DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 11/25/2025 has been entered into record. Claims 1-18 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks filed 11/25/2025, regarding the rejection of Claims 1-17 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but are moot because they do not apply to the new combination of references being used in the current rejection, as necessitated by amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palanigounder et al (US 2023/0044847), in view of Tiwari et al (US 2021/0409934).
Regarding Claim 1, Palanigounder teaches a first apparatus of a terminal device, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor ([0073-0075], Fig. 2, first SOC 202 and second SOC 204, the second SOC 204 may operate as a specialized 5G processing unit, [0077], The first and second SOC 202, 204 may communicate via interconnection/bus module 250), cause the first apparatus at least to:
receive an internal indication of a switchover from a second apparatus of the terminal device ([0116], Fig. 6A, In block 602, the processor may check a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) or a mobile equipment (ME) setting for an indication that the UE should use 5G NSWO. For example, the processor may determine that the UE should use 5G NSWO procedures in response to a bit or flag value set in the USIM or in a memory register of the ME);
switch from a first context associated with a first traffic type to a second context associated with a second traffic type ([0119], Fig. 6A, In block 608, the processor may send the SUCI to a network element of a non-3GPP access network for authentication of the UE by a home 3GPP network for access to the non-3GPP access network); and
send a response to indicate that the switching is completed ([0124-0125], Fig. 6A, In block 618, the processor may receive an EAP Success message from the network element of the non-3GPP access network. The reception of the EAP success message indicates to the UE processor that the device has been successfully authenticated to the home network, and thus communications via the non-3GPP access network can proceed using 5G security procedures. In block 620, the processor may initiate communications with the Internet via the network element of the non-3GPP access network in response to receiving the EAP Success).
Palanigounder fails to teach the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Tiwari teaches wherein the second apparatus is separable from the first apparatus ([0016] personal mobility service is realized by separating the USIM and the ME), and sending a response to the second apparatus to indicate that the switching is completed ([0047], A USIM is activated in the 5G ME and the USIM indicates, to the 5G ME, list of service(s) supported by the USIM).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of 5G specific parameters, like security keys, in establishing connection, and indication of specific services supported between the USIM and the ME, as taught in Tiwari, in the system of Palanigounder, in order to provide more dedicated security functionalities to each 5G entity while optimizing the device for 5G performance.
Regarding Claim 2, Palanigounder, modified by Tiwari, teaches the invention of Claim 1 above, Palanigounder further comprising wherein at least one of: the first traffic type is associated with a first access point, and the second traffic type is associated with a second access point ([0047-0049], Fig. 1, The non-3GPP access network 150 may include one or more access points 154, the core network 140 may provide functions as a home 3GPP network, with base station 110a-110d providing communication coverage for the cells), the first context comprises a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) 5G non- seamless wireless local area network (WLAN) offload (NSWO) context, the second context comprises a SUCI context, and the response comprises a SUCI associated with the second access point ([0118], Fig. 6A, In block 606, the processor may encrypt the MSIN to generate a Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI) in a Network Access Identifier (NAI) format. In some embodiments, the processor may encrypt the MSIN to generate the SUCI in the NAI format and send the SUCI to the network element of the non-3GPP access network for authentication of the UE by the home 3GPP network for access to the non-3GPP access network in response to the USIM or the ME setting indicating that the UE should use 5G NSWO, [0038], the UE may be configured by the home network operator to use 5G NSWO for offloading traffic to a non-3GPP access network, such as a WLAN).
Regarding Claim 3, Palanigounder, modified by Tiwari, teaches the invention of Claim 1 above, Palanigounder further comprising wherein the first apparatus is further caused to: establish a second connection between the terminal device and the second access point ([0124-0125], Fig. 6A, In block 618, the processor may receive an EAP Success message from the network element of the non-3GPP access network. The reception of the EAP success message indicates to the UE processor that the device has been successfully authenticated to the home network, and thus communications via the non-3GPP access network can proceed using 5G security procedures. In block 620, the processor may initiate communications with the Internet via the network element of the non-3GPP access network in response to receiving the EAP Success).
