DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 150-168 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 10/30/23.
Claims 150-168 are under consideration in the instant application.
The current claim set filed on 10/30/23 comprises 2 independent claims and the invention relates a pharmaceutical composition comprises LAC-3 antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:3 and 5, PD-1 antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO17 and 18 and/or PD-L1 antibody, buffer, stabilizer and surfactant.
3. Applicant’s IDS filed on 10/30/24 and 10/21/25 have been acknowledged.
The non-English foreign patent is considered to its English abstract. Applicant is required to submit English translation if further consideration is required.
4. The oath filed on 6/16/23 has been acknowledged. The oath contains non-initialed alterations in p.2, 4 and 5. Appropriate correction is required.
5. Applicant is advised to spell out LAC-3, PD-1 or PD-L1 at its first appearance and claim 153 is missing a period (.).
6. A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
7. Claims 150-164, 167 and 168 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 150-164 and 168-169 of copending Application No. 19/025,919.
Both applications recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising:
from about 1mg/ml to about 300mg/ml of an anti-LAG-3 antibody or antigen binding fragment thereof;
from about 5mM to about 50mM of a buffering agent;
from about 50mM to about 300mM of a stabilizing or bulking agent; and
from about 0.001% to about 1%(w/v) of a surfactant.
This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
9. Claims 153, 161 and 162 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 153 is indefinite in the recitation of BMS-986016, IMP731(H5L7BW), MK-4280 (28G-10), REGN3767, GSK2831781, BAP050, IMP-701(LAG-5250) or FS-118, claims 161 recites, MK-3475, CT-011, BMS-936558, RG7446, MEDI4736 or BMS-936559 and claim 162 is indefinite in the recitation of REGN2810, LAG525, or PDR001 respectively. Although some designations are exclusive for pharmaceutical companies and characteristics are known, IMP731(H5L7BW) or MK-4280(28G-10), FS-118 or CT-011 are deemed laboratory designations.
The use of IMP731(H5L7BW) or MK-4280(28G-10), FS-118, CT-011 or PDR001 antibody as sole means of identifying claimed antibody renders the claims indefinite because the IMP731(H5L7BW) or MK-4280(28G-10), FS-118, CT-011 or PDR 001 is a merely a laboratory designation which does not clearly define the claimed product, since different laboratories may use the same laboratory designations to define distinct antibodies.
Claim 161 contains the trademark/trade name KEYTRUDA, OPDIVO, TECENTRIQ or IMFINZI. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe pembrolizumab, nivolumab, or atezolizumab and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. In addition, claim 161 recites multiple limitations in the parenthesis. It is not clear whether the limitations in the parenthesis are required or which limitation is required.
12. Claim(s) 167-168 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. 2006/0088523.
The ‘523 publication teaches antibody formulations comprising a monoclonal antibody, 10-40mM of histidine buffer, 250mM of stabilizer (e.g. sucrose) and 0.01-0.1% surfactant (note claims 1-10). Therefore, the reference teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
14. Claims 150-168 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over WO2015/042246 (IDS reference) in view of U.S. Pat. 9,220,776 (IDS reference) and U.S.Pub.2005/0276823 (IDS reference).
The ‘246 publication teaches administration of LAG-3 and PD-1 antibody in intravenously (p. 7) at 80 mg and 240 mg, respectively. This meets the limitation of ratio of LAG-3 and PD-1 about 1:4 of claim 163. Further, the kits comprising a pharmaceutical composition comprising LAG-3 and PD-1 (p.8, 17) with pharmaceutically acceptable excipients are taught. The antibody includes claimed SEQ ID NO:3, 5, 19 and 21 where BMS986010 and BMS-936558 comprise the claimed SEQ ID NO:1-3, 5, 9 and 21, respectively. Further it is evidenced to comprises the CDR’s set forth in CDRs in SEQ ID NO: 1-12, 23-28, respectively as in claims 153 and 161 of the instant application.
Further, the 246 publication teaches kits and dosage forms in pre-filled syringes as well as infusion bags required by the appropriate vehicles and administration methods (p. 17).
The disclosure of the ‘246 publication differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use 5-50mM of buffer (note examples in claim 154, e.g. histidine), 50-300mM of stabilizer (note examples 154, e.g. sucrose), 0.001-1% of surfactant, 5uM to 1mM of chelating agent or DTPA, and pH of 5-6 as in claims 150, 154-158 of the instant application.
The ‘776 patent teaches formulation of PD-1 antibody in the presence of 10-20mM histidine buffer, 70mg/ml of sucrose (7%, with the molecular weight of 342, equivalent of 205mM), 0.02-0.05% polysorbate with USP water at pH about 5.5 (col. 19-20, claims 1-6). The pH about 5.5 reads on the claimed about 5.8. The ‘776 patent allows addition of 0.9% sodium chloride and sterile dextrose for infusion (col. 19). The PD-1 antibody is stabilized in the formulation comprising histidine, sucrose, polysorbate and/or NaCl or dextrose in lyophilized formulation (col. 10-25). The antibody composition improves stability by reduction of aggregation (col 15).
The ‘823 publication teaches addition of DTPA from 1uM-10mM in the presence of histidine from 10uM-200mM with isotonic agent including sucrose upto 25% ([0059-0073]). The addition of DTPA improve stability by reduction of oxidative degradation as DTPA acts as metal chelators/
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize histidine, DTPA, sucrose and polysorbate as taught by the ‘776 patent and ‘823 publication into the LAG-3 and PD-1 antibody formulation taught by the ‘246 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the formulation of PD-1 and LAG-3 antibody in the histidine, sucrose, polysorbate and DTPA of known concentration would stabilize and improve shelf life by reduction of aggregation caused by the oxidative degradation of antibody. The composition that is suitable for PD-1 antibody of the ‘776 patent would be suitable for PD-1 and LAG-3 as the ‘246 publication discloses co-formulation of those two antibodies and the DTPA is suitable for any antibody (p. 2-5) where the addition of antioxidant is generally known for antibody formulation art.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
16. Claims 150-168 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness- type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of US Patent No: 11,723,975.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘975 patent recites a pharmaceutical composition LAG-3 antibody (and PD-1 or PD-L1 antibody) in the presence of histidine buffer, 250mM sucrose, 20uM of DPTA, about 0.05% polysorbate at pH5-6 wherein the LAG-3 antibody has SEQ ID NO:1-2, 3 and 5, PD-1 antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:17-19 and 21.
17. No claims are allowable.
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
January 6, 2026
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641