configured to determine that the angular position of the needle is a predetermined angular position (see col. 60, lines 4-15, disclosing that the tilt events may correspond to predetermined “acceptable/small tilt” or “unacceptable/gross tilt” events).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the invention of Tsals to incorporate the sensors and microprocessor as taught by McLoughlin, in order to prevent the insertion of the needle until surface contact is detected (see McLoughlin at col. 59, lines 47-59), and in doing so, ensure safety and hygiene by only permitting the needle to protrude from the adapter when commencing expulsion of the liquid drug formulation (see McLoughlin at col. 19, lines 16-30).
Regarding claim 16, Tsals discloses:
a mechanism configured to move the sharp distalmost tip from a retracted position in which the sharp distalmost tip is positioned within the adaptor to a deployed position (an axial force is applied to syringe barrel 59 causing a latch 113 to deflect when acted upon by the distal end 60 of barrel 59; this mechanism permits the barrel 59 moves forward after the latch 113 is deflected; see col. 7, lines 5-9), but does not appear to disclose:
wherein the microprocessor is further configured to cause, in response to determining that the angular position of the needle is a predetermined angular position, the mechanism to move the sharp distalmost tip from the retracted position to the deployed position.
McLoughlin discloses that its microprocessor is further configured to cause, in response to determining that the angular position of the needle is a predetermined angular position, the mechanism to move the sharp distalmost tip from the retracted position to the deployed position (see col. 59, line 61 to col. 60, line 3; detecting that the needle is in an unacceptable/gross tilt event causes the needle to be retracted, and then when the apparatus is repositioned so that the sensors sense an acceptable tilt event, the needle can then be deployed again).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the invention of Tsals to incorporate the sensors and microprocessor as taught by McLoughlin, in order to prevent the insertion of the needle until surface contact is detected (see McLoughlin at col. 59, lines 47-59), and in doing so, ensure safety and hygiene by only permitting the needle to protrude from the adapter when commencing expulsion of the liquid drug formulation (see McLoughlin at col. 19, lines 16-30).
Regarding claim 17, Tsals does not appear to disclose a microprocessor further configured to cause, in response to determining that the angular position of the needle is a predetermined angular position, one or more visual, audible, or tactile indications to be emitted.
McLoughlin discloses that its processor is further configured to cause, in response to determining that the angular position of the needle is a predetermined angular position, one or more visual, audible, or tactile indications to be emitted (see col. 59, lines 65-67, disclosing a message appearing on a display to alert the user to reposition the device).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the invention of Tsals to incorporate the sensors and microprocessor as taught by McLoughlin, in order to prevent the insertion of the needle until surface contact is detected (see McLoughlin at col. 59, lines 47-59), and in doing so, ensure safety and hygiene by only permitting the needle to protrude from the adapter when commencing expulsion of the liquid drug formulation (see McLoughlin at col. 19, lines 16-30).
Regarding claim 20, Tsals discloses a kit (see Fig. 1) comprising:
a needle 55 (see Fig. 4) with a sharp distalmost tip 58 (see Fig. 4);
a container 50 (see Fig. 3) enclosing a drug within a barrel 59 (see Fig. 3);
an adaptor 103 (see Fig. 1) configured to be coupled to the needle and extending along a longitudinal axis of the needle, wherein the adaptor includes a cylindrical portion (roughly corresponding to adapter body 101), a distal surface 116 (see Fig. 1), and an outwardly facing contact surface 104 (see Fig. 1), wherein the contact surface defines a planar surface angled relative to the longitudinal axis of the needle (see Fig. 1 showing the contact surface 104 being planar and angled relative to surface 105, the latter of which is aligned with the longitudinal axis of the needle, as disclosed in col. 5, line 52 to col. 6, line 13);
wherein the adapter is coupled to the needle, the sharp distalmost tip is configured to move from a retracted position in which the sharp distalmost tip is within the adaptor (see Fig. 4) to a deployed position in which the sharp distalmost tip protrudes beyond the contact surface (see Fig. 5).
It is noted that Tsals does not appear to disclose that the container encloses an ophthalmic drug.
However, Tsals discloses that its device is useful to work with a variety of small dose medicaments (see col. 1, lines 15-45) and where it may be difficult and require experience for a professional to place properly (see col. 1, lines 44-54).