Regarding Claim 4, Palanigounder, modified by Tiwari, teaches the invention of Claim 1 above, Palanigounder further comprising wherein at least one of: the first apparatus comprises a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM), the second apparatus comprises a mobile equipment (ME) module, the first access point comprises a WLAN access point (AP), the second access point comprises a trusted non-3GPP access point (TNAP), the first traffic type comprises NSWO traffic, and the second traffic type comprises TNAP traffic ([0116-0118], Fig. 6A, In block 602, the processor may check a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) or a mobile equipment (ME) setting for an indication that the UE should use 5G NSWO, In block 604, the processor may obtain a Mobile Subscriber Identification Number (MSIN) from an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) of the UE. In some embodiments, the processor may obtain an encrypted MSIN from the USIM of the UE, and generate the SUCI in the NAI format using the encrypted MSIN, In block 606, the processor may encrypt the MSIN to generate a Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI) in a Network Access Identifier (NAI) format. In some embodiments, the processor may encrypt the MSIN to generate the SUCI in the NAI format and send the SUCI to the network element of the non-3GPP access network for authentication of the UE by the home 3GPP network for access to the non-3GPP access network in response to the USIM or the ME setting indicating that the UE should use 5G NSWO, [0038], the UE may be configured by the home network operator to use 5G NSWO for offloading traffic to a non-3GPP access network, such as a WLAN).
Regarding Claim 5, Palanigounder teaches a second apparatus of a terminal device, comprising: a processor; a transceiver communicatively coupled to the processor, and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor ([0073-0075], Fig. 2, first SOC 202 and second SOC 204, the second SOC 204 may operate as a specialized 5G processing unit, [0077], The first and second SOC 202, 204 may communicate via interconnection/bus module 250), cause the second apparatus at least to:
determine a switchover from a first traffic type associated with a first access point to a second traffic type associated with a second access point ([0116], Fig. 6A, In block 602, the processor may check a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) or a mobile equipment (ME) setting for an indication that the UE should use 5G NSWO. For example, the processor may determine that the UE should use 5G NSWO procedures in response to a bit or flag value set in the USIM or in a memory register of the ME);
transmit an indication of the switchover to the first access point, the indication being protected by a first key for a first connection between the terminal device and the first access point ([0118], Fig. 6A, In block 606, the processor may encrypt the MSIN to generate a Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI) in a Network Access Identifier (NAI) format. In some embodiments, the processor may encrypt the MSIN to generate the SUCI in the NAI format and send the SUCI to the network element of the non-3GPP access network for authentication of the UE by the home 3GPP network for access to the non-3GPP access network in response to the USIM or the ME setting indicating that the UE should use 5G NSWO); and
establish a second connection between the terminal device and the second access point, the second connection being protected by a key ([0120-123], Fig. 6A, In block 610, the processor may receive an Extensible Authentication Protocol and Key Agreement prime (EAP-AKA′)-Challenge from the network element of the non-3GPP access network. In block 612, the processor may calculate an EAP-Response via an AKA algorithm. The generation of the EAP-Response via an AKA algorithm may be according to conventional EAP-AKA′ protocol procedures. In block 614, the processor may derive or generate one or more keys using an arbitrary value for the serving network name of the non-3GPP access network. In various embodiments, the derivation/generation of one or more keys may be accomplished at any time after receiving the EAP-AKA′ challenge message. In block 616, the processor may send the EAP-Response to the network element of the non-3GPP access network. The transmission of the EAP-AKA′ Response may be consistent with conventional EAP-AKA′ protocol procedures).
