DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s remarks submitted on 12/22/2025 for response of the office action mailed on 10/22/2025. Independent claims 1 and 10 are amended. No claims are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-18 are pending and addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 10-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nuggehalli et al. (2025/0081072), Nuggehalli hereinafter, in view of Ching-Wen Cheng (2022/0070812 as submitted in IDS), Cheng hereinafter
Re. claims 1 and 10, Nuggehalli teaches a method (Fig.5/Fig. 7 & ¶0096-¶0100) of a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3/Fig. 5, UE 106), and a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3/Fig. 5, UE 106), the UE comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 3, 329-330/335-338); and a processor (Fig. 3, 302) operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to: identify terrestrial network (TN) neighboring cell information received from a non-terrestrial network (NTN), wherein the TN neighboring cell information includes TN neighboring cell geographical area (Fig.5/Fig. 7 & ¶0096 - At 702, the UE may receive a downlink message from a non-terrestrial network (NTN). … the downlink message may include one or more sets of TN (i.e., terrestrial network, see ¶0005) cell reselection information and location information corresponding to one or more cells of the TN. …..the one or more sets of TN cell reselection information may include at least one of a list of frequencies to measure, a whitelist corresponding to one or more TN cells to search…the location information of the one or more TN cells may include at least one of a list of GNSS coordinates and a corresponding area with shape-specific parameters. … the downlink message may include one or more geographic tags corresponding to a location and/or shape of the one or more TN cells. Fig.5/Fig. 7 & ¶0099 - At 708, the UE may select, based on the comparison, a set of the one or more sets of cell reselection information. For example, it may be beneficial for the UE to utilize the physically closest cell for purposes of signal strength. … the UE may select cell reselection information corresponding to the closest neighboring cell since it would likely have the highest signal strength. … the UE may select cell reselection information based on a comparison of its location and one or more received geographic tags.), carrier frequency information (Fig.5/Fig. 7 & ¶0096 - At 702, the UE may receive a downlink message from a non-terrestrial network (NTN). … the downlink message may include one or more sets of TN (i.e., terrestrial network, see ¶0005) cell reselection information (Please note that UE in RRC idle mode operation for searching for frequencies and/or cells for reselection, also, includes inter-frequency cell reselection in the RRC idle mode, which involves certain configuration information to the UE for the inter-frequency cell reselection procedure, as because, cellular network, which provides services via roaming agreements both in NTN and terrestrial network (TN) systems, and, NTNs and TNs may operate in different frequency bands (e.g., frequency range 1 (FR1) and frequency range 2 (FR2). See ¶0083/¶0084) ……the one or more sets of TN cell reselection information may include at least one of a list of frequencies to measure, a whitelist (see ¶0084, “a whitelist may include a list of cells (and/or cell identifier parameters) corresponding to one or more TN cells to search, and/or a blacklist (see ¶0084,” a blacklist may include a list of cells and/or cell identifiers that the UE should disregard in its cell reselection procedures.