DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Summary
The Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments received on May 7, 2026 are entered into the file. Currently, claims 1 and 17 are amended; claims 3, 5, 10, 11, and 18 are canceled; claims 13 and 14 are withdrawn; resulting in claims 1, 2, 4, 6-9, 12, and 15-17 pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-9, 12, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araya et al. (US 2023/0221471, previously cited) in view of Sugiyama et al. (US 2019/0390839, newly cited).
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 9, Araya et al. teaches a display apparatus (100; display assembly) comprising a display (10; display element), a transparent plate (30), a diffusion layer (40), and a decorative sheet (20) arranged on the display surface (10a) side of the display ([0038], Figs. 1-2). The display includes a plurality of pixels and is configured to display images on the display surface [0040]. The display apparatus may be mounted to an object or may be embedded in an object so that the decorative sheet is flush with the surface of the object ([0036], [0039]).
Araya et al. teaches that the decorative sheet (20) is provided to conceal (hide) the display apparatus when the apparatus is embedded in the object [0043]. The decorative sheet is light-transmissive and is decorated according to the appearance of the object, where the “appearance” includes the pattern, color tone, gloss, and texture of the object [0043]. For example, when the object is a wood tone wall, the decorative sheet is decorated with the same wood tone [0045]. The display apparatus further comprises a controller (50) to switch the display between a non-display mode (display element turned off) in which no images are displayed and the decoration of the decorative sheet is visible to the user, and a display mode (display element turned on) in which images are displayed on the display. As shown in Figs. 12A-14B, the displayed content is different from the visual appearance of the predefined material.
The decorative sheet (20) includes, in order from the display surface side, a film (21), a base layer (22), a design layer (23), a film (24), and a textured layer (25) ([0048], Fig. 2). The decorative sheet, either alone or in combination with the diffusion layer and/or transparent plate, is taken to correspond to the claimed cover element. The external surface which faces an observer (represented in Fig. 2 by an eye) corresponds to the claimed display area which is configured to present a visual appearance and a texture of a predefined material (e.g., wood).
Araya et al. teaches that the base layer (22) is used to adjust the overall hue, shade, etc. of the decorative sheet, while the decorative pattern of the design layer (23) is selected to have the same color tone or pattern as that of the object in which the display apparatus is embedded ([0050], [0068]). The pair of films (21, 24) serve as the base films of the decorative sheet and are made of a light-transmissive resin material [0049]. The textured layer (25) is light-transmissive and functions as part of the decorative pattern formed by the design layer and the textured layer [0075]. Therefore, the film (24) and textured layer (25) together can be taken to correspond to the claimed support having a translucent part which has the texture of the predefined material (e.g., wood) and comprises a polymer material which is distinct from the predefined material. The base layer (22) and design layer (23) together form decorative layer (20a), which corresponds to the claimed decorative layer which extends along the internal face of the translucent part of the support and has a decorative pattern which has the visual appearance of the predefined material.
Araya et al. further teaches that the design layer (23) is a light-transmissive decorative design layer formed of a transparent resin ink containing pigment or paint and is formed continuously (i.e., without breaks or openings) over the entire area of the base layer ([0068]-[0069], [0072], Fig. 2). The base layer (22) includes microholes (22a), which are a transmissive portion such as an air layer that transmits image light, and non-opening portions (22b) which block the image light, wherein the transmittance of the non-opening portion can be adjusted by the pigment content ratio, thickness, etc. ([0051]-[0053]). The portions of the decorative layer (20a) in which the light-transmissive design layer (23) is disposed over the transmissive microholes (22a) therefore correspond to the claimed portion of the decorative layer which is translucent and which has the visual appearance of the predefined material.
Although Araya et al. does not expressly teach a light transmission rate of this portion of the decorative layer (20a), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine an optimal light transmission rate of the portion of the decorative layer, e.g., by adjusting the thickness and/or pigment concentration of the design layer, in order to achieve a desired aesthetic appearance for the decorative pattern produced thereby. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to adjust the light transmission rate of the decorative layer (20a) to an appropriate value, such as within the claimed range of 30-40%, depending on the desired hue of the decorative layer (20a), where a higher light transmittance of the design layer (23) increases the influence of the color of the base layer (22) on the overall color tone of the decorative layer in the areas of the non-opening portions (22b) and ensures that light from the underlying display can be viewed therethrough in the areas of the microholes (22a).
Although Araya et al. teaches that the base layer (22) includes a light diffusing material and may be made of ink or paint containing pigment, wherein the transmittance of the non-opening portions (22b) of the base layer is preferably less than or equal to 5% so as to block the image light, where the transmittance of the non-opening portions can be adjusted by the thickness, etc. of the base layer, and further teaches that the design layer (23) is light-transmissive and may be formed of material such as transparent resin ink containing pigment or paint ([0052]-[0053], [0068]), the reference is silent to a thickness of the decorative layer (20a) composed of the base layer (22) and the design layer (23).
