DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art on the basis of structural differences. Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (“[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.”) (emphasis in original). Likewise, the “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937 (CCPA 1963).
It is firmly rooted that because an apparatus is a structure, an apparatus must be distinguished from prior art on the basis of its structure, and where a prior art structure is inherently “capable of” performing the claimed function of the apparatus, the burden shifts to the applicant to show that the claimed function patentably distinguishes the claimed structure from the prior art structure. See, In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Hallman, 655 F.2d 212, 215 (CCPA 1981). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-25, 27-32, 34, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Acikgoz (US 2012/0138509). Alternatively, claims 21-25, 27-32, 34, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Acikgoz (US 2012/0138509) as evidenced by Keady (US 6271433).
With respect to claims 21, 27, 34, and 35, Acikgoz discloses an olefin production system (see Acikgoz, drawing) comprising a fluid catalytic cracking unit comprising a riser reactor (12) and a regenerator (60); a fractionator (100) in fluid communication with the cracking unit (see Acikgoz, drawing); and a gas plant section (see Ackikgoz, drawing) (portion downstream and fluidly connected to overhead line (94)) in fluid communication with the fractionator (100). The gas plant section comprises a gas concentration unit (or vapor recovery unit), such unit comprising: an overhead condenser (96) in fluid communication with the fractionator (100); a chiller (96) in fluid communication with the overhead condenser (96) (see Acikgoz, drawing; and paragraph [0034]) (“[t]he overhead product stream in overhead line 94 is condensed in a condenser and perhaps cooled in a cooler both represented by 96”); a receiver (98) in fluid communication with the chiller (96); and a wet gas compressor (122) in fluid communication with the receiver (98). Thus, Acikgoz clearly anticipates claims 21, 27, 34, and 35. The remaining claim limitations are process limitations which do not structurally distinguish the claimed apparatus from that of Acikgoz (see paragraphs 2 and 3 supra). Alternatively, Keady evidences that the apparatus of Acikgoz does in fact satisfy all of the process limitations or, at the very least, is capable of satisfying all of the process limitations (see Keady, Fig. 1 and accompanying text).
With respect to claim 22, Acikgoz discloses a stripper (72) in communication with the regenerator (60); and a conduit (14) to supply regenerated catalyst to the riser reactor (12).
With respect to claims 23, 24, and 28-31, the claims do not structurally distinguish the claimed apparatus from that of Acikgoz (see paragraphs 2 and 3 supra).
With respect to claims 25 and 32, Acikgoz discloses wherein the riser reactor (12) may be configured to receive two or more feedstock streams (see Acikgoz, paragraph [0022]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acikgoz (US 2012/0138509) in view of Harandi (US 2021/0009903) and Dean (US 2011/0240520). Alternatively, claims 26 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acikgoz (US 2012/0138509) as evidenced by Keady (US 6,271,433) in view of Harandi (US 2021/0009903) and Dean (US 2011/0240520).
With respect to claims 26 and 33, see discussion supra at paragraphs 6 and 7.
Acikgoz does not explicitly disclose wherein the system additionally comprises a quench line.
However, it is readily known in the art to use a quench line in systems such as that of Acikgoz in order to avoid excess cracking, minimize fouling, control cracking severity, and increase process flexibility (see Harandi, paragraphs [0010] and [0048]) (see Dean, paragraph [0043]).
Therefore, the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the system of Acikgoz to provide a quench line in order to achieve the same benefits noted by Harandi and Dean.
Conclusion
/Randy Boyer/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771