“) corresponding to one or more TN cells to ignore. Also, see claim 25 – “wherein the one or more sets of cell reselection information comprise at least a list of frequencies”.), and cell identifications (IDs) that are configured in groups (Fig.5/Fig. 7 & ¶0090 - TN neighbor cell list may be different for each TAC (tracking area codes, see ¶0008) as the TAC specific reference location may refer to a particular point on Earth (e.g., ground). Accordingly, the UE may be able to, by comparing its location with the TAC specific reference location, determine which TAC is closest to the UE's geographic location. Fig.5/Fig. 7 & ¶0096 - At 702, the UE may receive a downlink message from a non-terrestrial network (NTN). … the downlink message may include one or more sets of TN (i.e., terrestrial network, see ¶0005) cell reselection information and location information corresponding to one or more cells of the TN. …..the one or more sets of TN cell reselection information may include at least one of a list of frequencies to measure, a whitelist (see ¶0084, “a whitelist may include a list of cells (and/or cell identifier parameters) corresponding to one or more TN cells to search, and/or a blacklist (see ¶0084,” a blacklist may include a list of cells and/or cell identifiers that the UE should disregard in its cell reselectio9n procedures.“) corresponding to one or more TN cells to ignore.), identify a location of the UE (Fig.5/Fig. 7 & ¶0097 - At 704, the UE may determine its location.. upon receiving information regarding potential neighboring cells corresponding to the TN, ….UE to determine its current location in order to better prioritize the cell reselection and location information sets. … the UE may utilize its GNSS hardware and/or software to determine its physical location), determine, based on the location of the UE and the TN neighboring cell information, to measure TN neighboring cells (Fig.5/Fig.7 & ¶0098 - At 706, the UE may compare the location information corresponding to the one or more cells of the NTN to its determined location…. UE to determine and/or prioritize the location information of the TN cells based on the UE's location relative to said TN cells … the UE may compare the location information to one or more geographic tags included in the downlink message. Fig.5/Fig.7 & ¶0099 - At 708, the UE may select, based on the comparison, a set of the one or more sets of cell reselection information. For example, it may be beneficial for the UE to utilize the physically closest cell for purposes of signal strength. Accordingly, the UE would likely not seek to utilize cell reselection information corresponding to cells that are separated from the UE by large physical distances as the signal strength would likely be greatly reduced. In other words, the UE may select cell reselection information corresponding to the closest neighboring cell since it would likely have the highest signal strength.), and measure, based on the TN neighboring cell information, only TN neighboring cells with all possible cell IDs that are on a first carrier frequency included in the carrier frequency information for a cell reselection operation ( Fig.5/Fig.7 & ¶0096 – the downlink message may include one or more sets of TN cell reselection information and location information corresponding to one or more cells of the TN. …the one or more sets of TN cell reselection information may include at least one of a list of frequencies to measure, a whitelist (see ¶0084, “a whitelist may include a list of cells (and/or cell identifier parameters) corresponding to one or more TN cells to search, and/or a blacklist (see ¶0084,” a blacklist may include a list of cells and/or cell identifiers that the UE should disregard in its cell reselection procedures.“) corresponding to one or more TN cells to search, and/or a blacklist corresponding to one or more TN cells to ignore. Fig.5/Fig.7 & ¶0098 - At 706, the UE may compare the location information corresponding to the one or more cells of the NTN to its determined location. … UE to determine and/or prioritize the location information of the TN cells based on the UE's location relative to said TN cells. …. the UE may compare the location information to one or more geographic tags included in the downlink message. Fig.5/Fig.7 & ¶0099 - At 708, the UE may select, based on the comparison, a set of the one or more sets of cell reselection information. Please note that UE in RRC idle mode operation for searching for frequencies and/or cells for reselection, also, includes inter-frequency cell reselection in the RRC idle mode, which involves certain configuration information to the UE for the inter-frequency cell reselection procedure, as because, cellular network, which provides services via roaming agreements both in NTN and terrestrial network (TN) systems, and, NTNs and TNs may operate in different frequency bands (e.g., frequency range 1 (FR1) and frequency range 2 (FR2). See ¶0083/¶0084.).
