DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
IDS filed 6/25/2026 is being considered by the examiner
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed 6/25/2026 has been received and entered into the record. As a result, claims 1, 3-5, and 7-20 have been amended and claims 21-24 have been added. Therefore, claims 1-24 are presented for examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
"a data processing system configured to fuse" in claim 1;
"an adaptive energy digital twin that is configured to perform" in claim 7;
"an adaptive energy digital twin that is configured to generate" in claim 8;
"a policy and governance engine that is configured to deploy" in claim 18; and
"an analytic system … configured to provide" in claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11, and 13-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannon [US Pub. 2020/0106269] in view of McClintock et al. [US Pat. 9,778,653] ("McClintock").
With regard to claim 1, Hannon teaches an artificial-intelligence-based (AI-based) platform for enabling intelligent orchestration and management of power and energy ("a learning model for evaluating dynamic future allocation with future energy execution prediction [abstract]"), the AI-based platform comprising:
a data processing system [fig. 4: energy management system (400)] configured to,
fuse a first set of data entities of an energy grid data set ("The indexing program 406 is configured to inspect incoming data from the ISOs via an inspection module [par. 0089]") with a second set of data entities of an off-grid energy data set ("DG consists of some form of generation (solar panels, wind generator, fuel cell) which typically is located and operates behind the customer meter and may be (or may not) be combined with a battery … the system is configured to capture the parameters of these facilities, i.e., generation/storage capacity, ramp up time, production profiles, etc. and assign them to a category much like all other load bearing devices. The system can then filter these parameters through both the utility tariff analysis as well as any requirements specified by respective ISOs (e.g., via the ISO's DG (Net Meter) Protocol) [par. 0153]") into a fused set of data entities ("The optimal load profile combines both purchased power from the Grid with both displaced power from the Grid from battery capacity, and also injects into the Grid surplus generation [par. 0155]" and "retrieving, via an electronic interface, operation information associated with devices attached to the energy grid (e.g., energy consuming, energy generating, and/or hybrid devices), the operation information including data relating to usage, a location, and a value (e.g., fabrication value of electricity) for the associated devices, receiving, from a plurality of energy devices, requests for energy fabrication and requirements associated with those requests for energy loads input into a user interface connected to the energy device [par. 0163]"), and
determine a first point of use based on the fused set of data entities, wherein the first point of use is associated with an energy need ("scheduling, provision of energy from the energy grid to the plurality of energy devices, and communicating the fabrication information to the distribution nodes via one or more of the distributed grid controllers based on the learning model of energy consumption, and triggering delivery of energy in accordance with the scheduled provision of energy [par. 0163]").
Although Hannon teaches delivering energy to meet the energy need (as presented above) and delivery power to various loads including an electric vehicle [par. 0143], Hannon does not explicitly teach a transportation system configured to automatically transport, with an autonomous vehicle, an energy resource to the first point of use to meet the energy need.
In the same field of endeavor (delivering power), McClintock teaches a transportation system configured to automatically transport, with an autonomous vehicle, an energy resource to the first point of use to meet an energy need ("systems, devices and methods for delivering energy using an uncrewed autonomous vehicle … The UAV may transfer energy to a device. The devices which utilize energy for operation may include, without limitation, a vehicle, surveillance equipment, communications equipment, utility control equipment, and so forth [col. 1 line 58 – col. 2 line 7]").
McClintock further teaches, "[d]epletion of onboard energy may render the device inoperable. Continuing the example, the vehicle may have insufficient energy onboard to reach a recharging station thus stranding the vehicle. Depletion may result in an adverse user experience. [col. 1 lines 12-16]."
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have delivered power via an autonomous vehicle as taught by McClintock, with the teachings of Hannon, for the benefit conveniently providing power to a vehicle which insufficient energy.
With regard to claim 2, the combination above the AI-based platform of claim 1. Hannon in the combination further teaches wherein the data processing system is configured to automatically time align energy grid entity data with off-grid energy entity data ("state 3: same day purchase (e.g., hourly) based upon both realized and expected hourly prices from the ISO as well system based modeling (see. FIG. 30); and state 4: same day sale showing adjusted schedules, which can be based upon reduction in consumption or outright injection into the Grid from either Solar or Batteries, or various combinations of both options (see FIG. 31) [par. 0141]" and "The system then generates a schedule for energy request/delivery which is then nominated for execution. This optimization allows the system to account for scenarios where true hourly pricing is available [par. 0143]").
