DETAILED ACTION
Applicant amended claims 1-3, 10, 16-18 and 20.
Status of claims:
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White et al. (US11711719) (hereinafter White) in view of Bai et al. (US20240305533) (hereinafter Bai)
Per claim 1, White discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a device comprising a processor (col.9 lines 41-44, processor load) , a request to onboard a first application (xApp) (col. 7, lines 27-36, Fig 1a, i.e.
Application 203 may further request (at 206) monitoring profile information for application 203, based on attributes of UE 201, from application provider 103. Application provider 103 may select (at 208) a
particular reporting profile, associated with the particular application 203 [i.e., App_1 in this example],
based on association information 207. Association information 207 may be or may include some or all of
the example information described above with respect to data structure 105), wherein the first xApp is
configured to adjust a first metric of a radio access network (RAN) lines 12-21, i.e. Fig 3 and Fig 5,
For example, application provider 103 may receive and/or access (at 318) the aggregated KPI information
associated with application 203 (and/or one or more other applications with which application provider
103 is associated), in order to analyze such information and identify potential parameters or factors that
may be modified to improve performance associated with application 203); and determining, by the
device, whether adjustment of the first metric causes a conflict with current operation of the RAN (col. 10
lines 30-37, Fig 3 and 5, for RAN, i.e. For example, UE KPIs [e.g., as received at 310] associated with
one or more UEs 201 executing application 203 may indicate increased processor load when performing
a particular function of application 203. Application provider 103 may modify aspects of application 203
[e.g., modify source code, modify application libraries, etc.] in order to reduce processor load of UEs 201
utilizing the particular function of application 203)but fails to disclose wherein the request comprises a descriptor for the first xApp that identifies targeted key performance indicator (KPI) category for the first metric and whether adjustment of the first metric causes a conflict with current operation of the RAN by comparing the descriptor of the first xApp with descriptor information of one or more xApps already onboarded to the RAN, and applying a dimensioning rule that limits a quantity of xApps permitted to target a same KPI category.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Bai discloses wherein the request comprises a descriptor for the first xApp that identifies targeted key performance indicator (KPI) category for the first metric and whether adjustment of the first metric causes a conflict with current operation of the RAN by comparing the descriptor of the first xApp with descriptor information of one or more xApps already onboarded to the RAN (paragraph 0182, Fig 12 and 13, i.e. the Near-RT RIC hosts the following functions: Database functionality, which allows reading and writing of RAN/UE information; xApp subscription management, which merges subscriptions from different xApps and provides unified data distribution to xApps; Conflict mitigation, which resolves potentially overlapping or conflicting requests from multiple xApps), and applying a dimensioning rule that limits a quantity of xApps permitted to target a same KPI category (paragraph 0182, i.e. xApp subscription management enforces authorization of policies controlling xApp access to messages. xApp subscription management enables merging of identical subscriptions from different xApps into a single subscription to the E2 Node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Bai into the invention White, White provides an application, executed by a User Equipment (“UE”), may receive an identifier, which may be used to monitor Key Performance Indicators (“KPIs”) associated with the UE. Such KPIs may be monitored in conjunction with execution of the application, such as at times that the application sends and/or receives traffic. The KPIs may be associated with sensor data, resources, and/or other features or functionality of the UE and Bai provides a resilient (radio) access network ((R)AN) slicing framework encompassing a resource planning engine and distributed dynamic slice-aware scheduling modules at one or more network access nodes, edge compute nodes, or cloud computing service in order to provide better quality of service via more efficient and flexible resource allocation for slices with diverse SLA/QoS requirement. With resource allocation guidance provided for each network slice, the complexity (and thus, resource consumption) for slice-aware scheduler can be greatly reduced thru xAPP subscription management, See BaI, paragraphs , 0006, 0011 and 0182
