DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of Amendment filed July 28, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 13, 14, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita et al. (US Patent No.: 8269391) in view of Vollmer (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2021/0281126 A1).
For claim 1, Yamashita et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: screen printing a suspension of a permanent magnetic material and a non-permanent magnetic material to form the rotor element (i.e. permanent magnetic material Nd2Fe14B screen-printed with non-permanent magnetic material Fe-Si, see column 2, lines 10-15); simultaneously sintering the permanent magnetic material and the non-permanent magnetic material (magnetic material Nd2Fe14B being sintered, see column 2, lines 33-37); and magnetizing the permanent magnetic material (magnetization of magnet, see column 2, lines 44-50). Yamashita et al. however do not specifically disclose a suspension of the permanent magnetic material and a non-permanent magnetic material.
Having a suspension of at least two different materials is a known skill as exhibited by Vollmer which discloses a suspension of materials including permanent magnetic particles (see paragraphs [0080-0083]), which when applied to the screen printing of Yamashita et al. would disclose screen printing a suspension of a permanent magnetic material and a non-permanent magnetic material to form the rotor element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the suspension of materials as disclosed by Vollmer for the permanent magnetic material and a non-permanent magnetic material of Yamashita et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for achieving optimal characteristics in the device.
For claim 2, Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer disclose the claimed invention except for the permanent magnetic material forming at least one permanent magnet having a corner-free basic shape. Vollmer further discloses at least one permanent magnet (reference numeral 15) having a corner-free basic shape (see figures 4, 5), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a permanent magnet with a corner-free basic shape as disclosed by Vollmer for the permanent magnetic material of Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer for predictably providing desirable configuration for achieving optimal characteristics in the device.
For claim 3, Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer disclose the claimed invention except for at least one passage extending in an axial direction of the rotor being formed. Vollmer further discloses at least one passage (i.e. recess 5) extending in an axial direction of the rotor being formed (see figure 3), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the passage as disclosed by Vollmer for the rotor of Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the proper assembly of the device.
For claim 7, Yamashita et al. disclose a rotor element for a rotor of an electric machine (see the Abstract), the rotor element having at least one permanent magnetic material (i.e. permanent magnetic material Nd2Fe14B screen-printed with non-permanent magnetic material Fe-Si, see column 2, lines 10-15), and a non-permanent magnetic material (i.e. non-permanent magnetic material Fe-Si, see column 2, lines 10-15), the at least one permanent magnetic material and the non-permanent magnetic material being screen printed (i.e. permanent magnetic material Nd2Fe14B screen-printed with non-permanent magnetic material Fe-Si, see column 2, lines 10-15) and simultaneously sintered (magnetic material Nd2Fe14B being sintered, see column 2, lines 33-37) and then magnetized (magnetization of magnet, see column 2, lines 44-50), but Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer however do not specifically disclose a suspension of the at least one permanent magnetic material and the non-permanent magnetic material.
Having a suspension of at least two different materials is a known skill as exhibited by Vollmer which discloses a suspension of materials including permanent magnetic particles (see paragraphs [0080-0083]), which when applied to the screen printing of Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer would disclose a suspension of the at least one permanent magnetic material and the non-permanent magnetic material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the suspension of materials as disclosed by Vollmer for the at least one permanent magnetic material and the non-permanent magnetic material of Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer for predictably providing desirable configuration for achieving optimal characteristics in the device.
For claim 8, Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer disclose the claimed invention except for the at least one permanent magnetic material being at least one permanent magnet having a corner-free basic shape. Vollmer further discloses at least one permanent magnet (reference numeral 15) having a corner-free basic shape (see figures 4, 5), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a permanent magnet with a corner-free basic shape as disclosed by Vollmer for the permanent magnetic material of Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer for predictably providing desirable configuration for achieving optimal characteristics in the device.
For claim 9, Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer disclose the claimed invention except for at least one passage extending in an axial direction of the rotor being provided. Vollmer further discloses at least one passage (i.e. recess 5) extending in an axial direction of the rotor being formed (see figure 3), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the passage as disclosed by Vollmer for the rotor of Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the proper assembly of the device.
For claim 13, Yamashita et al. disclose a rotor having a rotor element (see the Abstract).
For claim 14, Yamashita et al. disclose an electric machine having a rotor (i.e. motor, generator, see the Abstract).
For claim 16, Yamashita et al. already disclose the screen printing of permanent magnetic material Nd2Fe14B with non-permanent magnetic material Fe-Si (see column 2, lines 10-15), i.e. providing a screen.