Yet, Nuggehalli does not expressly teach each of the groups being associated with a different carrier frequency,
However, in the analogous art, Cheng explicitly discloses each of the groups being associated with a different carrier frequency (Fig. 3-25 & ¶0060 - In step S801, the UE may receive or already possesses a NTN tracking area identifier (TAI) list …. From the NTA TAI list, in step S802, the UE may obtain a NTN TAI. In step S803, by using the NTN TAI, the UE may receive from its NTN serving cell the NTN-TA-based-MeasConfig associated with the NTN TAI of the NTN TAI list. The list of NTN-TA-based-MeasConfig includes one or more NTN-TA-based-MeasConfig, each NTN-TA-based-MeasConfig is associated with a carrier frequency. In step S804, the UE would obtain NTN-TA-based-MeasConfig. In step S805, the UE would obtain from NTN-TA-based-MeasConfig information related to DL carrier frequencies and the subcarrier spaces of the SSB frequency in order to perform a TN cell search and measurement. Fig. 3-25 & ¶0065 - In step S1105, the UE may further determine from the NTN-TA-based-MeasConfig at least one cell identity of a neighboring TN cell. The cell identity of the neighboring TN cell could be a mean to designate the UE to only select a specific neighboring TN cell e.g., for network issues such as load balancing. The cell identity of the neighboring TN cell could be a part of an allowed cell list (i.e. parameter allowedCellList), and only cells from the allowed cell list could be (re-)selected by the UE. Furthermore, in step S1106 the UE may obtain from the NTN-TA-based-MeasConfig a forbidden cell list (i.e. parameterforbiddenCeilList) to prevent the UE to (re-)select specific cells that are reserved for specific purposes. Fig. 3-25 & ¶0067 - In step S1304, the UE would obtain the NTN-TA-based-MeasConfig associated with the interested carrier frequency if configured for performing cell search and measurements. The NTN-TA-based-Meas-MeasConfig further include a PLMN list which consists of one or more PLMN IDs. Thus, in step S1305, the UE would obtain the PLMN list from the NTN-TA-based-MeasConfig, and in step S1306, the UE would obtain one or more PLMN IDs from the NTN-TA-based-MeasConfig. Each PLMN ID is associated with one or more carrier frequency information that the cells supporting the PLMN ID is deployed. The carrier frequency information consists of a DL carrier frequency and a subcarrier space of the SSB frequency that the cells supporting the PLMN ID is deployed. In step S1307, the UE would obtain the DL carrier frequency and the subcarrier space of the SSB frequency in order to perform a TN cell search and measurement. Also, see claim 1, which recites, “ A method used by a user equipment (UE) for implementing NTN mobility comprising: receiving a cell search and measurement configuration from a non-terrestrial network (NTN) comprises information of at least one carrier frequency and at least one NTN tracking area (TA) information associated with the carrier frequency;”, claim 2, “wherein the cell search and measurement configuration further comprising: the information of at least one carrier frequency associated with at least one identity of a cell.”),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Nuggehalli’s invention of communication coordination and power saving techniques in non-terrestrial network (NTN) to include Cheng’s invention of a system and a method for implementing NTN (non-terrestrial network) to TN (terrestrial network) communication in 5G/New Radio (NR) communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in assisting a UE (User Equipment) capable of both NTN and TN communications, to initiate performing cell search and measurement of a neighboring TN cell with considering reducing UE power consumption in searching the frequencies or cells that could be far from where the UE locates in the 5G/New Radio (NR) communication system. (¶0002-¶0007, Cheng)
Re. Claims 2 and 11, Nuggehalli and Cheng teach claims 1 and 10.
Nuggehalli further teaches the transceiver is configured to receive the TN neighboring cell information via a system information block (SIB) (Fig.5/Fig. 7 & ¶0007 - one or more sets of TN cell reselection information may include one or more system information blocks (SIBs) which may further be configured as system information block-4 (SIB4). … the one or more SIBs configured as SIB4 may include one or more geographic tags which are associated with distinct SIBs. Moreover, the distinct SIBs may include cell reselection information for corresponding locations associated with the respective geographic tags of the one or more TN cells. Fig.5/Fig. 7 & ¶0096 - At 702, the UE may receive a downlink message from a non-terrestrial network (NTN). … the downlink message may include one or more sets of TN cell reselection information and location information corresponding to one or more cells of the TN… the downlink message may include one or more geographic tags corresponding to a location and/or shape of the one or more TN cells… the downlink message may be at least part of one or more system broadcast transmissions and therefore may be available to the requesting UE as well as any other UEs capable of receiving the system broadcast signaling. Also, see claim 24 – “receiving, from the NTN, one or more sets of cell reselection information comprised in one or more system information blocks (SIBs).”.); Also, see claim 33 – “providing, to the one or more UE devices and in system information block-4 (SIB4) signaling, one or more geographic tags corresponding to the one or more sets of cell reselection information in the broadcast information.”. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation) or a UE dedicated radio resource control (RRC) message.