Per claim 2, the combination discloses the method according to claim 1, White discloses further comprising: determining, by the device, whether the RAN is able to support adjustment of the first metric by the first xApp; and in response to the RAN being determined to be unable to support adjustment of the first metric by the first xApp (col. 2 lines 47-50, i.e. For example, in one scenario, the KPI monitoring system of some embodiments may determine that an end-to-end latency associated with a given application is higher than a threshold latency and col.2 lines 56-67, i.e. and In such scenarios, the UE and/or the application provider may be alerted as to the detected processor load, in order to allow a user of the UE and/or the application provider to make adjustments (e.g., the user may close other running applications, the application provider may modify one or more parameters of the application in order to reduce processor
utilization, etc.). Further, in such a scenario, adjustments to the network may not be made, as the primary
factor in the end-to-end latency exceeding the threshold latency may be the processor load of the UE
rather than parameters of the network.) , denying, by the device, an onboarding request from the first
xApp to operate the first xApp at the RAN (col. 7 lines 17-26, Fig 3 and 5 [RAN info], For example, application 203 may instruct (e.g., via UE API 205) UE 201 to present a prompt (e.g., a visual prompt, an
audible prompt, etc.) requesting user consent to monitor and/or report UE KPIs and/or attributes when
using application 203., examiner interprets that user of the device did not give consent if in situations
where end to end latency exceeds a threshold latency via APP 1) and Bai discloses first xApp based on operational configuration information derived from descriptors of xApps stored in an xApp information database (paragraph 0172 and 0182, i.e. an xApp may do any of the following: read initial configuration parameters (passed in the xApp descriptor); receive updated configuration parameters; send and receive messages; read and write into a persistent shared data storage (key-value store, refer to claim 1 motivation.
Per claim 3, the combination discloses the method according to claim 1, further White discloses comprising: determining, by the device, a second metric adjusted by a second xApp ( col. 3 lines 38-47, i.e. For example, application provider 103 may register a particular application for monitoring of KPIs associated with one or more UEs that install and/or execute the application. As noted above, the monitoring of KPIs associated with execution of the application at such UEs [e.g., relating to processing resources, memory resources, storage resources, device attributes, etc.] may provide further insight as to the performance of the application and/or the UEs, based on which modifications to the application, the UEs, one or more networks, etc. may be determined and see col. 11 lines 5-11, i.e. A user of UE 201 may be alerted to take action to improve the signal strength [e.g., move to a location that is closer to a wireless access point, remove obstructions or objects that may affect signal strength, etc.], and/or UE 205 may modify parameters of UE 201 to improve signal strength [e.g., increase an antenna gain of one or more antennas of UE 201, modify beamforming parameters associated with UE 201, etc.], where examiner interprets that moving to location closer to wireless access point which may involve App 2 and associated profile information [Profile C] and KPI metrics, see Fig 1a), wherein the first metric of the first xApp and the
second metric of the second xApp have a common control target (see Fig 1a and 1b, profile A & B and
Token A&B associated with App 1 and Profile C and token C associated with App 2, common control
target, see col. 2 lines 34-41, see below as it relates to the Application/kpis associated end to end quality
of services are met); and in response to determining, by the device, the first metric of the first xApp and
the second metric of the second xApp have a common control target (col. 2 lines 34-41, i.e. Based on
these UE-specific KPIs and/or attributes, the KPI monitoring system may be better able to determine end-
to-end KPIs associated with the application. The determination of such end-to-end KPIs may allow the
determination (e.g., by a provider of the application and/or service, and/or by a provider of the network) to
determine whether one or more QoS thresholds associated with the application and/or service are met),
further determining by the device, whether the first metric of the first xApp deleteriously affects operation
of the common control target as a function of operation of the common control target adjusted by the
second metric of the second xApp (col. 11 lines 5-11, A user of UE 201 may be alerted to take action to
improve the signal strength [e.g., move to a location that is closer to a wireless access point, remove
obstructions or objects that may affect signal strength, etc.], and/or UE 205 may modify parameters of UE
201 to improve signal strength [e.g., increase an antenna gain of one or more antennas of UE 201,
modify beamforming parameters associated with UE 201, etc.], where examiner interprets that moving to
location closer to wireless access point which may involve App 2 and associated profile information
[Profile C] and KPI metrics, see Fig 1a, and see lines 34-41 as it relates to the Application/kpis
associated end to end quality of services are met).
