CTNF 18/336,221 CTNF 85388 DETAILED ACTION Claims 1-20 are presented for examination, wherein Species B.1 (claims 8 and 13) and Species C.1 (claim 10) are withdrawn. 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Election/Restrictions 08-05 AIA Claim s 8, 10, and 13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on April 9, 2026 . Regarding Species Set A, the applicant alleges “Applicant traverses the restriction/election requirement of Set A because first and second regions being adjacent to one another, or N regions, are not mutually exclusive with a middle region between first and second regions (Remarks, at 11:2). In response, upon further review of the instant initial disclosure, the instant Species Set A election requirement is withdrawn. Regarding Species Set B, the applicant alleges “Applicant traverses the restriction/election requirement of Set B because it would not be an undue burden to search cathodes and anodes, as it is very common to use both anodes and cathodes in any battery technology” (Remarks, at 11:2). This is not found persuasive because the examiner reiterates the following from the February 11, 2026 election requirement. [t]here is a serious search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply: the species have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification; the species have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter; the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries); the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another…. (February 11, 2026 election requirement, at e.g. 3:4). Regarding Species Set C, the applicant alleges “Applicant traverses the restriction/election requirement of Set C because the gel polymer of C.2 is also recited in the group of C.1, so they are not mutually exclusive” (Remarks, at 11:2). This is not found persuasive because the examiner respectfully notes that the election requirement of Species Set C is adjusted so that claim 20 is generic between Species C.1 (claim 10) and Species C.2 (claims 11-12). Here, Species C.2 is elected, so claims 11-12 and 20 are examined and claim 10 is withdrawn. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL . Claim Objections Claims 10 (species C.1) and 13 (species B.1) are objected to because the status identifier should be “withdrawn.” Appropriate correction is respectfully required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 3, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueno et al (US 2012/0115028) . Regarding independent claim 1 , Ueno teaches an all-solid lithium battery that has a reduced diffusion resistance and an improved rate characteristic, said battery comprising: (i) a positive electrode that includes a positive electrode current collector and a positive electrode active material layer formed on said positive electrode current; (ii) a negative electrode that includes a negative electrode current collector and a negative electrode active material layer formed on said negative electrode current collector; and (iii) a solid electrolyte layer that is formed between said positive electrode and said negative electrode, wherein said negative electrode active material layer comprises a negative electrode active material, a solid electrolyte, and voids, wherein said negative electrode active material composed of e.g. a carbon material, such as e.g. highly oriented graphite (HOPG), hard carbon and soft carbon; a lithium transition metal oxide, such as lithium titanate (Li 4 Ti 5 O 12 ); a metal alloy, such as La 3 Ni 2 Sn 7 ; or the like, wherein said negative electrode active material may be powdery or may have a thin-film shape, wherein said negative electrode active material layer may have a single layer structure formed of one layer or may have a multi-layer structure formed of two or more layers, and a total thickness of said negative electrode active material layer may be desirably e.g. from 10 μm to 100 μm and more desirably ranges from 10 μm to 50 μm wherein said negative electrode active material layer may have a composition distribution such that a local volume ratio, which is expressed by a ratio (Va(partial)/Ve(partial)) of a volume (Va(partial)) of said negative electrode active material contained in a part of said negative electrode active material layer with respect to a volume (Ve(partial)) of said solid electrolyte material contained in said part of said negative electrode active material layer, increases as the part of said negative electrode active material layer approaches from an interface of said solid electrolyte layer toward an interface of said negative electrode current collector in a thickness direction of said negative electrode active material layer (e.g. ¶¶ 0004, 11-13, 48-50, 56), reading on “electrode for a lithium-ion battery cell;” alternatively , the preamble limitation “for a lithium-ion battery cell” is interpreted as merely intended use and does not patentably distinguish the instant invention, see also e.g. MPEP § 2111.02, said negative electrode comprising: (1) said negative electrode current collector and said negative electrode active material layer formed on said negative electrode current collector, wherein said negative electrode active material layer may have said multi-layer structure formed of two or more layers , wherein said negative electrode active material layer comprises said negative electrode active material, said solid electrolyte, and said voids, wherein said negative electrode active material may have said composition distribution such that said local volume ratio, which is expressed by said ratio (Va(partial)/Ve(partial)) of a volume (Va(partial)) of said negative electrode active material contained in a part of said negative electrode active material layer with respect