DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in regards to application # 18/336,700 that was filed on 07/05/2023 Claims 1-15 are currently pending and are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Galvano et al. (US 2018/0278011).
Regarding Claim 1, Galvano discloses a laser transmit module (Fig. 3), comprising:
a laser transmitter(DL, Fig. 1A, Fig. 2);
a capacitor (C1, C2, Fig. 1A-Fig. 2) configured to supply power to the laser transmitter (DL);
a field effect transistor(TL, fig. Fig. 1A-Fig. 2) is-configured to control the laser transmitter to be turned on (Fig. 1A-Fig. 2, Fig. 10-11, para. [0026], [0038]-[0039]);
wherein the capacitor, the laser transmitter, and the field effect transistor are interconnected through conductive pins to form a laser transmission loop (power loop, Fig. 1A-Fig. 2); and
wherein the capacitor (C1, C2), the laser transmitter(DL) and the field effect transistor(TL) are fixedly connected through the interconnected conductive pins (Fig. 1A-Fig. 2, Fig. 10-11, para. [0026], [0038]-[0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 5, and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galvano et al. (US 2018/0278011) in view of Glaser et al. (doc. “High Power Nanosecond Pulse Laser Driver using a GaN FET”).
Regarding Claim 2, Galvano discloses a laser transmit module (Fig. 3) with a laser diver (14, Fig. 1A), wherein the capacitor (C1, C2), the laser transmitter(DL) and the field effect transistor(TL) are disposed in a stacked manner (Fig. 11-12, para. [0038]-[0039]), and a laser diver (14, Fig. 1A).
Galvano lacks, but Glaser teaches a laser transmit module laser driver wherein the laser transmitter (DL) is located between the capacitor (C1) and the field effect transistor (Q1) (see Fig. 2, page 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser driver of the transmit module disclosed in Galvano with the laser driver taught in Glaser with a reasonable expectation of success because it provides minimal parasitic inductance, optimal high side and low side inductance, superior efficiency and thermal control; pulse shape controlled by inductance and capacitance (see page 3 Glaser second column) resulting in stable pulse shape a well as pulse energy easily controlled by changing VIN ((see page 3 Glaser second column).
Regarding Claim 3, Galvano lacks, but Glaser teaches a laser transmit module laser driver wherein a first conductive pin and a second conductive pin (1st Pin and 2nd pin, see annotated Fig, 2 below) are disposed on a first surface of the capacitor (see C1 in Fig. 2 and Fig. 5 surface connection in GaN chip) that faces the field effect transistor (Q1);
a third conductive pin and a fourth conductive pin (3st Pin and 4nd pin, see annotated Fig, 2 below) are disposed on a second surface of the field effect transistor(Q1 in Fig. 2 and Fig. 5 surface connection in GaN chip) that faces the capacitor(C1);
a power supply pin and a ground pin are respectively disposed on two opposite surfaces of the laser transmitter (power supply Pin and ground pin, see annotated Fig, 2 below);
the power supply pin and the first conductive pin are disposed opposite to each other and conductively connected (see annotated Fig, 2 below);
the ground pin and the third conductive pin are disposed opposite to each other and conductively connected (see annotated Fig, 2 below); and
the second conductive pin and the fourth conductive pin are disposed opposite to each other and conductively connected ( via transistor Q1 see annotated Fig, 2 below).
Regarding Claim 5, Galvano discloses a laser transmit module (Fig. 3) laser transmitter and conductive column in layers (Fig. 5, Fig. 6). Galvano lacks, but Glaser teaches a laser transmit module laser driver wherein the second conductive pin and the fourth conductive pin are conductively connected (Glaser, see annotated Fig, 2 above).
Modified Galvano discloses the claimed invention except for the conductive column and the laser transmitter are disposed on a same layer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to dispose the conductive column and the laser transmitter on a same layer, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding Claim 8, Galvano discloses a laser transmit module (Fig. 3) wherein the field effect transistor (TL, Fig. 1A-Fig. 2) further comprises a control pin, and the control pin (‘ON’, Fig. 1A-Fig. 2) is located on a third surface of the field effect transistor (third side. Fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 9, Galvano discloses a laser transmit module (Fig. 3) wherein the third surface (third side. Fig. 1A) and the second surface are two opposite surfaces or two adjacent surfaces(at least adjacent to the pin of TL on DL side Fig. 1A-Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Galvano discloses a laser transmit module (Fig. 3) with capacitor with plurality of conductive pins (30, Fig. 5). Broadly interpreted, Glaser also teaches a laser transmit module laser driver wherein the capacitor (C1)comprises a fifth conductive pin and a sixth conductive pin (Fig. 8) the fifth conductive pin and the first conductive pin are separately conductively connected to one electrode plate of the capacitor (Fig. 1, Fig. 6, Fig. 8); the sixth conductive pin and the second conductive pin are separately conductively connected to another electrode plate of the capacitor; and the fifth conductive pin is configured to be connected to a power supply of a circuit board (Fig. 8), and the sixth conductive pin is configured to be conductively connected to a ground layer of the circuit board (Fig.2, Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 11, Broadly interpreted, Glaser also teaches a laser transmit module laser driver with wherein both the fifth conductive pin and the sixth conductive pin face the circuit board (Fig. 8).
