DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 11/04/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenberg (U.S Publication No. 20060227047 A1) in view of Bhawnani et al. (U.S Publication No. 20240063928 A1).
Regarding claims 1, Rosenberg discloses a method (which is a meeting locator system and a meeting location method, see fig. 1-5) comprising:
establishing, by a first mobile computing device (which is a first mobile phone 111 or 200), a wireless communication connection with a second mobile computing device (which is a second mobile phone 112 or 200’ (not shown), see fig. 1, paragraph [0036]: a first user 108 using a first mobile phone 111 to communicate by voice over a network with another user 109 using a second mobile phone 112; see paragraph [0053]-[0054]: the user of mobile phone 200 configured as described above may wish to meet up with the user of another, similarly configured mobile phone 200', locative data may be transmitted over the voice network or another data network);
receiving, at the first mobile computing device (111 or 200) and from the second mobile computing device (112 or 200’), data representing an orientation of the second mobile computing device relative to a reference point (which is a magnetic north, see paragraph [0039]: a magnetometer may be provided within the mobile phone to detect the orientation of the unit with respect to magnetic north), (see paragraph [0060]: the mobile phone 200 may receive orientation data from mobile phone 200' along with the position data. This can be achieved by collecting locative data from a GPS sensor and orientation data from a magnetometer. Thus, mobile phone 200' collects locative data from its GPS sensor, orientation data from its magnetometer, and sends both the locative and orientation data to mobile phone 200'. Mobile phone 200 would send the same information to mobile phone 200' if that phone was configured to display orientation of the distant phone as well);
providing, by the first mobile computing device (111 or 200) and on a display interface (via a display screen 201) of the first mobile computing device (see fig. 2, paragraph [0047]: the mobile phone 200 also includes an information display screen 201; see fig. 3A, paragraph [0056]: the user of mobile phone 200 is provided with a graphical display upon the screen 201 of his phone that indicates useful information as follows. The user is provided with a graphical indication of his or her own location at 204 with respect to other features displayed within visual map 202. The user is provided with a visual map 202 of his local environment with the size, position, and orientation of the displayed visual map 202 being automatically selected by circuitry supported by mobile phone 200 as follows. The position and orientation of the visual map 202 is selected such that it is correct relative to graphical icon 204 that represents the location and orientation of the user of the mobile phone 200 with respect to the real physical world. In other words, the visual map 202 shows the real physical word at an orientation that is consistent with the user of the mobile phone 200 facing the direction represented by arrow 204 and is consistent with the user being located within the physical world at a position represented by the tip of arrow 204);
receiving, by the first mobile computing device (111 or 200), a plurality of Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) signals and measurement data (which is a locative data from a GPS sensor) from the second mobile computing device (112 or 200’) positioned at a second location (see paragraph 48: the mobile phone 200 includes a GPS receiver; and see paragraph 60: mobile phone 200 may receive orientation data from mobile phone 200' along with the position data. This can be achieved by collecting locative data from a GPS sensor and orientation data from a magnetometer. Thus, mobile phone 200' collects locative data from its GPS sensor, orientation data from its magnetometer, and sends both the locative and orientation data to mobile phone 200'. Mobile phone 200 would send the same information to mobile phone 200' if that phone was configured to display orientation of the distant phone as well);
determining, by the first mobile computing device (200), a first location representing a position (which are relative locations of the users of the mobile phones 200 and 200') of the first mobile computing device (200) relative to the second mobile computing device (200’) based on the plurality of GNSS signals and the measurement data received from the second mobile computing device (see fig. 3A, paragraph [0059]-[0061]: circuitry supported by the mobile phone 200 is adapted to display, via the screen 201, the GPS location of mobile phone 200'. This location is displayed by icon 310 which is overlaid upon the appropriately scaled image of the visual map 202. The displayed location of icon 310 with respect to the displayed visual map 202 indicates the location of mobile phone 200' within the local environment represented by the visual map 202. The mobile phone 200 may receive orientation data from mobile phone 200' along with the position data. This can be achieved by collecting locative data from a GPS sensor and orientation data from a magnetometer. And circuitry supported by the mobile phone 200 may be adapted to determine a travel path between the users and display the travel path to the user in a certain format, either automatically or as a result of the user selecting a particular display option from the manual user interface of the mobile phone).
