DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11, line 2: “each template guide” should recite “each template guide of the one or more template guides”.
Claim 20, line 8: “a least” should recite “at least”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“indexing member” in claim 7. The limitation describing the indexing member in claim 7 (“on the base frame and configured to engage each template guide of the plurality of template guides and to releasably orient the template guide in the base frame” in claim 7 fails to include sufficient structure to perform the recited function of "engaging". The specification describes the indexing member as tab configured to engage with a tab receiver on each template guides of the plurality of template guides (para. 0018). Therefore, the indexing member is interpreted as a tab or any structural equivalent thereof that is on the base frame and configured to engage each template guide of the plurality of template guides and to releasably orient the template guide in the base frame.
“engagement member” in claim 11. The limitation describing the engagement member in claim 11 (“configured to engage with each template guide to removably secure the template guide in the base frame and against tissue” in claim 11 fails to include sufficient structure to perform the recited function of "engaging". The specification describes the engagement member as a pocket, tab, or latch (para. 0021). Therefore, the engagement member is interpreted as a pocket, tab, latch, or any structural equivalent thereof that is configured to engage with each template guide to removably secure the template guide in the base frame and against tissue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 (line 2), claim 8 (lines 2-3), claim 9 (line 1), claim 10 (line 1), claim 14 (line 2), and claim 15 (lines 1-2) recites the limitation " the plurality of template guides”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 introduces “one or more template guides” which can be interpreted as “at least one template guide” or “more than one template guide” (see lines 9-12) and “more than one of the one or more template guides” which can be interpreted as “a plurality of template guides” in the alternative (see lines 12-15). It is unclear to the examiner if “the plurality of template guides” is meant to further define “the one or more template guides” introduced in lines 9-12 of claim 1 as “more than one of the one or more template guide” or if the limitation is meant to further define “the more than one of the one or more template guides” introduced in lines 12-15 of claim 1. For examination and consistency purposes, “the plurality of template guides” is interpreted as further defining “the more than one of the oen or more template guides” in the alternative limitation of claim 1.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “each base frame” in lines 2-3. Claim 1 introduces a singular base frame. Therefore, it is unclear to the examiner if the limitation is meant to further define “the base frame” as introduced in claim 1 or introduce a new, additional base frame. For examination and consistency purposes, “each base frame” is interpreted as “the base frame” as stated in claim 1.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the template guide” in lines 2-3. However, claim 1 introduces “one or more template guides” (see lines 9-12) and “more than one of the one or more template guides” in the alternative (see lines 12-15).. As such there is lack of antecedent basis for this terminology. For examination and consistency purposes, “the template guide” is interpreted as “the one or more template guides” as stated in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-12, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jauregui Johnston (WO 2020077019) [hereinafter Johnston] in view of Clark, III et al. (US 20190269429) [hereinafter Clark, III].
Regarding claim 1, Jauregui Johnston discloses a template apparatus 2000, 2200, 2200’, 2200’’ (Figs. 20-26B, para. 0153) for guiding an application of electrical energy to a tissue (Figs. 21, 24A-B, para. 0153-0155), the apparatus comprising:
a plurality of base frames (interpreted as the body of the target guides 2200, 2200’, 2200’’ Figs. 22A-C and 2003 of patch 2000 shown in Fig. 20, para. 0153-0155); and
one or more template guides (interpreted as the face of the base frame 2000, 2200, 2200’, 2200’’ defining a space for receiving an applicator tip shown in Figs. 20, 22A-C, para. 0153-0155), wherein each template guide of the one or more template guides includes one or more applicator tip engagement position openings configured to receive a distal region of an applicator tip (Figs. 21, 23A-B, 24A-B, para. 0153-0155, see note below in regards to “configured to” language).
However, Jauregui Johnston fails to disclose the singular base frame, the one or more template guides configured to removably fit into the singular base frame in one or more orientations and wherein the one or more applicator tip engagement position openings of the one or more template guides are configured to form an enlarged treatment pattern after at least one of the one or more template guides held within the base frame in more than one orientation.
Clark, III in the same field of endeavor of medical frames teaches a base frame 309 (Figs. 6A-6B, para. 0124-0125), one or more template guides 302 (see Fig. 6B) are configured to removably fit into the base frame 309 in one or more orientations (Fig. 6B, para. 0125).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the plurality of base frames and the plurality of template guides in Jauregui Johnston to be a single base frame and a plurality of template guides such that the plurality of template guides are removable and interchangeable from the singular base frame, as taught by Clark, III in order to allow the user to customize the template apparatus for the procedure (para. 0125 of Clark, III) such that the base frame can accommodate different template guides for different applicator tips, thereby increasing the ease of use and utility of the device (para. 0125 of Clark, III).