Re. Claims 4 and 13, Nuggehalli and Cheng teach claims 1 and 10.
Nuggehalli further teaches wherein the cell IDs are identified based on a physical cell ID (PCID). (Fig.5/Fig. 7 & ¶0096 - At 702, the UE may receive a downlink message from a non-terrestrial network (NTN). … the downlink message may include one or more sets of TN (i.e., terrestrial network, see ¶0005) cell reselection information and location information corresponding to one or more cells of the TN. …..the one or more sets of TN cell reselection information may include at least one of a list of frequencies to measure, a whitelist (see ¶0084, “a whitelist may include a list of cells (and/or cell identifier parameters) corresponding to one or more TN cells to search, and/or a blacklist (see ¶0084,” a blacklist may include a list of cells and/or cell identifiers that the UE should disregard in its cell reselection procedures.“) corresponding to one or more TN cells to ignore. Also, it is well known to an ordinary person in the field of endeavor, cell identifier of any cells (serving or neighboring) are based on physical cell ID. Evidence: see ¶0073 Shrestha (2023/0403586, before the EFD of the instant application) as included in PTO-892; also, see ¶0068 in SHI (2022/0030478));
Re. Claims 5 and 14, Nuggehalli and Cheng teach claims 1 and 10.
Nuggehalli further teaches wherein the TN neighboring cell geographical area includes reference location coordinates of a TN neighboring cell and a radius from the reference location coordinates of the TN neighboring cell. (Fig.5/Fig. 7 & ¶0096 - At 702, the UE may receive a downlink message from a non-terrestrial network (NTN). … the downlink message may include one or more sets of TN (i.e., terrestrial network, see ¶0005) cell reselection information and location information corresponding to one or more cells of the TN. …..the one or more sets of TN cell reselection information may include at least one of a list of frequencies to measure, a whitelist corresponding to one or more TN cells to search…the location information of the one or more TN cells may include at least one of a list of GNSS coordinates and a corresponding area with shape-specific parameters (e.g., diameter, radius, perimeter, area, major axis length, etc., see ¶0088)…. the downlink message may include one or more geographic tags corresponding to a location and/or shape of the one or more TN cells. Fig.5/Fig. 7 & ¶0098 - UE may compare the location information to one or more geographic tags included in the downlink message. Fig.5/Fig. 7 & ¶0099 - UE may select cell reselection information based on a comparison of its location and one or more received geographic tags.).
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nuggehalli, in view of Ching, further in view of Shi et al. (2022/0030478), Shi hereinafter
Re. Claims 3 and 12, Nuggehalli and Cheng teach claims 2 and 11.
Yet, Nuggehalli does not expressly teach wherein the one or more TN neighboring cell frequencies are identified based on an absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN).
However, in the analogous art, Shi explicitly discloses wherein the carrier frequency information includes an absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN). (Fig. 1-9 & ¶0053 - The frequency band indicator of the frequency band dedicated to the NTN cell is broadcast in the system message. In an NR system, parameters relevant to inter-frequency reselection are broadcast via an SIB4 (a fourth SIB message), and information such as a downlink frequency (ARFCN-Value) of each inter-frequency carrier frequency and a frequency band indicator of a frequency band to which the downlink frequency belongs is broadcast via the SIB4. Also, see Table 1, Table 2 & Table 3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Nuggehalli’s invention of communication coordination and power saving techniques in non-terrestrial network (NTN) and Cheng’s invention of a system and a method for implementing NTN (non-terrestrial network) to TN (terrestrial network) communication in 5G/New Radio (NR) communication system to include Shi’s invention of information processing and receiving mechanism in a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN), because it provides an efficient mechanism in ensuring a reliable communication performance when 5G NR technologies are applied to the non-terrestrial communication network. (¶0002-¶0007, Shi)
Claims 6-9 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nuggehalli, in view of Ching, further in view of Ryu et al. (2023/0403585), Ryu hereinafter
Re. Claims 6 and 15, Nuggehalli and Cheng teach claims 5 and 14.