McLoughlin also discloses a device is useful to work with a variety of small dose medicaments where it may be difficult and require experience for a professional to place properly, and where the medicament is an ophthalmic drug (see col. 64, line 2, disclosing epinephrine).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the medicament to be epinephrine, with a reasonable expectation of success in permitting the injection of this drug at a small dose and in a sensitive area of the body requiring professional experience. Further, making this modification amounts to merely choosing the drug to be delivered by the apparatus based on a desired outcome that does not require extraordinary creativity.
Claims 10, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsals in view of McLoughlin, further in view of Hubbard (WO 98/22021, hereinafter “Hubbard”).
Regarding claim 10, it is noted that Tsals, in view of McLoughlin, does not appear to disclose that the apparatus comprises a microneedle; wherein the needle and the microneedle are electrically connected via a low voltage circuit.
Hubbard discloses a medicament delivery device, comprising an injection needle 22 with an uninsulated portion 26 at its distal tip that functions as an electrode (see pg. 12, lines 15-17) and a microneedle 38 (see pg. 12, lines 18-20; the microneedle 38 is in the form of a standalone muscle electrode, which is known to be small) that also functions as an electrode, and the two electrodes are electrically connected via a low voltage circuit in the form of an EMG analyzer (see pg. 9, line 15 and pg. 10, line 10 disclosing the microvolt level of voltage within the circuit).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the device of Tsals, in view of McLoughlin, to incorporate a microneedle, such that the microneedle and the needle are electrically connected via a low voltage circuit, as taught in Hubbard, in order to determine trigger point EMG activity for the injection site; this feature would be useful for enabling a user to deliver medication locally at the trigger point to block trigger point activity and reduce or eliminate muscle pain (see Hubbard at Abstract), with a reasonable expectation of success.
Further, as per claim 18, it is noted that Tsals, in view of McLoughlin, does not appear to disclose that the microprocessor is configured to determine that a current of the low voltage circuit exceeds a predetermined current; and cause, in response to determining that the current of the low voltage circuit exceeds the predetermined current, one or more visual, audible, or tactile indications to be emitted.
Hubbard further discloses providing a visual or audible indication when the current from the low voltage circuit exceeds a predetermined current (see pg. 10, lines 12-20, disclosing that above-threshold activity is signaled by a steady high-pitched sound from a speaker).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the device of Tsals, in view of McLoughlin, to provide a visual or audible indication when the current from the low voltage circuit exceeds a predetermined current, in order to inform a clinician that a patient should relax the muscles in order to accurately determine the location of a trigger point (see Hubbard at pg. 19, lines 12-20), with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 19, Tsals, in view of McLoughlin, does not appear to disclose:
a first electrode positioned adjacent the sharp distalmost tip and a second electrode (see individual sensor electrodes 3100a-h in Fig. 29 and/or electrodes 1 through 7 in Fig. 37A);
wherein the microprocessor is further configured to:
determine, based on a conductivity between the first electrode and second electrode, a position of the sharp distalmost tip; and cause, in response to determining position of the sharp distalmost tip, one or more visual, audible, or tactile indications to be emitted.
Hubbard discloses a medicament delivery device, comprising an injection needle 22 with an uninsulated portion 26 at its distal tip that functions as an electrode (see pg. 12, lines 15-17) and another electrode 38 (see pg. 12, lines 18-20, disclosing a standalone muscle electrode); and
wherein a microprocessor is further configured to determine, based on a conductivity between the first electrode and second electrode, a position of the sharp distalmost tip; and cause, in response to determining position of the sharp distalmost tip, one or more visual, audible, or tactile indications to be emitted (see pg. 18, lines 2-6’ the two electrodes are electrically connected to an EMG analyzer, which uses a processor to determine the conductivity between the two electrodes and issues an alert when the difference between the activity at the trigger point exceeds activity in the adjacent tissue where the needle is located).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the device of Tsals, in view of McLoughlin, to provide a first electrode positioned adjacent the sharp distalmost tip and a second electrode, and to configure the microprocessor to determine, based on a conductivity between the first electrode and second electrode, a position of the sharp distalmost tip; and cause, in response to determining position of the sharp distalmost tip, one or more visual, audible, or tactile indications to be emitted, as taught in Hubbard, in order to determine trigger point EMG activity for the injection site; this feature would be useful for enabling a user to deliver medication locally at the trigger point to block trigger point activity and reduce or eliminate muscle pain (see Hubbard at Abstract), with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited.
/SCOTT J MEDWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 10/22/2026