DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) / (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hartmann (US 2001/0023862).
With respect to the limitations of claim 1, Hartmann teaches a machining apparatus, comprising: a profile sensor unit (Fig 1, optical detector 5, 0046, 0047) configured to obtain shape information (0015, predetermined contours on the surface of the workpiece can be detected and locally assigned with their contour edges or contour limits by the fall and/or rise of the measured intensity of the reflected light, 0047-0049) about a parent substrate (workpiece 4, 0045); and a laser scan unit (scanner mirrors 2, 3, 0045) configured to direct a laser beam (laser light source 9, Claim 11, 17) onto the parent substrate, a laser beam axis of the laser beam is tilted (tilted laser axis by scanner mirrors 2, 3) to an exposed main surface of the parent substrate (0027, groove-shaped depression; 0029, contoured openings to be cut into a workpiece), and a track of the laser beam on the parent substrate is controllable as a function of the shape information (0036, 0057, this positional information can be used for controlling the deflection of the laser beam 8 for the corresponding laser machining) obtained from the profile sensor unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Hartmann (US 2001/0023862) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Kazuma (JP2008264805). An English machine translation of Kazuma (JP2008264805) is included with the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892).
With respect to the limitations of claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8, Hartman teaches the machining apparatus comprises a control unit (electronic evaluation and control unit 6, 0045) that is configured to process information obtained from the profile sensor unit (0045, claim 1); the control unit (6) is configured control a relative movement between the laser scan unit in a way (scanner mirrors 2, 3, 0045) that the laser beam follows a desired path on a surface of a workpiece comprising the parent substrate (0057, Claim 1, the measuring signals of the optical detector (5) are fed to the electronic evaluation and control unit (6) in dependence on the respective pivoting angle of the scanner mirror(s) (2, 3) and the deflection of the laser beam (8) is controlled during the machining in dependence on the actual position of the contour (17) ascertained in this way for the machining).
Hartman discloses the claimed invention except for the machining apparatus comprises a stage unit; the stage unit is configured to allow rotational and/or linear movement of a wafer composite comprising the parent substrate relative to the profile sensor unit and the laser scan unit; the stage unit is adapted to be reversibly connected with a main surface of the parent substrate; the stage unit is moveable with respect to the laser beam and/or the laser beam is moveable with respect to the stage unit such that the laser beam may follow a track along the circumference of the parent substrate; the machining apparatus comprises a control unit that is configured to process information obtained from the stage unit; the control unit is configured control a relative movement between the laser scan unit and the stage unit in a way that the laser beam follows a desired path on a surface of a wafer composite comprising the parent substrate; the machining apparatus is configured to form a groove in an edge region of a wafer composite comprising the parent substrate.
However, Kazuma discloses the machining apparatus comprises a stage unit (Figs 1-3, chuck table 36, 0014); the stage unit is configured to allow rotational (0014, chuck table 36 configured in this way is rotated by a pulse motor (not shown) located inside the cylindrical member 34) and/or linear movement (X and Y-axis feed direction, 0014) of a wafer composite comprising the parent substrate (semiconductor wafer 20, 0029) relative to the profile sensor unit (imaging means 52, 0026) and the laser scan unit (galvanometer mirrors 7a, 7b, 0024); the stage unit is adapted to be reversibly connected with a main surface of the parent substrate (chuck table 36 is capable of supporting a back surface or front main surface of the wafer 20 in figure 3); the stage unit is moveable (0014) with respect to the laser beam (laser beam irradiation unit 5, 0013) and/or the laser beam is moveable with respect to the stage unit (Fig 2, galvanometer mirrors 7a, 7b, 0024) such that the laser beam may follow a track along the circumference of the parent substrate (galvanometer mirrors 7a, 7b, rotating chuck table, allows for the laser beam to follow a laser processing line along a circumference of the wafer 20); the machining apparatus comprises a control unit (control means 10, CPU 101, 0027) that is configured to process information obtained from the stage unit (chuck table 36, 0016); the control unit (10, 101) is configured control a relative movement between the laser scan unit (7a, 7b) and the stage unit (36) in a way that the laser beam follows a desired path on a surface of a wafer composite comprising the parent substrate (Fig 11, laser-processed grooves 600 are formed in the adhesive film 60 along the dividing grooves 210, 0041); the machining apparatus is configured to form a groove in an edge region of a wafer composite comprising the parent substrate (Figs 4, 11, laser process grooves 600 along dividing grooves 210 that are located along edge regions of the wafer 20) is known in the art.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the machining apparatus of Hartman having a laser scan unit processing a parent substrate silent to the recited stage unit and wafer material with the machining apparatus comprises a stage unit; the stage unit is configured to allow rotational and/or linear movement of a wafer composite comprising the parent substrate relative to the profile sensor unit and the laser scan unit; the stage unit is adapted to be reversibly connected with a main surface of the parent substrate; the stage unit is moveable with respect to the laser beam and/or the laser beam is moveable with respect to the stage unit such that the laser beam may follow a track along the circumference of the parent substrate; the machining apparatus comprises a control unit that is configured to process information obtained from the stage unit; the control unit is configured control a relative movement between the laser scan unit and the stage unit in a way that the laser beam follows a desired path on a surface of a wafer composite comprising the parent substrate; the machining apparatus is configured to form a groove in an edge region of a wafer composite comprising the parent substrate of Kazuma for the purpose of providing a known moveable stage unit configuration that allows for movement of a wafer composite workpiece in the X, Y, Z and rotational directions that works in combination with a laser scanner to laser machine the workpiece in any desired location quickly and efficiently.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Hartman (US 2001/0023862) in view of Kazuma (JP2008264805) as applied to claims 1 and 2, further in view of Yeh (US 2007/0020873) or Bohme (US 2016/0280580).
With respect to the limitations of claim 5, Kazuma discloses the stage unit is moveable (X and Y-axis feed direction, rotating chuck table 36, 0014) with respect to the laser beam and/or the laser beam is moveable (galvanometer mirrors 7a, 7b, 0024) with respect to the stage unit such that the laser beam may follow a track along of the parent substrate (Figs 4, 11). Hartman in view of Kazuma discloses the claimed invention except for the laser beam may follow a track along the circumference of the parent substrate. However, Yeh discloses the laser beam may follow a track along the circumference of the parent substrate (Fig 2B, groove 226 is formed on the bond surface 222 along the first circumference 221, 0021; 0023, laser cutting process) is known in the art. It would have been for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the machining apparatus of Hartman in view of Kazuma having a scanning laser and rotating stage unit silent to a circumferential laser track with the laser beam may follow a track along the circumference of the parent substrate of Yeh for the purpose of providing a known laser groove configuration that allows a wafer to be created with a desired diameter.
Additionally, Bohme discloses the laser beam may follow a track along the circumference of the parent substrate (Figs 5A-5D, removal line 9, laser 14, 0140, 0141) is known in the art. It would have been for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the machining apparatus of Hartman in view of Kazuma having a scanning laser and rotating stage unit silent to a circumferential laser track with the laser beam may follow a track along the circumference of the parent substrate of Bohme for the purpose of providing a known laser groove configuration that allows a workpiece to be created with a desired diameter.
Conclusion
/THIEN S TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 3/23/2026