Rosenberg does not explicitly disclose providing, by the first mobile computing device, instructions to rotate the first mobile computing device until an orientation of the first mobile computing device matches the orientation of the second mobile computing device.
Bhawnani discloses the field of wireless communications, and more specifically to enabling a mobile device (e.g., a cellular phone) to communicate using satellite-based communications. The mobile device may determine a target orientation for the satellite-based communications based at least in part on a value of a particular signal strength measurement of the plurality of signal strength measurements and the respective orientation of the mobile device corresponding to the particular signal strength measurement. The mobile device may provide guidance for rotating the mobile device to the target orientation (see abstract, paragraph [0001] and [0003]). According to this disclosure, an example non-transitory computer-readable medium stores instructions for sensing-based orientation of a mobile device for satellite-based communication, the instructions comprising code for performing a plurality of signal strength measurements of a radio frequency (RF) signal transmitted by a satellite using at least one antenna of the mobile device, wherein performing the plurality of signal strength measurements occurs over a period of time during which the mobile device is subject to a movement. The instructions further may comprise code for determining, for each signal strength measurement of the plurality of signal strength measurements, a respective orientation of the mobile device corresponding to when the respective signal strength measurement was performed. The instructions further may comprise code for determining a target orientation of the mobile device for the satellite-based communications based at least in part on a value of a particular signal strength measurement of the plurality of signal strength measurements, and the respective orientation of the mobile device corresponding to the particular signal strength measurement. The instructions further may comprise code for providing guidance, with the mobile device, for rotating the mobile device to the target orientation (see paragraph [0006]). Bhawnani further discloses when determining a target RV/orientation, a mobile device (e.g., orientation engine 310 and/or UI engine 320) may account for the time it takes a user to rotate the mobile device, in view of satellite movement. That is, when determining a target RV and guiding a user to rotate the mobile device, the satellite will continue to move in the sky as the user tries to point the device. Thus, according to some embodiments, a mobile device can account for this delay when determining a target orientation for antenna-satellite alignment (see paragraph [0064]). Guidance provided to a user for rotating the mobile device to a target orientation (e.g., via a UI engine 320, as shown in FIG. 3) can be provided in any of a variety of ways, depending on desired functionality (see paragraph [0070]). FIG. 10 illustrates a series of screens that can be displayed on a screen of the mobile device, guiding the user of the mobile device to rotate the mobile device to a target orientation, according to an embodiment (see paragraph [0075]). FIG. 13 is an illustration of an example screen 1310 that prompts a user to rotate a mobile device to adjust both pitch and yaw at once. Specifically, orthogonally-aligned graphics 1315 prompt a user to rotate the mobile device to adjust both yaw and pitch such that circles 1320 are aligned/centered at lines 1330. Additional or alternative graphics can be utilized to provide the user with an intuitive interface that allows for rotation guidance along multiple rotation axes (see fig. 13, paragraph [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the method in the mobile device as taught by Rosenberg with the method in the mobile device as taught by Bhawnani having the instructions may comprise code for providing guidance, with the mobile device, for rotating the mobile device to the target orientation; and providing, by the first mobile computing device, instructions to rotate the first mobile computing device until an orientation of the first mobile computing device matches the orientation of the second mobile computing device (see fig. 13, and paragraph [0006) by Bhawnani).
Regarding claim 2, Rosenberg in view of Bhawnani discloses the method of claim 1, wherein both the first mobile computing device and the second mobile computing device include one or more asymmetric antennas configured for receiving GNSS signals (via GNSS receiver 340 in a mobile device; and an antenna may utilize GNSS signal measurements to aid in the orientation of a mobile device, see paragraph [0034], [0046]-[0047], and [0087] and [0105] by Bhawnani).