to said volume (Ve(partial)) of said solid electrolyte material contained in said part of said negative electrode active material layer, increases as the part of said negative electrode active material layer approaches from said interface of said solid electrolyte layer toward said interface of said negative electrode current collector in said thickness direction of said negative electrode active material layer (e.g. supra ), wherein it is assumed that the density over the entire negative electrode active material layer is approximately equal, such that the taught volume corresponds with the claimed weight%, a first layer of said two or more layers that is closer to said interface of said negative electrode current collector in said thickness direction corresponding with the claimed “first region;” and, a second layer of said two or more layers that is closer to said interface of said solid electrolyte layer in said thickness direction corresponding with the claimed “second region,” reading on “a first region having a first thickness and including an active material comprising a first wt % of the first region and a solid electrolyte comprising a second wt % of the first region;” “a second region having a second thickness and including the active material comprising a third wt % of the second region and the solid electrolyte comprising a fourth wt % of the second region;” “the first region and the second region are arranged adjacent to one another,” see further instant specification, at e.g. ¶0074; and severably establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed relationships, see also e.g. MPEP § 21445.05(I), reading on “the first wt % is greater than the third wt %” and “the second wt % is less than the fourth wt %.” Regarding claim 3 , Ueno teaches the negative electrode of claim 1, wherein said negative electrode wherein said negative electrode active material layer may have said multi-layer structure formed of two or more layers , wherein said negative electrode active material layer may have said composition distribution such that said local volume ratio, which is expressed by said ratio (Va(partial)/Ve(partial)) of a volume (Va(partial)) of said negative electrode active material contained in a part of said negative electrode active material layer with respect to said volume (Ve(partial)) of said solid electrolyte material contained in said part of said negative electrode active material layer, increases as the part of said negative electrode active material layer approaches from said interface of said solid electrolyte layer toward said interface of said negative electrode current collector in said thickness direction of said negative electrode active material layer (e.g. supra ), wherein it is assumed that the density over the entire negative electrode active material layer is approximately equal, such that the taught volume corresponds with the claimed weight%, said first layer of said two or more layers that is closer to said interface of said negative electrode current collector in said thickness direction corresponding with the claimed “first region;” said second layer of said two or more layers that is closer to said interface of said solid electrolyte layer in said thickness direction corresponding with the claimed “second region;” and, a third layer of said two or more layers that is between said first layer and second layer corresponding with the claimed “middle region,” reading on “further comprising: a middle region arranged between the first region and the second region, having a third thickness , and including the active material comprising a fifth wt % of the middle region and the solid electrolyte comprising a sixth wt % of the middle region ,” and establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed relationships, see also e.g. MPEP § 21445.05(I), reading on “the fifth wt % is less than the first wt % and greater than the third wt % and the sixth wt % is greater than the second wt % and less than the fourth wt %.” Regarding claim 9 , Ueno teaches the negative electrode of claim 1, wherein said negative electrode comprises said negative electrode active material layer that may comprise said negative electrode active material composed of e.g. a carbon material, such as e.g. highly oriented graphite (HOPG), hard carbon and soft carbon; a lithium transition metal oxide, such as lithium titanate (Li 4 Ti 5 O 12 ); a metal alloy, such as La 3 Ni 2 Sn 7 ; or the like (e.g. supra ), reading on “the electrode comprises an anode electrode , and the active material is selected from a group consisting of a carbonaceous material, a metal oxide, a metal sulfide, and Li 4 Ti 5 O 12 .” 07-21-aia AIA Claims 1 1-12 are re jected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ue no et al (US 2012/0115028), as provided supra , in view of Lee et al (US 2016/0268627). Re garding claims 11-12 , Ueno teaches the negative electrode of claim 1, wherein said negative electrode comprises said negative electrode active material layer comprises said negative electrode active material, said solid electrolyte, and said voids, but does not expressly teach the limitations “the solid electrolyte comprises a gel polymer electrolyte , and, wherein the gel polymer electrolyte comprises a polymer and a plasticizer including a lithium salt and a solvent” (claim 11) and “the polymer is selected from a group consisting of a Nitrile-based solid polymer electrolyte, polyether, polyester-based solid polymer, PVDF, PVDF-HFP, and combinations thereof, the lithium salt is selected from a group consisting of LiAsF 6 , LiPF 6 , LiFSI, LiClO 4 , LiBF 4 , LiDMSI, LiTFSI, LiBETI, LiBOB, LiDFOB, and LiBFMB, and the solvent is selected from a group consisting of carbonate solvent, lactone, nitrile, sulfone, ether, 