With regard to claim 3, the combination above teaches the AI-based platform of claim 1. Hannon in the combination further teaches wherein the data processing system is configured to automatically collect off-grid energy entity sensor data from a set of edge devices via which a set of off-grid resources corresponding to the second set of data entities is controlled ("retrieving, via an electronic interface, operation information associated with devices attached to the energy grid (e.g., energy consuming, energy generating, and/or hybrid devices), the operation information including data relating to usage, a location, and a value (e.g., fabrication value of electricity) for the associated devices, receiving, from a plurality of energy devices, requests for energy fabrication and requirements associated with those requests for energy loads input into a user interface connected to the energy device … scheduling, provision of energy from the energy grid to the plurality of energy devices, and communicating the fabrication information to the distribution nodes via one or more of the distributed grid controllers based on the learning model of energy consumption, and triggering delivery of energy in accordance with the scheduled provision of energy [par. 0163];" it is implied that a sensor is used to obtain operation information).
With regard to claim 4, the combination above teaches the AI-based platform of claim 1. Hannon in the combination further teaches wherein the data processing system is configured to automatically normalize the energy grid data set and the off-grid energy data set to represent the energy grid data set and the off-grid energy data set according to a set of common units ("predefined rules from a predefined rule set are programmatically applied to the retrieved operation information to translate it from its native format into a standardized format [par. 0075]" and "In such cases, offers to provide energy and preferences associated with those offers may be provided to the grid operator by end users who wish to either curtail their consumption or deliver energy they have produced and or stored (ex. solar panels and batteries). Scheduling of that provisioning may be carried out in a similar way, e.g., based on the received offers, preferences associated with the received offers, and standardized location data and standardized value data [par. 0078]" and "The native formats obtained also may be converted into this more standardized format in certain example embodiments, e.g., for aggregation, comparison, display, and/or other purposes [par. 0088]").
With regard to claim 6, the combination above teaches the AI-based platform of claim 1. Hannon in the combination teaches the platform further comprising an adaptive energy digital twin that represents at least one of,
an energy stakeholder entity,
an energy distribution resource,
a stakeholder information technology,
a networking infrastructure entity,
an energy-dependent stakeholder production facility,
a stakeholder transportation system,
a market condition ("the system is configured to compute multiple distinct tariffs based on different generation and load distribution scenarios, and present visualizations of the same in the user interface [par. 0133]"), or
an energy usage priority condition.
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 7, the combination above teaches the AI-based platform of claim 1. Hannon in the combination teaches the platform further comprising an adaptive energy digital twin that is configured to perform at least one of,
providing at least one of a visual indicator or an analytic indicator of energy consumption by at least one energy consumer,
filtering energy data,
highlighting energy data ("the system is configured to compute multiple distinct tariffs based on different generation and load distribution scenarios, and present visualizations of the same in the user interface [par. 0133]"), or
adjusting energy data.
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 8, the combination above teaches the AI-based platform of claim 1. Hannon in the combination teaches the platform further comprising an adaptive energy digital twin that is configured to generate at least one of a visual indicator or an analytic indicator of energy consumption by at least one of,
a machine ("retrieving, via an electronic interface, operation information associated with devices attached to the energy grid (e.g., energy consuming, energy generating, and/or hybrid devices), the operation information including data relating to usage, a location, and a value (e.g., fabrication value of electricity) for the associated devices, receiving, from a plurality of energy devices, requests for energy fabrication and requirements associated with those requests for energy loads input into a user interface connected to the energy device [par. 0163]"),
a factory, or
a vehicle in a vehicle fleet.
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 9, the combination above teaches the AI-based platform of claim 1. Hannon in the combination further teaches wherein the data processing system is configured to perform at least one of,
extracting energy-related data,
detecting errors in energy-related data,
correcting errors in energy-related data,
transforming energy-related data,
converting energy-related data ("predefined rules from a predefined rule set are programmatically applied to the retrieved operation information to translate it from its native format into a standardized format [par. 0075]"),
normalizing energy-related data,
cleansing energy-related data,
parsing energy-related data,
detecting patterns in energy-related data,
detecting content in energy-related data
detecting objects in energy-related data,
compressing energy-related data,
streaming energy-related data,
filtering energy-related data,
loading energy-related data,
storing energy-related data,
routing energy related data,
transporting energy-related data, or
maintaining security of energy-related data.