Regarding claim 3, Rosenberg in view of Bhawnani discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: receiving, at the first mobile computing device using one or more asymmetric antennas, the plurality of GNSS signals (Additionally or alternatively, an antenna may utilize GNSS signal measurements to aid in the orientation of a mobile device. This may be done, for example, in embodiments where a mobile device has an antenna used for both (i) receiving GNSS signals, and (ii) engaging in satellite-based communication. (This can be the case, for example, where both GNSS and satellite-based communication occur in the L band.) In such instances, the mobile device may measure a GNSS signal to determine an orientation of the antenna's main lobe with respect to the mobile device (e.g., under current conditions), given the location of the mobile device and known location of the GNSS satellites transmitting the measured GNSS signal, see paragraph [0105] by Bhawnani). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was to modify the method as taught by Rosenberg in view of Bhawnani in order for receiving, at the first mobile computing device using one or more asymmetric antennas, the plurality of GNSS signals, which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Regarding claim 4, Rosenberg in view of Bhawnani discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 1, except for specifying that wherein determining the first location representing the position of the first mobile computing device comprises: determining the first location representing the position of the first mobile computing device at a centimeter-level relative to the second location of the second mobile computing device. However, Rosenberg further discloses as illustrated in FIG. 1 is a Global Positioning System (GPS) 120 for use in tracking the location of mobile phones such as device 111 and 112. Global Positioning System (GPS) technology provides latitudinal and longitudinal information on the surface of the earth to an accuracy of approximately 100 feet. When combined with accurate location references and error correcting techniques, such as differential GPS, an accuracy of better than 3 feet may be achieved. the mobile phone 200 also includes a differential GPS transceiver (not shown) for sensing the geographic location of the mobile phone with a high degree of accuracy (see paragraph [0037] and [0047]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the method as taught by Rosenberg in view of Bhawnani in order for determining the first location representing the position of the first mobile computing device comprises: determining the first location representing the position of the first mobile computing device at a centimeter-level relative to the second location of the second mobile computing device, in which having a high degree of accuracy.
Regarding claim 5, Rosenberg in view of Bhawnani discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving data representing an absolute location of the second mobile computing device; and wherein determining the first location representing the position of the first mobile computing device comprises: determining an absolute location of the first mobile computing device, wherein the absolute location of the first mobile computing device indicates a longitude, a latitude, and an elevation of the first mobile computing device (see paragraph [0037] and [0048] by Rosenberg).
Regarding claim 6, Rosenberg in view of Bhawnani discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the first location representing the position of the first mobile computing device relative to the second mobile computing device comprises: determining a distance, an azimuth, and an elevation of the first mobile computing device relative to the second mobile computing device (see paragraph [0044] and [0068] by Rosenberg).
Regarding claim 5, Rosenberg in view of Bhawnani discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: based on providing instructions to rotate the first mobile computing device, determining the orientation of the first mobile computing device matches the orientation of the second mobile computing device; and wherein receiving the plurality of GNSS signals and measurement data from the second mobile computing device comprises: receiving the plurality of GNSS signals and measurement data from the second mobile computing device within a threshold time in response to determining the orientation of the first mobile computing device matches the orientation of the second mobile computing device (see paragraph [0006], [0064], [0075], [0087], and [0105] by Bhawnani).
Regarding claim 8, Rosenberg in view of Bhawnani discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising: determining that the orientation of the first mobile computing device no longer matches the orientation of the second mobile computing device; and provide an alert with subsequent instructions to rotate the first mobile computing device until the orientation of the first mobile computing device matches the orientation of the second mobile computing device.
Regarding claim 9, Rosenberg in view of Bhawnani discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first mobile computing device and the second mobile computing device are complementary models of mobile computing devices (see fig. 1, paragraph [0035] by Rosenberg).
Regarding claim 10, Rosenberg in view of Bhawnani discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving data representing the orientation of the second mobile computing device relative to the reference point comprises: receiving data representing the orientation of the second mobile computing device relative to a geographic north direction (see paragraph [0039], [0047] and [0048] by Rosenberg).
Regarding claim 11, Rosenberg in view of Bhawnani discloses the method of claim 10, wherein determining the orientation of the first mobile computing device comprises: determining the orientation based on sensor data from a magnetometer of the first mobile computing device (see paragraph [0039] by Rosenberg).
