DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arnold (US 7889098).
Claim 1: Arnold discloses A radar system for monitoring vehicles on a roadway, the radar system comprising: a radar control unit; a radar subsystem including one or more antennas, the radar subsystem in communication with the radar control unit; and the radar system configured to: be positioned with the one or more antennas at a single position relative to an intersection, and receive radar data from all traffic entrances into the intersection using the radar subsystem (figs 1 and 2 elements 10, 12, 14, 20, col 3 lines 61-65, col 3 line 66 – col 4 line 11, col 4 lines 34-48)
Claim 2: Arnold discloses multiple radar subsystems, wherein the multiple radar subsystems are positioned with the one or more antennas at the single position relative to an intersection (figs 1 and 2 elements 10, 12, 14, 20, col 3 lines 61-65, col 3 line 66 – col 4 line 11, col 4 lines 34-48)
Claim 3: Arnold discloses the radar system comprises a transmitter that is selectively connected to sets of antennas selected from the one or more antennas (fig 3 element 71, col 5 lines 10-54)
Claim 4: Arnold discloses the radar system comprises a transmitter that is simultaneously connected to a set of the one or more antennas (fig 4, col 7 lines 10-50)
Claim 6: Arnold discloses one or more switches connecting a set of the one or more antennas to a transmitter (fig 3 element 71, col 5 lines 10-54)
Claim 7: Arnold discloses the radar control unit is configured to distinguish between targets in a first lane and a second lane of a first roadway at the intersection (col 4 lines 23-29)
Claim 8: Arnold discloses a shared support structure that physically supports the radar control unit, the radar subsystem, and the one or more antennas (figs 1 and 2 element 20, col 3 lines 61-65, col 3 line 66 – col 4 line 11, col 4 lines 34-48)
Claim 9: Arnold discloses the shared support structure comprises mounting points that physically direct the one or more antennas into predetermined directions that align with different areas of the intersection (figs 1 and 2 element 20, fig 3 element 10A, fig 4 element 10B, col 3 lines 61-65, col 3 line 66 – col 4 line 11, col 4 lines 34-48)
Claim 10: Arnold discloses the shared support structure comprises a shell that at least partially encompasses the radar control unit, the radar subsystem, and the one or more antennas (figs 1 and 2 elements 10, 12, 14, 20, col 3 lines 61-65, col 3 line 66 – col 4 line 11, col 4 lines 34-48)
Claim 11: Arnold discloses A method for monitoring vehicles on a transportation throughfare with a radar system, the method comprising: positioning the radar system at a single position relative to an intersection; receiving, from one or more antennas within a radar subsystem, radar data from all traffic entrances into the intersection; and wherein the radar system comprises: a radar control unit, and the radar subsystem configured with the one or more antennas and in communication with the radar control unit (figs 1 and 2 elements 10, 12, 14, 20, col 3 lines 61-65, col 3 line 66 – col 4 line 11, col 4 lines 34-48)
Claim 12: Arnold discloses the radar system comprises multiple radar subsystems, wherein the multiple radar subsystems are positioned with the one or more antennas at the single position relative to an intersection (figs 1 and 2 elements 10, 12, 14, 20, col 3 lines 61-65, col 3 line 66 – col 4 line 11, col 4 lines 34-48)
Claim 13: Arnold discloses the radar system comprises a transmitter that is selectively connected to sets of antennas selected from the one or more antennas (fig 3 element 71, col 5 lines 10-54)
Claim 14: Arnold discloses the radar system comprises a transmitter that is simultaneously connected to a set of the one or more antennas (fig 4, col 7 lines 10-50)
Claim 16: Arnold discloses activating one or more switches connecting a set of the one or more antennas to a transmitter (fig 3 element 71, col 5 lines 10-54)
Claim 17: Arnold discloses distinguishing, with the radar control unit, between targets in a first lane and a second lane of a first roadway at the intersection (col 4 lines 23-29)
Claim 18: Arnold discloses supporting the radar control unit, the radar subsystem, and the one or more antennas with a shared support structure (figs 1 and 2 element 20, col 3 lines 61-65, col 3 line 66 – col 4 line 11, col 4 lines 34-48)
Claim 19: Arnold discloses the shared support structure comprises mounting points that physically direct the one or more antennas into predetermined directions that align with different areas of the intersection (figs 1 and 2 element 20, fig 3 element 10A, fig 4 element 10B, col 3 lines 61-65, col 3 line 66 – col 4 line 11, col 4 lines 34-48)
Claim 20: Arnold discloses the shared support structure comprises a shell that at least partially encompasses the radar control unit, the radar subsystem, and the one or more antennas (figs 1 and 2 elements 10, 12, 14, 20, col 3 lines 61-65, col 3 line 66 – col 4 line 11, col 4 lines 34-48)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnold (US 7889098) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Yu (US 2020/0249343).
Claim 5, 15: Arnold does not specifically disclose transmitting, with a transmitter, a unique, orthogonal signal through each of a set of the one or more antennas.
In similar field of endeavor, Yu discloses a radar for monitoring plural regions with transmission and reception arrays (fig 1A-1C, para 0005-0007), wherein the radar further comprises transmitting, with a transmitter, a unique, orthogonal signal through each of a set of the one or more antennas (para 0057, claim 11).
It would have been obvious to modify he invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Yu, in order to prevent interference between adjacent antenna arrays (Yu para 0057)
Conclusion
/PETER M BYTHROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648