DETAILED ACTION
This is a final action for application number 18/336,912 in response to an amendment filed on 01/09/2026; the original application filed on 06/16/2023.
Claims 1-30 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claims 1, 25, 27 and 29 are independent claims.
Claims 1, 25, 27 and 29 have been amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 01/09/2026, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lunden et al. (US 2015/0282033 A1) in view of Ohlsson et al. (US 2023/0108496 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 25, 27 and 29, an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories, [Figure 4, user equipment 400, Ref # 435],
and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories, the one or more processors, [Figure 4, user equipment 400, Ref # 435], configured to cause the UE to:
perform a first handover operation to hand over the UE from the source cell to the first target cell, [starting a timeout period associated with a handover from a source cell to a target cell, such as a handover from macrocell 112A and small cell 112B, (Lunden et al., Paragraph 15)],
and perform the second handover operation to hand over the UE from the first target cell to the second target cell, [The timeout period may, in some example embodiments, be sufficiently long to enable the user equipment to perform a reverse handover back to the source should the handover decision to the target cell prove to be a poor choice, (Lunden et al., Paragraph 15)],
Lunden et al. fails to explicitly teach obtain, from a first network node via a source cell, a reverse handover command associated with a second handover operation associated with a first target cell and a second target cell,
Ohlsson et al. teaches transmitting a second handover command to the UE, the second handover command ordering a handover from the first target cell to the second target cell. The second handover command includes an indication of whether the UE is to release the source cell upon receiving the second handover command, (Ohlsson et al., Paragraph 119),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Lunden et al. by obtain, from a first network node via a source cell, a reverse handover command associated with a second handover operation associated with a first target cell and a second target cell, (Ohlsson et al., Paragraph 119), in order to support fast mobility between NR and LTE while avoiding a change of core network, (Ohlsson et al., Paragraph 5).
Regarding claims 2, 26, 28 and 30, the UE wherein the second target cell comprises the source cell, [The timeout period may, in some example embodiments, be sufficiently long to enable the user equipment to perform a reverse handover back to the source should the handover decision to the target cell prove to be a poor choice, (Lunden et al., Paragraph 15)].
Regarding claim 3, the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to obtain, from the first network node, configuration information comprising a first configuration associated with the first target cell and a second configuration associated with the second target cell, [the source eNB base station 110A may at 306 send to the user equipment a RRC Connection Reconfiguration including mobility control information. The mobility control information may include an information element indicating that the handover is reversible, so the user equipment can be configured to store the information of the source cell/source base station 110A, (Lunden et al., Paragraph 50)].
Regarding claim 4, the UE of claim 3, wherein the first configuration comprises a first radio resource control (RRC) configuration and the second configuration comprises a second RRC configuration, [the source eNB base station 110A may at 306 send to the user equipment a RRC Connection Reconfiguration including mobility control information. The mobility control information may include an information element indicating that the handover is reversible, so the user equipment can be configured to store the information of the source cell/source base station 110A, (Lunden et al., Paragraph 50)].
Regarding claim 23, the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to:
obtain, from the first network node, at least one reference signal associated with the second target cell, [the quality of the target cell 112B may be monitored to decide whether to implement the reverse handover based on one or more of the following: a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), a signal-plus-interference-to-noise ratio (SINR), a reference signal, received power (RSRP), a reference signal, received quality (RSRQ), a handover event condition (for example, A3 event indicating that the target cell is no longer better than the source cell or good), a channel quality indicator (CQI), channel state information (CSI), radio link monitoring measurements, RLF monitoring, data rate, transmission error rate, cell load, (Lunden et al., Paragraph 39)],
and provide, to a second network node, a measurement report including one or more measurements associated with the at least one reference signal, [the quality of the target cell 112B may be monitored to decide whether to implement the reverse handover based on one or more of the following: a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), a signal-plus-interference-to-noise ratio (SINR), a reference signal, received power (RSRP), a reference signal, received quality (RSRQ), a handover event condition (for example, A3 event indicating that the target cell is no longer better than the source cell or good), a channel quality indicator (CQI), channel state information (CSI), radio link monitoring measurements, RLF monitoring, data rate, transmission error rate, cell load, (Lunden et al., Paragraph 39)],
wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to perform the second handover operation, are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to perform the second handover operation based on the one or more measurements, [the quality of the target cell 112B may be monitored to decide whether to implement the reverse handover based on one or more of the following: a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), a signal-plus-interference-to-noise ratio (SINR), a reference signal, received power (RSRP), a reference signal, received quality (RSRQ), a handover event condition (for example, A3 event indicating that the target cell is no longer better than the source cell or good), a channel quality indicator (CQI), channel state information (CSI), radio link monitoring measurements, RLF monitoring, data rate, transmission error rate, cell load, (Lunden et al., Paragraph 39)].