Regarding claim 12, Rosenberg in view of Bhawnani discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting, at the first mobile computing device, a change in the position of the first mobile computing device; and determining, by the first mobile computing device, a third location representing the position of the first mobile computing device, wherein the first mobile computing device determines the third location based on a second plurality of GNSS signals received by the first mobile computing device and additional measurement data received from the second mobile computing device positioned at the second location (Determining further position solutions when the position changes is part of common general knowledge in the field of GNSS positioning. This can be the case, for example, where both GNSS and satellite-based communication occur in the L band.) In such instances, the mobile device may measure a GNSS signal to determine an orientation of the antenna's main lobe with respect to the mobile device (e.g., under current conditions), given the location of the mobile device and known location of the GNSS satellites transmitting the measured GNSS signal, see paragraph [0105] by Bhawnani). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was to modify the method as taught by Rosenberg in view of Bhawnani in order for detecting, at the first mobile computing device, a change in the position of the first mobile computing device; and determining, by the first mobile computing device, a third location representing the position of the first mobile computing device, wherein the first mobile computing device determines the third location based on a second plurality of GNSS signals received by the first mobile computing device and additional measurement data received from the second mobile computing device positioned at the second location, which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Regarding claim 13, Rosenberg in view of Bhawnani discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 12, except for specifying that further comprising: estimating an area of an environment extending between the first location, the second location, and the third location. However, Rosenberg discloses the meeting locator system computes midpoint location (geometric or geographic) between the users and displays the midpoint over the visual map as an approximate location where the users are likely to meet. The midpoint location can be updated and further adjusted based upon an estimated travel time for each user to reach the midpoint. The estimated travel time is computed based upon a current speed of each user, a recent average speed of each user, a computation of path lengths between each user, and/or other travel conditions and is displayed (see abstract, paragraph [0026] and [0028]). Rosenberg further discloses in addition, circuitry supported by each mobile phone may perform computations upon both locative data representing the location of that mobile phone as well as the locative data representing the location of the other of the mobile phone it is then currently engaged in voice communication with. For example, circuitry supported by the first mobile phone 111 may compute the current distance between the first and second mobile phones 111 and 112 by subtracting the coordinate data using standard mathematical routines. This distance may optionally be displayed by circuitry supported by each or both mobile phones. In this way, first user 108 is provided with a displayed numerical value indicating the distance to second user 109. Similarly, second user 109 is provided with a displayed numerical value indicating the distance to first user 108. These values are repeatedly updated as the location of either or both of the first and second mobile phones 111 and 112 are changed (see paragraph [0044] and [0068]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was to modify the method as taught by Rosenberg in view of Bhawnani in order for estimating an area of an environment extending between the first location, the second location, and the third location, which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Regarding claim 14, Rosenberg in view of Bhawnani discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 1, except for specifying that further comprising: detecting a change in position of the first mobile computing device from the first location; establishing a second wireless communication connection between the first mobile computing device and a third mobile computing device, wherein the third mobile computing device is positioned at a third location; providing, by the first mobile computing device and on the display interface of the first mobile computing device, instructions to rotate the first mobile computing device until the orientation of the first mobile computing device matches an orientation of the third mobile computing device; and determining, by the first mobile computing device, a fourth location representing the position of the first mobile computing device relative to the third mobile computing device, wherein the first mobile computing device determines the third location based on a second plurality of GNSS signals received by the first mobile computing device and second correction data provided by the third mobile computing device positioned at the third location.
