DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
2. The preliminary amendment filed 21 March 2024, in which claims 1-91 were cancelled and new claims 92-111 were added is acknowledged and entered.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The Information Disclosure Statements filed 21 June 2024 and 22 October 2025 are acknowledged and have been considered.
Specification
4. The use of trade names or marks used in commerce (including but not necessarily limited to Cy3 and Cy5), has been noted in this application. Any trade names or marks should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Interpretation
5. Claims 92-111 are drawn to a “system.” The specification recites a “system” wherein the “system” is defined in terms of structural limitations. In addition, the claims recite structural limitations of the “system.” Thus, the “system” is interpreted to encompass any collection of reagents and parts used together that are not necessarily part of a completely integrated single unitary device. Any further interpretation of the word is considered an “intended use” and does not impart any further structural limitation on the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 92-93, 102-103, 106-107, and 110-111 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kain et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2014/0274747 A1, published 18 September 2014).
Regarding claims 92-93 Kain et al. teach system (paragraph 0002) comprising an array of features, in the form of an array of pads on a substrates surface, wherein each pad has a different subset of nucleic acids with different sequences, and an optical detector, in the form of a pixel array (paragraph 0012), wherein each pixel has 3 or more pads (paragraph 0042); thus, the area of at least three features (i.e., pads) are in an area less than the optical resolution (i.e., each pixel).
Regarding claim 102, the system of claim 92 is discussed above. Kain et al. teach the probes are nuclei acid probes (paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 103, the system of claim 92 is discussed above. Kain et al. teach a third feature comprising a third plurality of probes (paragraph 0042), wherein the probes are different nucleic acid sequences (paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 106, the system of claim 92 is discussed above. Kain et al. teach each pad has the capture probes immobilized (i.e.. attached) therein (paragraph 0026).
Regarding claim 107, the system of claim 106 is discussed above. Kain et al. teach the nucleic acids ae attached to beads immobilized (i.e., held) on the pads (paragraph 0112).
Regarding claim 110, the system of claim 92 is discussed above. Kain et al. teach the detector (i.e., pixel array) is a CMOS sensor (paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 111, the system of claim 92 is discussed above. Kain et al. teach the signals from two features are integrated into a single resolution element; i.e., the signals from two features are detected and displayed in one pixel (paragraph 0042; see also Figure 5C).
9. Claims 94-99, 104-105, and 108-109 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kain et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2014/0274747 A1, published 18 September 2014) as applied to claims 92 and 103 above, and further in combination with Penn et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2002/0081590 A1, published 27 June 2002).
Regarding claims 94-99, 104-105, and 108-109, the system of claim 92 is discussed above in Section 8.
Kain et al. also teach the systems have the added advantage of reducing the required optics hardware (paragraph 0022). Thus, Kain et al. teach the known techniques discussed above.
While Kain et al. teach the probes are different nucleic acid sequences (i.e., claims 95-96; paragraph 0058) and that each feature (i.e., pad) is individually addressable (i.e., claim 105; paragraph 0074), Kain et al. do not explicitly teach the different features target different subject-specific feature (i.e., claim 94).
However, Penn et al. teach systems (paragraph 0327) comprising microarrays, wherein the microarrays comprise spots of discrete probes derived from a subject, in the form the human genome (i.e., claim 94) and each representing a single exon (Examples 1-2). Thus, each spot represents a different feature (i.e., exon) of the human genome (i.e., claim 94).
It is noted that paragraph 0032 defines a “subject” as encompassing “a representation of a kinds of specific source of genetic materials.” Thus, the spots representing the human genome are a “subject,” and the claim has been given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the teachings of the specification regarding a “subject” (In re Hyatt, 211 F.3d1367, 1372, 54 USPQ2d 1664, 1667 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (see MPEP 2111).
Penn et al. also the immobilized probes include any of the following:
Sequences from cell types (i.e., claim 97; paragraph 0285):
Sequences of E. coli genes, which are indicative of both an organism type and species (i.e., claims 98-99; paragraph 0136);
Sequences from humans, which are indicative of a species (i.e. claim 99; paragraph 0075);
Sequences complementary to a gene, in the form of genome-derived exons (i.e., claim 108; paragraph 0355); or
Non-coding regions (i.e., claim 109; paragraph 0162).