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 11, the combination above teaches the AI-based platform of claim 1. Hannon in the combination further teaches wherein the data processing system is configured to orchestrate delivery of energy to at least one point of consumption ("wherein the dynamic future allocation includes at least energy operational information based on a categorization of energy usage at a plurality of respective energy devices, and trigger energy generation on the energy grid at respective generator nodes according to the learning model and dynamic projections [par. 0159]"), and the delivery of the energy includes use of at least one of,
a fixed transmission line,
an instance of wireless energy transmission,
a delivery of fuel, or
a delivery of stored energy ("the system can be configured to prevent any peak usage from exceeding this level through a withdrawal from battery capacity with any excess sold back into the Grid [par. 0156]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 13, the combination above teaches the AI-based platform of claim 1. Hannon in the combination further teaches wherein, the second set of data entities is deployed in an off-grid environment ("DG consists of some form of generation (solar panels, wind generator, fuel cell) which typically is located and operates behind the customer meter and may be (or may not) be combined with a battery [par. 0153]"), and the off-grid environment includes at least one of,
an off-grid energy generation system ("DG consists of some form of generation (solar panels, wind generator, fuel cell) which typically is located and operates behind the customer meter and may be (or may not) be combined with a battery [par. 0153]"),
an off-grid energy storage system, or
an off-grid energy mobilization system.
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 14, the combination above teaches the AI-based platform of claim 1. Hannon in the combination further teaches wherein the data processing system is configured to intelligently orchestrate and manage at least one of power or energy based on a data set of at least one of energy generation, storage, or consumption data for a set of infrastructure assets ("wherein the dynamic future allocation includes at least energy operational information based on a categorization of energy usage at a plurality of respective energy devices, and trigger energy generation on the energy grid at respective generator nodes according to the learning model and dynamic projections [par. 0159]"), and
the data set is produced at least in part by a set of sensors that is at least one of contained in or governed by a set of edge devices ("retrieving, via an electronic interface, operation information associated with devices attached to the energy grid (e.g., energy consuming, energy generating, and/or hybrid devices), the operation information including data relating to usage, a location, and a value (e.g., fabrication value of electricity) for the associated devices, receiving, from a plurality of energy devices, requests for energy fabrication and requirements associated with those requests for energy loads input into a user interface connected to the energy device … scheduling, provision of energy from the energy grid to the plurality of energy devices, and communicating the fabrication information to the distribution nodes via one or more of the distributed grid controllers based on the learning model of energy consumption, and triggering delivery of energy in accordance with the scheduled provision of energy [par. 0163];" it is implied that a sensor is used to obtain operation information).
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 15, the combination above teaches the AI-based platform of claim 1. Hannon in the combination further teaches wherein the data processing system is configured to manage at least one of,
generation of energy by a set of distributed energy generation resources,
storage of energy by a set of distributed energy storage resources,
delivery of energy by a set of distributed energy delivery resources, or
consumption of energy by a set of distributed energy consumption resources ("an energy device control system executing on a distributed grid subsystem operative to control a first power demand of a plurality of appliances (e.g., energy devices (e.g., generators, energy consumers, etc.)) [par. 0159]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 16, the combination above teaches the AI-based platform of claim 1. Hannon in the combination further teaches wherein the data processing system is configured to intelligently orchestrate and manage at least one of power or energy of at least some of the fused set of data entities ("demonstrating that aggregated data, including nodal data, can be visualized by the system to provide useful information in making power-related transactions interactive and subject to a smart grid, in accordance with certain example embodiments- and to provide visualization of the information the system analyses to execute various optimization [par. 0134]"), and
the fused set of data entities includes at least one of,
a weather data resource,
a satellite data resource,
a census data resource
a population data resource,
a demographic data resource,
a psychographic data resource,
a market data resource, or