However, the examiner notes that claim 14 is simply a repetition of the method performed in claim 1 with an addition of a third mobile computing device, and thus the rejection of claim 1 is repeated here. And Bhawnani also indicates that determining further position solutions when the position changes is part of common general knowledge in the field of GNSS positioning. This can be the case, for example, where both GNSS and satellite-based communication occur in the L band.) In such instances, the mobile device may measure a GNSS signal to determine an orientation of the antenna's main lobe with respect to the mobile device (e.g., under current conditions), given the location of the mobile device and known location of the GNSS satellites transmitting the measured GNSS signal (see paragraph [0105] by Bhawnani). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was to modify the method as taught by Rosenberg in view of Bhawnani as stated in claim 1 above, which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Regarding claim 15, Rosenberg discloses a system (which is a meeting locator system and a meeting location method, see fig. 1-5) comprising:
a first mobile computing device (which is a first mobile phone 111 or 200) and a second mobile computing device (which is a first mobile phone 112 or 200’), (see fig. 1), wherein the first mobile computing device (111 or 200) is configured to:
establish a wireless communication connection with the second mobile computing device (112 or 200’ (not shown), see fig. 1, paragraph [0036]: a first user 108 using a first mobile phone 111 to communicate by voice over a network with another user 109 using a second mobile phone 112; see paragraph [0053]-[0054]: the user of mobile phone 200 configured as described above may wish to meet up with the user of another, similarly configured mobile phone 200', locative data may be transmitted over the voice network or another data network);
receiving, from the second mobile computing device (112 or 200’), data representing an orientation of the second mobile computing device relative to a reference point (which is a magnetic north, see paragraph [0039]: a magnetometer may be provided within the mobile phone to detect the orientation of the unit with respect to magnetic north), (see paragraph [0060]: the mobile phone 200 may receive orientation data from mobile phone 200' along with the position data. This can be achieved by collecting locative data from a GPS sensor and orientation data from a magnetometer. Thus, mobile phone 200' collects locative data from its GPS sensor, orientation data from its magnetometer, and sends both the locative and orientation data to mobile phone 200'. Mobile phone 200 would send the same information to mobile phone 200' if that phone was configured to display orientation of the distant phone as well);
providing, on a display interface (via a display screen 201) of the first mobile computing device (see fig. 2, paragraph [0047]: the mobile phone 200 also includes an information display screen 201; see fig. 3A, paragraph [0056]: the user of mobile phone 200 is provided with a graphical display upon the screen 201 of his phone that indicates useful information as follows. The user is provided with a graphical indication of his or her own location at 204 with respect to other features displayed within visual map 202. The user is provided with a visual map 202 of his local environment with the size, position, and orientation of the displayed visual map 202 being automatically selected by circuitry supported by mobile phone 200 as follows. The position and orientation of the visual map 202 is selected such that it is correct relative to graphical icon 204 that represents the location and orientation of the user of the mobile phone 200 with respect to the real physical world. In other words, the visual map 202 shows the real physical word at an orientation that is consistent with the user of the mobile phone 200 facing the direction represented by arrow 204 and is consistent with the user being located within the physical world at a position represented by the tip of arrow 204);
receiving a plurality of Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) signals and measurement data (which is a locative data from a GPS sensor) from the second mobile computing device (112 or 200’) positioned at a second location (see paragraph 48: the mobile phone 200 includes a GPS receiver; and see paragraph 60: mobile phone 200 may receive orientation data from mobile phone 200' along with the position data. This can be achieved by collecting locative data from a GPS sensor and orientation data from a magnetometer. Thus, mobile phone 200' collects locative data from its GPS sensor, orientation data from its magnetometer, and sends both the locative and orientation data to mobile phone 200'. Mobile phone 200 would send the same information to mobile phone 200' if that phone was configured to display orientation of the distant phone as well);
determining a first location representing a position (which are relative locations of the users of the mobile phones 200 and 200') of the first mobile computing device (200) relative to the second mobile computing device (200’) based on the plurality of GNSS signals and the measurement data received from the second mobile computing device (see fig. 3A, paragraph [0059]-[0061]: circuitry supported by the mobile phone 200 is adapted to display, via the screen 201, the GPS location of mobile phone 200'. This location is displayed by icon 310 which is overlaid upon the appropriately scaled image of the visual map 202. The displayed location of icon 310 with respect to the displayed visual map 202 indicates the location of mobile phone 200' within the local environment represented by the visual map 202. The mobile phone 200 may receive orientation data from mobile phone 200' along with the position data. This can be achieved by collecting locative data from a GPS sensor and orientation data from a magnetometer. And circuitry supported by the mobile phone 200 may be adapted to determine a travel path between the users and display the travel path to the user in a certain format, either automatically or as a result of the user selecting a particular display option from the manual user interface of the mobile phone).
Rosenberg does not explicitly disclose provide, on a display interface of the first mobile computing device, instructions to rotate the first mobile computing device until an orientation of the first mobile computing device matches the orientation of the second mobile computing device.