Palanigounder fails to teach the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Tiwari teaches wherein the second apparatus is separable from the first apparatus ([0016] personal mobility service is realized by separating the USIM and the ME, [0047], A USIM is activated in the 5G ME and the USIM indicates, to the 5G ME, list of service(s) supported by the USIM).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of 5G specific parameters, like security keys, in establishing connection, and indication of specific services supported between the USIM and the ME, as taught in Tiwari, in the system of Palanigounder, in order to provide more dedicated security functionalities to each 5G entity while optimizing the device for 5G performance.
Regarding Claim 6, Palanigounder, modified by Tiwari, teaches the invention of Claim 5 above, Palanigounder further comprising wherein at least one of: the second apparatus comprises: a mobile equipment (ME) of the terminal device ([0116], Fig. 6A, In block 602, the processor may check a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) or a mobile equipment (ME) setting for an indication that the UE should use 5G NSWO. For example, the processor may determine that the UE should use 5G NSWO procedures in response to a bit or flag value set in the USIM or in a memory register of the ME), and the indication of the switchover is transmitted via a layer 2 (L2) message ([0083], In the user and control planes, Layer 2 (L2) of the AS 304 may be responsible for the link between the wireless device 320 and the base station 350 over the physical layer 306. In the various embodiments, Layer 2 may include a media access control (MAC) sublayer 308, a radio link control (RLC) sublayer 310, and a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) 312 sublayer, each of which form logical connections terminating at the base station 350, [0089], the software architecture 300 may further include in the AS 304 a hardware interface 316 between the physical layer 306 and the communication hardware (e.g., one or more radio frequency (RF) transceivers).
Regarding Claim 7, Palanigounder, modified by Tiwari, teaches the invention of Claim 6 above, Palanigounder further comprising wherein the indication of the switchover comprises a non-seamless wireless local area network (WLAN) offload (NSWO) switch over indication ([0116-0118], Fig. 6A, In block 602, the processor may check a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) or a mobile equipment (ME) setting for an indication that the UE should use 5G NSWO, In block 604, the processor may obtain a Mobile Subscriber Identification Number (MSIN) from an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) of the UE. In some embodiments, the processor may obtain an encrypted MSIN from the USIM of the UE, and generate the SUCI in the NAI format using the encrypted MSIN, In block 606, the processor may encrypt the MSIN to generate a Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI) in a Network Access Identifier (NAI) format. In some embodiments, the processor may encrypt the MSIN to generate the SUCI in the NAI format and send the SUCI to the network element of the non-3GPP access network for authentication of the UE by the home 3GPP network for access to the non-3GPP access network in response to the USIM or the ME setting indicating that the UE should use 5G NSWO, [0038], the UE may be configured by the home network operator to use 5G NSWO for offloading traffic to a non-3GPP access network, such as a WLAN).
Regarding Claim 8, Palanigounder, modified by Tiwari, teaches the invention of Claim 6 above, Palanigounder further comprising wherein the L2 message further comprises: a non-access stratum (NAS) packet data unit (PDU) ([0081], The software architecture 300 may include a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) 302 and an Access Stratum (AS) 304. The NAS 302 may include functions and protocols to support packet filtering, security management, mobility control, session management, and traffic and signaling between a SIM(s) of the wireless device (e.g., SIM(s) 204) and its core network 140. The AS 304 may include functions and protocols that support communication between a SIM(s) (e.g., SIM(s) 204) and entities of supported access networks (e.g., a base station). In particular, the AS 304 may include at least three layers (Layer 1, Layer 2, and Layer 3), each of which may contain various sub-layers).