Claim(s) 4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Galvano et al. (US 2018/0278011) in further view of Chojnacki et al. (US 2018/0045882).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Galvano teaches a laser transmitter module wherein the power supply pin and the first conductive pin are bonded (see annotated Fig, 2 above); and the ground pin and the third conductive pin are bonded (see annotated Fig, 2 above ).
Modified Galvano is silent, but Chojnacki teaches an optical emitter package wherein the conductive elements bonded using conductive adhesive (8a-8f, Figs., para. [0044]-[0045]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser transmit module disclosed in modified Galvano with the conductive adhesive taught in Chojnacki to connect the power supply pin and the first conductive pin as well as the ground pin and the third conductive pin with a reasonable expectation of success because it provides low-temperature curing, excellent thermal/mechanical stress relief, and compatibility with diverse, non-solderable substrates. These properties protect delicate optical and semiconductor components from thermal warping, ensuring stable, long-lasting electrical, mechanical, and thermal connections in the laser transmit module.
Regarding Claim 6, Galvano discloses a laser transmit module (Fig. 3) laser transmitter and conductive column in layers (Fig. 5, Fig. 6). Galvano lacks, but Glaser teaches a laser transmit module laser driver with the second conductive pin and the third conductive pins (Glaser, see annotated Fig, 2 above).
Modified Galvano is silent, but Chojnacki teaches an optical emitter package wherein the conductive elements bonded using conductive adhesive (8a-8f, Figs., para. [0044]-[0045]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser transmit module disclosed in modified Galvano with the conductive adhesive taught in Chojnacki to separately bond and connect the conductive column to the second conductive pin and the third conductive pin with a reasonable expectation of success because it provides low-temperature curing, excellent thermal/mechanical stress relief, and compatibility with diverse, non-solderable substrates. These properties protect delicate optical and semiconductor components from thermal warping, ensuring stable, long-lasting electrical, mechanical, and thermal connections in the laser transmit module.
Regarding Claim 7, Galvano discloses a laser transmit module (Fig. 3) that is a multilayer with conductive layer (Fig. 3, para. [0028]-[0029]) that is a conductive column. Galvano lacks, but Glaser teaches a laser transmit module laser driver with the second conductive pin and the fourth conductive pins (Glaser, see annotated Fig, 2 above).
Modified Galvano is silent, but Chojnacki teaches an optical emitter package wherein the conductive elements bonded using conductive adhesive (8a-8f, Figs., para. [0044]-[0045]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conductive layers of the laser transmit module disclosed in modified Galvano with the conductive adhesive layer taught in Chojnacki to separately bond and connect the second conductive pin and the fourth conductive pin with a reasonable expectation of success because it provides a secure but releasable connection as well as provides delicate optical and semiconductor components from thermal warping, ensuring stable, long-lasting electrical, mechanical, and thermal connections in the laser transmit module.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galvano et al. (US 2018/0278011).
Regarding Claim 12, Galvano discloses a laser transmit module (Fig. 3), wherein a quantity of laser transmitters is 2 (Fig. 5, 20a-20b), and the two laser transmitters are respectively disposed next to the capacitor (30a, Fig. 5); and a quantity of field effect transistors is 2 (Fig. 5, 40a-40b), and the two field effect transistors are respectively disposed on sides that are of the two laser transmitters and that are away from the capacitor (Fig. 5).
Galvano discloses the claimed invention except for the two laser transmitters are respectively disposed on two sides of the capacitor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the invention was made to dispose the two laser transmitters on two sides of the capacitor respectively, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishio et al. (US 2007/0222678) in view of Galvano et al. (US 2018/0278011).
Regarding claim 13, Isho discloses a laser radar (Fig. 1A, para. [0035]-[0039]), comprising: a laser transmit module comprising: a laser transmitter (13, Fig. 1A, para. [0037]), and a detector (15B, 20B, Fig. 1A, para. [0035]-[0037]); and a scanning apparatus (11,12, Fig. 1A, para. [0038]) configured to reflect a detection laser(i.e. light) transmitted by the laser transmit module (13) into a scanning laser (11), and reflect, to the detector (15B), a reflected laser obtained when the scanning laser (i.e. scanning unit) is reflected back by a detected object; and wherein the detector is configured to perform laser detection based on the reflected laser (i.e. light; Fig. 1A, para. [0035]-[0039]).
