DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Each of claims 3, 7, and 11 requires a = 0.1. However, the respective independent claims of dependent claims 3, 7, and 11 requires 0 ≤ a ≤ 0.02 which excludes a = 0.1. It is unclear “a” should be in these claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US 2010/0279172).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9-11, Hwang et al. teaches a rechargeable lithium battery comprising a positive active material including a compound represented by:
LiaE1-bXbO2-cDc [Formula 2]
0.9 ≤ a ≤ 1.8,
0 ≤ b ≤ 0.5
0 ≤ c ≤ 0.05
E is selected from Co, Mn, or combinations thereof.
X is selected from Al, Ni, Co, Mn, Cr, Fe, Mg, Sr, V, a rare earth element, or combinations thereof.
D is selected from O, F, S P, or combinations thereof.
See paragraphs [0028]-[0032], title, abstract.
While Hwang does not exactly recite formula 1 of claim 1, the resulting chemical formula required by claims 1-3 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Hwang teaches Formula 2 with the claimed elements and stoichiometric portions which includes the claimed formulas.
Regarding claims 13-14, FIG. 2 teaches a rechargeable lithium battery including negative electrodes 2, positive electrodes 3, and separators 4.
Regarding claim 15, Hwang’s battery cell is expected to satisfy the claimed specific capacity range of 150mAh/g because Hwang teaches a rechargeable lithium battery comprising a compound which substantially corresponds to the instant application and it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or are produced by identical or a substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness will be considered to have been established over functional limitations that stem from the claimed structure. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), In re Spada, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 ( Fed. Cir. 1990). The prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed products. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Claims 4, 8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US 2010/0279172) in view of Lee et al. (US 2017/0141393).
Regarding claims 4, 8, and 12, Hwang is silent to the average oxidation state of Mn is between 3.8 and 4.0. However, in the same field of endeavor a positive active material for a rechargeable lithium battery, Lee discloses using Mn having an oxidation number of +3 and an oxidation number of +4 wherein the amount of oxidation number of +3 may up to 37 wt. % for the benefit of efficiently suppressing voltage decreasing after repeated charges and discharges [0043]-[0046]. Accordingly, providing the rechargeable lithium ion battery of Hwang with an average oxidation state of Mn between 3.8 to 4.0 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since Lee et al. provides ample motivation to use Mn having an oxidation number of +3 and an oxidation number of +4 wherein the oxidation number +3 may be up to 37% to obtain the known and predictable benefits of suppressing voltage decreasing across charge and discharge cycles thereby improving cycle-life characteristics of the rechargeable lithium battery.
Conclusion
/KENDRA LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749