Regarding Claim 9, Palanigounder, modified by Tiwari, teaches the invention of Claim 5 above, Palanigounder further comprising wherein the second apparatus is caused to establish the second connection by: performing, based on the second key, a trusted non-3GPP access authentication among a subscriber identity module of the terminal device, the ME module of the terminal device, the first access point, the second access point, a gateway function, a data network, and a set of core network functions ([0122], In block 614, the processor may derive or generate one or more keys using an arbitrary value for the serving network name of the non-3GPP access network. In various embodiments, the derivation/generation of one or more keys may be accomplished at any time after receiving the EAP-AKA′ challenge message, [0089], the software architecture 300 may include one or more higher logical layer (e.g., transport, session, presentation, application, etc.) that provide host layer functions. For example, in some embodiments, the software architecture 300 may include a network layer (e.g., Internet Protocol (IP) layer) in which a logical connection terminates at a packet data network (PDN) gateway (PGW). In some embodiments, the software architecture 300 may include an application layer in which a logical connection terminates at another device (e.g., end user device, server, etc.). In some embodiments, the software architecture 300 may further include in the AS 304 a hardware interface 316 between the physical layer 306 and the communication hardware (e.g., one or more radio frequency (RF) transceivers)).
Regarding Claim 10, Palanigounder, modified by Tiwari, teaches the invention of Claim 5 above, Tiwari further comprising wherein the second apparatus is further caused to: send an internal indication of the switchover to the first apparatus of the terminal device and receive a response from the first apparatus of the terminal device to indicate that the switching is completed ([0016] personal mobility service is realized by separating the USIM and the ME, [0047], A USIM is activated in the 5G ME and the USIM indicates, to the 5G ME, list of service(s) supported by the USIM).
Regarding Claim 11, Palanigounder, modified by Tiwari, teaches the invention of Claim 10 above, Palanigounder further comprising wherein the second apparatus is caused to send the internal indication by: in response to transmitting the indication of the switchover to the first access point, send the internal indication ([0116-0117], Fig. 6A, In block 602, the processor may check a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) or a mobile equipment (ME) setting for an indication that the UE should use 5G NSWO, In block 604, the processor may obtain a Mobile Subscriber Identification Number (MSIN) from an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) of the UE. In some embodiments, the processor may obtain an encrypted MSIN from the USIM of the UE, and generate the SUCI in the NAI format using the encrypted MSIN).
Regarding Claim 12, Palanigounder, modified by Tiwari, teaches the invention of Claim 10 above, Palanigounder further comprising wherein the second apparatus is further caused to: in response to receiving the response from the first apparatus, transmit the indication of the switchover to the first access point ([0118], Fig. 6A, In block 606, the processor may encrypt the MSIN to generate a Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI) in a Network Access Identifier (NAI) format. In some embodiments, the processor may encrypt the MSIN to generate the SUCI in the NAI format and send the SUCI to the network element of the non-3GPP access network for authentication of the UE by the home 3GPP network for access to the non-3GPP access network in response to the USIM or the ME setting indicating that the UE should use 5G NSWO).
Regarding Claim 13, Palanigounder, modified by Tiwari, teaches the invention of Claim 5 above, Palanigounder further comprising wherein at least one of: the first apparatus comprises a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM), the first access point comprises a wireless local area network access point (WLAN AP), the second access point comprises a trusted non-3GPP access point (TNAP), the first traffic comprises an NSWO traffic, the second traffic comprises a TNAP traffic, the first key comprises a WLAN key, and the second key comprises a TNAP key ([0116-0118], Fig. 6A, In block 602, the processor may check a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) or a mobile equipment (ME) setting for an indication that the UE should use 5G NSWO, In block 604, the processor may obtain a Mobile Subscriber Identification Number (MSIN) from an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) of the UE. In some embodiments, the processor may obtain an encrypted MSIN from the USIM of the UE, and generate the SUCI in the NAI format using the encrypted MSIN, In block 606, the processor may encrypt the MSIN to generate a Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI) in a Network Access Identifier (NAI) format. In some embodiments, the processor may encrypt the MSIN to generate the SUCI in the NAI format and send the SUCI to the network element of the non-3GPP access network for authentication of the UE by the home 3GPP network for access to the non-3GPP access network in response to the USIM or the ME setting indicating that the UE should use 5G NSWO).
