DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1 – 13) in the reply filed on 16 January 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 14 – 32 have been canceled. Newly presented claims 33 – 51 are directed to a method of shunting blood and are drawn to elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 34, 35, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “further comprising: forming a third opening… provides access between the first blood vessel and the second blood vessel through the second opening. It is believed this should read “the third opening.”
Claims 34 and 35 recites the limitation "the first port structure". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. These claims depend upon claim 33 which recites “anchoring a first port of a compliant fluid container.” It is unclear if the port structure recites in claims 34 and 35 refers to the first port in its entirety, if it is only a specific part of the first port, or if it is a different structure entirely.
Claim 38 is unclear. It should read The method of claim 33.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 13, 33 – 40, and 44 – 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brenneman et al. (US PGPUB 2010/0268316) in view of Bak-Boychuk et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0246436 – in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Brenneman discloses a method of shunting blood, the method comprising: forming a first opening in a wall of a first blood vessel and a wall of a second blood vessel (e.g. ¶ 68); anchoring a first port of a compliant fluid container to the wall of the first blood vessel such that the first port provides access between the first blood vessel and the second blood vessel through the first opening (e.g. ¶ 74-76); but fails to teach placing a body of the compliant fluid container within the second blood vessel.
Bak-Boychuk teaches it is known to use a stent-like anchor structure and to place it in a vein (e.g. ¶ 64). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention as taught by Brenneman with the placement in the vein, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of allowing the chamber to reside in the low pressure vein allowing it to expand without occupying an arterial lumen.
Regarding claim 2, Brenneman discloses the first blood vessel is an artery; and the second blood vessel is a vein (e.g. ¶ 8, 68).
Regarding claim 3, Brenneman discloses channeling blood from the first blood vessel into the body of the compliant fluid container within the second blood vessel through the first port (e.g. ¶ 8, 76).
Regarding claims 4 – 6, Brenneman discloses forming a second opening in the wall of the first blood vessel and the wall of the second blood vessel; anchoring a second port of the compliant fluid container to the wall of the first blood vessel such that the second port provides access between the first blood vessel and the second blood vessel through the second opening; and channeling blood from the body of the compliant fluid container into the first blood vessel through the second port (e.g. ¶ 68; multiple sites are considered – aorta/IVC and iliac/femoral).
Regarding claim 7 - 10, neither Brenneman nor Bak-Boychuk explicitly recite the third port. However, both teach multiple sites. Adding a third port would be a mere duplication of parts. A duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Brenneman discloses the first port is formed by an anchoring structure of the compliant fluid container that is disposed within the first opening (e.g. ¶ 69 – 72). Bak-Boychuk teaches a stent as previously discussed (e.g. ¶ 64).
Regarding claims 13, Brenneman discloses adding compliance to the first blood vessel by filling the body of the compliant fluid container with blood from the first blood vessel to thereby expand the body of the compliant fluid container within the second blood vessel (e.g. ¶ 8).
Regarding claim 33, Brenneman in view of Bak-Boychuk disclose the method as discussed in claim 1 above. Furthermore, Brenneman discloses adding compliance to the first blood vessel by filling the body of the compliant fluid container with blood from the first blood vessel to thereby expand the body of the compliant fluid container within the second blood vessel (e.g. ¶ 8).
Regarding claim 34, Brenneman discloses the first port structure comprises a metallic stent frame (e.g. ¶ 9, 69; nitinol tube).
Regarding claim 35, Brenneman discloses a flange for anchoring the first port to the passageway (e.g. ¶ 70 – 72).
Regarding claim 36, Brennaman discloses fluid is allowed to pass from the interior of the compliant fluid container and back into the arterial blood vessel through a second port (e.g. ¶ 68).
Regarding claim 37, Brennaman discloses the first and second ports , but ails to teach one-way valves. Bak-Boychuk teaches it is known to use one-way valves in blood flow (e.g. ¶ 7). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Brennaman with the one-way valves as taught by Bak-Boychuk, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of only allowing the blood to flow in the desired direction.
Regarding claim 38, Brennaman discloses the compliant fluid container has a substantially tubular shape (e.g. ¶ 9).
Regarding claims 39 and 40, Brenneman discloses the compliant fluid container is expandable (e.g. ¶ 9, 71) and the compliant fluid container has a sleeve disposed thereon (e.g. ¶ 13).
Regarding claims 44 – 49, Brenneman discloses the arterial blood vessel is a descending aorta (e.g. ¶ 68) and the venous blood vessel is an inferior vena cava (e.g. ¶ 8, 68).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 41 – 43 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach that a cross-section of the sleeve transitions from a non-circular shape to a more circular shape under increased blood pressure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lenihan et al. (US PGPUB 2015/0366580) teaches a tubular covered prosthesis implanted in the vein after an artery to vein connection.
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796