The combination of Jauregui Johnston in view of Clark, III would result in a product wherein the one or more applicator tip engagement position openings of the one or more template guides of Jauregui Johnston (Figs. 20, 22A-C, para. 0153-0155 of Jauregui Johnston) are configured to form an enlarged treatment pattern (Figs. 20, 22A-24B, para. 0153-0155 of Jauregui Johnston, see note below in regards to “configured to” language) after at least one of the one or more template guides held within the base frame in more than one orientation as taught by Clark, III (see annotated Fig. 6A of Clark, III below; Fig. 6B, para. 0125 of Clark, III; The examiner notes that since the plurality of template guides removably fit into the base frame in the one or more orientations, as taught by Clark, III, may be flipped over along a longitudinal axis, thereby oriented 180 degrees (as a second orientation relative to a first orientation), and placed within the base frame, thereby meeting the “more than one orientation” limitation).
Note: “wherein each template guide of the one or more template guides includes one or more applicator tip engagement position openings configured to receive a distal region of an applicator tip” is interpreted as functional language and intended use of the claimed invention and not interpreted as a structural component of the claimed invention. Therefore, “a distal region of an applicator tip” is not positively claimed and is interpreted as a functional component that the claimed invention is capable of receiving. Since Jauregui Johnston discloses the structural components i.e. the one or more applicator tip engagement position openings to perform the functional limitation, Jauregui Johnston thereby discloses the functional limitation of one or more applicator tip engagement position openings capable of receiving a distal region of an applicator tip and capable of forming an enlarged treatment pattern. For example, para. 0151-0153 of Jauregui Johnston discloses that the one or more template guides are designed to receive a distal region of an applicator tip. The examiner notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention and/or functionality of the claimed invention the must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Note: “wherein the one or more applicator tip engagement position openings of the one or more template guides are configured to form an enlarged treatment pattern after at least one of the one or more template guides held within the base frame in more than one orientation” is interpreted as functional language and intended use of the claimed invention and not interpreted as a structural component of the claimed invention. Therefore, “an enlarged treatment pattern” is not positively claimed and is interpreted as a functional component that the claimed invention is capable of forming. Since Jauregui Johnston discloses the structural components i.e. for the one or more applicator tip engagement position openings to perform the functional limitation, Jauregui Johnston thereby discloses the functional limitation of one or more applicator tip engagement position openings capable of forming an enlarged treatment pattern after at least one of the one or more template guides held within the base frame in more than one orientation. For example, para. 0151-0153 of Jauregui Johnston discloses that the one or more template guides are designed to receive a distal region of an applicator tip. If an applicator tip that is sized small enough to fit in multiple areas of the one or more applicator tip engagement position openings of the one or more template guides is used, the one or more applicator tip engagement position openings is capable of forming an enlarged treatment pattern such that the applicator tip can treat multiple areas within the one or more applicator tip engagement position openings in more than one orientation. The examiner notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention and/or functionality of the claimed invention the must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Annotated Fig. 6A of Clark, III
Regarding claim 2, modified Jauregui Johnston discloses wherein the base frame comprises an adhesive configured to secure the base frame to a treatment site (Fig. 25B, para. 0156, 0185 of Jauregui Johnston).
Regarding claim 3, modified Jauregui Johnston discloses further comprising attachment projections 2205, 2603 extending from the base frame and configured to attach the base frame to the tissue (Figs. 22A-C, 25B, para. 0155-0156 of Jauregui Johnston).
Regarding claim 4, modified Jauregui Johnston discloses wherein at least some of the applicator tip engagement position openings (see openings of guides 2200, 2200’ and 2200’’) include one or more rotational orientation indicators (interpreted as extensions 2205 of guides 2200, 2200’, and 2200’’, see Figs. 22A-C of Jauregui Johnston and one or more fiducial marks 2005 of patch 2000, see Fig. 20, para. 0153 of Jauregui Johnston) configured to rotationally align the applicator tip within the applicator tip engagement position openings (para. 0153 of Jauregui Johnston discloses the one or more fiducial marks 2005 align and engage with the treatment tip; para. 0155 of Jauregui Johnston discloses that the design of guides shown in Figs. 22A-C allow the applicator tip to align without the need for visual markings).
Regarding claim 5, modified Jauregui Johnston discloses wherein the one or more rotational orientation indicators 2005 (see Figs. 20-21 of Jauregui Johnston) comprise markings configured to match markings on the applicator tip (Figs. 20-21, para. 0153-0154 of Jauregui Johnston).