Isho is silent, but Galvano teaches a laser device with a laser transmit module a laser transmit module (Fig. 3), comprising: a laser transmitter(DL, Fig. 1A, Fig. 2); a capacitor (C1, C2, Fig. 1A-Fig. 2) configured to supply power to the laser transmitter (DL); a field effect transistor(TL, fig. Fig. 1A-Fig. 2) is-configured to control the laser transmitter to be turned on (Fig. 1A-Fig. 2, Fig. 10-11, para. [0026], [0038]-[0039]); wherein the capacitor, the laser transmitter, and the field effect transistor are interconnected through conductive pins to form a laser transmission loop (power loop, Fig. 1A-Fig. 2); and wherein the capacitor (C1, C2), the laser transmitter(DL) and the field effect transistor(TL) are fixedly connected through the interconnected conductive pins (Fig. 1A-Fig. 2, Fig. 10-11, para. [0026], [0038]-[0039]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser transmit module disclosed in Isho with the laser transmit module taught in Galvano with a reasonable expectation of success because it provides highly efficient high-speed switching and power regulation. This combination delivers rapid pulse capabilities for applications like LiDAR, ensures stable current delivery, and prevents electrical noise from distorting the laser output.
Regarding claim 14, Isho discloses a mobile platform (para. [0087]) comprising a central control processor (18, 2, Fig. 1A) and at least one laser radar (Fig. 1A, para. [0035]-[0039]), comprising: a laser transmit module comprising: a laser transmitter (13, Fig. 1A, para. [0037]), and a detector (15B, 20B, Fig. 1A, para. [0035]-[0037]); and a scanning apparatus (11,12, Fig. 1A, para. [0038]) configured to reflect a detection laser(i.e. light) transmitted by the laser transmit module (13) into a scanning laser (11), and reflect, to the detector (15B), a reflected laser obtained when the scanning laser (i.e. scanning unit) is reflected back by a detected object; and wherein the detector is configured to perform laser detection based on the reflected laser (i.e. light; Fig. 1A, para. [0035]-[0039]), and wherein the central control processor controls movement of the mobile platform based on a result of laser detection performed by each laser radar (Fig. 1, para. [0053], [0073]).
Isho is silent, but Galvano teaches a laser device with a laser transmit module a laser transmit module (Fig. 3), comprising: a laser transmitter(DL, Fig. 1A, Fig. 2); a capacitor (C1, C2, Fig. 1A-Fig. 2) configured to supply power to the laser transmitter (DL); a field effect transistor(TL, fig. Fig. 1A-Fig. 2) is-configured to control the laser transmitter to be turned on (Fig. 1A-Fig. 2, Fig. 10-11, para. [0026], [0038]-[0039]); wherein the capacitor, the laser transmitter, and the field effect transistor are interconnected through conductive pins to form a laser transmission loop (power loop, Fig. 1A-Fig. 2); and wherein the capacitor (C1, C2), the laser transmitter(DL) and the field effect transistor(TL) are fixedly connected through the interconnected conductive pins (Fig. 1A-Fig. 2, Fig. 10-11, para. [0026], [0038]-[0039]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser transmit module disclosed in Isho with the laser transmit module taught in Galvano with a reasonable expectation of success because it provides highly efficient high-speed switching and power regulation. This combination delivers rapid pulse capabilities for applications like LiDAR, ensures stable current delivery, and prevents electrical noise from distorting the laser output.
Regarding claim 15, Isho discloses a laser radar (Fig. 1A, para. [0035]-[0039]) wherein the mobile platform is an aircraft or an automobile (para. [0087]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Charlebois et al. (US 2020/0136347) discloses a surface mountable laser driver circuit package is configured to mount on a host printed circuit board (PCB). A surface mount circuit package includes a lead-frame. A plurality of laser driver circuit components is mounted on and in electrical communication with the lead-frame of the surface mount circuit package. A dielectric layer is located between the lead-frame and the host PCB and includes portals through the dielectric layer each arranged to accommodate an electrical connection between the lead-frame and the host PCB. The lead-frame and the dielectric layer are arranged such that a first lead-frame portion and a first dielectric layer portal align with a first end of a host PCB trace configured to provide a current return path for the surface mount laser driver, and a second lead-frame portion and a second dielectric layer portal align with a second end of the host PCB trace.
Assres H. Woldemaryam
Primary Examiner (Aeronautics and Astronautics)
Art Unit 3642
/ASSRES H WOLDEMARYAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642