Bhawnani discloses the field of wireless communications, and more specifically to enabling a mobile device (e.g., a cellular phone) to communicate using satellite-based communications. The mobile device may determine a target orientation for the satellite-based communications based at least in part on a value of a particular signal strength measurement of the plurality of signal strength measurements and the respective orientation of the mobile device corresponding to the particular signal strength measurement. The mobile device may provide guidance for rotating the mobile device to the target orientation (see abstract, paragraph [0001] and [0003]). According to this disclosure, an example non-transitory computer-readable medium stores instructions for sensing-based orientation of a mobile device for satellite-based communication, the instructions comprising code for performing a plurality of signal strength measurements of a radio frequency (RF) signal transmitted by a satellite using at least one antenna of the mobile device, wherein performing the plurality of signal strength measurements occurs over a period of time during which the mobile device is subject to a movement. The instructions further may comprise code for determining, for each signal strength measurement of the plurality of signal strength measurements, a respective orientation of the mobile device corresponding to when the respective signal strength measurement was performed. The instructions further may comprise code for determining a target orientation of the mobile device for the satellite-based communications based at least in part on a value of a particular signal strength measurement of the plurality of signal strength measurements, and the respective orientation of the mobile device corresponding to the particular signal strength measurement. The instructions further may comprise code for providing guidance, with the mobile device, for rotating the mobile device to the target orientation (see paragraph [0006]). Bhawnani further discloses when determining a target RV/orientation, a mobile device (e.g., orientation engine 310 and/or UI engine 320) may account for the time it takes a user to rotate the mobile device, in view of satellite movement. That is, when determining a target RV and guiding a user to rotate the mobile device, the satellite will continue to move in the sky as the user tries to point the device. Thus, according to some embodiments, a mobile device can account for this delay when determining a target orientation for antenna-satellite alignment (see paragraph [0064]). Guidance provided to a user for rotating the mobile device to a target orientation (e.g., via a UI engine 320, as shown in FIG. 3) can be provided in any of a variety of ways, depending on desired functionality (see paragraph [0070]). FIG. 10 illustrates a series of screens that can be displayed on a screen of the mobile device, guiding the user of the mobile device to rotate the mobile device to a target orientation, according to an embodiment (see paragraph [0075]). FIG. 13 is an illustration of an example screen 1310 that prompts a user to rotate a mobile device to adjust both pitch and yaw at once. Specifically, orthogonally-aligned graphics 1315 prompt a user to rotate the mobile device to adjust both yaw and pitch such that circles 1320 are aligned/centered at lines 1330. Additional or alternative graphics can be utilized to provide the user with an intuitive interface that allows for rotation guidance along multiple rotation axes (see fig. 13, paragraph [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the first mobile device as taught by Rosenberg with the mobile device as taught by Bhawnani having the instructions may comprise code for providing guidance, with the mobile device, for rotating the mobile device to the target orientation; and provide, on a display interface of the first mobile computing device, instructions to rotate the first mobile computing device until an orientation of the first mobile computing device matches the orientation of the second mobile computing device (see fig. 13, and paragraph [0006) by Bhawnani).
Regarding claim 16, Rosenberg in view of Bhawnani discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the first mobile computing device is further configured to: determine an elevation difference between the first mobile computing device and the second mobile computing device (As illustrated in FIG. 1 is a Global Positioning System (GPS) 120 for use in tracking the location of mobile phones such as device 111 and 112. Global Positioning System (GPS) technology provides latitudinal and longitudinal information on the surface of the earth to an accuracy of approximately 100 feet. When combined with accurate location references and error correcting techniques, such as differential GPS, an accuracy of better than 3 feet may be achieved, see paragraph [0037] and [0047] by Rosenberg).
Regarding claim 17, Rosenberg in view of Bhawnani discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the first mobile computing device is further configured to: receive the measurement data from the second mobile computing device via the wireless communication connection (he mobile phone 200 also includes an information display screen 201 and a wireless communication link (not shown) to an information network such as the Internet, see paragraph [0033] and [0047] by Rosenberg and paragraph [0001] by Bhawnani).
