DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s amendment filed June 3, 2026. Claims 17, 18, 20, 25, and 32-34 have been cancelled without prejudice. Claims 1-16, 19, 21-24, 26-31 and 35-38 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows. Claims 6-9, 11-13, and 23, 24 and 26-30 were previously withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regard to independent claim 35, applicant’s arguments on pages 14-15 of the Remarks, that the previously applied prior art fails to disclose all of the limitations of claim 35, have been fully considered and are appreciated. However, as set forth below, Franklin et al. discloses all of the limitations of claim 35, except “a plurality of blades coupled between the optical portion and the trim ring; strain gauges on the plurality of blades, wherein the strain gauges are configured to gather force sensor measurements.” However, as set forth below Osman discloses (see e.g. annotated Figure 3b below and note that the blades are for example between the trim ring on the left and the optical portion on the right): a plurality of blades 102c (denoted “flap”, see e.g. paragraph [0074]) coupled between the optical portion 102b (denoted “optics”, see e.g. paragraph [0074]) and the trim ring (i.e. external edge of 102b in Figure 3b); flex sensors 306 (see e.g. paragraph [0103], Figure 3b) on the plurality of blades 102c, wherein the flex sensors are configured to detect flexing or movement of 102 (see e.g. paragraph [0103]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that strain gauges would be an art recognized equivalent of the flex sensors as taught by Osman in order to detect a position of a user’s nose region.
Therefore, claims 35 and 38 are rejected, as set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claim 35 is objected to because of the following informalities. In the limitation “a plurality of blades coupled between the optical portion and to the trim ring” should be “a plurality of blades coupled between the optical portion and the trim ring”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franklin et al. (US 2020/0064635 A1) in view of Osman (US 2018/0096533 A1).
In regard to claim 35, Franklin et al. discloses a head-mounted device 10 (denoted “electronic device”, see e.g. paragraph [0030] and Figure 2 for head mounting), comprising (see e.g. Figures 1-2):
a display 14 (“denoted display”, see e.g. paragraph [0031], Figure 2);
a lens assembly 70 (denoted “display modules”, see e.g. paragraph [0031]) that includes a portion of the display 14 (i.e. left or right portion, see e.g. Figure 2), wherein the lens assembly 70 includes an optical portion 72 (denoted “lenses”, see e.g. paragraph [0033] and Figures 2-3) and a trim ring (i.e. external ring of 70, unlabeled in Figure 3) that extends around the optical portion 72 (see e.g. Figure 3);
positioning circuitry 58 (denoted “right and left positioners”, see e.g. paragraph [0031] and Figure 2) configured to move the lens assembly 70 (see e.g. paragraph [0031]).
Franklin et al. fails to disclose
a plurality of blades coupled between the optical portion and the trim ring;
strain gauges on the plurality of blades, wherein the strain gauges are configured to gather force sensor measurements.
However, Osman discloses (see e.g. annotated Figure 3b below and note that the blades are for example between the trim ring on the left and the optical portion on the right):
a plurality of blades 102c (denoted “flap”, see e.g. paragraph [0074]) coupled between the optical portion 102b (denoted “optics”, see e.g. paragraph [0074]) and the trim ring (i.e. external edge of 102b in Figure 3b);
flex sensors 306 (see e.g. paragraph [0103], Figure 3b) on the plurality of blades 102c, wherein the flex sensors are configured to detect flexing or movement of 102 (see e.g. paragraph [0103]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that strain gauges would be an art recognized equivalent of the flex sensors as taught by Osman in order to detect a position of a user’s nose region.
Given the teachings of Osman, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Franklin et al. with a plurality of blades coupled between the optical portion and the trim ring; strain gauges on the plurality of blades, wherein the strain gauges are configured to gather force sensor measurements.
Providing sensors in the proximity of the nasal region of the user would allow for a more comfortable and precise fit of the device.
In regard to claim 38, Franklin et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 35 above, but fails to disclose
wherein each of blades of the plurality of blades is coupled to an associated one of the strain gauges.
However, Osman discloses (see e.g. Figure 3b):
wherein each of blades 102c of the plurality of blades 102c is coupled to an associated one of the flex sensors 306 (see e.g. Figure 3b). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that strain gauges would be an art recognized equivalent of the flex sensors as taught by Osman in order to detect a position of a user’s nose region.
Given the teachings of Osman, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Franklin et al. with wherein each of blades of the plurality of blades is coupled to an associated one of the strain gauges.
Providing sensors in the proximity of the nasal region of the user would allow for a more comfortable and precise fit of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 36 and 37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
In regard to claims 36 and 37, the closest prior art references fail to disclose “wherein the lens assembly further comprises: an intermediate trim piece between the optical portion and the trim ring, wherein first blades of the plurality of blades are coupled to the optical portion and the intermediate trim piece and second blades of the plurality of blades are coupled to the intermediate trim piece and the trim ring.”
Claims 1-5, 10, 14-16, 19, 21, and 22 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance.
In regard to independent claim 1 and dependent claims 2-5, 10, 14-16, 19, 21, and 22, the closest prior art references fail to disclose “wherein the sensor circuitry is coupled to the first and second lens assemblies and configured to gather nose contact force information; and flexible structures coupled to the first lens assembly, wherein the sensor circuitry comprises strain gauges coupled to the flexible structures, and wherein the flexible structures include first flexible structures that extend in the first direction and second flexible structures that extend in a second direction that is different from the first direction.”
In regard to independent claim 31, the closest prior art references fail to disclose “wherein the left and right force sensors are integrated into the nasal flap; and control circuitry configured to measure a force when the left and right lens assemblies press against the left and right force sensors, and to position the left and right lens assemblies using the left and right positioners based on the measured force information from the left and right force.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA M MERLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871