In addition, Penn et al. teach the arrays comprise more than two human exon probe spots (i.e., from a first subject), and control spots of E. coli genes, which are the claimed third spot from a second subject (i.e., claim 104; paragraph 0277). Penn et al. also teach the spots are spatially addressable (i.e., claim 105; claim 55 of Penn et al.), and that the systems have the added advantage of confirming expression of genes (Abstract) Thus, Penn et al. teach the known techniques discussed above.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of the cited prior art to arrive at the instantly claimed systems with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make the combination because said combination would have resulted in systems having the added advantages of reducing the required optics hardware as explicitly taught by Kain et al. (paragraph 0022) and confirming the expression of genes as explicitly taught by Penn et al. (Abstract). In addition, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan that the known techniques of the cited prior art could have been combined with predictable results because the known techniques of the cited prior art predictably result in systems useful for assaying nucleic acids.
10. Claims 94-101, 104-105, and 108 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kain et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2014/0274747 A1, published 18 September 2014) as applied to claims 92 and 103 above, and further in view of combination with Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2004/0038233 A1, published 26 February 2004).
It is noted that while claims 94-100, 104-105, and 108 have been rejected as described above, the claims are also obvious using the interpretation outlined below.
Regarding claims 94-100, 104-105, and 108, the system of claim 92 is discussed above in Section 8.
Kain et al. also teach the systems have the added advantage of reducing the required optics hardware (paragraph 0022). Thus, Kain et al. teach the known techniques discussed above.
While Kain et al. teach the probes are different nucleic acid sequences (i.e., claims 95-96; paragraph 0058) and that each feature (i.e., pad) is individually addressable (i.e., claim 105; paragraph 0074), Kain et al. do not explicitly teach the different features target different subject-specific feature (i.e., claim 94).
However, Kim et al. teach microarrays having different features (i.e., spots) each having pluralities of probes that are different from one another, in the form of spots of different probes (Figure 5) each of which is dedicated to a different subject-specific feature of a subject; namely the probes are to different species (i.e., M. kansassi and M fortuitum) of Mycobacterium (i.e., claims 94-95; paragraph 0057). The probes comprise nucleic acid sequences (i.e., claim 96; Table 2), and are indicative of a cell type, in the form of different types of Mycobacterium (i.e., claim 97; Figure 3), which are different specific species (i.e., claims 99 and 100) of specific organisms (i.e., claim 98). Kim et al. further teach the probes identify drug resistance (i.e., claim 101), in the form of probes to the rpoB gene (i.e., claim 108; paragraph 0017). Kim et al. teach the array includes an individually addressable third feature (i.e., claim 105; Figure 5), in the form of the probes to the different subject M. scrofalaceum (i.e., claim 104 Figure 5), and that the arrays have the added advantage of allowing speedy and accurate detection in large quantities (paragraph 0013). Thus, Kim et al. teach the known techniques discussed above.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of the cited prior art to arrive at the instantly claimed systems with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make the combination because said combination would have resulted in systems having the added advantages of reducing the required optics hardware as explicitly taught by Kain et al. (paragraph 0022) and allowing speedy and accurate detection in large quantities as explicitly taught by Kim et al. (paragraph 0013). In addition, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan that the known techniques of the cited prior art could have been combined with predictable results because the known techniques of the cited prior art predictably result in systems useful for assaying nucleic acids.
Double Patenting
12. Claims 92-95, 102-103, 106-108, and 110-111 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,725,233 in view of Kain et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2014/0274747 A1, published 18 September 2014).
Both sets of claims are drawn to biochips having first and second features, subject-specific features, genes, etc. Any additional limitations of the ‘233 claims are encompassed by the open claim language “comprising” found in that instant claims.
The ‘233 claims do not require the instantly claimed optical detector..
However, the optical detector, as well as the additional limitations of the claims and the rationale for combining are taught by Kain et al. as discussed above.
13. Claims 94-99, 104-105, and 108-109 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,725,233 in view of Kain et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2014/0274747 A1, published 18 September 2014) as applied to claims 92 and 103 above, and further in combination with Penn et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2002/0081590 A1, published 27 June 2002) based on the citations and rationale presented above.
14. Claims 94-101, 104-105, and 108 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,725,233 in view of Kain et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2014/0274747 A1, published 18 September 2014) as applied to claims 92 and 103 above, and further in combination with Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2004/0038233 A1, published 26 February 2004) based on the citations and rationale presented above.
Conclusion
15. No claim is allowed.
Robert T. Crow
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1683
/Robert T. Crow/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1683