Regarding claim 24, the UE of claim 1, wherein the source cell is associated with a cell discontinuous transmission and/or discontinuous reception (DTX/DRX) configuration, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to perform the first handover operation, are configured to cause the UE to perform the first handover operation in association with the cell DTX/DRX configuration, [Examples of the information that may be maintained include one or more of the following: cell radio network temporary Identifier (C-RNTI), uplink (UL)/primary uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources for the scheduling request (SR) and the channel state indication (CSI), discontinuous receive (DRX) configuration and state, cell timing information, (Lunden et al., Paragraph 36)].
Claims 5-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lunden et al. (US 2015/0282033 A1) in view of Ohlsson et al. (US 2023/0108496 A1) and further in view of Ghanbarinejad et al. (WO 2024/224380 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Lunden et al. teaches that the user equipment to perform a reverse handover back to the source should the handover decision to the target cell prove to be a poor choice, (Lunden et al., Paragraph 15),
Lunden et al, fails to explicitly teach the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to obtain a lower-layer trigger message associated with the first handover operation and the second handover operation, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to perform the first handover operation, are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to perform a first lower-layer triggered mobility (LTM) handover operation based on the lower-layer trigger message,
Ghanbarinejad et al. teaches that in Figures. 5 A, 5B, and 5C illustrate an example 500 of the inter-NR RAN handover that supports lower-layer-triggered mobility for integrated access and backhaul, (Ghanbarinejad et al., Paragraph 87),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Lunden et al. by including that cause the UE to obtain a lower-layer trigger message associated with the first handover operation and the second handover operation, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to perform the first handover operation, are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to perform a first lower-layer triggered mobility (LTM) handover operation based on the lower-layer trigger message, (Ghanbarinejad et al., Paragraph 87), in order to reduce the latency, overhead and interruption time, (Ghanbarinejad et al., Paragraph 23).
Regarding claim 6, the UE of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to perform the second handover operation, are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to perform a second LTM handover operation based on the lower-layer trigger message, [In example 700, a maximum of N additional cells may be configured for LTM, where N is specified by the standard, while the actual maximum in a configuration may further depend on the mlAB-MT capability, (Ghanbarinejad et al., Paragraph 109)].
Regarding claim 7, the UE of claim 6, wherein the lower-layer trigger message comprises an LTM medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC CE), [Once a cell switch is to occur, a MAC control element (CE) from a parent node triggers the cell switch command. The same MAC CE may contain information of cell switch such as a candidate configuration index, (Ghanbarinejad et al., Paragraph 107)].
Regarding claim 8, the UE of claim 6, wherein the lower-layer trigger message comprises an indication of a minimum admitted service time associated with a connection between the UE and the first target cell prior to performance of the second handover operation, [Timer based handover failure procedure is supported in NR. RRC connection reestablishment procedure is used for recovering from handover failure except in certain CHO or DAPS handover scenarios, (Ghanbarinejad et al., Paragraph 82)].
Regarding claim 9, the UE of claim 6, wherein the configuration information comprises an indication of a minimum admitted service time associated a connection between the UE and the first target cell prior to performance of the second LTM handover operation, [Timer based handover failure procedure is supported in NR. RRC connection reestablishment procedure is used for recovering from handover failure except in certain CHO or DAPS handover scenarios, (Ghanbarinejad et al., Paragraph 82)].
Regarding claim 10, the UE of claim 6, wherein the lower-layer trigger message indicates an associated logical channel identifier (ID) associated with at least one of a first LTM configuration associated with the first LTM handover operation or a second LTM configuration associated with the second LTM handover operation, [a cell may be indicated by a logical ID, a pseudo name, or an index instead of a PCI, (Ghanbarinejad et al., Paragraph 117)].
Regarding claim 11, the UE of claim 6, wherein the lower-layer trigger message indicates at least one of the first LTM configuration or the second LTM configuration, [the target network entity (e.g., gNB) performs admission control and provides the new RRC configuration as part of the HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE, (Ghanbarinejad et al., Paragraph 74)].
Regarding claim 12, the UE of claim 3, wherein the configuration information comprises a conditional handover (CHO) configuration, and wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to perform the second handover operation, are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to perform a CHO operation associated with the conditional CHO configuration, [When initial CHO execution attempt fails or handover (HO) fails, the UE performs cell selection, and if the selected cell is a CHO candidate and if network configured the UE to try CHO after handover or CHO failure, then the UE attempts CHO execution once, otherwise reestablishment is performed, (Ghanbarinejad et al., Paragraph 82)].