Sugiyama et al. teaches a display device (80) comprising a resin component (31) and a light source (10) for backlight which is used to display shapes (13) of uniformly emitted light on the surface of resin component ([0030], [0040], Figs. 1A-1B). The resin component comprises a transparent base material (3) having a plurality of layers disposed on a back surface thereof, including a metallic concealing layer (4), a light diffusion layer (5), a light color toning layer (6), and a second concealing layer (7) ([0033], Fig. 1B). Similar to the base layer having holes (22a) as taught by Araya et al., the concealing layers taught by Sugiyama et al. include light transmitting portions (11a-11c, 12a-12c) ([0039], Fig. 1B). Sugiyama et al. teaches that the thickness of each of the concealing layers is set to 3.5 µm or more to enhance the concealing property, the thickness of the light diffusion layer is 3.5 µm or more so that incident light is diffused more uniformly in the layer, and the thickness of the light color toning layer is 3.5 µm or more so that the amount and luminance of transmitted light decreases ([0040]-[0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display apparatus of Araya et al. by setting a combined thickness of the base layer (22) and design layer (23) within the claimed range. Based on the teachings of Sugiyama et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select an appropriate thickness for the base layer and the design layer in the display apparatus of Araya et al., such as within the claimed range, in order for the non-opening portions of the base layer to achieve a high concealing property and to enable the desired amount and luminance of light to be transmitted through the microholes so as to display a high quality image on the surface of the display apparatus.
Regarding claim 4, Araya et al. in view of Sugiyama et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above, and Araya et al. further teaches that the decorative layer (20a) has a haze value greater than or equal to 20 and less than 55% ([0159]), which overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 6-8 and 16, Araya et al. in view of Sugiyama et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above, and Araya et al. further teaches that the textured layer (25) may be an anti-glare film or a layer (coating layer) formed by applying, drying, curing, etc. a coating liquid containing resin components, particles, and solvent on film (24) [0076]. The particles may be inorganic particles such as silica (silicon dioxide) or alumina ([0076]), which both correspond to the claimed anti-glare and anti-reflection materials. As shown in Fig. 2, the textured layer defines the portion of the external face of the translucent part of the support which forms the display area and which has the texture of the predefined material.
Regarding claim 12, Araya et al. in view of Sugiyama et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 9 above. As noted above, Araya et al. teaches an object (trim element, appearance layer) into which the display apparatus (100; display assembly) is embedded such that the decorative sheet is flush with the surface of the object ([0038]-[0039]). Araya et al. teaches that the decorative sheet is decorated according to the appearance of the object ([0043], Figs. 12A-14B), such that the external face of the appearance layer has a visual appearance similar to the visual appearance of the portion of the decorative layer which has a visual appearance of a predefined material.
It is noted that the preamble limitation reciting “for a vehicle” is interpreted as functional language related to the intended use of the trim element and is considered to be met when the prior art product is capable of performing the recited function. See MPEP 2173.05(g). The object of Araya et al. is capable of being used in a vehicle, thus satisfying the claimed functional limitation.
Regarding claim 17, Araya et al. teaches a display apparatus (100; display assembly) comprising a display (10; display element) and a transparent plate (30), a diffusion layer (40), and a decorative sheet (20) arranged on the display surface (10a) side of the display ([0038], Figs. 1-2). The display includes a plurality of pixels and is configured to display images on the display surface [0040]. The display apparatus may be mounted to an object or may be embedded in an object so that the decorative sheet is flush with the surface of the object ([0036], [0039]).
Araya et al. teaches that the decorative sheet (20) is provided to conceal (hide) the display apparatus when the apparatus is embedded in the object [0043]. The decorative sheet is light-transmissive and is decorated according to the appearance of the object, where the “appearance” includes the pattern, color tone, gloss, and texture of the object [0043]. For example, when the object is a wood tone wall, the decorative sheet is decorated with the same wood tone [0045]. The display apparatus further comprises a controller (50) to switch the display between a non-display mode (display element turned off) in which no images are displayed and the decoration of the decorative sheet is visible to the user, and a display mode (display element turned on) in which images are displayed on the display. As shown in Figs. 12A-14B, the displayed content is different from the visual appearance of the predefined material.
The decorative sheet (20) includes, in order from the display surface side, a film (21), a base layer (22), a design layer (23), a film (24), and a textured layer (25) ([0048], Fig. 2). The decorative sheet, either alone or in combination with the diffusion layer and/or transparent plate, is taken to correspond to the claimed cover element. The external surface which faces an observer (represented in Fig. 2 by an eye) corresponds to the claimed display area which is configured to present a visual appearance and a texture of a predefined material (e.g., wood).