Per claim 4, the combination discloses the method according to claim 3, further White discloses comprising: in response to the first metric of the first xApp being determined to be deleteriously affecting the operation of the common control target as a function of the operation of the common control target adjusted by the second metric of the second xApp (refer to claim 3 rationale), denying, by the device, an onboarding request from the first xApp to operate the first xApp at the RAN (col.10 lines 51-57, i.e. UE API 205 and/or a user of the first UE 201 may therefore be alerted that the performance of application 203 is not as expected due to the processor load of UE 201, and may take action to remedy the increased processor load of UE 201. Such action may include uninstalling or disabling particular applications or features of UE 201, or other
suitable actions, examiner interprets col. 11 lines 5-11, if App 2, A user of UE 201 may be alerted to take
action to improve the signal strength [e.g., move to a location that is closer to a wireless access point,
where App 2 becomes suitable for install or load, where examiner interprets parts of App 1 may not be
required such as profile B[Fig 1a], where that portion the App will be disabled or uninstalled.
Per claim 7, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 4, however instead of denying a
request, Examiner interprets White may adjust in Figure 1A, ref. 105, where third metric may have
negative impacts where profile A, the network latency maybe below a certain threshold, where App 1
profile B may have adjusted the app latency and App 2, profile C may have adjusted the CPU load,
which may have caused the negative impact of the network latency in App1, profile A.
Per claim 8, the combination discloses the method according to claim 7, White discloses further comprising: terminating, by the device, execution of the first xApp (col. 12 lines 24-34, As discussed above, UE 201 may proceed to monitor the KPIs in conjunction with execution of the application, such as at times that correspond to when the application sends and/or receives traffic (e.g., to and/or from MEC 303, an application server, network 301, and/or some other device or system), times at which application 203 is opened or closed, times at which application 203 performs particular functions (e.g., starts or stops a voice call or videoconference, performs a particular computation, calls a particular subroutine, etc.), and/or at other suitable times associated with the execution of application 203).
Per claim 9, the combination discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein Bai discloses the RAN is an open-RAN (0- RAN) (paragraph 0169, O-RAN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Bai into the invention White in order to provide better quality of service via more efficient and flexible resource allocation for slices with diverse SLA/QoS requirement. With resource allocation guidance provided for each network slice, the complexity (and thus, resource consumption) for slice-aware scheduler can be greatly reduced thru xAPP subscription and O-RAN interface, See Bai paragraph 0006, 0011 and 0169.
Per claim 10, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1 and 3, (see claim 3 portion, White discloses [the second metric] of the second xApp have a common control target, further determining, by the device, whether the first metric of the first xApp deleteriously affects operation of the common control target as a function of operation of the common control target adjusted by the second metric of the second xApp).
Per claim 11, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 4, instead of denying a request,
see White discloses (col.10 lines 51-57, i.e. UE API 205 and/or a user of the first UE 201 may therefore be alerted that the performance of application 203 is not as expected due to the processor load of UE 201, and may take action to remedy the increased processor load of UE 201. Such action may include uninstalling or disabling particular applications or features of UE 201, or other suitable actions, examiner interprets col.11 lines 5-11, if App 2, A user of UE 201 may be alerted to take action to improve the signal strength [e.g., move to a location that is closer to a wireless access point, where App 2 becomes suitable for install or load, where examiner interprets parts of App 1 may not be required such as profile B[Fig 1a], where that portion the App 1 will be disabled or uninstalled).