an ecommerce data resource ("information about the loads, retail and wholesale prices, utility involved, substation involved [par. 0133]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 17, the combination above teaches the AI-based platform of claim 1. Hannon in the combination further teaches wherein, the data processing system is configured to execute at least one algorithm that performs a simulation of energy consumption by energy resources corresponding to at least one of the first set of data entities or the second set of data entities, the simulation is based on a data set that includes alternative state or event parameters for energy resources corresponding to at least one of the first set of data entities or the second set of data entities that reflect alternative consumption scenarios, and the at least one algorithm accesses a demand response model that accounts for how energy demand responds to changes in a price of energy or a price of an operation or activity for which the energy is consumed ("An estimated savings value also is presented to the user. Details concerning how this information was obtained may be provided. For instance, information about the loads, retail and wholesale prices, utility involved, substation involved, etc., may be shown on-screen and/or via drill-down options. As shown in the FIG. 23 example, the customer would pay just under $0/04 for energy under wholesale pricing, as compared to the marketer cost of $0.09 or more, thereby enabling the user to save over 60% by obtaining energy directly from the distribution point. According to one embodiment, the system is configured to compute multiple distinct tariffs based on different generation and load distribution scenarios, and present visualizations of the same in the user interface. In one example, the system provides visualizations to isolate peaking type charges by looking at the data, etc [par. 0133]" and "The system can be configured to perform this analysis on static load profiles, i.e., without preferences combined with market prices (and may also perform this analysis on load profiles with preference information). The result is compared to what actually can be realized (e.g. by applying filters on restrictions, operation requirements, etc.) in cost savings as a function of available tariffs or other restrictions specific to the customer, ISO, Utility, etc. In further embodiments, as the analysis by the system begins to incorporate demand response (DR), DG, or Net Metering the system defines an optimal solution, and then the available solution as constrained by the ISO's protocol which may reflected in the Utility's available tariffs for such activities [par. 0146]").
With regard to claim 18, the combination above teaches the AI-based platform of claim 1. Hannon in the combination further teaches wherein the data processing system includes a policy and governance engine that is configured to deploy at least one of a set of rules or a set of policies to at least one edge device that is in local communication with energy resources corresponding to at least one of the first set of data entities or the second set of data entities, and the at least one edge device is configured to govern the energy resources based on at least one of the set of rules or the set of policies ("an energy device control system executing on a distributed grid subsystem operative to control a first power demand of a plurality of appliances (e.g., energy devices (e.g., generators, energy consumers, etc.)), is provided. The system comprises a graphical user interface configured to accept a user input indicative of a first demand and dynamic allocation flexibility associated with the a respective energy device, a communication interface configured to aggregate dynamic allocation values from a plurality of system nodes including at least the user input indicative of a first demand and the dynamic allocation flexibility. and at least one processor programmed to generate a learning model for evaluating dynamic future allocation with future energy execution prediction, wherein the dynamic future allocation includes at least energy operational information based on a categorization of energy usage at a plurality of respective energy devices, and trigger energy generation on the energy grid at respective generator nodes according to the learning model and dynamic projections [par. 0159]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 19, the combination above teaches the AI-based platform of claim 1. Hannon in the combination further teaches wherein the data processing system includes an analytic system that represents a set of operating parameters and current states of energy resources corresponding to at least one of
the first set of data entities or the second set of data entities based on a set of sensed parameters ("retrieving, via an electronic interface, operation information associated with devices attached to the energy grid (e.g., energy consuming, energy generating, and/or hybrid devices), the operation information including data relating to usage, a location, and a value (e.g., fabrication value of electricity) for the associated devices, receiving, from a plurality of energy devices, requests for energy fabrication and requirements associated with those requests for energy loads input into a user interface connected to the energy device … scheduling, provision of energy from the energy grid to the plurality of energy devices, and communicating the fabrication information to the distribution nodes via one or more of the distributed grid controllers based on the learning model of energy consumption, and triggering delivery of energy in accordance with the scheduled provision of energy [par. 0163]"),
the set of sensed parameters is generated by a set of edge devices that are in proximity to at least one of the first set of data entities or the second set of data entities, and
the analytic system is configured to provide a recommendation associated with at least one of the first set of data entities, the second set of data entities, or an additional available entity.