Regarding claim 18, Rosenberg in view of Bhawnani discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the first mobile computing device is further configured to: store the first location representing the position of the first mobile computing device relative to the second mobile computing device; determine, based on the first location and one or more additional locations representing respective positions of the first mobile computing device relative to the second mobile computing device, an area of an environment; and displaying an augmented map of the environment with an overlay representing the area of the environment (see paragraph [0043], [0045], [0049]-[0050] and [0056] by Rosenberg).
Regarding claim 19, Rosenberg in view of Bhawnani discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the first mobile computing device is further configured to: detect the orientation of the first mobile computing device matches the orientation of the second mobile computing device; and provide an audio, visual, or haptic alert based on detecting the orientation of the first mobile computing device matches the orientation of the second mobile computing device (see paragraph [0030] and [0092]-[0093] by Rosenberg).
Regarding claim 20, Rosenberg discloses a system (which is a meeting locator system and a meeting location method, see fig. 1-5) and a non-transitory computer readable medium configured to store instructions, that when executed by a first mobile computing device, causes the first mobile computing device to perform operations (as used herein, the term "circuitry" refers to any type of executable instructions that can be implemented, for example, as hardware, firmware, and/or software, which are all within the scope of the various teachings described, see paragraph [0043]) comprising:
establishing a wireless communication connection with the second mobile computing device (112 or 200’ (not shown), see fig. 1, paragraph [0036]: a first user 108 using a first mobile phone 111 to communicate by voice over a network with another user 109 using a second mobile phone 112; see paragraph [0053]-[0054]: the user of mobile phone 200 configured as described above may wish to meet up with the user of another, similarly configured mobile phone 200', locative data may be transmitted over the voice network or another data network);
receiving, from the second mobile computing device (112 or 200’), data representing an orientation of the second mobile computing device relative to a reference point (which is a magnetic north, see paragraph [0039]: a magnetometer may be provided within the mobile phone to detect the orientation of the unit with respect to magnetic north), (see paragraph [0060]: the mobile phone 200 may receive orientation data from mobile phone 200' along with the position data. This can be achieved by collecting locative data from a GPS sensor and orientation data from a magnetometer. Thus, mobile phone 200' collects locative data from its GPS sensor, orientation data from its magnetometer, and sends both the locative and orientation data to mobile phone 200'. Mobile phone 200 would send the same information to mobile phone 200' if that phone was configured to display orientation of the distant phone as well);
providing, on a display interface (via a display screen 201) of the first mobile computing device (see fig. 2, paragraph [0047]: the mobile phone 200 also includes an information display screen 201; see fig. 3A, paragraph [0056]: the user of mobile phone 200 is provided with a graphical display upon the screen 201 of his phone that indicates useful information as follows. The user is provided with a graphical indication of his or her own location at 204 with respect to other features displayed within visual map 202. The user is provided with a visual map 202 of his local environment with the size, position, and orientation of the displayed visual map 202 being automatically selected by circuitry supported by mobile phone 200 as follows. The position and orientation of the visual map 202 is selected such that it is correct relative to graphical icon 204 that represents the location and orientation of the user of the mobile phone 200 with respect to the real physical world. In other words, the visual map 202 shows the real physical word at an orientation that is consistent with the user of the mobile phone 200 facing the direction represented by arrow 204 and is consistent with the user being located within the physical world at a position represented by the tip of arrow 204);
receiving a plurality of Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) signals and measurement data (which is a locative data from a GPS sensor) from the second mobile computing device (112 or 200’) positioned at a second location (see paragraph 48: the mobile phone 200 includes a GPS receiver; and see paragraph 60: mobile phone 200 may receive orientation data from mobile phone 200' along with the position data. This can be achieved by collecting locative data from a GPS sensor and orientation data from a magnetometer. Thus, mobile phone 200' collects locative data from its GPS sensor, orientation data from its magnetometer, and sends both the locative and orientation data to mobile phone 200'. Mobile phone 200 would send the same information to mobile phone 200' if that phone was configured to display orientation of the distant phone as well);
determining a first location representing a position (which are relative locations of the users of the mobile phones 200 and 200') of the first mobile computing device (200) relative to the second mobile computing device (200’) based on the plurality of GNSS signals and the measurement data received from the second mobile computing device (see fig. 3A, paragraph [0059]-[0061]: circuitry supported by the mobile phone 200 is adapted to display, via the screen 201, the GPS location of mobile phone 200'. This location is displayed by icon 310 which is overlaid upon the appropriately scaled image of the visual map 202. The displayed location of icon 310 with respect to the displayed visual map 202 indicates the location of mobile phone 200' within the local environment represented by the visual map 202. The mobile phone 200 may receive orientation data from mobile phone 200' along with the position data. This can be achieved by collecting locative data from a GPS sensor and orientation data from a magnetometer. And circuitry supported by the mobile phone 200 may be adapted to determine a travel path between the users and display the travel path to the user in a certain format, either automatically or as a result of the user selecting a particular display option from the manual user interface of the mobile phone).