Nuggehalli further teaches the processor is further configured to determine whether the location of the UE is within the TN neighboring cell geographical area (Fig.5/Fig.7 & ¶0098 - At 706, the UE may compare the location information corresponding to the one or more cells of the NTN to its determined location…. UE to determine and/or prioritize the location information of the TN cells based on the UE's location relative to said TN cells … the UE may compare the location information to one or more geographic tags included in the downlink message. Fig.5/Fig.7 & ¶0099 - At 708, the UE may select, based on the comparison, a set of the one or more sets of cell reselection information. For example, it may be beneficial for the UE to utilize the physically closest cell for purposes of signal strength. Accordingly, the UE would likely not seek to utilize cell reselection information corresponding to cells that are separated from the UE by large physical distances as the signal strength would likely be greatly reduced. In other words, the UE may select cell reselection information corresponding to the closest neighboring cell since it would likely have the highest signal strength… UE may select cell reselection information based on a comparison of its location and one or more received geographic tags.); and
Yet, Nuggehalli and Cheng do not expressly teach determine to measure the TN neighboring cells based on the location of the UE being within the radius from the reference location coordinates of the TN neighboring cell.
However, in the analogous art, Ryu explicitly discloses determine to measure the TN neighboring cells based on the location of the UE being within the radius from the reference location coordinates of the TN neighboring cell. (Fig. 3-5 & ¶0127 - The UE 115-b and the non-terrestrial network entity 105-b may communicate location information to support NTN-to-TN mobility. For example, the UE 115-b may transmit UE location information 345 to the non-terrestrial network entity 105-b. This UE location information 345 may be … fine location information (e.g., indicating specific coordinates for the UE 115-b). Fig. 3-5 & ¶0140 - At 510, in some examples, the first network entity 105-e may output a signal indicating cell information for a set of cells. For example, the first network entity 105-e may output a signal indicating location information and distance thresholds for a set of cells associated with the second cell type (e.g., TN cells). The signal may indicate at least a location and a distance threshold for the second network entity 105-f. The UE 115-d may receive the signal indicating the cell information and may use the cell information to initiate a cell measurement procedure. For example, the UE 115-d may receive the indication of the location and the distance threshold for the second network entity 105-f and may initiate monitoring for signaling (e.g., synchronization signaling) from the second network entity 105-f if the UE 115-d is within the distance threshold of the location of the second network entity 105-f. Fig. 3-5 & ¶0146 - At 535, the UE 115-d may perform a cell measurement procedure. In some examples, the UE 115-d may trigger the cell measurement procedure for the second network entity 105-f based on the UE's proximity to the second network entity 105-f (e.g., if the UE 115-d is within a threshold distance from the location of the second network entity 105-f)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Nuggehalli’s invention of communication coordination and power saving techniques in non-terrestrial network (NTN) and Cheng’s invention of a system and a method for implementing NTN (non-terrestrial network) to TN (terrestrial network) communication in 5G/New Radio (NR) communication system to include Ryu’s invention of support mobility between a non-terrestrial network (NTN) cell and a terrestrial network (TN) cell in Wireless communications systems, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a user equipment (UE) in determining timing for a measurement gap and may monitor for a signal (e.g., a synchronization signal) from the non-terrestrial network (NTN) for supporting the TN cell during the measurement gap with NTN-to-TN mobility is triggered in the Wireless communications systems. (¶0003-¶0006/¶0055, Ryu)
Re. Claims 7 and 16, Nuggehalli, Cheng and Ryu teach claims 6 and 15.