Regarding Claim 14, Palanigounder teaches a first access point comprising: a processor; and a transceiver communicatively coupled to the processor, at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor ([0130], Fig. 7), cause the first access point at least to: receive, from a terminal device, a first indication protected by a first key for a connection between the terminal device and the first access point ([0116-0118], Fig. 6A, In block 602, the processor may check a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) or a mobile equipment (ME) setting for an indication that the UE should use 5G NSWO, In block 604, the processor may obtain a Mobile Subscriber Identification Number (MSIN) from an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) of the UE. In some embodiments, the processor may obtain an encrypted MSIN from the USIM of the UE, and generate the SUCI in the NAI format using the encrypted MSIN, In block 606, the processor may encrypt the MSIN to generate a Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI) in a Network Access Identifier (NAI) format. In some embodiments, the processor may encrypt the MSIN to generate the SUCI in the NAI format and send the SUCI to the network element of the non-3GPP access network for authentication of the UE by the home 3GPP network for access to the non-3GPP access network in response to the USIM or the ME setting indicating that the UE should use 5G NSWO);
determine a switchover by the terminal device from a first traffic type associated with the first access point to a second traffic type associated with a second access point ([0047-0049], Fig. 1, The non-3GPP access network 150 may include one or more access points 154, the core network 140 may provide functions as a home 3GPP network, with base station 110a-110d providing communication coverage for the cells); and transmit a second indication of the switchover to the second access point ([0119], Fig. 6A, In block 608, the processor may send the SUCI to a network element of a non-3GPP access network for authentication of the UE by a home 3GPP network for access to the non-3GPP access network, [0122], In block 614, the processor may derive or generate one or more keys using an arbitrary value for the serving network name of the non-3GPP access network. In various embodiments, the derivation/generation of one or more keys may be accomplished at any time after receiving the EAP-AKA′ challenge message, [0124-0125], Fig. 6A, In block 618, the processor may receive an EAP Success message from the network element of the non-3GPP access network. The reception of the EAP success message indicates to the UE processor that the device has been successfully authenticated to the home network, and thus communications via the non-3GPP access network can proceed using 5G security procedures. In block 620, the processor may initiate communications with the Internet via the network element of the non-3GPP access network in response to receiving the EAP Success).
Palanigounder fails to teach the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Tiwari teaches decrypt the first indication based on a first key to determine a switchover ([0067-0070], received 5G specific parameters are stored to the ME in secured way so that any application or function not related to these parameters cannot access or alter the value of the parameters, f this parameter(s) is encrypted or ciphered, then the ME sends this parameter to the USIM and USIM decrypts or performs integrity protection of this parameter (s) and, after successful integrity check or decryption, sends to the ME. The ME stores the parameter (i.e. SUPI or IMSI) into the ME memory for the USIM, UE uses these parameters in any subsequent NAS or AS procedure for the USIM).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of 5G specific parameters, like security keys, in establishing connection, and indication of specific services supported between the USIM and the ME, as taught in Tiwari, in the system of Palanigounder, in order to provide more dedicated security functionalities to each 5G entity while optimizing the device for 5G performance.
Regarding Claim 15, Palanigounder, modified by Tiwari, teaches the invention of Claim 14 above, Palanigounder further comprising wherein at least one of: the first access point comprises a wireless local area network access point (WLAN AP), the second access point comprises a trusted non-3GPP access point (TNAP), the first indication is transmitted via a layer 2 (L2) message, and the first key comprises a WLAN key ([0038], the UE may be configured by the home network operator to use 5G NSWO for offloading traffic to a non-3GPP access network, such as a WLAN).