Rosenberg does not explicitly disclose providing, on a display interface of the first mobile computing device, instructions to rotate the first mobile computing device until an orientation of the first mobile computing device matches the orientation of the second mobile computing device.
Bhawnani discloses the field of wireless communications, and more specifically to enabling a mobile device (e.g., a cellular phone) to communicate using satellite-based communications. The mobile device may determine a target orientation for the satellite-based communications based at least in part on a value of a particular signal strength measurement of the plurality of signal strength measurements and the respective orientation of the mobile device corresponding to the particular signal strength measurement. The mobile device may provide guidance for rotating the mobile device to the target orientation (see abstract, paragraph [0001] and [0003]). According to this disclosure, an example non-transitory computer-readable medium stores instructions for sensing-based orientation of a mobile device for satellite-based communication, the instructions comprising code for performing a plurality of signal strength measurements of a radio frequency (RF) signal transmitted by a satellite using at least one antenna of the mobile device, wherein performing the plurality of signal strength measurements occurs over a period of time during which the mobile device is subject to a movement. The instructions further may comprise code for determining, for each signal strength measurement of the plurality of signal strength measurements, a respective orientation of the mobile device corresponding to when the respective signal strength measurement was performed. The instructions further may comprise code for determining a target orientation of the mobile device for the satellite-based communications based at least in part on a value of a particular signal strength measurement of the plurality of signal strength measurements, and the respective orientation of the mobile device corresponding to the particular signal strength measurement. The instructions further may comprise code for providing guidance, with the mobile device, for rotating the mobile device to the target orientation (see paragraph [0006]). Bhawnani further discloses when determining a target RV/orientation, a mobile device (e.g., orientation engine 310 and/or UI engine 320) may account for the time it takes a user to rotate the mobile device, in view of satellite movement. That is, when determining a target RV and guiding a user to rotate the mobile device, the satellite will continue to move in the sky as the user tries to point the device. Thus, according to some embodiments, a mobile device can account for this delay when determining a target orientation for antenna-satellite alignment (see paragraph [0064]). Guidance provided to a user for rotating the mobile device to a target orientation (e.g., via a UI engine 320, as shown in FIG. 3) can be provided in any of a variety of ways, depending on desired functionality (see paragraph [0070]). FIG. 10 illustrates a series of screens that can be displayed on a screen of the mobile device, guiding the user of the mobile device to rotate the mobile device to a target orientation, according to an embodiment (see paragraph [0075]). FIG. 13 is an illustration of an example screen 1310 that prompts a user to rotate a mobile device to adjust both pitch and yaw at once. Specifically, orthogonally-aligned graphics 1315 prompt a user to rotate the mobile device to adjust both yaw and pitch such that circles 1320 are aligned/centered at lines 1330. Additional or alternative graphics can be utilized to provide the user with an intuitive interface that allows for rotation guidance along multiple rotation axes (see fig. 13, paragraph [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the first mobile device as taught by Rosenberg with the mobile device as taught by Bhawnani having the instructions may comprise code for providing guidance, with the mobile device, for rotating the mobile device to the target orientation; and providing, on a display interface of the first mobile computing device, instructions to rotate the first mobile computing device until an orientation of the first mobile computing device matches the orientation of the second mobile computing device (see fig. 13, and paragraph [0006) by Bhawnani).
Conclusion
/Thai Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845 07/31/2026