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 20, the combination above teaches the AI-based platform of claim 1. Hannon in the combination further teaches wherein, the data processing system includes an artificial intelligence system that is trained on a historical data set relating to
at least one of energy generation, energy storage, or energy utilization of an operating process associated with energy resources corresponding to at least one of the first set of data entities or the second set of data entities ("Although such historical information may be fed into models that take into account temperature and/or other environmental factors to help refine estimates, these models are essentially static and backward looking, not taking into account how customer's consumption patterns may change given alternative price scenarios [par. 0010]" and "When combined with the historic hourly usage by the customer and their preferences the system is able to generate a result which is the 'optimal load profile' by hour and also a schedule which specifies energy bids 'up to' the price which is expected to be realized for that hour [par. 0147]"), and
the data processing system is configured to, analyze an energy pattern for the operating process, and output a forecast of energy requirements of the operating process based on at least one of a current state or information associated with at least one of the first set of data entities or the second set of data entities ("the system is configured to analyze historic hourly prices for this location and time period, as well as results from next day nominations (e.g., determination made by the system), and can also include analysis of current weather, economic activity etc., to create a system based market price, that enables further optimization on whether an end user should modify its consumption behavior for the hour to come [par. 0148]" and " the system can include an analytics engine configured to match end user to wholesale price and tariff, capture historic consumption information, translate consumption (generation) into device level usage, assign priorities based upon customer preferences, create optimal load and achievable load profiles, factor in historic wholesale hourly pricing, external factors, e.g., weather, grid stress, etc. and then submit a next day load allocation request. Wherein the system process this order through all the required states; nomination, confirmation, metering, settlement, invoicing, accounting for location specific constraints [par. 0157]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 21, the combination above teaches the AI-based platform of claim 1. Hannon in the combination further teaches wherein, the energy grid data set is related to at least one of energy grid generation, energy grid storage, energy grid delivery, or energy grid consumption ("The indexing program 406 is configured to inspect incoming data from the ISOs via an inspection module [par. 0089]"), and the off-grid energy data set is related to at least one of off-grid energy generation, off-grid energy storage, off-grid energy delivery, or off-grid energy consumption ("DG consists of some form of generation (solar panels, wind generator, fuel cell) which typically is located and operates behind the customer meter and may be (or may not) be combined with a battery … the system is configured to capture the parameters of these facilities, i.e., generation/storage capacity, ramp up time, production profiles, etc. and assign them to a category much like all other load bearing devices [par. 0153]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 22, the combination above teaches claim 1. Claim 22 recites limitations having the same scope as those pertaining to claim 1; therefore, claim 22 is rejected along the same grounds as claim 1.
With regard to claim 23, the combination above teaches claim 21. Claim 23 recites limitations having the same scope as those pertaining to claim 21; therefore, claim 23 is rejected along the same grounds as claim 21.
With regard to claim 24, the combination above teaches claim 11. Claim 24 recites limitations having the same scope as those pertaining to claim 11; therefore, claim 24 is rejected along the same grounds as claim 11.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannon in view of McClintock further in view of Lin et al. [US Pub. 2016/0006667].
With regard to claim 5, the combination of Hannon and McClintock teaches the AI-based platform of claim 1.
Although Hannon teaches wherein the data processing system is configured to adapt a transport data over a communication system ("a communication interface configured to aggregate dynamic allocation values from a plurality of system nodes [par. 0159]"),
Hannon does not explicitly teach wherein the adapting is based on at least one of, a congestion condition, a delay condition, a latency condition, a packet loss condition, an error rate condition, a cost of transport condition, a quality-of-service (QoS) condition, a usage condition, a market factor condition, or a user configuration condition.
In the same field of endeavor (network communication), Lin teaches to adapt a transport of data, wherein the adapting is based on at least one of,
a congestion condition,
a delay condition,
a latency condition,
a packet loss condition ("performs self-adaptive processing on packet loss or congestion occurring in a network during real-time communication, i.e., adjusts the code rate and transmission position of protected data in real time according to network conditions, thereby effectively preventing voice discontinuousness, image mess or pause occurring at a client, and improving the user experience [abstract]"),
an error rate condition,
a cost of transport condition,
a quality-of-service (QoS) condition,
a usage condition,
a market factor condition, or
a user configuration condition.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have included Lin's concept of adapting processing based on packet loss, with the teachings of Hannon, for the benefit of preventing issues due to network conditions.
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannon in view of McClintock further in view of Farrokhabadi et al. [US Pub. 2019/0362445] ("Farrokhabadi").