Nuggehalli further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a TN neighboring cell frequency corresponding to the TN neighboring cell geographical area; and measure TN neighboring cells associated with the TN neighboring cell frequency. (Fig.5/Fig. 7 & ¶0083 - as TN and NTN frequency bands may be distinct, UEs may prioritize the associated TN frequency bands over NTN frequency bands. Fig.5/Fig. 7 & ¶0084 - the network may provide a list of frequencies to measure (with or without priorities), a “whitelist” of neighboring cells to search, and/or a “blacklist” of cells to ignore. Fig.5/Fig. 7 & ¶0096 - At 702, the UE may receive a downlink message from a non-terrestrial network (NTN). … the downlink message may include one or more sets of TN cell reselection information and location information corresponding to one or more cells of the TN. A…the one or more sets of TN cell reselection information may include at least one of a list of frequencies to measure, a whitelist corresponding to one or more TN cells to search, and/or a blacklist corresponding to one or more TN cells to ignore. Then, step 708 & 710. Also, see claim 25, “wherein the one or more sets of cell reselection information comprise at least a list of frequencies.”).
Re. Claims 8 and 17, Nuggehalli, Cheng and Ryu teach claims 7 and 16.
Nuggehalli further teaches wherein, when the TN neighboring cell information includes one or more cell identifications (IDs), the processor is further configured to measure only the one or more cell IDs included in the TN neighboring cell information. (Fig.5/Fig. 7 & ¶0096 - At 702, the UE may receive a downlink message from a non-terrestrial network (NTN). … the downlink message may include one or more sets of TN (i.e., terrestrial network, see ¶0005) cell reselection information and location information corresponding to one or more cells of the TN. …..the one or more sets of TN cell reselection information may include at least one of a list of frequencies to measure, a whitelist (see ¶0084, “a whitelist may include a list of cells (and/or cell identifier parameters) corresponding to one or more TN cells to search, and/or a blacklist (see ¶0084,” a blacklist may include a list of cells and/or cell identifiers that the UE should disregard in its cell reselection procedures.“) corresponding to one or more TN cells to ignore. Also, it is well known to an ordinary person in the field of endeavor, cell identifier of any cells (serving or neighboring) is based on physical cell ID. Evidence: see ¶0073 Shrestha (2023/0403586, before the EFD of the instant application) as included inPTO-892; also, see ¶0068 in SHI (2022/0030478)).
Re. Claims 9 and 18, Nuggehalli, Cheng and Ryu teach claims 7 and 16.
Nuggehalli further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to skip a TN neighboring cell measurement operation when the location of the UE is not within the TN neighboring cell geographical area. (Fig.5/Fig. 7 & ¶0088 - the network (e.g., NTN satellite) may broadcast geographic locations in which the UE should not search for neighboring TN cells. Fig.5/Fig. 7 & ¶0096 - downlink message may include one or more geographic tags corresponding to a location and/or shape of the one or more TN cells. Fig.5/Fig. 7 & ¶0099 - At 708, the UE may select, based on the comparison, a set of the one or more sets of cell reselection information. …… the UE would likely not seek to utilize cell reselection information corresponding to cells that are separated from the UE by large physical distances as the signal strength would likely be greatly reduced. Also see claim 21, “A method, comprising: receiving, from a non-terrestrial network (NTN), broadcast information to indicate geographic locations in which searching for neighboring terrestrial network (TN) cells is not required; ”, similarly, claims 28 & 34).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/22/2025 with respect to claims 1 and 10 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding arguments in pages 10-12 as submitted on 12/22/2025 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts Nuggehalli, para. [0084], emphasis added. As provided above, Nuggehalli discloses the network providing a list of frequencies to measure and a "whitelist" of neighboring cells to search that includes a list of cells and/or cell identifier parameters. Id.
This does not disclose or suggest the above recited elements of the claim. Claim 1 recites to measure, based on the TN neighboring cell information, only TN neighboring cells with all possible cell IDs that are on a first carrier frequency included in the carrier frequency information for a cell reselection operation. While Nuggehalli mentions provide a list of frequencies to measure, Nuggehalli does not disclose to only measure those TN neighboring cells that are on a first carrier frequency. Nuggehalli merely discloses to provide a list of frequencies to measure.