Regarding claim 6, modified Jauregui Johnston discloses wherein the one or more rotational orientation indicators comprise projections (see Figs. 22A-C of Jauregui Johnston which illustrates the extensions 2205 as projections; Figs. 20-21, para. 0153 of Jauregui Johnston discloses that the fiducial marks may be raised marks which are interpreted as projections) configured to engage with the applicator tip in a particular orientation (Figs. 20-21, para. 0153-0155 of Jauregui Johnston).
Regarding claims 7-10, and 14-16, due to the “or” language in claim 1, the limitation “further wherein the one or more applicator tip engagement position openings of the one or more template guides are configured to form an enlarged treatment pattern after at least one of the one or more template guides held within the base frame in more than one orientation and/or more than one of the one or more template guides are sequentially held within the base frame so that the applicator tip may be received by the one or more applicator tip engagement position openings of the one or more template guides.” becomes a conditional limitation. As stated in claim 1, modified Jauregui Johnston meets the requirement of “further wherein the one or more applicator tip engagement position openings of the one or more template guides are configured to form an enlarged treatment pattern after at least one of the one or more template guides held within the base frame in more than one orientation”. Therefore, claims 7-10 and 14-16 are not rejected because it falls under the second condition, further defining “the plurality of template guides”, which was not chosen by the examiner.
Regarding claim 11, modified Jauregui Johnston discloses all of the limitations set forth above in claim 1. However, modified Jauregui Johnston fails to disclose further comprising an engagement member on each base frame (interpreted as the base frame, see 112(b) rejection above) configured to engage with each template guide to removably secure the template guide in the base frame and against the tissue.
Clark, III further teaches an engagement member 607 on a base frame 309 configured to engage with each template guide 302 to removably secure the template guide 302 in the base frame 309 and against tissue. (Fig. 6A, para. 0125).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the base frame in modified Jauregui Johnston to include the engagement member of Clark, III in order to securely constrain the one or more template guides within the base frame (para. 0125 of Clark, III).
Regarding claim 12, modified Jauregui Johnston discloses wherein the engagement member 607 comprises tab (para. 0125 of Clark, III; The examiner notes that “a tab” is defined as a “short projecting device”, see Merriam-Webster dictionary definition attached).
Regarding claim 17, Jauregui Johnston discloses a template apparatus 2000, 2200, 2200’, 2200’’ (Figs. 20-26B, para. 0153) for guiding an application of electrical energy to a tissue (Figs. 21, 24A-B, para. 0153-0155), the apparatus comprising:
a plurality of base frames (interpreted as the body of the target guides 2200, 2200’, 2200’’ Figs. 22A-C and 2003 of patch 2000 shown in Fig. 20, para. 0153-0155); and
a plurality of template guide(interpreted as the face of the base frame 2000, 2200, 2200’, 2200’’ defining a space for receiving an applicator tip shown in Figs. 20, 22A-C, para. 0153-0155), wherein each template guide of the plurality of template guides includes one or more applicator tip engagement position openings configured to receive a distal region of an applicator tip (Figs. 21, 23A-B, 24A-B, para. 0153-0155).
However, Jauregui Johnston fails to disclose a singular base frame, the plurality of template guides configured to removably fit into the singular base frame in one or more orientations and further wherein the one or more applicator tip engagement position openings of a first template guide of the plurality of template guides forms an enlarged treatment pattern with: 2) the one or more applicator tip engagement position openings of the first template guide in a second orientation of the one or more orientations.
Clark, III in the same field of endeavor of medical frames teaches a base frame 309 (Figs. 6A-6B, para. 0124-0125) and a plurality of template guides 302 (see Fig. 6B) are configured to removably fit into the base frame 309 in one or more orientations (Fig. 6B, para. 0125).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the plurality of base frames and the plurality of template guides in Jauregui Johnston to be a single base frame and a plurality of template guides such that the plurality of template guides are removable and interchangeable from the singular base frame, as taught by Clark, III in order to allow the user to customize the template apparatus for the procedure (para. 0125 of Clark, III) such that the base frame can accommodate different template guides for different applicator tips, thereby increasing the ease of use and utility of the device (para. 0125 of Clark, III).
The combination of Jauregui Johnston in view of Clark, III would result in a product wherein the one or more applicator tip engagement position openings of a first template guide of the plurality of template guides (Figs. 20, 22A-C, para. 0153-0155 of Jauregui Johnston) forms an enlarged treatment pattern (Figs. 20, 22A-24B, para. 0153-0155 of Jauregui Johnston) with: 2) the one or more applicator tip engagement position openings of the first template guide in a second orientation of the one or more orientations (see annotated Fig. 6A of Clark, III below; Fig. 6B, para. 0125 of Clark, III; The examiner notes that since the plurality of template guides removably fit into the base frame in the one or more orientations, as taught by Clark, III, may be flipped over along a longitudinal axis, thereby oriented 180 degrees (as a second orientation relative to a first orientation), and placed within the base frame, thereby meeting the “more than one orientation” limitation).