Regarding Claim 16, Palanigounder teaches a second access point comprising: a processor; a transceiver communicatively coupled to the processor, and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor ([0130], Fig. 7), cause the second access point at least to: receive, from a first access point, an indication of a switchover by a terminal device from a first traffic type associated with the first access point to a second traffic type associated with the second access point ([0047-0049], Fig. 1, The non-3GPP access network 150 may include one or more access points 154, the core network 140 may provide functions as a home 3GPP network, with base station 110a-110d providing communication coverage for the cells), a first connection between the terminal device and the first access point being protected by a first key ([0116-0118], Fig. 6A, In block 602, the processor may check a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) or a mobile equipment (ME) setting for an indication that the UE should use 5G NSWO, In block 604, the processor may obtain a Mobile Subscriber Identification Number (MSIN) from an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) of the UE. In some embodiments, the processor may obtain an encrypted MSIN from the USIM of the UE, and generate the SUCI in the NAI format using the encrypted MSIN, In block 606, the processor may encrypt the MSIN to generate a Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI) in a Network Access Identifier (NAI) format. In some embodiments, the processor may encrypt the MSIN to generate the SUCI in the NAI format and send the SUCI to the network element of the non-3GPP access network for authentication of the UE by the home 3GPP network for access to the non-3GPP access network in response to the USIM or the ME setting indicating that the UE should use 5G NSWO); and
establish a second connection between the terminal device and the second access point, the second connection being protected ([0119], Fig. 6A, In block 608, the processor may send the SUCI to a network element of a non-3GPP access network for authentication of the UE by a home 3GPP network for access to the non-3GPP access network, [0122], In block 614, the processor may derive or generate one or more keys using an arbitrary value for the serving network name of the non-3GPP access network. In various embodiments, the derivation/generation of one or more keys may be accomplished at any time after receiving the EAP-AKA′ challenge message, [0124-0125], Fig. 6A, In block 618, the processor may receive an EAP Success message from the network element of the non-3GPP access network. The reception of the EAP success message indicates to the UE processor that the device has been successfully authenticated to the home network, and thus communications via the non-3GPP access network can proceed using 5G security procedures. In block 620, the processor may initiate communications with the Internet via the network element of the non-3GPP access network in response to receiving the EAP Success).
Palanigounder fails to teach the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Tiwari teaches performing an authentication based on a second key, wherein the second connection is protected by the second key ([0106], above-mentioned “5G specific parameter” may be any EF and any information (e.g. service information (e.g. service n xxx), location information (e.g. Tracking Area Identity), identifier (e.g. 5G-GUTI, SUCI, Protection Scheme Identifier), context information, Key information (e.g. Key Index), Tag information, configuration information SUCI calculation information), [0184], This EF contains the 5GS non-3GPP access NAS security context as defined in TS 24.501 (NPL 4), consisting of K.sub.AMF with the associated key set identifier, the UE security capabilities, and the uplink and downlink NAS COUNT values).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of 5G specific parameters, like security keys, in establishing connection, and indication of specific services supported between the USIM and the ME, as taught in Tiwari, in the system of Palanigounder, in order to provide more dedicated security functionalities to each 5G entity while optimizing the device for 5G performance.
Regarding Claim 17, Palanigounder, modified by Tiwari, teaches the invention of Claim 16 above, Palanigounder further comprising wherein at least one of: the first access point comprises a wireless local area network access point (WLAN AP), the second access point comprises a trusted non-3GPP access point (TNAP), the second key comprises a TNAP key, and the indication of the switchover comprises layer 2 (L2) message contents ([0038], the UE may be configured by the home network operator to use 5G NSWO for offloading traffic to a non-3GPP access network, such as a WLAN).
Regarding Claim 18, Palanigounder, modified by Tiwari, teaches the invention of Claim 16 above, Palanigounder further comprising wherein the authentication comprises a trusted non-3GPP access authentication ([0124-0125], Fig. 6A, In block 618, the processor may receive an EAP Success message from the network element of the non-3GPP access network. The reception of the EAP success message indicates to the UE processor that the device has been successfully authenticated to the home network, and thus communications via the non-3GPP access network can proceed using 5G security procedures. In block 620, the processor may initiate communications with the Internet via the network element of the non-3GPP access network in response to receiving the EAP Success).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET G WEBB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641