Additionally, Nuggehalli does not disclose to measure all possible cell IDs that are on a first carrier frequency. Rather, Nuggehalli discloses to send white list of specific cell identities to measure and a blacklist of cell identifiers that the UE should disregard, i.e., not measure. Nuggehalli does not disclose that all possible cell IDs that are on a first carrier frequency are measured. Nuggehalli sends lists of frequencies and lists of cell identifiers, which results in increased signaling overhead. Nuggehalli does not disclose or suggest a solution that involves to measure only those TN neighboring cells that are on a first carrier frequency, which was included in the carrier frequency information in the identified TN neighboring cell information, and to measure all possible cell IDs that are on the first carrier frequency as recited in Claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagree with the applicant, in particular, to the limitation in claim 1, “measure, based on the TN neighboring cell information, only TN neighboring cells with all possible cell IDs that are on a first carrier frequency included in the carrier frequency information for a cell reselection operation”.
For example, Nuggehalli discloses that at step 702 (Fig. 7), UE may receive a downlink message from a non-terrestrial network (NTN)….the downlink message may include one or more sets of TN cell reselection information and location information corresponding to one or more cells of the TN < i.e., terrestrial network, see ¶0005> …the one or more sets of TN cell reselection information may include at least one of a list of frequencies to measure, a whitelist (see ¶0084, “a whitelist may include a list of cells (and/or cell identifier parameters) corresponding to one or more TN cells to search, and/or a blacklist (see ¶0084,” a blacklist may include a list of cells and/or cell identifiers that the UE should disregard in its cell reselection procedures.“) corresponding to one or more TN cells to search, and/or a blacklist corresponding to one or more TN cells to ignore. See ¶0096 along with Fig. 5/ Fig. 7. Nuggehalli further discloses that at step 706 (Fig. 7), the UE may compare the location information corresponding to the one or more cells of the NTN to its determined location. … UE to determine and/or prioritize the location information of the TN cells based on the UE's location relative to said TN cells. …. the UE may compare the location information to one or more geographic tags included in the downlink message….. at 708 (Fig. 7), the UE may select, based on the comparison, a set of the one or more sets of cell reselection information. See ¶0098-¶0099 along with Fig. 5/ Fig. 7.
Please note that UE in idle mode operation for searching for frequencies and/or cells for reselection, also, includes inter-frequency cell reselection in the idle mode, which involves certain configuration information to be sent by a network to the UE for the inter-frequency cell reselection procedure, as because, cellular network, which provides services via roaming agreements both in NTN and terrestrial network (TN) systems, and, NTNs and TNs, may operates in different frequency bands (e.g., frequency range 1 (FR1) and frequency range 2 (FR2). See ¶0083/¶0084. In order to make the cell reselection procedure more efficient and effective for a UE, the network provides a list of frequencies <which includes different frequency bands as disclosed supra> to measure along with a whitelist (see ¶0084, “a whitelist may include a list of cells (and/or cell identifier parameters) corresponding to one or more TN cells to search”, of neighboring cells to search. In other words, it is practical and/or useful for the network to send a small number of lists of frequencies and/or neighbor TN cells as this small amount of information wound allow the UE to parse through a relatively small amounts of data for relevant and/or useful frequencies, whitelists, and/or blacklists to implement an efficient delivery of reselection information (see ¶0084-¶0085), quite a contrast to applicant’s argument at least at pages 10-11 of remarks as submitted on 12/22/2025.
Regarding arguments in pages 12-13 for independent claim 1, Cheng disclosed the claimed features as outlined in the claims and the applicant is silent on the disclosures made by Cheng as pointed out in the §103 rejection. Applicant, is, however, arguing that “measure, based on the TN neighboring cell information, only TN neighboring cells with all possible cell IDs that are on a first carrier frequency included in the carrier frequency information for a cell reselection operation” are not disclosed by Cheng. In fact, the claimed features are taught by Nuggehalli as disclosed supra. Applicant is respectfully reminded that the independent claim 1 is unpatentable over Nuggehalli, in view of Cheng. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Similar arguments are applicable for the independent claim 10.
For reasons as explained supra, it is maintained that independent claim 1 and 10, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nuggehalli, in view of Cheng.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1 and 10, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467