Per claim 12, the combination discloses the system of claim 10, wherein White discloses the operations further comprise: in response to determining that the control of the second metric by the second xApp (Fig 1a, ref. 105, App2, profile C, for example, app latency, also see col.3 lines 7-17, adjustments to the network (e.g., modifications of QoS parameters, modifications of routing parameters, etc.) may be made in order to reduce latency introduced by the network. Further, adjustments to the UE and/or the application may not be made, as the primary factor in the end-to-end latency exceeding the threshold latency, in this example, may be related to the parameters of the network, rather than the processor load of the UE) is being adversely affected by the control of the first metric by the first xApp, operating the first xApp (Fig 1a, ref. 105, App 1, profile A, for example network latency, also see col.3 lines 7-17, adjustments to the network (e.g., modifications of QoS parameters, modifications of routing parameters, etc.) may be made in order to reduce latency introduced by the network. Further, adjustments to the UE and/or the application may not be made, as the primary factor in the end-to-end latency exceeding the threshold latency, in this example, may be related to the parameters of the network, rather than the processor load of the UE)for a first period of time; and operating the second xApp for a second period of time, wherein the first period of time and the second period of time are non-overlapping and disparate (col.8 lines 57-63, i.e. For example, UE API 205 and application 203 may communicate in order to monitor some or all of the KPIs associated with the particular monitoring profile. For example, application 203 may indicate times at which application traffic has been sent or received by application 203, amounts of application traffic sent or received by application 203, times at which communication sessions [e.g., voice calls, video conferences, gaming sessions, etc. Associated with application 203 have started or ended, or other suitable information, examiner interprets non overlapping with no conflicts or operating at above thresholds).
Per claim 13, similar rationale to the claim language in claims 4 and 7,White discloses instead of denying onboard request, terminating the first app, (col. 10 lines 51-57, i.e. UE API 205 and/or a user of the first UE 201 may therefore be alerted that the performance of application 203 is not as expected due to the processor load of UE 201, and may take action to remedy the increased processor load of UE 201. Such action may include uninstalling or disabling particular applications or features of UE 201, or other suitable actions see examiner interprets col. 11 lines 5-11, if App 2, A user of UE 201 may be alerted to take action to improve the signal strength [e.g., move to a location that is closer to a wireless access point, where App 2 becomes suitable for install or load, where examiner interprets parts of App 1 may not be required such as profile B[Fig 1a], where that portion the App will be disabled or uninstalled. As it relates to the third metric, Examiner interprets White may adjust in Figure 1A, ref. 105 where third metric may have negative impacts where profile A, the network latency maybe below a certain threshold, where App 1 profile B may have adjusted the app latency and App 2, profile C may have adjusted the CPU load,
which may have caused the negative impact of the network latency in App1, profile A, where the first App
is terminated).
Per claim 14, the combination discloses the system of claim 10, wherein White discloses the first metric has a key performance indicator (KPI) configured to identify operation of the first metric, and wherein the first metric relates to at least one of coverage of the RAN, capacity of the RAN, or an energy-related performance of the RAN (col.3 lines 23-30, 56-67 and col. 4 lines 1-5, i.e. . As shown in FIG. 1A, KPI monitoring system 101 may receive (at 102) identifying information for one or more applications from application provider 103. For example, application provider 103 may communicate with KPI monitoring system 101 via one or more networks, an API, a web portal, a configuration interface, and/or some other suitable communication pathway provided by or otherwise associated with KPI monitoring system 101 and For example, the KPIs
and/or attributes may include a measure of load of one or more Central Processing Units ("CPUs") and/or
other types of processors of the UE, processor speed, quantity of processor cores, memory (e.g., RAM)
capacity, a measure of available and/or utilized memory, a measure of storage capacity, a measure of
available and/or utilized storage, a measure of network latency (e.g., a measure of round trip delay
between the UE and one or more devices or systems via one or more networks), a measure of
application latency (e.g., a measure of delay between an input to the application and an output generated
by the application), a measure of signal strength and/or quality (e.g., Signal-to-Interference-and-Noise-
Ratio ("SINR"), Received Signal Strength Indicator ("RSSI"), Channel Quality Indicator ("CQI") and etc.)).
Per claim 15, the combination discloses the system of claim 10, wherein Bai discloses the system is one of a real-time RAN intelligent controller (RIC), a near-real-time RIC, or a non-real-time RIC (paragraph 0167,i.e. a near-real-time RIC)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Bai into the invention White in order to provide better quality of service via more efficient and flexible resource allocation for slices with diverse SLA/QoS requirement. With resource allocation guidance provided for each network slice, the complexity (and thus, resource consumption) for slice-aware scheduler can be greatly reduced thru xAPP subscription and O-RAN interface and a near-real-time RIC , See Bai paragraph 0006, 0011 and 0167.
