DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-17 are pending
Claims 1-17 are under consideration in the instant office action.
Priority
This application claims benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/366,585 filed on 06/17/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are: an active step of administering N-methyl-DCPA. For examination purposes, claim 7 is interpreted as a method of administering N-methyl-DCPA.
The term “old” in claim 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “old” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to the age or type of bone that is recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Barnett (US 2013/0303621).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Barnett teaches methods of preventing bone erosion and inhibiting osteoclast development in a patient comprising administering a composition comprising a compound of Formula I, including N-(3 ,4-dichlorophenyl)-N-methylpropionamide (see abstract; paragraph 0001). Barnett teaches that “Bone is not a static tissue and there is a constant breakdown of bone by osteoclasts balanced with new bone formation by osteoblasts. Patients with arthritis (osteoarthritis and rheumatoid arthritis) have an imbalance of this process and there is an excess of osteoclast activity with leads to joint deformity.” (paragraph 0025).
When the composition recitations are met, the desired properties are met, as any component that materially affects the composition and its properties would have to be present in the claim to be commensurate in scope (i.e. claim 1). Additionally, when the composition is delivered in the same manner as claimed, the effects of the composition would be the same such as the therapeutic profile, as they are a direct result of the components of the composition and the mode of administration which are met by the art, whereby the resulting properties and effects would intrinsically be met. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01. The court held that when a "‘whereby’ clause states a condition that is material to patentability, it cannot be ignored in order to change the substance of the invention." Id. However, the court noted that a "‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.’" Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)). (MPEP 2111.04 I)
Therefore, the reference is deemed to anticipate the instant claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett (US 2013/0303621) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, and 12-16 above, and further in view of Jairaman (Molecular pharmacology of store-operated CRAC channels, Channels, 2013, 7(5), pp. 402-414).
The teachings of Barnett are presented above.
Barnett does not teach administering N-methyl-DCPA via oral administration.
Jairaman is drawn towards the pharmacology of Ca2+ release-activated Ca2+ (“CRAC”) channels (see abstract). Jairaman teaches oral administration of CRAC channel inhibitors (pg. 409, left column, 1st paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to orally administer N-methyl-DCPA, as suggested by Jairaman, and produce the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so since Jairaman teaches that CRAC channel inhibitors are suitable for oral administration, with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality of the particular steps.
Conclusion
Claims 1-17 are rejected.
/ANDREW P LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/RENEE CLAYTOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1691