DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “236” has been used to designate both first metal layer (paragraph [0030]) and a temperature compensation layer paragraph [0028]).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "236" and "238" have both been used to designate the first metal layer (paragraph [0030]).
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: H2.
The drawings are objected to because reference characters “212”and “214” lead to the same layer in Fig. 2. “214” in the specification is described as the piezoelectric material, while “212” is the first substrate. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 7, 12, 13, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goto (US2022329227, hereinafter Goto.
Regarding claim 1, Goto discloses a device (200), comprising: a first substrate (246) comprising a first side and a second side opposite the first side; a first piezoelectric layer (242) disposed on the first side of the first substrate; a plurality of first electrodes (248) disposed on the first piezoelectric layer; and a first vertical interconnect access (via, 254) extending through the first substrate and the first piezoelectric layer to couple a first electrode of the plurality of first electrodes to the second side of the first substrate. See Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 6, Goto discloses a second via in Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 7, Goto discloses the use of silicon to form the substrate (paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 12, Goto discloses the acoustic wave filters implemented in radio frequency electronic systems such as mobile phones.
Regarding claim 13, Goto discloses a package (Fig. 7B), comprising: a first device (200), comprising: a first substrate (246) comprising a first side and a second side opposite to the first side; a first piezoelectric layer (242) disposed on the first side of the first substrate; a plurality of first electrodes (248) disposed on the first piezoelectric layer; and a first vertical interconnect access (via 254) extending through the first substrate and the first piezoelectric layer (242) to couple a first electrode of the plurality of first electrodes to the second side of the first substrate; a package substrate (216); and a first interconnect (222) between the second side of the first substrate and the package substrate, electrically coupling the first via to the package substrate. See Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 16, the substrate comprises silicon.
Regarding claim 20, the method of fabricating the device, as claimed, is inherently disclosed by Goto, as explained above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto.
Regarding claims 8, Goto discloses the invention as explained above, but fails to explicitly disclose the thickness of the substrate and piezoelectric layer. The claimed dimensions are not disclosed to solve any problem or for any particular reason. Therefore, it is the examiner's position that such specific dimensions of the device are obvious matter of design choice and it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the thicknesses and ratios as necessitated by the specific requirements of the particular application.
Claims 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto in view of Hurwitz (US20180278236, hereinafter Hurwitz).
Regarding claim 14, Goto discloses the invention as explained above, and further discloses a second device, comprising: a second substrate (216); a second piezoelectric layer (212) disposed on a third side of the second substrate; and a plurality of second electrodes (218) disposed on the second piezoelectric layer; and a frame layer (270) disposed between the first piezoelectric layer and the second piezoelectric layer and forming an air cavity between the first piezoelectric layer and the second piezoelectric layer (paragraph [0057]). Goto discloses the frame layer comprising metal or non-metal materials, but fails to disclose the use of a polymer to form the frame layer.
Hurwitz discloses a resonator and filter structure comprising a frame (70, 72) comprising a polymer and used to encapsulate the cavity. Hurwitz teaches that it is possible to utilize a polymer to form a frame to encapsulating a resonating structure and a cavity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to form a frame structure out of a polymer material as disclosed by Hurwitz to isolate the cavity.
Regarding claim 19, Goto discloses two acoustic wave filters can be arranged as a duplexer, therefore the limitation is anticipated. (See paragraph [0003])
8. Claims 2-5, 11, 17, 18, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto in view of Kamgaing et al. (US20200219861, hereinafter Kamgaing).
Regarding claims 2, 17 and 21, Goto discloses the invention as explained above, but fails to explicitly disclose a capacitor formed on the second side of the first substrate and coupled to the first via. Kamgaing discloses in Fig. 1 a substrate (122), a piezoelectric layer (130) formed on the upper surface of the substrate and a capacitor (138) on the lower surface of the substrate and coupled to the first via. Kamgaing’s structure allows for miniaturization of the acoustic device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide a substrate with a piezoelectric layer on one side and a capacitor on the other side and coupling the capacitor via a first via through the substrate to provide a compact and high performance structure.
Regarding claim 3, Kamgaing discloses forming the first metal layer on the second side of the substrate comprising a first electrode of the capacitor.
Regarding claim 4, Kamgaing discloses the dielectric layer formed on the electrode to form a capacitor.
Regarding claims 5 and 22, Kamgaing discloses forming inductors (146) on the second surface of the substrate (see paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claims 11 and 18, Kamgaing discloses the capacitor comprising Applicant’s argument regarding MIM capacitor (paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 23, Kamgaing discloses forming the TSVs by etching. (paragraph [0023])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 15, 24 and 25 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/J. San Martin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837