Per claim 16, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 10, White discloses instead of first and second metric, replaced with first and second operational characteristics, which is a threshold level (col. 2 lines 50-63, i.e. The KPI monitoring system may further determine that network latency associated with communications, between the UE and an application server, MEC, etc. that provides services associated with the application, is relatively low [e.g., below a threshold], but that processing resources associated with the UE are relatively overloaded [e.g., above a threshold level of processor load]. In such scenarios, the UE and/or the application provider may be alerted as to the detected processor load, in order to allow a user of the UE and/or the application provider to make adjustments [e.g., the user may close other running applications, the application provider may modify one or more parameters of the application in order to reduce processor utilization, etc.]), see Bai, Fig.12 and 13, second app descriptor.
Per claim 17, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 4.
Per claim 18, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 16, wherein claim 18 White discloses no negatively affected threshold levels for first and second App, therefore no adjustments are required, where it's interpreted that both App1 and App2 operate as normal.
Per claim 19, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 4, White discloses instead of denying a request, see (col. 10 lines 51-57, i.e. UE API 205 and/or a user of the first UE 201 may therefore be alerted that the performance of application 203 is not as expected due to the processor load of UE 201, and may take action to remedy the increased processor load of UE 201. Such action may include uninstalling or disabling particular applications or features of UE 201, or other suitable actions, examiner interprets col.11 lines 5-11, if App 2, A user of UE 201 may be alerted to take action to improve the signal strength [e.g., move to a location that is closer to a wireless access point, where App 2 becomes suitable for install or load, where examiner interprets parts of App 1 may not be required such as profile B[Fig 1a], where that portion the App 1 will be disabled or uninstalled).
Per claim 20, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White and Bai in further view of Ryan et al. (US20150052251) (hereinafter Ryan).
Per claim 5,the combination discloses the method according to claim 3, White discloses further comprising: in response to the first metric of the first xApp being determined to be deleteriously affecting the operation of the common control target as a function of the operation of the common control target adjusted by the second metric of the second xApp (see claim 4 rationale), but both reference fail to disclose applying, by the device, a first priority to the first xApp and a second priority to the second xApp, wherein the first priority has a higher priority than the second priority; based on the higher priority, executing, by the device, the first xApp; terminating, by the device, operation of the first xApp; and executing, by the device, the second xApp;
. In an analogous field of endeavor, Ryan discloses the first priority has a higher priority than the
second priority (paragraph 0048, Fig 5, Thus, first application 500a has a higher priority (1) than second application 500b (2), which in turn has a higher priority than third application 500c ) ; based on the higher priority, executing, by the device, the first xApp; terminating, by the device, operation of the first xApp (paragraph 0056, i.e. when first application 600a terminates and associated configuration parameters are unlocked, data is written from the master record 604 to the current record 602); and executing, by the device, the second xApp (paragraph 0056, i.e. second application 600b writes data to first master record 604, which is a database that holds long term default parameter settings for network elements, etc.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Ryan into the invention White and Bai, where Ryan provides a method for managing multiple processes simultaneously in a communications network includes running a first application controlling a parameter of a network element, launching a second application, comparing a priority of the first application to a priority of the second application to determine a higher priority application and a lower priority application in order to provide a better quality of services via automated system for optimization and management of communication networks when conflicts in the network arise such as load imbalances or out of service network cells, see Ryan, paragraphs 0006 and 0007.
Per claim 6, the combination discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein White discloses
the operation of the first xApp is terminated based on a configured duration of time(col. 12 lines 24-34, As
discussed above, UE 201 may proceed to monitor the KPIs in conjunction with execution of the
application, such as at times that correspond to when the application sends and/or receives traffic (e.g., to
and/or from MEC 303, an application server, network 301, and/or some other device or system), times at
which application 203 is opened or closed, times at which application 203 performs particular functions
(e.g., starts or stops a voice call or videoconference, performs a particular computation, calls a particular
subroutine, etc.), and/or at other suitable times associated with the execution of application 203).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH E DEAN, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647