For claim 17, Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer disclose the claimed invention except for the screen printing the suspension further comprising screen printing the suspension of the permanent magnetic material and the non-permanent magnetic material through the screen to form the rotor element. Having a suspension of at least two different materials is a known skill as exhibited by Vollmer which discloses a suspension of materials including permanent magnetic particles (see paragraphs [0080-0083]), which when applied to the screen printing of Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer would disclose screen printing the suspension of the permanent magnetic material and the non-permanent magnetic material through the screen to form the rotor element. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the suspension of materials as disclosed by Vollmer for the permanent magnetic material and the non-permanent magnetic material of Yamashita et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for achieving optimal characteristics in the device.
For claim 18, Yamashita et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: producing a screen (i.e. Yamashita et al. disclosing the screen printing of permanent magnetic material Nd2Fe14B with non-permanent magnetic material Fe-Si, see column 2, lines 10-15, i.e. providing a screen); screen printing a permanent magnetic material and a non-permanent magnetic material through the screen to form the rotor element (i.e. permanent magnetic material Nd2Fe14B screen-printed with non-permanent magnetic material Fe-Si, see column 2, lines 10-15); simultaneously sintering the permanent magnetic material and the non-permanent magnetic material (magnetic material Nd2Fe14B being sintered, see column 2, lines 33-37); and magnetizing the permanent magnetic material (magnetization of magnet, see column 2, lines 44-50). Yamashita et al. however do not specifically disclose a suspension of the permanent magnetic material and the non-permanent magnetic material.
Having a suspension of at least two different materials is a known skill as exhibited by Vollmer which discloses a suspension of materials including permanent magnetic particles (see paragraphs [0080-0083]), which when applied to the screen printing of Yamashita et al. would disclose screen printing a suspension of the permanent magnetic material and the non-permanent magnetic material to form the rotor element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the suspension of materials as disclosed by Vollmer for the permanent magnetic material and the non-permanent magnetic material of Yamashita et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for achieving optimal characteristics in the device.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 10, 11, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Kobayashi et al. (US Patent No.: 8987965).
For claims 4 and 10, Yamashita et al. disclose the (at least one) permanent magnetic material containing neodymium-iron-boron (see column 2, lines 10-15), but Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer however do not specifically disclose the sintering being carried out at a temperature in the range of from 1200° C. to 1300° C. Having a sintering temperature between 1200° C and 1300° C is a known skill as exhibited by Kobayashi et al. which disclose a sintering temperature between 900° C and 1250° C (see column 10, lines 36-41), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a particular temperature as disclosed by Kobayashi et al. for the sintering temperature of Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer for predictably providing desirable configuration for achieving proper features for the components in the device.
For claims 5 and 11, Yamashita et al. disclose the non-permanent magnetic material containing iron-silicon (see column 2, lines 10-15), but Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer however do not specifically disclose the sintering being carried out at a temperature in the range of from 1200° C. to 1300° C. Having a sintering temperature between 1200° C and 1300° C is a known skill as exhibited by Kobayashi et al. which disclose a sintering temperature between 900° C and 1250° C (see column 10, lines 36-41), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a particular temperature as disclosed by Kobayashi et al. for the sintering temperature of Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer for predictably providing desirable configuration for achieving proper features for the components in the device.
For claim 15, Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer and Kobayashi et al. already disclose the structure of the invention as explained for claim 10 above, and applying the invention to an apparatus such as a motor vehicle merely recites the intended use of the invention, which does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art.
Claim(s) 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Korhonen et al. (US Patent No.: 11398345) and Kobayashi et al. (US Patent No.: 8987965).
For claims 6 and 12, Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer disclose the claimed invention except for the non-permanent magnetic material containing iron-cobalt, and the sintering being carried out at a temperature in the range of from 1200° C. to 1300° C. Having iron-cobalt for the magnetic material is a known skill as exhibited by Korhonen et al. (column 10, lines 37-40), and having a sintering temperature between 1200° C and 1300° C is a known skill as exhibited by Kobayashi et al. which disclose a sintering temperature between 900° C and 1250° C (see column 10, lines 36-41). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have iron-cobalt as disclosed by Korhonen et al. for the magnetic material of Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer and also have a particular temperature as disclosed by Kobayashi et al. for the sintering temperature of Yamashita et al. in view of Vollmer for predictably providing desirable configuration for achieving proper features for the components in the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834