1,3-dimethoxy propane, 1,4-Dioxane, phosphate and an ionic liquid” (claim 12). However, Lee teaches an all-solid-state battery comprising an electrolyte such as a gel electrolyte composed of a polymer host composed of a thermoplastic polymer, such as e.g. polyvinylidenefluoride (PVDF); a dissolved lithium salt, such as e.g. LiPF 6 , LiClO 4 , LiBF 4 , or LiN(SO 2 CF 3 ) 2 ; and, a mixture solvent such as e.g. ethylene carbonate, propylene carbonate, dimethylcarbonate, ethylmethylcarbonate, and diethylcarbonate (e.g. ¶¶ 0002, 11-24, and 41). As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute at least some of the solid electrolyte of Ueno with the gel electrolyte of the all-solid-state battery of Lee—said gel electrolyte including said polymer host composed of e.g. polyvinylidenefluoride (PVDF); said dissolved lithium salt composed of e.g. LiPF 6 , LiClO 4 , LiBF 4 , or LiN(SO 2 CF 3 ) 2 ; and, said mixture solvent composed of e.g. ethylene carbonate, propylene carbonate, dimethylcarbonate, ethylmethylcarbonate, and diethylcarbonate—since Lee teaches said gel electrolyte may be used as an electrolyte in an all-solid-state battery. Ueno as modified reading on “the solid electrolyte comprises a gel polymer electrolyte ” and “the gel polymer electrolyte comprises a polymer and a plasticizer including a lithium salt and a solvent” (claim 11); alternatively regarding the limitation “plasticizer,” Lee teaches a substantially identical electrolyte (see supra , e.g. said dissolved lithium said and said mixture solvent reading on “plasticizer,” compared with instant specification, at e.g. ¶0071), establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed limitation, see also e.g. MPEP § 2112.01; and, “the polymer is selected from a group consisting of a Nitrile-based solid polymer electrolyte, polyether, polyester-based solid polymer, PVDF, PVDF-HFP, and combinations thereof, the lithium salt is selected from a group consisting of LiAsF 6 , LiPF 6 , LiFSI, LiClO 4 , LiBF 4 , LiDMSI, LiTFSI, LiBETI, LiBOB, LiDFOB, and LiBFMB, and the solvent is selected from a group consisting of carbonate solvent, lactone, nitrile, sulfone, ether, 1,3-dimethoxy propane, 1,4-Dioxane, phosphate and an ionic liquid” (claim 12) . Allowable Subject Matter Claims 14-20 are allowed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claims 14 , from which claims 15-17 depend, none of the timely art of record teaches or suggests the specifically claimed structure of first and second regions arranged adjacent to one another , wherein the first region includes a lithium-alloying active material comprising 100 wt% of said first region (i.e. does not include solid electrolyte); and, the second region includes electrolyte that is solid and further the specifically claimed amounts of each of the active material and the solid electrolyte (for illustrative purposes, see e.g. Figures 2A and 3A); and, regarding claim 18 , from which claims 19-20 depend, none of the timely art of record teaches or suggests the specifically claimed structure and properties of an anode current collector ; a lithium-alloy film arranged on the anode current collector ; vertical cavities in the lithium-alloy film ; and, solid electrolyte arranged in the vertical cavities and configured to define N regions having different ionic and electronic gradients , where N is an integer greater than 2 (for illustrative purposes, see e.g. Figure 5E). 13-03 Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2 and 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims . 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 2 , none of the timely art of record teaches or suggests the specifically claimed structure of first and second regions arranged adjacent to one another , wherein each of the first and second regions include electrolyte that is solid and further the specifically claimed amounts of each of the active material and the solid electrolyte (for illustrative purposes, see e.g. Figures 2A or 3A); and, regarding claim 4 , from which claims 5-6 depend, none of the timely art of record teaches or suggests the specifically structure of first, middle, and second regions, wherein said middle region is arranged between the first and second regions , wherein each of the first, middle, and second regions include electrolyte that is solid and further the specifically claimed amounts of each of the active material and the solid electrolyte (for illustrative purposes, see e.g. Figure 1A) Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Conclusion 07-96 The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Onodera (US 2026/0094830); Ku et al (US 2025/0226395); Kim et al (US 2025/0329874); Ma (US 2025/0006907); Furuya (US 2025/0233136); Fukamichi (US 2024/0396035); Chung et al (US 2024/0339595); Roev et al (US 2024/0105988); Kim et al (US 2023/0163279); Zhang et al (US 2023/0102140); Morikawa et al (US 2022/0399535); Li et al (US 2022/0328831); Nam et al (US 2022/0200002); Sugimori et al (US 2021/0193992); Kong et al (US 2021/0151260); Kim et al (US 2021/0119203); Li et al (US 2020/0403267); Hoshina et al (US 2020/0303730); He et al (US 2019/0393482); He et al (US 2019/0386342); Shin (US 2019/0267666); Affinito et al (US 2018/0301697); and, Pan et al (US 2011/0123866). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YOSHITOSHI TAKEUCHI whose telephone number is (571)270-5828. The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 8-4. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, TIFFANY LEGETTE-THOMPSON can be reached at (571)270-7078. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /YOSHITOSHI TAKEUCHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/336,221 Page 2 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/336,221 Page 3 Art Unit: 1723