Regarding claim 13, the UE of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to maintain the CHO configuration after the first handover operation, [When initial CHO execution attempt fails or handover (HO) fails, the UE performs cell selection, and if the selected cell is a CHO candidate and if network configured the UE to try CHO after handover or CHO failure, then the UE attempts CHO execution once, otherwise reestablishment is performed, (Ghanbarinejad et al., Paragraph 82)].
Regarding claim 14, the UE of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to maintain the CHO configuration, are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to maintain the CHO configuration based on obtaining the CHO configuration while connected to the source cell, [When initial CHO execution attempt fails or handover (HO) fails, the UE performs cell selection, and if the selected cell is a CHO candidate and if network configured the UE to try CHO after handover or CHO failure, then the UE attempts CHO execution once, otherwise reestablishment is performed, (Ghanbarinejad et al., Paragraph 82)].
Regarding claim 15, the UE of claim 13, wherein the configuration information includes a flag associated with maintaining the CHO configuration, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to maintain the CHO configuration, are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to maintain the CHO configuration based on the configuration information including the flag, [When initial CHO execution attempt fails or handover (HO) fails, the UE performs cell selection, and if the selected cell is a CHO candidate and if network configured the UE to try CHO after handover or CHO failure, then the UE attempts CHO execution once, otherwise reestablishment is performed, (Ghanbarinejad et al., Paragraph 82)].
Regarding claim 16, the UE of claim 12, wherein the configuration information further comprises a CHO condition configuration that indicates a trigger condition for triggering the CHO operation, [When initial CHO execution attempt fails or handover (HO) fails, the UE performs cell selection, and if the selected cell is a CHO candidate and if network configured the UE to try CHO after handover or CHO failure, then the UE attempts CHO execution once, otherwise reestablishment is performed, (Ghanbarinejad et al., Paragraph 82)].
Regarding claim 17, the UE of claim 16, wherein the trigger condition comprises at least one of a channel condition associated with a communication channel between the UE and the first target cell, a communication channel between the UE and the second target cell, or a timer value associated with a triggering timer, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to perform the CHO operation, are individually or collectively configured to perform the CHO operation based on an expiry of the triggering timer, [Timer based handover failure procedure is supported in NR. RRC connection reestablishment procedure is used for recovering from handover failure except in certain CHO or DAPS handover scenarios. When DAPS handover fails, the UE falls back to the source cell configuration, (Ghanbarinejad et al., Paragraph 82)].
Regarding claim 18, the UE of claim 17, wherein the timer value corresponds to a duration of a network energy savings mode associated with the source cell, [Timer based handover failure procedure is supported in NR. RRC connection reestablishment procedure is used for recovering from handover failure except in certain CHO or DAPS handover scenarios. When DAPS handover fails, the UE falls back to the source cell configuration, (Ghanbarinejad et al., Paragraph 82)].
Regarding claim 19, the UE of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to obtain the configuration information, are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to obtain a configuration message that includes the CHO configuration and a handover command associated with the first handover operation, [Timer based handover failure procedure is supported in NR. RRC connection reestablishment procedure is used for recovering from handover failure except in certain CHO or DAPS handover scenarios. When DAPS handover fails, the UE falls back to the source cell configuration, (Ghanbarinejad et al., Paragraph 82)].
Regarding claim 20, the UE of claim 3, wherein the configuration information comprises a flag that indicates at least one of an association between the first configuration and the first handover operation or an association between the second configuration and the second handover operation, [The indication of the one or more additional cells optionally includes a parameter associated with each cell that indicates whether the associated cell supports mlAB. The mlAB or VMR selects a target cell from the one or more additional cells based at least in part on one or more of the indication of mlAB support by each of the one or more additional cells, an indication of priority and measurement parameters by RRC, or L1/L2 RSRP measurement results associated with the one or more additional cells, (Ghanbarinejad et al., Paragraph 23)].
Regarding claim 21, the UE of claim 3, wherein the first configuration comprises a handover command associated with the first handover operation and wherein the second configuration comprises a conditional handover (CHO) configuration, wherein the handover command comprises the CHO configuration and wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to perform the second handover operation, are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to perform a CHO operation associated with the CHO configuration, [Timer based handover failure procedure is supported in NR. RRC connection reestablishment procedure is used for recovering from handover failure except in certain CHO or DAPS handover scenarios. When DAPS handover fails, the UE falls back to the source cell configuration, (Ghanbarinejad et al., Paragraph 82)].
Regarding claim 22, the UE of claim 21, wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to obtain, from the first network node, a CHO condition configuration that indicates a trigger condition for triggering the CHO operation, [Timer based handover failure procedure is supported in NR. RRC connection reestablishment procedure is used for recovering from handover failure except in certain CHO or DAPS handover scenarios. When DAPS handover fails, the UE falls back to the source cell configuration, (Ghanbarinejad et al., Paragraph 82)].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/SHUKRI TAHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478