With regard to claim 10, the combination of Hannon and McClintock teaches the AI-based platform of claim 1. Hannon in the combination teaches the platform further comprising at least one AI-based model or algorithm, wherein, the at least one AI-based model or algorithm is trained based on a training data set ("Although such historical information may be fed into models that take into account temperature and/or other environmental factors to help refine estimates, these models are essentially static and backward looking, not taking into account how customer's consumption patterns may change given alternative price scenarios [par. 0010]" and "When combined with the historic hourly usage by the customer and their preferences the system is able to generate a result which is the 'optimal load profile' by hour and also a schedule which specifies energy bids 'up to' the price which is expected to be realized for that hour [par. 0147]"),
Hannon does not explicitly teach where the training data set is based on at least one of,
a human tag, a human label, a human interaction with a hardware, a human interaction with a software system, an outcome, an AI-generated training data sample, a supervised learning training process, a semi-supervised learning training process, or a deep learning training process.
In an analogous art (model training), Farrokhabadi teaches where a training data set is based on at least one of,
a human tag,
a human label,
a human interaction with a hardware,
a human interaction with a software system,
an outcome,
an AI-generated training data sample,
a supervised learning training process ("The training step can be performed using any number of training algorithms or machine learning training procedures including supervised learning, e.g., linear regression, or random forest algorithms [par. 0053]"),
a semi-supervised learning training process, or
a deep learning training process.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have included Farrokhabadi's known teachings of supervised learning, into the model taught by Hannon, since the combination predictably uses prior art elements according to their established functions to yield the predictable result of being able to train the model.
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannon in view of McClintock further in view of Arunachalam et al. [US Pub. 2023/0123959] ("Arunachalam").
With regard to claim 12, the combination of Hannon and McClintock teaches the AI-based platform of claim 1. Hannon does not explicitly teach wherein: the data processing system is configured to record, in a distributed ledger, at least one energy-related event, and the at least one energy-related event includes at least one of, an energy purchase event
an energy sale event, a service charge associated with an energy purchase, a service charge associated with an energy sale event, an energy consumption event, an energy generation event, an energy distribution event, an energy storage event, a carbon emission production event, a carbon emission abatement event, a renewable energy credit event, a pollution production event, or a pollution abatement event.
In an analogous art (energy management), Arunachalam teaches wherein a data processing system is configured to record, in a distributed ledger, at least one energy-related event, and the at least one energy-related event includes at least one of,
an energy purchase event ("The energy trading platform may further be configured to: receive notifications of available energy from one or more energy suppliers; receive requests for energy from one or more energy consumers; receive a selection from a first energy consumer of one or more of the energy suppliers to fulfill a request for energy of the first energy consumer; create a blockchain transaction in the blockchain distributed ledger between the first energy consumer and the one or more of the energy suppliers selected by the first energy consumer to fulfill the request for energy of the first energy consumer [par. 0006]"),
an energy sale event,
a service charge associated with an energy purchase,
a service charge associated with an energy sale event,
an energy consumption event,
an energy generation event,
an energy distribution event,
an energy storage event,
a carbon emission production event,
a carbon emission abatement event,
a renewable energy credit event,
a pollution production event, or
a pollution abatement event.
Arunachalam further teaches, "[i]n this way, the blockchain 600 may provide a tamper-evident distributed ledger that can be used by multiple nodes. This may help establish trust between the various nodes in the blockchain network without relying on or in addition to third-party digital certificates or self-signed digital certificates [par. 0075]."
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have included Arunachalam's teachings of a ledger, with the teachings of Hannon, for the benefit of establishing trust between various nodes of a power network.
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendment. Specifically, McClintock is now relied upon to teach new added limitations regarding the autonomous vehicle.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Srinivasan et al. [U.S. Pub. 2022/0302712] teaches where systems and methods provide the ability for coordinated, real-time, and pre-planned control of a network of distributed energy resource systems where each distributed energy resource system is located at a different consumer site. Each distributed energy resource system is operable to provide stored and/or generated energy to meet on-site consumer needs and/or provide energy to the grid. An off-site control system obtains energy usage information from a plurality of the distributed energy resource systems and processes the information in order to coordinate control of each distributed energy resource system such as coordinating if and when each distributed energy resource system provides energy to the grid in order to at least partially meet energy demands associated with a demand response timeframe.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
VINCENT WEN-LIANG CHANG
Examiner
Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119