Araya et al. teaches that the base layer (22) is used to adjust the overall hue, shade, etc. of the decorative sheet, while the decorative pattern of the design layer (23) is selected to have the same color tone or pattern as that of the object in which the display apparatus is embedded ([0050], [0068]). The pair of films (21, 24) serve as the base films of the decorative sheet and are made of a light-transmissive resin material [0049]. The textured layer (25) is light-transmissive and functions as part of the decorative pattern formed by the design layer and the textured layer [0075]. Therefore, the film (24) and textured layer (25) together can be taken to correspond to the claimed support having a translucent part which has the texture of the predefined material (e.g., wood) and comprises a polymer material which is distinct from the predefined material. The base layer (22) and design layer (23) together form decorative layer (20a), which corresponds to the claimed decorative layer which extends along the internal face of the translucent part of the support and has a decorative pattern which has the visual appearance of the predefined material.
Araya et al. further teaches that the decorative layer (20a) has a haze value greater than or equal to 20% and less than 55% ([0159]), which overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Although Araya et al. teaches that the base layer (22) includes a light diffusing material and may be made of ink or paint containing pigment, wherein the transmittance of the non-opening portions (22b) of the base layer is preferably less than or equal to 5% so as to block the image light, where the transmittance of the non-opening portions can be adjusted by the thickness, etc. of the base layer, and further teaches that the design layer (23) is light-transmissive and may be formed of material such as transparent resin ink containing pigment or paint ([0052]-[0053], [0068]), the reference is silent to a thickness of the decorative layer (20a) composed of the base layer (22) and the design layer (23).
Sugiyama et al. teaches a display device (80) comprising a resin component (31) and a light source (10) for backlight which is used to display shapes (13) of uniformly emitted light on the surface of resin component ([0030], [0040], Figs. 1A-1B). The resin component comprises a transparent base material (3) having a plurality of layers disposed on a back surface thereof, including a metallic concealing layer (4), a light diffusion layer (5), a light color toning layer (6), and a second concealing layer (7) ([0033], Fig. 1B). Similar to the base layer having holes (22a) as taught by Araya et al., the concealing layers taught by Sugiyama et al. include light transmitting portions (11a-11c, 12a-12c) corresponding to shapes (13) ([0039], Fig. 1B). Sugiyama et al. teaches that the thickness of each of the concealing layers is set to 3.5 µm or more to enhance the concealing property, the thickness of the light diffusion layer is 3.5 µm or more so that incident light is diffused more uniformly in the layer, and the thickness of the light color toning layer is 3.5 µm or more so that the amount and luminance of transmitted light decreases ([0040]-[0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display apparatus of Araya et al. by setting a combined thickness of the base layer (22) and design layer (23) within the claimed range. Based on the teachings of Sugiyama et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select an appropriate thickness for the base layer and the design layer in the display apparatus of Araya et al., such as within the claimed range, in order for the non-opening portions of the base layer to achieve a high concealing property and to enable the desired amount and luminance of light to be transmitted through the microholes so as to display a high quality image on the surface of the display apparatus.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araya et al. (US 2023/0221471, previously cited) in view of Sugiyama et al. (US 2019/0390839, newly cited) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Hudaya et al. (“Antiglare and antireflective coating of layer-by-layer SiO2 and TiZrO2 on surface-modified glass”, doi:10.1016/j.apsusc.2019.06.027; Available online June 10, 2019).
Regarding claim 15, Araya et al. in view of Sugiyama et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above, and Araya et al. further teaches that the textured layer (25) may be an anti-glare film (coating layer) or a layer formed by applying, drying, curing, etc. a coating liquid containing resin components, particles, and solvent on film (24) [0076]. As shown in Fig. 2, the textured layer (25) defines the portion of the external face of the translucent part of the support which forms the display area and which has the texture of the predefined material.
Araya et al. differs from the claimed invention in that the reference does not expressly teach that the coating layer comprises TiZrO2.
Hudaya et al. teaches antiglare and antireflection coatings comprising alternating layers of SiO2 and TiZrO2, wherein the coatings are applied to transparent optical materials to decrease the reflectance and increase the transmittance thereof (p. 278-279, Fig. 1). In particular, Hudaya et al. teaches that suppressing light reflection contributes to a beneficial impact in increasing the efficiency of optical materials such as display devices (p. 278).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display apparatus of Araya et al. in view of Sugiyama et al. by forming the anti-glare film from an SiO2-TiZrO2 coating, as taught by Hudaya et al., in order to improve the optical properties, such as reflectance and transmittance, of the display apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Response-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8 of the remarks filed May 7, 2026, with respect to the previous rejections based on Yamanaka et al. have been fully considered and are persuasive, and the previous rejections based on Yamanaka et al. have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments directed to Araya et al. have been considered but are moot because they do not address the new combination of references being used in the rejections above. In light of the amendments to claims 1 and 17, Sugiyama et al. is applied as a secondary reference in combination with Araya et al. to address the new limitations directed to the thickness of the portion of the decorative layer.
Conclusion
/REBECCA L GRUSBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785