Annotated Fig. 6A of Clark, III
Regarding claim 18, modified Jauregui Johnston discloses wherein the second orientation is rotated by 180 degrees relative to a first orientation (see annotated Fig. 6A of Clark, III above; Fig. 6B, para. 0125 of Clark, III; The examiner notes that since the plurality of template guides removably fit into the base frame in the one or more orientations, as taught by Clark, III, may be flipped over along a longitudinal axis, thereby oriented 180 degrees (as a second orientation relative to a first orientation), and placed within the base frame, thereby meeting the “more than one orientation” limitation).
Note: Due to the “or” language in claim 17, the limitation “further wherein the one or more applicator tip engagement position openings of a first template guide of the plurality of template guides forms an enlarged treatment pattern with: 1) the one or more applicator tip engagement position openings of a second template guide of the plurality of template guides, or 2) the one or more applicator tip engagement position openings of the first template guide in a second orientation of the one or more orientations” becomes a conditional limitation. Since modified Jauregui Johnston meets the requirement of “2) the one or more applicator tip engagement position openings of the first template guide in a second orientation of the one or more orientations”, claim 18 is rejected. Claim 19 is not rejected because it falls under the first condition which was not chosen by the examiner.
Regarding claim 20, Jauregui Johnston discloses a template apparatus 2200, 2200’, 2200’’ (Figs. 20-26B, para. 0153) for guiding an application of electrical energy to a tissue (Fig. 24A-B, para. 0155), the apparatus comprising:
a plurality of base frames (interpreted as the body of the target guides shown in Figs. 22A-C, para. 0155);
a plurality of template guides (interpreted as the face of the base frame 2200, 2200’, 2200’’ defining a space for receiving an applicator tip shown in Figs. 22A-C, para. 0155), wherein each template guide of the plurality template guides includes one or more applicator tip engagement position openings configured to receive a distal region of an applicator tip (Figs. 22A-C, 23A-B, 24A-B, para. 0155) and to hold the applicator tip in a fixed position and orientation relative to the tissue (Figs. 23A-B, 24A-B, para. 0155), further wherein at least some of the applicator tip engagement position openings (see openings of guides 2200, 2200’ and 2200’’) include a rotational orientation indicator (interpreted as one of the extensions 2205 of guides 2200, 2200’, and 2200’’, see Figs. 22A-C) configured to align with a complimentary indicator on the distal region of the applicator tip within the applicator tip engagement position openings (see Figs. 23A-B and 24A-B which illustrate the extensions aligning with complementary projections on the applicator tip; para. 0155 of Jauregui Johnston discloses that the design of guides shown in Figs. 22A-C allow the applicator tip to align without the need for visual markings).
However, Jauregui Johnston fails to disclose a singular base frame and the plurality of template guides configured to removably fit into the singular base frame in a predetermined orientation.
Clark, III in the same field of endeavor of medical frames teaches a base frame 309 (Figs. 6A-6B, para. 0124-0125), one or more template guides 302 (see Fig. 6B) are configured to removably fit into the base frame 309 in a predetermined orientation (Fig. 6B, para. 0125).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the plurality of base frames and the plurality of template guides in Jauregui Johnston to be a single base frame and a plurality of template guides such that the plurality of template guides are removable and interchangeable from the singular base frame, as taught by Clark, III in order to allow the user to customize the template apparatus for the procedure (para. 0125 of Clark, III) such that the base frame can accommodate different template guides for different applicator tips, thereby increasing the ease of use and utility of the device (para. 0125 of Clark, III).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jauregui Johnston (WO 2020077019) [hereinafter Johnston] in view of Clark, III et al. (US 20190269429) [hereinafter Clark, III] as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fiorina et al. (US 20070088419) [hereinafter Fiorina].
Regarding claim 13, modified Jauregui Johnston discloses all of the limitations set forth above in claim 1. However, modified Jauregui Johnston wherein the base frame is flexible and configured to conform to a curved tissue surface.
Fiorina teaches a pad assembly configured to be applied to skin (para. 0021) comprising a base frame 12 (Fig. 1, para. 0019), wherein the base frame 12 is flexible and configured to conform to a curved tissue surface (para. 0019, 0021).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the base frame in modified Jauregui Johnston to be flexible, as taught by Fiorina, in order to provide the base with the ability to conform to the skin without stiffness or resistance (para. 0021 of Fiorina).
Conclusion
/LAUREN DUBOSE/Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/ELIZABETH HOUSTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771